DETAILED ACTION
The amendment submitted on 03/05/2026 has been received and considered by the Examiner. Claims 1, 19, and 29-30 were amended, claim 11 was canceled, and claims 10 and 25 were previously canceled. Claims 1-9, 12-24, and 26-30 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 12-24, and 26-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not recite “transmitting, to a second UE associated with the second cell based at least part on the first downlink control information, a request for the traffic information associated with the second cell” in combination with “the traffic information comprises an indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration of the second cell, channel state information associated with the second cell, or a combination thereof” and the other limitations of dependent claim 26. Chu et al. does describe a base station requesting a UE to provide interference information (see, for example, paragraph 0038 of Chu), but in Chu, this is not based on receiving DCI.
Claim 27 is similarly allowable since it depends on claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 4-9, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1, hereinafter “Zhuo”) in view of Chu et al. (US 2017/0339703 A1, hereinafter “Chu”).
As to Claims 1 and 29:
Zhuo discloses a method for a base station in a first cell to request another network node to hand a user device over to the first cell based on the traffic in the device’s current cell.
Specifically, Zhuo teaches:
A network entity associated with a first cell
“[T]he second radio access network device sends a HO ACK to the first radio access device, and the HO ACK carries resource configuration information of a target cell” (Zhuo, 0014).
Here, “the second radio access network device” maps to “a network entity”, and
“a target cell” maps to “a first cell”.
Obtaining a control message comprising traffic information associated with a second cell, the traffic information indicating a first set of communication parameters associated with traffic for communicating via the second cell
“The first radio access network device receives traffic model information of a first terminal device that is sent by the first terminal device. The first radio access network device sends the traffic model information of the first terminal device to a second radio access network device.... If the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell ... [T]raffic model information includes any one or more of the following information: traffic period information, information about a time offset of traffic relative to a system frame number, sidelink data packet priority PPPP information, sidelink data packet reliability PPPR information, or traffic packet size information” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028, 0030.
Here, “sends” maps to “obtaining” from the perspective of “a second radio access network device”,
“traffic model information” maps to “a control message comprising traffic information”,
“a source cell” maps to “a second cell”,
“includes” maps to “indicating”, and
“traffic period information, information about a time offset of traffic relative to a system frame number, sidelink data packet priority PPPP information, sidelink data packet reliability PPPR information, or traffic packet size information” maps to “a first set of communication parameters associated with traffic for communicating via the second cell”).
Outputting, to a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters
Fig. 3A and 3B in Zhuo show the process of sending a resource mapping to the UE based on the traffic model the UE previously sent.
Here, steps 306-308 in Fig. 3B, “send[ing] a configuration message to the first terminal device”, correspond to “outputting, to a user equipment (UE)”, and
Step 305 in Fig. 3A, “determin[ing], based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, a transmission resource required by the first terminal device” maps to “based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters”.
A message associated with the first cell, and a second message communicated via the second cell
(“[T]he sending module is further configured to perform the following operation: when the first terminal device uses a mode 3 for transmission, transmitting data to the second terminal device by using the transmission resource from a moment at which the configuration message is received by the first terminal device to a moment at which a cell to which the first terminal device is handed over” (Zhuo, 0046).
Here, “transmitting” in “a cell” before “the first terminal device is handed over” maps to “a message associated with the first cell”, and
“transmitting” in “a cell” after “the first terminal device is handed over” maps to “a second message communicated via the second cell”).
A set of semi-persistent scheduling communication occasions between the network entity and the UE
Zhuo describes a “transmission resource” that “is configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner” (Zhuo, 0121).
Communicating, via the first cell ... the message with the UE associated with the first cell, a second set of communication parameters associated with the message based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016).
Here, “the second radio access network device sends” maps to “communicating, via the first cell ... the message” because the second RAN device is in the target cell, i.e. the “first cell”,
“the first terminal device” maps to “the UE associated with the first cell”
“the transmission resource” maps to “a second set of communication parameters”,
“carrying” maps to “associated with”,
“sends” maps to “the message”,
“based on the traffic model information” maps to “based at least in part on the traffic information”, and
“of the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the terminal resides in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
A second set of communication parameters associated with the message based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016).
Here, “the transmission resource” maps to “a second set of communication parameters”,
“carrying” maps to “associated with”,
“sends” maps to “the message”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”,
“the traffic model information” maps to “the traffic information”, and
“of the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the terminal resides in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
Zhuo does not explicitly disclose:
An indication of a detected time overlap between a message ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters
The indication of the detected time overlap comprises a bitmap corresponding to a set of semi-persistent scheduling communication occasions between the network entity and the UE
Each bit of the bitmap indicates whether a respective communication occasion overlaps in time with communication occasions associated with other devices
The detected time overlap
However, Chu does describe a method for a UE to submit an interference report to a base station.
Specifically, Chu teaches:
An indication of a detected time overlap between a message ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters
Chu describes a “base station” that “receives the D2D interference state information sent by UE” which “may include at least one of the following: a group identifier of the D2D transmission, a priority of the D2D transmission, and resource information corresponding to the D2D transmission” (Chu, 0021-0022).
Here, “D2D interference state information” maps to “an indication of a detected time overlap between a message”, and
“a group identifier of the D2D transmission, a priority of the D2D transmission, and resource information corresponding to the D2D transmission” map to “the first set of communication parameters”.
The indication of the detected time overlap comprises a bitmap corresponding to a ... communication
Zhou describes “bitmaps carried in the D2D interference state information” (Zhou, 0029).
Each bit of the bitmap indicates whether a respective communication occasion overlaps in time with communication occasions associated with other devices
Zhou teaches that “a length of the bitmap carried in the D2D interference state information is identical to the number of resources for the D2D transmission of the cell edge UE” (Zhou, 0030). In other words, each bit indicates if two UEs are interfering with each other on a specific resource of the cell edge UE.
The detected time overlap
Chu describes a “base station” that “receives the D2D interference state information sent by UE” (Chu, 0021).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bitmap Chu uses to denote interference into the traffic information transmitted uplink in Zhuo. As Chu explains, the bitmap can concisely indicate traffic collisions to “solve[] the problem of reduced receiving performance of D2D transmission and cellular transmission due to interference or resource conflict” (Chu, Abstract).
Claim 29 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
A network entity associated with a first cell, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus
Zhou describes a “second radio access network device” associated with “a target cell” (Zhuo, 0014), later clarifying that “[t]he communications apparatus includes a processor, and the processor is configured to execute a program instruction ... the communications apparatus further includes a memory, where the memory is configured to store the program instruction” (Zhuo, 0054).
As to Claims 2 and 20:
Zhuo teaches:
Obtaining the control message comprising the traffic information from a second network entity associated with the second cell
“The first radio access network device receives traffic model information of a first terminal device that is sent by the first terminal device. The first radio access network device sends the traffic model information of the first terminal device to a second radio access network device.... If the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028.
Here, “sends” maps to “obtaining” from the perspective of “the first radio access network device”,
“first resource configuration information” maps to “the control message”,
“traffic model information” maps to “the traffic information”,
“the first network entity” maps to “a second network entity”, and
“a source cell” maps to “the second cell”.
Claim 20 introduces substantially the same new limitations as Claim 2 from the perspective of a user equipment.
As to Claim 3:
Zhuo teaches:
Obtaining, via the first cell, the control message comprising the traffic information from the UE or a second UE associated with the first cell
“The first radio access network device receives traffic model information of a first terminal device that is sent by the first terminal device” (Zhuo, 0007).
Here, “receives” maps to “obtaining, via the first cell”,
“traffic model information” maps to “the control message comprising the traffic information”, and
“the first terminal device” maps to “the UE” from the list of “the UE or a second UE associated with the first cell”.
As to Claim 5:
Zhuo teaches:
Obtaining the control message comprising the traffic information from a second UE associated with the second cell
“[A] source cell notifies a target cell of related information such as an SL traffic model by using an HO request” (Zhuo, 0203). Fig. 5 in Zhuo shows a diagram of the handover message being sent.
Here, “notifies” maps to “obtaining” from the perspective of the network node in the “target cell”,
“an HO request” maps to “the control message”,
“an SL traffic model” maps to “the traffic information”,
the “UE” in Fig. 5 which is the source of the “measurement report” maps to “a second UE”, and
“a source cell” maps to “the second cell”.
As to Claim 6:
Zhuo teaches:
Determining the second set of communication parameters for communicating the message with the UE based at least in part on the first set of communication parameters and a priority associated with the message, a quality of service associated with the message, or both
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource ... the second radio access network device determines, based on the PPPP information, a priority of data carried on the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016, 0031).
Here, “determine” maps to “determining”,
“the transmission resource” maps to “the second set of communication parameters for communicating the message”,
“the first terminal device” maps to “the UE”,
“based on the traffic model information” maps to “based at least in part on the first set of communication parameters”,
“a priority of data” maps to “a priority associated with the message” from the list of “a priority associated with the message, a quality of service associated with the message, or both”.
As to Claim 7 and 23:
From the list of:
The first set of communication parameters comprises a priority associated with the traffic, a quality of service associated with the traffic, a modulation and coding scheme associated with the traffic, a transmission power associated with the traffic, a resource configuration associated with the traffic, a reference signal configuration associated with the traffic, a scrambling code associated with the traffic, a transport block size associated with the traffic, a buffer status report associated with the traffic, channel state information associated with the second cell, or a combination thereof
Zhuo at least teaches:
The first set of communication parameters comprises a priority associated with the traffic
“[T]he traffic model information includes any one or more of the following information: ... packet priority PPPP information” (Zhuo, 0030).
Here, “the traffic model information” maps to “the first set of communication parameters”,
“includes” maps to “comprises”,
“priority” maps to “a priority”, and
“packet” maps to “associated with the traffic”.
Zhou also teaches:
The second set of communication parameters comprises a modulation and coding scheme associated with the message, a transmission power associated with the message, a resource configuration associated with the message, or a combination thereof
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Cosing Schemes, MCS) and transmit power” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “a modulation and coding scheme” maps to “a modulation and coding scheme”,
“transmit power” maps to “a transmission power”, and
“the SPS/GF resource” maps to “a resource configuration associated with the message”.
Claim 23 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 7 from the perspective of a user equipment.
As to Claim 8:
Zhuo does not explicitly disclose:
Allocating a sidelink resource to the UE for communicating with a second UE via a sidelink based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
However, Chu does teach:
Allocating a sidelink resource to the UE for communicating with a second UE via a sidelink based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
Chu states that “interference coordination processing ... may include ... [t]he base station conducts resource assignment or scheduling adjustment for the D2D transmission according to the D2D interference state information” (Chu, 0023).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform sidelink resource allocation, as described in Chu, based on the traffic information communicated in Zhuo. As Chu explains, the bitmap can concisely indicate traffic collisions to “solve[] the problem of reduced receiving performance of D2D transmission and cellular transmission due to interference or resource conflict” (Chu, Abstract).
As to Claim 9:
Zhuo teaches:
Obtaining, from the UE, a request to adjust a modulation and coding scheme for communicating with the UE based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the UE may send the traffic by using the configured SPS/GF resource, and send data by using a sending parameter indicated in the configured SPS/GF resource. For example, the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Coding Schemes, MCS)” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “indicated” maps to “obtaining” from the perspective of “the UE”,
“the traffic model reported” maps to “a request to adjust a modulation and coding scheme” because the practice effect of sending this report is for the base station to respond with “a sending parameter” that “may include a modulation and coding scheme”,
“send data by using” maps to “for communicating”,
“the UE’ maps to “the UE”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”, and
“the traffic model” maps to “the traffic information associated with the second cell”.
The second set of communication parameters comprises the adjusted modulation and coding scheme based at least in part on the request
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the UE may send the traffic by using the configured SPS/GF resource, and send data by using a sending parameter indicated in the configured SPS/GF resource. For example, the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Coding Schemes, MCS)” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “the configured SPS/GF resource” maps to “the second set of communication parameters”,
“a modulation and coding scheme” maps to “the adjusted modulation and coding scheme” because the MCS is resent sent each time the UE reports traffic, meaning it is repeatedly “adjusted”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”, and
“the traffic model reported” maps to “the request”.
As to Claim 12:
From the list of:
The indication of the detected time overlap comprises a semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the second cell or a configured grant associated with the second cell, the detected time overlap corresponding to an overlap between a semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the first cell and the semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the second cell or an overlap between a configured grant associated with the first cell and the configured grant associated with the second cell
Zhuo at least teaches:
The indication ... comprises a semi-persistent scheduling configuration associated with the second cell
“[T]he first resource configuration information includes a transmission resource required by the first terminal ... the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell ... the transmission resource is configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028, 0121).
Here, “resource configuration information” maps to “the indication”,
“configured in a semi-persistent scheduling ... manner” maps to “a semi-persistent configuration”, and
“using a transmission resource of a source cell” maps to “associated with the second cell”.
Zhuo does not explicitly disclose:
The indication of the detected time overlap
However, Chu does teach:
The indication of the detected time overlap
Chu describes a “base station” that “receives the D2D interference state information sent by UE” (Chu, 0021).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bitmap Chu uses to denote interference into the traffic information transmitted uplink in Zhuo. As Chu explains, the bitmap can concisely indicate traffic collisions to “solve[] the problem of reduced receiving performance of D2D transmission and cellular transmission due to interference or resource conflict” (Chu, Abstract).
As to Claim 18:
Zhuo teaches:
The traffic for communicating via the second cell is associated with a zone that comprises the UE ... associated with the second cell based at least in part on respective geographic locations of the UE
“[T]he second radio access network device determines, for the first terminal device based on the location information of the first terminal device, a resource location corresponding to an area in which the first terminal device is located ... the first terminal device is currently located in a coverage area of a cell (namely, a source cell) managed by the first radio access network device. The first terminal device obtains the traffic model information ... and then ... sends the traffic model information ... to the first radio access network device” (Zhuo, 0018, 0079).
Here, “traffic model information” maps to “the traffic”,
“sends” in “a coverage area of a cell” maps to “communicating via the second cell”,
“a coverage area” maps to “a zone”,
“the first terminal” maps to “the UE”,
“of a cell” maps to “associated with the second cell”, and
“based on the location information of the terminal device” maps to “based at least in part on respective geographic locations of the UE”.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
The UE and the second UE
However, Huang does teach:
The UE and the second UE
“A WD may support device-to-device (D2D) communication, for example by implementing a 3GPP standard for sidelink communication” (Huang, 0120).
Here, “device-to-device (D2D) communication” maps to “the UE and the second UE”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deploy multiple UEs, as disclosed in Huang, in the geographic coverage area described in Zhuo. It is clear from context that the coverage area disclosed in Zhuo is meant to serve the plurality of UEs described in Huang.
As to Claims 19 and 30:
Zhuo teaches:
A user equipment associated with a first cell
(“[T]he first terminal device transmits data to the second terminal device by using the transmission resource from a moment at which the configuration message is received by the first terminal device to a moment at which a cell to which the first terminal device is handed over is reconfigured” (Zhuo, 0028).
Here, “the first terminal device” maps to “a user equipment”,
“to which ... is handed over” maps to “associated with”, and
“a target cell” maps to “a first cell”).
Traffic information associated with a second cell, the traffic information indicating a first set of communication parameters associated with traffic for communicating via the second cell
“The first radio access network device receives traffic model information of a first terminal device that is sent by the first terminal device. The first radio access network device sends the traffic model information of the first terminal device to a second radio access network device.... If the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell ... [T]raffic model information includes any one or more of the following information: traffic period information, information about a time offset of traffic relative to a system frame number, sidelink data packet priority PPPP information, sidelink data packet reliability PPPR information, or traffic packet size information” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028, 0030).
Here, “traffic model information” maps to “traffic information”,
“a source cell” maps to “a second cell”,
“includes” maps to “indicating”, and
“traffic period information, information about a time offset of traffic relative to a system frame number, sidelink data packet priority PPPP information, sidelink data packet reliability PPPR information, or traffic packet size information” maps to “a first set of communication parameters associated with traffic for communicating via the second cell”.
Transmitting, to a network entity associated with the first cell, a second control message comprising the traffic information associated with the second cell
“The first radio access network device receives traffic model information of a first terminal device that is sent by the first terminal device. The first radio access network device sends the traffic model information of the first terminal device to a second radio access network device.... If the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device is configured to use the mode 3 for transmission in a target cell, the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell ... [T]raffic model information includes any one or more of the following information: traffic period information, information about a time offset of traffic relative to a system frame number, sidelink data packet priority PPPP information, sidelink data packet reliability PPPR information, or traffic packet size information” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028, 0030).
Here, “receives” maps to “transmitting” from the perspective of the UE,
“the first radio access network device” maps to “a network entity”,
“a target cell” maps to “the first cell”,
“traffic model information” maps to “a second control message comprising the traffic information”, and
“sent by the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the “first terminal” is located in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
Communicating, via the first cell ... the message with the network entity, a second set of communication parameters associated with the message based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016).
Here, “the second radio access network device sends” maps to “communicating, via the first cell ... the message” because the second RAN device is in the target cell, i.e. the “first cell”,
“the second radio access network device” maps to “the network entity”,
“the transmission resource” maps to “a second set of communication parameters”,
“carrying” maps to “associated with”,
“sends” maps to “the message”,
“based on the traffic model information” maps to “based at least in part on the traffic information”, and
“of the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the terminal resides in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
A second set of communication parameters associated with the message based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016).
Here, “the transmission resource” maps to “a second set of communication parameters”,
“carrying” maps to “associated with”,
“sends” maps to “the message”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”,
“the traffic model information” maps to “the traffic information”, and
“of the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the terminal resides in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
Zhuo does not explicitly disclose:
Receiving a first control message comprising ... information associated with a second cell
Receiving, based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell, an indication of a detected time overlap ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters
Communicating, via the first cell and based at least in part on the detected time overlap
Performing an interference cancellation procedure in association with communicating the message based at least in part on the indication of the detected time overlap and the first set of communication parameters
However, Chu does teach:
Receiving a first control message comprising ... information associated with a second cell
Chu states that interference reporting can be triggered by “the UE receiv[ing] a reporting request that the base station instructs the UE to report the D2D interference state information” (Chu, 0038). Elsewhere, Chu clarifies that the base station can derive “a cell or a base station as a possible interference source according to at least one of the D2D interference state information” (Chu, 0026).
Here, “receiv[ing] a reporting request” maps to “receiving a first control message comprising ... information”, and
the “cell” that is the “interference source” maps to “a second cell”.
Receiving, based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell, an indication of a detected time overlap ... in accordance with the first set of communication parameters
Chu describes a “base station” that “receives the D2D interference state information sent by UE” which “may include at least one of the following: a group identifier of the D2D transmission, a priority of the D2D transmission, and resource information corresponding to the D2D transmission” (Chu, 0021-0022).
Here, “receiv[ing] the D2D interference state information” maps to “receiving, based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell, an indication of a detected time overlap”, and
“a group identifier of the D2D transmission, a priority of the D2D transmission, and resource information corresponding to the D2D transmission” map to “the first set of communication parameters”.
Communicating, via the first cell and based at least in part on the detected time overlap
Chu teaches that “the base station conducts the resource assignment or the scheduling adjustment for the D2D transmission according to the D2D interference state information” which entails “schedul[ing] at least one of cellular transmission or D2D transmission of UE in a cell centre or low-power transmission, or schedules no transmission of any UE” (Chu, 0025).
Here, “low power transmission” or “no transmission” maps to “communicating, via the first cell and based at least in part on the detected time overlap”.
Performing an interference cancellation procedure in association with communicating the message based at least in part on the indication of the detected time overlap and the first set of communication parameters
Chu teaches that “the base station conducts the resource assignment or the scheduling adjustment for the D2D transmission according to the D2D interference state information” which entails “schedul[ing] at least one of cellular transmission or D2D transmission of UE in a cell centre or low-power transmission, or schedules no transmission of any UE” (Chu, 0025).
Here, “schedul[ing] ... transmission of UE in a cell centre or low-power transmission, or schedules no transmission of any UE” maps to “performing an interference cancellation procedure in association with communicating the message”, and
“according to the D2D interference state information” maps to “based at least in part on the indication of the detected time overlap and the first set of communication parameters”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bitmap Chu uses to denote interference into the traffic information transmitted uplink in Zhuo. As Chu explains, the bitmap can concisely indicate traffic collisions to “solve[] the problem of reduced receiving performance of D2D transmission and cellular transmission due to interference or resource conflict” (Chu, Abstract).
Claim 30 introduces the same new limitations as Claim 19 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires:
A user equipment associated with a first cell, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus
Zhou describes a “first terminal device” associated with “a cell to which the first terminal device is handed over” (Zhuo, 0028). Zhou later clarifies that “[t]he communications apparatus includes a processor, and the processor is configured to execute a program instruction ... the communications apparatus further includes a memory, where the memory is configured to store the program instruction” (Zhuo, 0054).
As to Claim 24:
Zhuo teaches:
Transmitting, to the network entity, a request to adjust a modulation and coding scheme for communicating with the UE based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the UE may send the traffic by using the configured SPS/GF resource, and send data by using a sending parameter indicated in the configured SPS/GF resource. For example, the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Coding Schemes, MCS)” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “indicated” maps to “transmitting, to the network entity”,
“the traffic model reported” maps to “a request to adjust a modulation and coding scheme” because the practice effect of sending this report is for the base station to respond with “a sending parameter” that “may include a modulation and coding scheme”,
“send data by using” maps to “for communicating”,
“the UE’ maps to “the UE”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”, and
“the traffic model” maps to “the traffic information associated with the second cell”.
The second set of communication parameters comprises the adjusted modulation and coding scheme based at least in part on the request
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the UE may send the traffic by using the configured SPS/GF resource, and send data by using a sending parameter indicated in the configured SPS/GF resource. For example, the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Coding Schemes, MCS)” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “the configured SPS/GF resource” maps to “the second set of communication parameters”,
“a modulation and coding scheme” maps to “the adjusted modulation and coding scheme” because the MCS is resent sent each time the UE reports traffic, meaning it is repeatedly “adjusted”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”, and
“the traffic model reported” maps to “the request”.
As to Claim 28:
Zhuo teaches:
The traffic for communicating via the second cell is associated with a zone that comprises the UE ... associated with the second cell based at least in part on respective geographic locations of the UE
“[T]he second radio access network device determines, for the first terminal device based on the location information of the first terminal device, a resource location corresponding to an area in which the first terminal device is located ... the first terminal device is currently located in a coverage area of a cell (namely, a source cell) managed by the first radio access network device. The first terminal device obtains the traffic model information ... and then ... sends the traffic model information ... to the first radio access network device” (Zhuo, 0018, 0079).
Here, “traffic model information” maps to “the traffic”,
“sends” in “a coverage area of a cell” maps to “communicating via the second cell”,
“a coverage area” maps to “a zone”,
“the first terminal” maps to “the UE”,
“of a cell” maps to “associated with the second cell”, and
“based on the location information of the terminal device” maps to “based at least in part on respective geographic locations of the UE”.
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
The UE and the second UE
However, Chu does teach:
The UE and the second UE
Chu describes “communication data between D2D UEs” (Chu, 0009).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bitmap Chu uses to denote interference into the traffic information transmitted uplink in Zhuo. As Chu explains, the bitmap can concisely indicate traffic collisions to “solve[] the problem of reduced receiving performance of D2D transmission and cellular transmission due to interference or resource conflict” (Chu, Abstract).
Claim(s) 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1) in view of Chu (US 2017/0339703 A1) and further in view of Sahin et al. (US 2025/0008537 A1, hereinafter “Sahin”).
As to Claims 4 and 22:
Zhuo teaches:
Outputting, to the UE or the second UE, a request to establish a sidelink to communicate with a third UE associated with the second cell
“The first radio access network device receives first resource configuration information sent by the second radio access network device, where the first resource configuration information includes a transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on a sidelink SL in a handover process” (Zhuo, 0007).
Here, “the first radio access network device receives” maps to “outputting, to the ... second UE” from the list of “outputting, to the UE or the second UE” because the handover message is being sent to the UE indirectly through the “first radio access network device”,
“a handover process” for “sidelink” maps to “a request to establish a sidelink to communicate with a third UE associated with the second cell” because a sidelink connection must necessarily be between the UE receiving the handover command and another UE in its cell.
The combination of Zhuo and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The control message comprising the traffic information is obtained based at least in part on the establishment of the sidelink
However, Sahin does describe a method for sidelink nodes to communicate positioning information to each other.
Specifically, Sahin teaches:
The control message comprising the traffic information is obtained based at least in part on the establishment of the sidelink
“Based on the received capability information of operation 2 of Fig. 5, as well as any other (reported) measurements such as SL load conditions, the target UE (TUE 510, Fig. 5) may determine a SL positioning configuration for the SL positioning session” (Sahin, 0121). Fig. 5 in Sahin also shows the reporting procedure.
Here, “reported” maps to “the control message ... is obtained”,
“SL load conditions” maps to “the traffic information”, and
the fact that operation 2 in Fig. 5 occurs between 2 UEs, TUE 510 and SUE 512, maps to “based at least in part on the establishment of the sidelink” because it shows that the reporting occurs via a sidelink connection.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Sahin’s practice of UEs reporting information to each other via sidelink to communicate the UE traffic data in Zhuo’s method. SL traffic conditions are useful information for performing SL handover as well as positioning sidelink devices.
Claim 22 introduces substantially the same new limitations as Claim 4 from the perspective of a user equipment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1) in view of Chu (US 2017/0339703 A1) and further in view of Lin (US 2024/0365312 A1, hereinafter “Lin”).
As to Claim 13:
Zhuo teaches:
Outputting, to the UE, downlink control information that activates a semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating with the UE
“In the SPS manner, a resource is pre-configured by using RRC signaling, and activated by using downlink control information” (Zhuo, 0121).
Here, “activated” maps to “outputting” because the DCI must clearly be output to activate the UE,
“downlink” maps to “to the UE”,
“downlink control information” maps to “downlink control information”,
“activated” maps to “activates”,
“SPS ... pre-configured” maps to “a semi-persistent scheduling configuration”, and
“downlink” maps to “for communicating with the UE”.
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration that is based at least in part on the traffic information associated with the second cell
“[T]he second radio access network device can determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device ... in some embodiments of this application, the transmission resource is configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner” (Zhuo, 0008, 0121).
Here, “configured in a semi-persistent scheduling ... manner” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”,
“the traffic model information” maps to “the traffic information”, and
“of the first terminal device” maps to “associated with the second cell” because the terminal is in the “source cell”, i.e. the “second cell”.
The combination of Zhuo and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The downlink control information comprises an indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
However, Lin does describe a method for uplink transmission using multiple keywords.
Specifically, Lin teaches:
The downlink control information comprises an indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
“In some embodiments, for at least one of the multiple codewords, the DCI message comprises at least one field for at least one of: --a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) ... a PUSCH channel may be semi-statically (Type-1) or semi-persistently (Type 2) configured by UL grant” (Lin, 0018).
Here, “the DCI” maps to “the downlink control information”,
“comprises” maps to “comprises”,
“field” maps to “an indication”,
“a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)” maps to “a modulation and coding scheme”,
“configured by” maps to “associated with”, and
“semi-persistently (Type 2) configured” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lin’s practice of indicating a modulation and coding scheme using DCI into Zhuo’s method for scheduling SPS in another cell. Activating SPS with DCI is a common and effective way to initiate semi-persistent communication.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1) in view of Chu (US 2017/0339703 A1) and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2024/0172049 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
As to Claim 14:
Zhou teaches:
Outputting, to the UE, a second control message comprising a semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating with the UE,
“[T]he first resource configuration information includes a transmission resource required by the first terminal ... the first terminal device sends data by using a transmission resource of a source cell ... the transmission resource is configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner” (Zhuo, 0007, 0028, 0121).
Here, “sends” maps to “outputting”,
“the first terminal” maps to “the UE”,
“first resource configuration information” maps to “a second control message”,
“configured in a semi-persistent scheduling ... manner” maps to “a semi-persistent scheduling configuration”,
“transmission” to “the first terminal device” maps to “communicating with the UE”.
The combination of Zhou and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration comprising an indication for the UE to obtain the traffic information associated with the second cell from a second UE associated with the second cell
The control message is obtained from the UE based at least in part on the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
However, Yang does disclose a method for IoT devices to periodically report traffic conditions.
Specifically, Yang teaches:
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration comprising an indication for the UE to obtain the traffic information associated with the second cell from a second UE associated with the second cell
“A configured PUCCH resource is associated with an uplink control information (UCI) type.... The PUCCH can be configured periodic or semi-persistent (P/SP), and thus the UE can report the traffic related information periodically or in a semi-persistent fashion ... Typically, downlink scheduling (assigning control and shared channel resource blocks to the UE 101b within a cell) can be performed at any of the BS 111” (Yang, 0042).
Here, “A configured PUCCH resource” that is “semi-persistent” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”,
“a configured PUCCH” for allowing “the UE” to “report the traffic related information periodically” maps to “an indication for the UE to obtain the traffic information”,
“within a cell” maps to “associated with the second cell”,
“the UE” maps to “a second UE”, and
“within a cell” maps to “associated with the second cell”.
The control message is obtained from the UE based at least in part on the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
“The PUCCH can be configured periodic of semi-persistent (P/SP), and thus the UE 101 can report the traffic related information periodically or in a semi-persistent fashion” (Yang, 0042).
Here, “report” maps to “the control message is obtained”,
“the UE 101” maps to “the UE”, and
“in a semi-persistent fashion” maps to “based at least in part on the semi-persistent scheduling information”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yang’s practice of periodically reporting traffic data into Zhuo’s method for SPS scheduling. If a device regularly needs updated traffic data, it makes sense to schedule the reporting device to send updates periodically.
As to Claim 15:
Zhou teaches:
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration comprises the indication based at least in part on a priority associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
“[T]he transmission resource is configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner ... The second radio access network device may determine ... the priority of the data carried on the transmission resource ... The PPPP information may be further used to process scheduling priorities of different terminal devices” (Zhou, 0121, 0130).
Here, “the transmission resource ... configured in a semi-persistent scheduling (semi-persistent scheduling, SPS) manner” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”,
“may determine ... the priority ... on the transmission resource” maps to “comprises the indication based at least in part on a priority”, and
“of the data” maps to “associated with”.
As to Claim 16:
From the list of:
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration comprises a second indication of a duration associated with obtaining the control message from the UE after activation of the semi-persistent scheduling configuration, an identifier associated with the second UE, a third indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating to the second UE, or a combination thereof
Zhuo at least teaches:
The semi-persistent scheduling configuration comprises ... a third indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating to the second UE
“Because the SPS/GF resource is determined based on the traffic model reported by the UE ... the sending parameter may include a modulation and coding scheme (Modulation and Cosing Schemes, MCS) and transmit power” (Zhuo, 0212).
Here, “the SPS/GF resource” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”,
“may include” maps to ‘comprises”,
“a modulation and coding scheme” maps to “a modulation and coding scheme”,
“determined based on maps to “associated with”, and
“reported by the UE” maps to “for communicating to the second UE”.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1) in view of Chu (US 2017/0339703 A1) and Yang (US 2024/0172049 A1) and further in view of Lin (US 2024/0365312 A1).
As to Claim 17:
Zhuo teaches:
Outputting, to the UE, downlink control information to activate the semi-persistent scheduling configuration
“In the SPS manner, a resource is pre-configured by using RRC signaling, and activated by using downlink control information” (Zhuo, 0121).
Here, “activated” maps to “outputting” because the DCI must clearly be output to activate the UE,
“downlink” maps to “to the UE”,
“downlink control information” maps to “downlink control information”,
“activated” maps to “to activate”, and
“SPS ... pre-configured” maps to “a semi-persistent scheduling configuration”.
The combination of Zhuo, Chu, and Yang does not explicitly disclose:
The downlink control information comprises an indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating to the second UE
However, Lin does teach:
The downlink control information comprises an indication of a modulation and coding scheme associated with the semi-persistent scheduling configuration for communicating to the second UE
“In some embodiments, for at least one of the multiple codewords, the DCI message comprises at least one field for at least one of: --a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) ... a PUSCH channel may be semi-statically (Type-1) or semi-persistently (Type 2) configured by UL grant” (Lin, 0018).
Here, “the DCI” maps to “the downlink control information”,
“comprises” maps to “comprises”,
“field” maps to “an indication”,
“a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS)” maps to “a modulation and coding scheme”,
“configured by” maps to “associated with”,
“semi-persistently (Type 2) configured” maps to “the semi-persistent scheduling configuration”, and
“configured by UL grant” maps to “for communicating to the second UE”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lin’s practice of indicating a modulation and coding scheme using DCI into Zhuo’s method for scheduling SPS in another cell. Activating SPS with DCI is a common and effective way to initiate semi-persistent communication.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 2021/0185578 A1) in view of Chu (US 2017/0339703 A1) and further in view of Bae et al. (US 2025/0047408 A1, hereinafter “Bae”).
As to Claim 21:
Zhuo teaches:
The second set of communication parameters are based at least in part on the second traffic information
“[T]he second radio access network device may determine, based on the traffic model information of the first terminal device, the transmission resource required by the first terminal device to transmit data on the SL in the handover process, and the second radio access network device sends, to the first radio access network device, the first resource configuration information carrying the transmission resource” (Zhuo, 0016).
Here, “the transmission resource” maps to “the second set of communication parameters”,
“based on” maps to “based at least in part on”, and
“the traffic model information” maps to “the second traffic information”.
The combination of Zhuo and Chu does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting, to the network entity, a third control message comprising second traffic information associated with uplink communications between the UE and the network entity
However, Bae does teach:
Transmitting, to the network entity, a third control message comprising second traffic information associated with uplink communications between the UE and the network entity
“[T]he UE sends feedback only for scheduled serving cells.... The UE may transmit the CSI report based on the determined UL resource and the determined PDSCH (S805) [in Fig. 8]” (Bae, 0178, 0189).
Here, “sends” maps to “transmitting”,
“UL” maps to “to the network entity”,
“the CSI report” maps to “a third control message comprising second traffic information”, and
“based on the determined UL resource” maps to “associated with uplink communications between the UE and the network entity”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhuo’s method to have a UE in a base station’s cell report that cell’s traffic conditions. A UE in the base station’s cell will be fully aware of the traffic conditions in that cell and thus an ideal candidate to perform the traffic reporting.
Conclusion
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477