DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–6 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0155251 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 March 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 14 January 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2022-0062856 A, hereinafter Lee) in view of Han et al. (KR 2017-0112250 A, hereinafter Han) and Yuan et al. (CN 112909427 A, hereinafter Yuan).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Lee discloses an electrode body (1, [0063]), comprising
a positive electrode (10, [0063]);
a negative electrode (20, [0063]); and
a separator (30) insulating the positive electrode (10) and the negative electrode (20) from each other (FIG. 1, [0063]),
wherein the electrode body is a wound electrode body (1, [0119]),
the separator (30) includes a base material layer (300) of a porous resin (FIG. 1, [0042]),
the separator (30) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 1, [0044]),
the separator (30) further comprises an adhesive layer (330) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (340) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 1, [0063]),
the adhesive layer (330) includes an adhesive resin (FIG. 1, [0086]), and
an angle formed by the adhesive layer (330) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 1, [0174]), and
wherein the adhesive layer has a width of 0.05 mm or more and 80 mm or less (see width, [0074]).
Although Lee does not explicitly disclose a range of 3 mm or more and 4 mm or less, Lee does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
a ceramic layer containing 85 mass % or more of first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer,
the adhesive layer includes second inorganic particles,
a content of the second inorganic particles in the adhesive layer is 3 mass % or more and 65 mass % or less;
wherein the second inorganic particles contained in the adhesive layer are particles of alumina, boehmite, magnesia, or barium sulfate.
Han discloses a separator comprising a base material layer (110) of a porous resin (FIG. 1, [0032]); and a ceramic layer (130) containing 85 mass % or more of first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (see porous coating layer, [0080]), wherein principal surfaces of the separator have long sides (FIG. 2A, [0032]), the separator further comprises an adhesive layer (130) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (140) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2A, [0051]), the adhesive layer (130) includes an adhesive resin and second inorganic particles (see adhesive layer, [0081]), and a content of the second inorganic particles in the adhesive layer is 3 mass % or more and 65 mass % or less (see adhesive layer, [0081]); wherein the second inorganic particles contained in the adhesive layer are particles of alumina, boehmite, magnesia, or barium sulfate (see Al2O3, [0081]) to improve the output and life characteristics (see separator, [0022]). Lee and Han are analogous because they are directed to separators for nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the ceramic layer and adhesive layer of Lee with the first inorganic particle content and second inorganic particles of Han in order to improve the output and life characteristics.
Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose:
a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides.
Yuan discloses a separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) includes a base material layer (1) of a porous resin (see base film, [0022]), a ceramic layer (2, [0031]) containing first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (1, [0020]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) further comprises an adhesive layer (3) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (3-1) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the adhesive layer (3) includes an adhesive resin (FIG. 2, [0021]), and an angle formed by the adhesive layer (3) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 2, [0046]), and a plurality of regions (3-2) including no adhesive layer (3-1) extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (FIG. 1, [0046]) to improve battery cycle performance (see lithium battery separator, [0028]). Lee and Yuan are analogous because they are directed to battery separators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separator of modified Lee with the plurality of regions including no adhesive layer of Yuan in order to improve battery cycle performance.
Regarding claim 2, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode body:
wherein the angle formed by the adhesive layer (330) and the long side of the at least one principal surface of the separator (300) is 45° or more and 60° or less (FIG. 1, [0174]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode body:
wherein the adhesive resin is polyvinylidene fluoride (see PVDF, [0173]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrode body:
a coverage of the at least one of the principal surfaces of the separator with the adhesive layer is 50% or more and 90% or less (FIG. 1, [0174]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising an electrode body (1, [0063]), including:
a positive electrode (10, [0063]);
a negative electrode (20, [0063]); and
a separator (30) insulating the positive electrode (10) and the negative electrode (20) from each other (FIG. 1, [0063]),
wherein the electrode body is a wound electrode body (1, [0119]),
the separator (30) includes a base material layer (300) of a porous resin (FIG. 1, [0042]),
wherein principal surfaces of the separator have first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 1, [0044]),
the separator (300) further comprises an adhesive layer (330) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (340) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 1, [0063]),
the adhesive layer (330) includes an adhesive resin (FIG. 1, [0086]), and
an angle formed by the adhesive layer (330) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 1, [0174]).
Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the ceramic layer containing 85 mass % or more of first inorganic particles,
the adhesive layer includes second inorganic particles,
a content of the second inorganic particles in the adhesive layer is 3 mass % or more and 65 mass % or less.
Han discloses a separator comprising a base material layer (110) of a porous resin (FIG. 1, [0032]); and a ceramic layer (130) containing 85 mass % or more of first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (see porous coating layer, [0080]), wherein principal surfaces of the separator have long sides (FIG. 2A, [0032]), the separator further comprises an adhesive layer (130) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (140) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2A, [0051]), the adhesive layer (130) includes an adhesive resin and second inorganic particles (see adhesive layer, [0081]), and a content of the second inorganic particles in the adhesive layer is 3 mass % or more and 65 mass % or less (see adhesive layer, [0081]) to improve the output and life characteristics (see separator, [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the ceramic layer and adhesive layer of Lee with the first inorganic particle content and second inorganic particles of Han in order to improve the output and life characteristics.
Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose:
a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides.
Yuan discloses a separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) includes a base material layer (1) of a porous resin (see base film, [0022]), a ceramic layer (2, [0031]) containing first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (1, [0020]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) further comprises an adhesive layer (3) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (3-1) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the adhesive layer (3) includes an adhesive resin (FIG. 2, [0021]), and an angle formed by the adhesive layer (3) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 2, [0046]), and a plurality of regions (3-2) including no adhesive layer (3-1) extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (FIG. 1, [0046]) to improve battery cycle performance (see lithium battery separator, [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the separator of modified Lee with the plurality of regions including no adhesive layer of Yuan in order to improve battery cycle performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Lee does not disclose a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (P6/¶5). Nonobviousness cannot be shown by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Yuan discloses a separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) includes a base material layer (1) of a porous resin (see base film, [0022]), a ceramic layer (2, [0031]) containing first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (1, [0020]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) further comprises an adhesive layer (3) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (3-1) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 2, [0031]), the adhesive layer (3) includes an adhesive resin (FIG. 2, [0021]), and an angle formed by the adhesive layer (3) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 2, [0046]), and a plurality of regions (3-2) including no adhesive layer (3-1) extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (FIG. 1, [0046]) to improve battery cycle performance (see lithium battery separator, [0028]). Therefore, the combination of references disclose a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides.
Applicants argue Han does not disclose a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (P6/¶6). Note that while Han does not disclose all the features of the present claimed invention, Han is used as teaching reference, and therefore, it is not necessary for this secondary reference to contain all the features of the presently claimed invention, In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973), In re Keller 624 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981). Rather this reference teaches a certain concept, namely the compositions of the ceramic layer and the adhesive layer, and in combination with the primary reference, discloses the presently claimed invention.
Applicants argue claim 6 distinguishes over the applied art for analogous reasons (P7/¶2). The combination of references disclose a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides as detailed above.
Applicants argue dependent claims 2–5 distinguish over the applied art for the reasons set forth above (P7/¶3). The combination of references disclose a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides as detailed above.
Applicants argue dependent claims 2–5 distinguish over the applied art for the additional features recited (P7/¶3). The combination of reference disclose the additional features as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (KR 102122206 B1, hereinafter Lee '206) discloses a separator (FIG. 6, [0046]) includes a base material layer (2) of a porous resin (see separator, [0025]), the separator (FIG. 6, [0046]) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 6, [0046]), the separator (FIG. 2, [0031]) further comprises an adhesive layer (2a) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern (2a) on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 6, [0046]), the adhesive layer (2a) includes an adhesive resin (see coating layer, [0029]), and, and a plurality of regions including no adhesive layer (2a) extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (FIG. 6, [0046]).
Tsukagoshi et al. (WO 2020/066108 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2022/0052420 A1; hereinafter Tsukagoshi) discloses a separator (24) includes a base material layer (34) of a porous resin (see resin substrate, [0024]), a ceramic layer (36) containing first inorganic particles and disposed on at least one surface of the base material layer (34, [0021]), the separator (24) has principal surfaces, each of the principal surfaces having a pair of first sides being longest sides of the principal surfaces (FIG. 4, [0024]), the separator (24) further comprises an adhesive layer (38) having portions arranged at a predetermined pitch to form a stripe pattern on at least one of the principal surfaces (FIG. 4, [0024]), the adhesive layer (38) includes an adhesive resin (see binder, [0032]), and an angle formed by the adhesive layer (3) and the first side of the at least one principal surface of the separator is 20° or more and 70° or less (FIG. 4, [0024]), and a plurality of regions (40) including no adhesive layer (38) extends from one of the pair of first sides to the other of the pair of first sides (FIG. 4, [0024]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725