DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Amendments
Applicants amendments to the claims filed 7/13/2026 have been entered. Any objection\rejections from the previous office action filed 1/15/2026 not addressed below has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In particular the examiner did not find support in the specification as originally filed for the new limitation that hepatic metastases are caused by spread of gastric cancer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kesler et al. “68Ga-Labeled Prostate-Specific Membrane Antigen Is a Novel PET/CT Tracer for Imaging of Hepatocellular Carcinoma: A Prospective Pilot Study”, THE JOURNAL OF NUCLEAR MEDICINE • Vol. 60 • No. 2 • February 2019, for the reasons set forth in the previous office action filed 1/15/2026.
Claim(s) 1,4,7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Dondi et al. “Radiolabelled PSMA PET/CT or PET/MRI in hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC): a systematic review”, Clinical and Translational Imaging (2020) 8:461–467, for the reasons set forth in the previous office action filed 1/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesler et al., cited above, for the reasons set forth in the previous office action filed 1/15/2026.
Claim(s) 1,4,7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dondi et al., cited above, for the reasons set forth in the previous office action filed 1/15/2026.
Claim(s) 1,3-4,7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kesler et al., cited above, in view of Gioia “Early detection of metastatic disease in asymptomatic breast cancer patients with whole-body imaging and defined tumour marker increase”, British Journal of Cancer (2015) 112, 809–818.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, while Kesler teaches techniques for imaging hepatocellular carcinoma it is silent with respect to the cause of hepatic cancer from metastases of another cancer including breast cancer.
Gioia is used primarily for its disclosure on early detection of metastatic disease in breast cancer patients with imaging, noting that in a patient liver metastasis was discovered 6 months in follow up imaging. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, table 3.
Since Kesler teaches imagining hepatocellular carcinoma using 68Ga-Labeled Prostate-Specific Membrane Antigen binding agents and Gioia teaches that breast cancer was well known to metathesize in the liver one of ordinary skill in the art would have a very high expectation of success in using the imaging agent of Kesler to diagnose hepatic metastases caused by breast cancer. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claim(s) 1,3-4,7 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dondi et al., cited above, in view of Gioia, cited above.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, while Dondi reviews radiolabeled PSMA binding agents, including 68Ga in PET/CT or PET/MRI imagining of HCC it is silent with respect to the cause of hepatic cancer from metastases of another cancer including breast cancer.
Gioia is used primarily for its disclosure on early detection of metastatic disease in breast cancer patients with imaging, noting that in a patient liver metastasis was discovered 6 months in follow up imaging. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig. 1 and 2, table 3.
Since Dondi teaches imagining HCC using 68Ga-Labeled PSMA binding agents and Gioia teaches that breast cancer was well known to metathesize in the liver, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a very high expectation of success in using the imaging agents taught in Dondi to diagnose hepatic metastases caused by breast cancer. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants assert Kesler and Dondi are silent with respect to detecting hepatic metastases caused by spread of other cancers such as breast, pancreatic, colorectal and gastric.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., detecting hepatic metastases caused by spread of other cancers) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Note that only claims 3 and 13 feature such a limitation. As noted above claims 3 and 13 are considered obvious once the Gioia reference is considered.
Conclusion
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618