Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-17 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, applicant argues Viscardi’s disclosure of holes in a flange does not relate to a stemless implant have a receiving cavity or flange with suture eyelets. However, Viscardi discloses a stemless implant (fig. 6B) with a receiving cavity (230, opening, fig. 6B) and a flange (201, collar, fig. 6B). Further the combination is intended to teach the use of holes for sutures. The articulated rationale stated, “in order to pass one or more sutures through in aid of fiction of an object to the base (¶ [0079, Viscardi).”
Regarding claim 18, applicant argues the trap door of Bachmaier is a separate component and does not function as a movable or removable portion of the base. However, figs. 6-9 clearly show the short stem (410) is moveable and though not explicitly stated is capable of being fully removed.
Claim Status
Claims 5, 8 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-15 and 17-26 are examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
“A majority of the articular implant is accommodated within the receiving cavity” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). With regard to the first embodiment (fig. 1) it is not shown how a majority of the articular implant (18A) would be accommodated within the receiving cavity. No new matter should be entered.
“A tapered profile extending from the flange to the floor of the rounded based and is dimensioned to accommodate a substantial portion of the articular implant” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 21-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the drawings and the specification do not support “a majority of the articular implant is accommodated within the receiving cavity” for all embodiments. There is partial support for the second embodiment (fig. 2) as shown in fig. 12. However, the first embodiment (fig. 1) does not appear the majority would be inlayed and the specification does not describe such an orientation. Dependent claims 2-4,6-7, 9-10 and 21-26 are likewise rejected.
Regarding claim 23, the drawings and the specification do not support “the receiving cavity has a tapered profile extending from the flange to the floor of the rounded base.” The specification points to a taper connection in ¶ [00073] and ¶ [00076] however these general teachings are not specific to the tapered profile extending from the flange to the floor of the rounded base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-15, 17, 19, 21 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deransart (US 2023/0307918 A1) in view of Knox (US 2019/0175354 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Deransart discloses a humeral implant assembly for an arthroplasty implant system (fig. 3), comprising:
an articular implant (161, articular components, fig. 2A); and
a stemless implant (108C, stemless bowl-shaped humeral anchor, fig. 5A) adapted to establish a convertible platform for receiving the articular implant (¶ [0089]);
wherein the stemless implant includes a flange (244C, collar, fig. 5A) sized to engage a cortical rim of the bone (¶ [0101]), and a receiving cavity adapted to receive the articular implant (216C and 217C, first and second cavities, fig. 5C)
wherein the receiving cavity extends inwardly from the flange to a floor of a rounded base of the stemless implant (see annotated fig. 5C, below) and is sized to provide an inlay design in which a majority of the articular implant is accommodated within the receiving cavity (For the anatomical replacement (fig. 5C) the coupler 168C and the articular component 160A make up the articular implant. For the reverse replacement the articular component 180A, the reverse articular body 184A would be above the flange, the majority of the body from 185A to 181A would be within the receiving cavity.).
Deransart fails to teach a thread configured to engage bone. However, Knox discloses a stemless shoulder implant that includes a thread (224, helical structure, fig. 3A) configured to engage a bone (¶ [0056]). The phrase “the thread is configured to engage a bone” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the helical structure (224, fig. 3A) is considered to be capable of engaging a bone. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include a thread provided on the cylindrical shaped body as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, Deransart further discloses the articular implant includes a spacer that is coupled to the stemless implant (see annotated fig. 4I, below) and a liner that is coupled to the spacer (see annotated fig. 4I, below), and further wherein the liner includes a concave articular surface (CV, concave surface, fig. 4I).
Regarding claim 3, Deransart further discloses the spacer is coupled to the stemless implant by a C-clip (183A, snap ring, figs. 4H and 4K).
Regarding claim 6, Deransart further discloses the floor establishes an inner surface of the rounded base (fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 7, Deransart fails to teach the thread is circumferentially disposed about a radially outer surface of the stemless implant. However, Knox discloses a stemless shoulder implant that includes the thread is circumferentially disposed about a radially outer surface of a cylindrical shaped body of the stemless implant (fig. 3A), and wherein an outer diameter of the flange is greater than an outer diameter of the cylindrical shaped body at a tip of the thread (see annotated fig. 3A, below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include the thread is circumferentially disposed about a radially outer surface of the stemless implant as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 9, Deransart further discloses the cylindrical shaped body includes a plurality of pockets adapted to facilitate bony ingrowth (272B, porous surface, [0107]).
Regarding claim 11, Deransart discloses an arthroplasty implant system (fig. 3), comprising:
a cup (108C, stemless bowl-shaped humeral anchor, fig. 5A) including a cylindrical shaped body (fig. 5C), a flange (244C, collar, fig. 5A) a rounded base (see annotated fig. 5C, below), and a receiving cavity (216C and 217C, first and second cavities, fig. 5C),
wherein the flange is sized to engage a cortical rim of the bone (¶ [0101]); and
an articular implant (160A, anatomic articular component or 180A, reverse articular component, fig. 2A)received within the receiving cavity (fig. 5E),
wherein the receiving cavity extends inwardly from the flange to a floor of a rounded base of the stemless implant (see annotated fig. 5C, below) and is sized to provide an inlay design in which a majority of the articular implant is accommodated within the receiving cavity (fig. 5E).
Deransart fails to teach a thread provided on the cup. However, Knox discloses a stemless shoulder implant that includes a threaded cup (224, helical structure, fig. 3A) including a thread provided on the cylindrical shaped body (fig. 3A), wherein the thread is configured to engage a bone (¶ [0056]). The phrase “the thread is configured to engage a bone” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the helical structure (224, fig. 2) is considered to be capable of engaging a bone. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include a thread provided on the cylindrical shaped body as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Deransart further discloses the flange is integrally formed with the cylindrical shaped body to establish a unitary single piece design of the threaded cup (fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 13, Deransart further discloses a convertible platform for receiving the articular implant (¶ [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Deransart further discloses the articular implant includes a spacer (see annotated fig. 4I, below) coupled to the threaded cup by a C-clip (183A, snap ring, figs. 4H and 4K), and a liner coupled to the spacer (see annotated fig. 4I, below).
Regarding claim 15, Deransart further discloses the flange is provided on a first side of the cylindrical shaped body (see annotated fig. 5C, below) and the rounded base is provided on a second side of the cylindrical shaped body (see annotated fig. 5C, below), and the floor establishes an inner surface of the rounded base (see annotated fig. 5C, below).
Regarding claim 17, Deransart fails to teach an engagement opening formed through the rounded base. However, Knox further discloses a at least one engagement opening form through the rounded base (see annotated fig. 3C, below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include an engagement opening formed through the rounded base as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 19, Deransart fails to teach the outer diameter of the flange is greater than the outer diameter of the body at a tip of the thread. However, Knox further discloses an outer diameter of the flange is greater than an outer diameter of the cylindrical shaped body at a tip of the thread (see annotated fig. 3A, below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include the outer diameter of the flange is greater than the outer diameter of the body at a tip of the thread as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 21, Deransart further discloses the articular implant includes a spacer coupled to the stemless implant (see annotated fig. 4I, below) and a liner coupled to the spacer (see annotated fig. 4I, below), and further wherein an entirety of the spacer is accommodated within the receiving cavity (¶ [0112], sloped surface 185A is the upper end of the spacer and engages the interior surface of the stemless anchor meaning the entirety of the spacer is within the anchor/recess).
Regarding claim 23, Deransart further discloses the receiving cavity has a tapered profile extending from the flange to the floor of the rounded base (¶ [0008]) and is dimensioned to accommodate a substantial portion of the articular implant (¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 24, Deransart further discloses the stemless implant is a cup (fig. 5A) having a hollow (fig. 5A), concave geometry defined by a circumferential wall surrounding the receiving cavity (212C, interior surface, fig. 5A).
Deransart fails to disclose the cup is threaded. However, Knox further discloses a threaded cup (224, helical structure, fig. 3A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart to include a thread on the cup as taught by Knox since it is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 25, Deransart in view of Knox fails to teach the ratio between the inner diameter of the circumferential wall and an outer diameter of the flange is between about 0.55-0.77. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to teach the ratio between the inner diameter of the circumferential wall and an outer diameter of the flange is between about 0.55-0.77, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deransart in view of Knox as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winslow (US 2010/0114326 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Deransart in view of Know fails to teach the stemless implant is comprised of a polyether ether ketone material. However, Winslow discloses a stemless implant for a ball and socket joint that includes a polyether ether ketone (PEEK) material (¶ [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart and Knox to include comprising a polyether ether ketone material as taught by Winslow since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Knox as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Viscardi (US 2018/0104064 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Deransart in view of Knox fails to teach a plurality of suture eyelets. However, Viscardi discloses a stemless shoulder implant that includes a plurality of suture eyelets (211, holes, fig. 6B) that are each configured to receive a thread-like material (¶ [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange of Deransart and Knox to include a plurality of suture eyelets as taught by Viscardi in order to be used for passing one or more sutures through to aid in fixation of an objection (¶ [0079], Viscardi) and since it is combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 20, Deransart further discloses the cylindrical shaped body includes a plurality of pockets adapted to facilitate bony ingrowth (272B, porous surface, [0107]).
Deransart in view of Knox fails to teach a plurality of suture eyelets. However, Viscardi further discloses a plurality of suture eyelets (211, holes, fig. 6B) that are each configured to receive a thread-like material (¶ [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange of Deransart and Knox to include a plurality of suture eyelets as taught by Viscardi in order to be used for passing one or more sutures through to aid in fixation of an objection (¶ [0079], Viscardi) and since it is combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deransart in view of Knox as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Bachmaier (US 2015/0134066 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Deransart in view of Knox fails to teach a trap door. However, Bachmaier further discloses the rounded based includes a trap door (the limitation trap door is being given the broad definition of hinged or removable due to the lack of hinge in the instant application drawings/specification, 410, short stem, fig. 6, covers the opening in the same manner and can be removed for insertion of the stem). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the stemless implant of Deransart and Knox to include a trap door as taught by Bachmaier since it is combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deransart in view of Knox as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Pranzetti (US 2023/0414372 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Deransart in view of Knox fails to teach a cutout in the flange sized to receive a mating feature of the spacer. However, Pranzetti discloses a shoulder prosthesis that includes the flange includes a cutout that extends into a cylindrical shaped body of the stemless implant (124, cutouts, fig. 5), and further wherein the cutout is sized to receive a mating feature of the spacer (134, protrusions, fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange of Deransart and Knox to include a cutout sized to receive a mating feature of the spacer as taught by Pranzetti in order to block relative rotations between components (¶ [0075], Pranzetti).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deransart in view of Knox as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amstutz (US u,261,062 A).
Regarding claim 4, Deransart in view of Know fails to teach the flange is elliptical shaped. However, Amstutz discloses a shoulder prosthesis that includes the flange is elliptical shaped (col 3 lines 62-66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange of Deransart and Knox to include an elliptical shape as taught by Amstutz since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774