DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/053,824. Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17-22 are pending in the application. Claims 17-22 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
The applicant’s amendment filed January 28, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection under 35 USC 103 are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the term “Brookfield” appears to be a trade name. A trade name may not be used to identify a product in a claim. MPEP § 2173.05(u).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Lawrence et al (US 2003/0151028).
Lawrence et al teaches a conductive ink comprising carbon black, graphite, resin and solvent (par. 25, 32, 35). The resin includes nitrocellulose (par. 25). The amount of carbon black is 10-35 wt % based upon the total binder resin weight (par. 29). The amount of graphite is 5-60 wt % based upon the total binder resin weight (par. 31). The corresponding weight ratio of graphite to carbon black includes 60:30 or 2:1. The solvent includes ethanol (par. 35). The amount of conductive particles is 10-90 % of total binder resin weight (par. 29). The amount of nitrocellulose resin is up to 30 % of total binder resin weight (par. 25). Using 60 % conductive particles and 30 % nitrocellulose resin gives a ratio of conductive particles to resin of 2:1. The ink is used to make a conductive film having a thickness of 2 µm (par. 39).
In the event that the above disclosure is not sufficiently specific to anticipate the above listed claims, the examiner submits that the selection of the instantly claimed conductive particle and resin components and amounts thereof would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since Lawrence et al teaches a conductive ink containing each of the claimed components within the claimed ranges.
Claims 3-5, 7, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence et al (US 2003/0151028) in view of Davies et al (US 2005/0096409).
Lawrence et al teaches a conductive ink as described above. Lawrence et al does not teach the amount resin in the ink, the specific surface areas of carbon black and graphite, the amount of conductive particles in the ink, and the amount of solvent in the ink.
However, Davies et al teaches a conductive ink comprising graphite, carbon black, binder resin and solvent (abstract; par. 15, 22). In an embodiment, the amount of binder resin is about 12-15 % by weight in the composition (par. 27). The graphite has a surface area of 12 m2/g (par. 16). The carbon black has a surface area of 20-1000 m2/g (par. 15). The ink is used to make a conductive film (par. 25).
Combining the amount of resin from Davies et al with the ratio of conductive particles to binder resin of Lawrence et al (10-90 %) gives and amount of conductive particles of about 1.2-13.5 % by weight in the composition. By subtraction of resin and conductive particles, the amount of solvent in the ink is about 71.5-87 % by weight.
Lawrence et al and Davies et al are both directed to conductive inks containing resin, graphite and carbon black. Since Lawrence does not teach the amount of resin or the specific surface areas of the conductive particles, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine those properties from Davies et al with the ink of Lawrence et al in order to obtain a resin amount and particle surface areas known to be suitable for a conductive ink.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lawrence et al (US 2003/0151028) in view of Overbreek et al (US 2010/0140564).
Lawrence et al teaches a conductive ink as described above. Lawrence et al does not teach the viscosity of the ink.
However, Overbreek et al teaches a conductive ink which is applied by gravure printing (par. 13). The viscosity of the ink for gravure printing is 50-1000 mPa·s at 20 °C (par. 131). The claimed Brookfield viscosity is obvious in view of the prior art viscosity range.
Lawrence et al teaches printing the ink by gravure printing (par. 45). Overbreek et al teaches an ink for gravure printing having a viscosity of 50-1000 mPa·s at 20 °C (par. 131). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the viscosity of Overbreek et al with the ink of Lawrence et al in order to obtain a suitable viscosity for printing.
Response to Arguments
Lawrence et al teaches ethanol solvent which is one of the claimed solvents.
Examiner’s Information