DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 12/08/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 13, 15 and 18 have been amended, no claims have been cancelled and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application, and currently examined in the Office Action.
Examiner’s Notes
It is to be noted that in device/apparatus claims only the claimed structure of the final device bears patentable weight, and intended use/functional language is considered to the extent that it further defines the claimed structure of the final device (see MPEP 2114).
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0125531), hereinafter Bennett.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Bennett discloses a prosthetic heart valve (100), illustrated in Figures 10A-10D, comprising an annular frame (200) comprising a plurality of commissure support portions (210); and a plurality of leaflets (910) situated within the frame, each leaflet (910) comprising a body (922) and two opposing commissure tabs (938) arranged on opposite sides of the body, each commissure tab being paired with an adjacent commissure tab of an adjacent leaflet to form a commissure; wherein each commissure of the prosthetic heart valve comprises an attachment member (810), comprising a fabric material (1000), and including a first portion (814), the first portion extending across and attached directly to a corresponding commissure support portion (210) of the plurality of commissure support portions or to a commissure support element configured to be coupled to the commissure support portion, and a second portion (816) that protrudes radially outward from the first portion and extends radially inward toward a central longitudinal axis of the frame (200); a first commissure tab (1CT) of a first leaflet of the plurality of leaflets arranged adjacent to a first side of the second portion (816) of the attachment member and secured directly to the attachment member; and a second commissure tab (2CT) of a second leaflet of the plurality of leaflets arranged adjacent to an opposite, second side of the second portion (816) of the attachment member and secured directly to the attachment member, wherein the second portion (816) is arranged between, in a lateral direction, the first commissure tab (1CT) and the second commissure tab (2CT), wherein the lateral direction is perpendicular to an axial direction and a radial direction that are relative to the central longitudinal axis, illustrated in Figures 10A-10D and modified figure 10D, below ([0133]; [0134] & [0140] – [0144]).
Regarding claim 3, Bennett discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the second portion (816) of the attachment member extends radially outward from a central region of the first portion (814) of the attachment member and includes two overlapping layers (1000), each overlapping layer of the two overlapping layers extending from a different inner end of the first portion, wherein the two overlapping layers (1000) overlap in the lateral direction, illustrated in Figure 10D ([0144] – to clarify, it is stated that frame 800 can be wrapped in fabric 1000, and the fabric 1000 each side surface of second portion 816, thereby comprising two overlapping layers).
Regarding claim 9, Bennett discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the second portion (816) of the attachment member extends in the axial direction, along an entire height of each of the first and second commissure tabs (1CT&2CT), illustrated in Figures 10A, 10D and modified figure 10D, above ([0141]).
Regarding claim 10, Bennett discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the attachment member (810) is attached directly to the commissure support portion (210), wherein the commissure support portion (210) is a support post of the frame (200), and wherein the attachment member is attached directly to the support post via a suture (700) that extends through the attachment member (810) and around an outer surface of the support post, illustrated in Figures 10A and 10D ([0143]).
Regarding claim 12, Bennett discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the attachment member (810) is attached directly to the commissure support portion (210) and wherein the commissure support portion (210) is a commissure window (217) formed by spaced apart axially-extending struts (210) of the frame (200), illustrated in Figures 10A and 10D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett.
Regarding claim 14, Bennett discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the attachment member (810) is arranged across and attached directly to a cell (217) of the annular frame, the cell formed by angled struts (210) of the annular frame, via one or more sutures ([0143]); and though it is not specifically disclosed the one or more sutures are extending through the first portion of the attachment member and around the angled struts forming the cell, around a perimeter of the cell, this parameter is deemed to be mere matter of normal design choice, not involving a novel, inventive, step; and it would have been obvious and well within the capability of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine an appropriate way to attach/suture the attachment member to the annular frame, including having the suture extending through the first portion of the attachment member and around the angled struts forming the cell, around a perimeter of the cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 2, 5-8 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DINAH BARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 02/24/2026