DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims are 1-9 pending, independent claim 1 and dependent claims 4 are amended, and claims 2 and 3 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7, filed 10/31/2025, with respect to U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 1, and 4-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 1, and 4--9 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on page 7, filed 10/31/2025, with respect to U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, and 4-9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 1, and 4-9 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8, filed 10/31/2025 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, and 4-9 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ahmad et al (KR 101921654 B1) hereinafter Ahmad, Jang et al (KR20200122520A) hereinafter Jang, Morita (JP 2009277613 A), and Fraunhofer Ges Forschung (DE 202014101234U1) do not teach all the new limitations of the amended claims 1.
Examiner respectfully agrees. In light of the amendments, previously used art Kai (JPH 04366732 A) have been used on the new limitations of claim 1 and Examiner directs the applicant below for the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad et al (KR 101921654 B1) hereinafter Ahmad in view of Morita (JP 2009277613 A), Jang et al (KR20200122520A) hereinafter Jang, Fraunhofer Ges Forschung (DE 202014101234U1) hereinafter Fraunhofer, and further in view of Kai (JPH 04366732 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Ahmad teaches a working electrode unit configured such that a working electrode is disposed therein, gas is supplied to an inside of the working electrode unit (“all of the electrodes 110, 120 and 130 and the gas lines 150 and 160 are assembled into a case (i.e., working electrode unit)” [0054], where “for an electrode for a fuel cell may include a gas line (150) (i.e., gas supplied inside of the working electrode unit) supplying at least one gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, oxygen, and hydrogen, and a gas line (160) supplying hydrogen, argon, or both to a reference electrode (130).” [0050], and “110: Working Electrode” [0072])), and voltage and current are measured (“all the electrodes are connected with a potentiostat / galvanostat for measuring the current-voltage characteristic by detecting the response to the current.” [0054] ) by a current collection rod provided thereon (“a counter electrode (120) as an electrode to facilitate the flow of current, (i.e., current collection rod)” [0035]); wherein the working electrode unit (“all of the electrodes 110, 120 and 130 and the gas lines 150 and 160 are assembled into a case (i.e., working electrode unit)” [0054]) comprises: a passage substrate provided in a working electrode body having the working electrode disposed therein (“the working electrode (110) includes a platinum microelectrode and a catalyst layer (111) (i.e., passage substrate) coated on the platinum microelectrode (i.e., disposed inside of the passage substrate)” [0036]) , configured to have a supply passage to supply gas to the working electrode (Fig. 2 where 160 and 150 are gas lines), and connected to the current collection rod (Fig. 2 where the catalyst layer 111 is connected to the collection rod (the counter electrode) 120), the counter electrode unit (“120: a counter electrode” [0072]) provided to guide mounting of the working electrode unit so that a counter electrode disposed in the counter electrode unit is disposed to face the working electrode (Fig. 2 where counter electrode 120 is disposed to face the working electrode 110), and configured such that an electrolyte solution is stored in the counter electrode unit, current is measured by the current collection rod, and voltage is measured by a reference electrode (“130: a reference electrode” [0072], and “all the electrodes (i.e., electrodes can be collection rods when moving the flow of electric current) are connected with a potentiostat / galvanostat for measuring the current-voltage characteristic by detecting the response to the current.” [0054]) immersed in the electrolyte solution (“The reference electrode may be one in which a portion of the reference electrode is immersed in a sulfuric acid or sodium hydroxide solution to form hydrogen bubbles to form hydrogen gas.” [0049] where “RDE uses a liquid electrolyte (H2SO4 aqueous solution (i.e., sulfuric acid) or HClO4 aqueous solution)” [0008]); and a control unit configured to selectively adjust a temperature of the heater unit within a set temperature range (“a computer for controlling (i.e., a control unit) the software and analyzing the results.” [0054] where “the heating bath (i.e., a heat unit) set at a temperature (i.e. selectively adjusts) for activation of hydrogen, for example, 30 ° C to 70 ° C. (i.e., a temperature range)” [0057]), and to evaluate performance of the working electrode using current and voltage characteristics depending on a temperature of the electrolyte solution, in a state in which gas is supplied to the working electrode (“the measurement of the cyclic voltammetry (CV) (i.e., measures the current response of an electrochemical cell to a linearly cycled potential sweep, providing insights into the thermodynamics, kinetics, and mechanisms of redox reactions) may be performed after heating the case (i.e., working electrode unit) by setting the heating bath to a temperature for activating hydrogen, for example, 30°C to 70°C. Additionally, it may be possible to measure a cyclic voltametric signal while purging at least one gas selected from the group consisting of argon, hydrogen, and oxygen through a gas pipe (150, 160).” [0057].
Ahmad does not teach a press part configured to have a pair of gas passages configured to supply gas to the supply passage and to discharge the supplied gas, and provided to support the current collection rod and to press the passage substrate towards the working electrode; a cover coupled to the working electrode body to press the press part; a heater unit immersed in the electrolyte solution to heat the electrolyte solution; a key member formed to support the current collection rod while surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the current collection rod, and coupled to the cover in a state in which the key member is not connected to the current collection rod.
Morita teaches a press part (“pressing device 500” [0017]) configured to have a pair of gas passages configured to supply gas to the supply passage and to discharge the supplied gas (Fig. 1 where 610 is an N2 gas line that goes in and out of the pressing device 500), and provided to support the current collection rod and to press the passage substrate towards the working electrode (“pressing device 500 is a device that presses a membrane electrode (i.e., working electrode) assembly with a diffusion layer (i.e., passage substrate)” [0017]); and a cover coupled to the working electrode body to press the press part (Fig. 1 where the pressing device 500 covers the electrode 100, and the squeeze 510 is the part that presses the pressing device down).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the press part discussed in Morita to the electrode measuring apparatus discussed in Ahmad and Jang for the purpose of squeezing the electrodes while under test. This gives the advantage of evaluating the adhesion between the membrane electrode assembly and the diffusion layer (e.g., [0002] Morita).
Ahmad and Morita do not teach a heater unit immersed in the electrolyte solution to heat the electrolyte solution; a key member formed to support the current collection rod while surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the current collection rod, and coupled to the cover in a state in which the key member is not connected to the current collection rod.
Jang teaches a heater unit immersed in the electrolyte solution to heat the electrolyte solution (“heaters 100 having negative and positive power supply terminals at the ends are directly immersed in the electrolyte solution” [0004]), and coupled to the cover in a state in which the key member is not connected to the current collection rod. (“and each screw hole 10 is formed at one side end of each terminal wherein each screw hole is threadedly engaged with each terminal screw 9 which is turned out to be a connecting section (i.e., terminal screw 9 is a key that connects tin the groove screw hole 10), and each screw hole on which each end of the electrode bars 21 through 25 is fitted, is formed at the other end side.” Abstract where screw holes 10 are part of main body 3 (i.e., cover) that receiving body 4 that holds the collection rods is mounted to.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the heater unit directly in contact with the electrolyte solution discussed in Jang to the electrode measurement apparatus discussed in Ahmad and Morita for the purpose of heating the electrolyte solution. This gives the advantage of being able to easily acidic or basic electrolyte and quickly control the temperature adjustment of the solution (e.g., [0005], Jang).
Ahmad, Morita, and Jang do not teach a key member formed to support the current collection rod while surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the current collection rod, and coupled to the groove of the cover in the state in which the key member is not connected to the current collection rod; a stopper screw-connected to the working electrode body, and located to be hung on the counter electrode unit, wherein the key member coupled to the working electrode body through rotation of the cover to fix a rotated position of the press part comprising the current collection rod.
Fraunhofer teaches wherein a key member formed to support the current collection rod while surrounding the outer circumferential surface of the current collection rod ([0050] “In Fig. 4, the left electrode holder is a clamp holder according to the embodiment y) of the invention, the middle electrode holder is a foil holder according to the embodiment y) and the right electrode holder is a soft metal wire holder according to the embodiment y) of the invention. All three sleeve openings of the electrolyte vessel are standardized and have the same size, as do the three hollow plugs (i.e., surrounding the outer circumferential surface of the current collection rod) with corresponding cores that tightly seal these sleeve openings. This ensures that the contact rods or the entire electrode holders can be interchanged.”), the key member coupled to the working electrode body through rotation of the cover to fix a rotated position of the press part comprising the current collection rod (“have a clamping screw (i.e., key member) arranged/rotatable laterally with respect to the contact rod axis, in particular perpendicular thereto, which can fix a clamping plate in the direction of the clamping screw axis at different distances from the contact rod axis to suit the thickness of the electrode.” [0013]); a stopper screw-connected to the working electrode body, and located to be hung on the counter electrode unit (“The foil electrode to be examined should have such a shape and size (e.g. B. cut or punched) so that it can be placed into the screw cap (i.e., stopper screw) from the inside and completely and tightly close/cover the measuring opening, so that the electrode together with the sealing ring creates a seal between the electrolyte and the contact rod” [0047] where the sealed electrode is in “a flexible electrode holder set (i.e., can be held or hung on any apparatus)” [0005]), wherein the key member coupled to the working electrode body through rotation of the cover to fix a rotated position of the press part comprising the current collection rod (“have a clamping screw (i.e., key member) arranged/rotatable laterally with respect to the contact rod axis, in particular perpendicular thereto, which can fix a clamping plate in the direction of the clamping screw axis at different distances from the contact rod axis to suit the thickness of the electrode.” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine a stopper screw connected to the working electrode discussed in Fraunhofer to the electrode measuring apparatus discussed by Ahmad, Morita and Jang for the purpose of being able to hang the electrode on the counter electrode unit. This is advantageous because it allows for the holding of electrodes in any apparatus including an open electrolyte vessel, for example a beaker, and to vary flexibly depending on the requirements of the wet cell measurement to be carried out (e.g., [0005], Fraunhofer).
Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer do not teach a stopper screw formed to have a greater diameter than the diameter of a hanging hole of a counter electrode cover provided on a counter electrode unit.
Kai teaches a stopper screw formed to have a greater diameter than the diameter of a hanging hole of a counter electrode cover provided on a counter electrode unit ([0011] “Each of the terminals 81 to 85 is hexagonal prism-shaped, and one end (upper end) of each terminal is formed with a screw hole 10 (i.e., hanging hole of electrode cover) into which a terminal screw 9 (i.e., stopper screw) serving as a wiring connection is screwed, while the other end (lower end) of each terminal is formed with a screw hole 35 into which one end of each of the electrode rods 21 to 25 is attached.” Where in fig 1 and 2 the stopper screw 9 is larger than the diameter of screw hole 10 (i.e., hanging hole of electrode cover).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the screw holes, cover and mounting holes discussed in Kai to the electrode measuring apparatus discussed in Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer for the purpose of having a cover in which the devices can hang into the electrolyte solution from. This gives the advantage of attaching the mounted positions to the receiving body so that the wires and electrodes can be positioned accordingly (e.g. [0006], Kai).
Regarding Claim 4, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad, Jung, and Morita do not teach wherein the stopper adjusts a height of a part of the working electrode immersed in the electrolyte solution through rotation of the stopper on the working electrode body, in a state in which the stopper is hung on the counter electrode unit.
Fraunhofer teaches wherein the stopper adjusts a height of a part of the working electrode immersed in the electrolyte solution through rotation of the stopper on the working electrode body, in a state in which the stopper is hung on the counter electrode unit (“The contact rod is therefore mounted in the hollow plug in a sliding manner and is therefore height-adjustable, and is sealed with an O-ring (i.e., a stopper adjusts a height of the working electrode).” [0027], where “to electrode holders for fixing and electrically contacting different types of electrodes for measuring the conductivity in liquids which are located in an electrolyte vessel, in particular in one with standardized standard ground joints” [0001]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine a stopper screw connected to the working electrode discussed in Fraunhofer to the electrode measuring apparatus discussed by Ahmad, Morita and Jang for the purpose of being able to hang the electrode on the counter electrode unit. This is advantageous because it allows for the holding of electrodes in any apparatus including an open electrolyte vessel, for example a beaker, and to vary flexibly depending on the requirements of the wet cell measurement to be carried out (e.g., [0005], Fraunhofer).
Regarding Claim 5, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad further teaches wherein the working electrode is operated in a gaseous atmosphere (“the working electrode may be operated in a gas atmosphere of hydrogen or air” [0037]) due to air supplied to the working electrode unit through the pair of gas passages and the supply passage (“In order to supply hydrogen and air necessary for the hydrogen oxidation reaction (HOR) and the oxygen reduction reaction (ORR), the performance evaluation system 100 for an electrode for a fuel cell supplies at least one selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, oxygen and hydrogen And a gas line 160 that supplies hydrogen, argon, or both to the gas line 150 and the reference electrode 130.” [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad teaches a current collection plate configured to support the counter electrode and to transmit electrons generated from the counter electrode outside (“The anion exchange membrane 140 may be in the form of a ribbon and may be bridged / connected as an anion conductive path (i.e., exchange of electrons generated) between the counter electrode 110 and the reference electrode 130.” [0051]).
Ahmad and Morita do not teach a main body provided to store the electrolyte solution, and configured such that the counter electrode is disposed therein; and a counter electrode cover screw-connected to an upper part of the main body, and configured to have mounting holes configured to mount the reference electrode and the heater unit therein, and a hanging hole configured to hang the working electrode unit on the counter electrode cover therethrough.
Jang teaches a main body provided to store the electrolyte solution (“the electrolyte solution accommodated in the electrolyzer 200, and the electrolyte solution is heated.” [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine a main body filled with electrolyte solution discussed in Jang to the electrode measurement apparatus discussed in Ahmad and Morita for the purpose of having heated electrolyte solution to put the electrodes in for the measurement tests. This gives the advantage of being able to easily acidic or basic electrolyte and quickly control the temperature adjustment of the solution (e.g., [0005], Jang).
Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer do not teach configured such that the counter electrode is disposed therein; a current collection plate configured to support the counter electrode and to transmit electrons generated from the counter electrode outside; and a counter electrode cover screw-connected to an upper part of the main body, and configured to have mounting holes configured to mount the reference electrode and the heater unit therein, and a hanging hole configured to hang the working electrode unit on the counter electrode cover therethrough
Kai teaches a counter electrode cover screw-connected to an upper part of the main body (“a receiving body 4 to which the main body 3 is attached (i.e., upper part of main body),” [0010]), and configured to have mounting holes configured to mount the reference electrode and the heater unit therein (“main body 3 has five cylindrical portions 111 to 115 into which the terminals 81 to 85 are press-fitted (i.e., mounting holes for devices), respectively.” [0012]), and a hanging hole configured to hang the working electrode unit on the counter electrode cover therethrough (“electrode holder 1 of this embodiment includes a main body 3 on which the electrode rods 21 to 25 hang down (i.e., hanging hole)” [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the screw holes, cover and mounting holes discussed in Kai to the electrode measuring apparatus discussed in Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer for the purpose of having a cover in which the devices can hang into the electrolyte solution from. This gives the advantage of attaching the mounted positions to the receiving body so that the wires and electrodes can be positioned accordingly (e.g. [0006], Kai).
Regarding Claim 9, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad further teaches wherein the control unit controls the temperature of the heater unit within the set temperature range of 25-150 °C to heat the electrolyte solution, and thus, evaluates performance of the working electrode depending on the temperature of the electrolyte solution (“a computer for controlling (i.e., a control unit) the software and analyzing the results.” [0054] where “the measurement of the circulating voltage current (CV) (i.e., performance evaluation measurement of the working electrode) may be performed after heating the case with the heating bath set (i.e., heater unit set) at a temperature for activation of hydrogen (i.e., dependence on temperature of the electrolyte solution), for example, 30 ° C to 70 ° C (i.e., temps in the range of 25-150 ° C.” [0057]).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai in view of BASi Research Products (VC-2 Voltammetry Cell, 2019, WWW: https://www.basinc.com/products/ec/vc2) hereinafter Basi.
Regarding Claim 7, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer do not teach wherein the working electrode unit is mounted in the counter electrode unit to be separable from the counter electrode unit, and thus, the working electrode is replaceable.
Basi teaches wherein the working electrode unit is mounted in the counter electrode unit to be separable from the counter electrode unit, and thus, the working electrode is replaceable (“The Teflon® top includes a platinum wire auxiliary electrode with gold connecting pin. This electrode can be removed and replaced if it becomes worn. BASi® reference and working electrodes, which must be ordered separately (i.e., separable and replaceable), fit into holes in the top.” Paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, combine the separable and replaceable electrodes discussed in Basi to the performance evaluation apparatus of a fuel cell electrode discussed in Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer for the purpose of being able to separate and replace the electrodes. This is advantageous because an electrode can become fouled or damaged during experiments, so its replaceability ensures that the electrochemical cell remains functional and provides accurate results.
Regarding Claim 8, Ahmad, Morita, Jang, Fraunhofer, and Kai teach the limitation of Claim 1.
Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer do not teach wherein the counter electrode unit is provided to be separable from the working electrode unit, and thus, the counter electrode is replaceable.
Basi teaches wherein the counter electrode unit is provided to be separable from the working electrode unit, and thus, the counter electrode is replaceable (“The Teflon® top includes a platinum wire auxiliary electrode (i.e., where auxiliary electrode is another naming convention for a counter electrode) with gold connecting pin. This electrode can be removed and replaced (i.e., separable and replaceable if it becomes worn. BASi® reference and working electrodes, which must be ordered separately), fit into holes in the top.” Paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, combine the separable and replaceable electrodes discussed in Basi to the performance evaluation apparatus of a fuel cell electrode discussed in Ahmad, Morita, Jang, and Fraunhofer for the purpose of being able to separate and replace the electrodes. This is advantageous because an electrode can become fouled or damaged during experiments, so its replaceability ensures that the electrochemical cell remains functional and provides accurate results.
Conclusion
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863