DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 24 February 2026: claim(s) 1, 13, and 16 have been amended, claim(s) 21 have been cancelled, claim(s) 21 have been added. Thus, claims 1-3 and 5-20 are presently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that "the barrier coating 170 is disposed on the proximal rib as illustrated in annotated FIGS. 8 and 9 of Cully" on pg. 8, FIGS. 8 and 9 of Cully shows two exemplary embodiments and is not exclusively limiting (“non-limiting figures” [0013]). Cully teaches that the coating 170 may be modified “to assist in the prevention of oxygen into the syringe” ([0090]).
Cully discloses the amended claims as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully et al. (US 20210146054 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cully discloses a syringe ("syringe 10" [0029]; FIG. 1a) comprising:
a barrel ("barrel 15" [0029]) comprising an interior surface ("barrel 15 has a hydrophilic interior surface" [0029]);
a plunger ("plunger rod 85" [0032]) comprising:
an elongate handle portion defining a proximal end and a distal end ("plunger rod 85 has opposed distal and proximal ends 90 and 95" [0032]; FIG. 1b); and
a plunger tip ("stopper 100" [0032]) coupled to the distal end of the elongate handle portion ("attached at the distal end 90" [0032]; FIG. 1a),
the plunger tip 100 comprising a first material ("stopper 100 may be formed of an elastomeric body 125" [0034]) and including an annular wall and a top portion coupled to the annular wall ("stopper 100 may include one or more circumferentially extending annular ribs" [0032]; FIG. 8); and
a coating ("low friction barrier film" [0035] & "barrier coating 170" [0085]; FIG. 8) disposed on at least a portion of an external surface of the plunger tip ("surrounding the elastomeric body 125" [0035 & "surrounding a portion of the stopper 100" [0085]), the coating comprising a second material ([0035]-[0040] & [0087]-[0089]),
wherein at least one material property of the first material differs from at least one material property of the second material ("elastomeric body 125 can include any elastomer suitable for the application, most notably rubbers constructed from butyl, bromobutyl, chlorobutyl, silicone, nitrile, styrene butadiene, polychloroprene, ethylene propylene diene, fluorelastomers, or combinations or blends of any of the foregoing" [0034] & "barrier film may include one or more fluoropolymer films such as, but not limited to, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) films" [0035])
and wherein a coefficient of friction between the second material and the interior surface is lower than a coefficient of friction between the first material and the interior surface ("oxygen barrier material minimizes friction between the stopper and the interior surface of the barrel … coefficient of friction of the barrier coating 170 may be less than the coefficient of friction of the stopper material thereby allowing the stopper 100 to move smoothly in the barrel 15" [0085]),
wherein the annual wall comprises a proximal ridge, a medial ridge, and a distal ridge ("two or more ribs 120" [0032]; FIG. 5), and
wherein the coating is disposed on the medial ridge and the distal ridge (“barrier coating 170 may also cover the distal surface of stopper 100 (e.g, the entirety of the stopper 100)” [0086]).
Cully fails to specify the coating is absent from the proximal ridge. However, Cully teaches that the locations of the coating may be modified to suitably “assist in the prevention of oxygen into the syringe” ([0090]; “barrier coating 170 may not be provided on the distal fluid-contacting surface of stopper 100” [0086]) “without significantly impacting the slide force” ([0085]) “or contaminating fluids within the fluid chamber” ([0085]). Furthermore, the court as held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when such rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the rearrangement of the coating would not have changed the operation of the syringe (i.e. the plunger & stopper still slides with a lower coefficient of friction due to the presence of the coating). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cully such that the coating is disposed on the medial ridge and the distal ridge and absent from the proximal ridge to suitably “assist in the prevention of oxygen into the syringe” ([0090]; “barrier coating 170 may not be provided on the distal fluid-contacting surface of stopper 100” [0086]) “without significantly impacting the slide force … or contaminating fluids within the fluid chamber” ([0085]).
Regarding Claim 2, Cully discloses the second material comprises polyethylene, perfluoropolyether (PFPE), or perfluoropolyalkylether (PFAE) ("polyethylene" [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 3, Cully discloses the second material comprises linear low-density polyethylene (LLDPE), high-density polyethylene (HDPE), expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), or composites thereof ("expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE)" [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 4, Cully discloses a coefficient of friction between the second material and the interior surface is lower than a coefficient of friction between the first material and the interior surface ("coefficient of friction of the barrier coating 170 may be less than the coefficient of friction of the stopper material" [0085]).
Regarding Claim 5, Cully discloses the coating isolates the first material from a substance loaded in the reservoir by preventing physical contact between the first material and the substance ("the film, e.g., the ePTFE film or densified ePTFE film, surrounds the elastomeric body 125 in its entirety" [0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, Cully discloses the coating is absent from the external surface of a portion of the annular wall ("film partially surrounds the elastomeric body 125" [0053]).
Regarding Claim 8, Cully discloses the syringe is free of liquid silicone lubricants ("syringe 10 includes a barrel 15 that is free or substantially free of silicone" [0029] & [0055]).
Regarding Claim 9, Cully discloses the coating has a thickness from about 0.1 pm to about 50 pm ("Barrier films can be made with thicknesses ranging from 0.5 micron to 20 microns" [0053]).
Regarding Claim 10, Cully discloses the coating is adhered to at least a portion of an external surface of the plunger tip ("barrier coating 170 may include a laminate that is adhered or bonded to the stopper 100" [0088]).
Regarding Claim 13, Cully discloses a syringe component (FIG. 1a) comprising:
a plunger tip ("stopper 100" [0032]) comprising a first material ("stopper 100 may be formed of an elastomeric body 125" [0034]), and including an annular wall and a top portion coupled to the annular wall ("stopper 100 may include one or more circumferentially extending annular ribs" [0032]; FIG. 8);
wherein the annual wall comprises a proximal ridge, a medial ridge, and a distal ridge ("two or more ribs 120" [0032]; FIG. 5); and
a coating ("low friction barrier film" [0035] & "barrier coating 170" [0085]; FIG. 8) disposed on at least a portion of an external surface of the plunger tip ("surrounding the elastomeric body 125" [0035 & "surrounding a portion of the stopper 100" [0085]), the coating comprising a second material,
wherein at least one material property of the first material differs from at least one material property of the second material ("elastomeric body 125 can include any elastomer suitable for the application, most notably rubbers constructed from butyl, bromobutyl, chlorobutyl, silicone, nitrile, styrene butadiene, polychloroprene, ethylene propylene diene, fluorelastomers, or combinations or blends of any of the foregoing" [0034] & "barrier film may include one or more fluoropolymer films such as, but not limited to, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) or expanded polytetrafluoroethylene (ePTFE) films" [0035])
wherein the coating is disposed on the medial ridge and the distal ridge (“barrier coating 170 may also cover the distal surface of stopper 100 (e.g, the entirety of the stopper 100)” [0086]).
Cully fails to specify the coating is absent from the proximal ridge. However, Cully teaches that the locations of the coating may be modified to suitably “assist in the prevention of oxygen into the syringe” ([0090]; “barrier coating 170 may not be provided on the distal fluid-contacting surface of stopper 100” [0086]) “without significantly impacting the slide force” ([0085]) “or contaminating fluids within the fluid chamber” ([0085]). Furthermore, the court as held that the rearrangement of parts is an obvious matter of design choice when such rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975). In this case, the rearrangement of the coating would not have changed the operation of the syringe (i.e. the plunger & stopper still slides with a lower coefficient of friction due to the presence of the coating). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cully such that the coating is disposed on the medial ridge and the distal ridge and absent from the proximal ridge to suitably “assist in the prevention of oxygen into the syringe” ([0090]; “barrier coating 170 may not be provided on the distal fluid-contacting surface of stopper 100” [0086]) “without significantly impacting the slide force … or contaminating fluids within the fluid chamber” ([0085]).
Regarding Claim 14, Cully discloses a coefficient of friction between the second material and an interior surface of a syringe is lower than a coefficient of friction between the first material and the interior surface of the syringe ("coefficient of friction of the barrier coating 170 may be less than the coefficient of friction of the stopper material" [0085]).
Regarding Claim 15, Cully discloses the coating is configured to isolate the first material in the plunger tip from a substance loaded in a reservoir defined by an interior surface of a syringe by preventing physical contact between the first material and the substance ("the film, e.g., the ePTFE film or densified ePTFE film, surrounds the elastomeric body 125 in its entirety" [0053]).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully et al. in view of Butts et al. (US 20170209648 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Cully discloses the plunger tip comprises silicone ("elastomeric body 125 can include any elastomer suitable for the application, most notably … silicone" [0034]) but fails to expressly disclose the substance comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) or gelatin foam. However, Butts teaches coverings for syringe plunger tips (see Abstract) wherein the substance comprises polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) or gelatin foam (“substance containing polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) within the syringe barrel” [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cully to incorporate the teachings of Butts to enhance the compatibility of the plunger tip with the substance contained within the syringe barrel ([0016]-[0018]).
Regarding Claim 6, Cully fails to expressly disclose the plunger tip and coating comprise a geometric coupling feature. However, Butts teaches coverings for syringe plunger tips (see Abstract) wherein the plunger tip and coating comprise a geometric coupling feature (“Ridges or detents 348 may protrude from the inner surface 344 for engaging features of the plunger tip 330 and for holding the covering 340 in position on the plunger tip 330 via, for example, a friction fit” [0032]; FIG. 3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Cully according to Butts to ensure the attachment of the coating to the plunger tip ([0032]-[0034]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cully et al. in view of Nakamura et al. (US 20160243305 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Cully discloses the plunger tip ("stopper 100" [0032]) but fails to expressly disclose the coating is covalently bonded to the portion of the external surface of the plunger tip. However, Nakamura teaches “a gasket body and a soft coating provided on a portion that comes into contact with the inner surface of the outer cylinder” (see Abstract) wherein the coating is covalently bonded to the portion of the external surface (“in order to improve strength of the coating layer itself and adhesive strength to the gasket body … establish a strong bond such as a covalent bond for the gasket body” [0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Cully according to Nakamura to obtain a coating that has “excellent smooth and flexible properties” ([0061]-[0062]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 12-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 10653845 B2 in view of Cully et al. (US 20210146054 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 10653845 B2 in view of Cully discloses at least all features of instant independent claims 1 and 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781