DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, the antimicrobial releasing agent, with Species 2 (polysulfonic acid) in the reply filed on 27 February 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 1, 3, 7, 11-18, and 21-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kross et al. (EP 0287074, hereinafter referred to a “Kross”).
As to Claim 2: Kross teaches a disinfecting composition comprising two gels and the second gel comprises a metal chlorite and polysulfonic acid (Abstract). Kross further teaches that the gel can further include a water-soluble chloride which may facilitate the formation of chlorine dioxide (Pg. 9, Lines 3-6).
Kross does not explicitly teach an example wherein the carrier material has a pH below 3.5.
However, Kross teaches that when the two gels are combined the pH should be from 2.2 to about 7 (Pg. 9, Lines 47-57). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a pH of less than 3.5 because Kross teaches that this is an acceptable pH range for the composition to generate chlorine dioxide (Pg. 8, Lines 45-57).
As to Claim 4: Kross renders obvious the antimicrobial releasing agent of claim 2 (supra).
Kross does not explicitly teach an example wherein the carrier material has a pH of 1.4 to 3.1.
However, Kross teaches that when the two gels are combined the pH should be from 2.2 to about 7 (Pg. 9, Lines 47-57). At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a pH of 2.2-3.1 because Kross teaches that this is an acceptable pH range for the composition to generate chlorine dioxide (Pg. 8, Lines 45-57).
As to Claims 8 and 9: Kross renders obvious the antimicrobial agent of claim 2 (supra). Kross further teaches that the metal chlorite are preferably sodium chlorite or potassium chlorite (Pg. 9, Lines 10-15).
As to Claim 10: Kross renders obvious the antimicrobial agent of claim 2 (supra). Kross further teaches that an exemplary chloride compound for increasing the rate of chlorine dioxide gas is sodium chloride (Pg. 9, Lines 3-6; Pg 13, Lines 30-33).
Conclusion
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767