Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/18/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: chambers 30 (specification, paragraph [0040]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figs. 1B and 2B, reference character 24. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is greater than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites “the cross-linker comprises polydimethylsiloxane-diacrylamide, poly(propylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate, ethylene glycol dimethacrylate, 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5-octafluoro-1,6-hexyl diacrylate”. It is unclear if the cross-linker comprises each and every material of the list or if the listed materials should be interpreted as including at least one of the listed materials, i.e. “and/or”, such as the monomer and initiator limitations. For examination purposes, the cross-linker is interpreted as comprising at least one of the listed materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 20030138941 A1) in view of Sassi et al. (US 20020153251 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gong teaches a method (abstract; paragraphs [0057],; Figs. 1-5E) of loading a microfluidic chip (Figs. 1-5E teaches a chip apparatus 100 including microstructures, i.e. microfluidic chip; [0114] teaches sample solution and isolation medium are introduced and conducted through the microchip; [0057] teaches a method of introducing and filling the chip with a sample fluid and isolation medium, i.e. loading the microfluidic chip), the method comprising:
disposing a liquid within a port of a microfluidic network ([0057] teaches introducing a sample fluid to a sample inlet, i.e. port of a microfluidic network; Figs. 1-5 teaches test sample inlet 2 and sample fluid inlet 21, i.e. port, of the microfluidic chip 100) that includes:
one or more test volumes (Figs. 1-5, assay stations 26); and
one or more channels (Figs. 1-5, at least channels 22, 30);
flowing each of one or more portions of the liquid from the port, through at least one of the channel(s), and into a respective one of the test volume(s) ([0057] teaches filling the assay stations; Figs. 5A-5C and [0129] teaches flowing a sample solution 56 into assay stations 56 via sample solution inlet 21 and channel 30); and
directing a photo-crosslinkable and/or thermally-crosslinkable material into at least one of the channel(s) (Fig. 5C-5E and [0131] teaches directing isolation medium 54 into channels 30 and 22; [0111]-[0112] teaches the isolation medium comprises thermally curable polymer liquid, such as PDMS elastomer, i.e. thermally-crosslinkable material, or UV or light curable polymer liquid, such as polyacrylates or polyurethane precursors, i.e. photo-crosslinkable material) and curing the crosslinkable material such that none of the test volume(s) are in fluid communication with the port when the portion(s) of the liquid are in the test volume(s) (Figs. 5D-5E and [0062]-[0063] teach the method includes a step of solidifying, curing and polymerizing said isolation medium to seal or isolate the assay stations, therefore none of the assay stations that includes the sample fluid are in fluid communication with the port; [0111]-[0112] teaches thermal curing the thermally curable polymer liquid or UV curing the UV curable isolation medium).
While Gong teaches the method includes a step of solidifying, curing and polymerizing said isolation medium to seal or isolate the assay stations ([0062]-[0063]) and the isolation medium comprises thermally curable polymer liquid, such as PDMS elastomer, i.e. thermally-crosslinkable material, or UV or light curable polymer liquid, such as polyacrylates or polyurethane precursors, i.e. photo-crosslinkable material ([0111]-[0112]), Gong fails to explicitly teach: cross-linking the crosslinkable material such that none of the test volume(s) are in fluid communication with the port when the portion(s) of the liquid are in the test volume(s).
Sassi teaches microfluidic devices, wherein barriers are introduced between different compartments of the device to prevent fluid flow between the two compartments (abstract). Sassi teaches a method to create a barrier to flow in a microfluidic device, comprising the steps of introducing a photopolymerizable material in an intersection between two microchannels in the device, and forming a localized gel by photopolymerization at the intersection; and the localized gel acts to create a barrier to the flow of materials in the intersection ([0006]). Sassi teaches the photopolymerization mixture includes a monomer and a photoactivated initiator and the photopolymerization is effected by UV light ([0007]). Sassi teaches the barriers can include acrylamides that are polymerized with a photoinitiator; wherein a composition of the barrier includes a cross-linker that is photolytically, thermally, or chemically liable; and cross-linked polymers are envisioned ([0026]). Sassi teaches after introducing the barrier-forming composition into appropriate areas, the barriers may be formed at the desired sites, such as by focused light to the site of interest ([0026]). Sassi teaches a desire for isolating or introducing a particular medium to desired regions or channels ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of curing of Gong to incorporate Sassi’s teachings of introducing barriers between compartments using photopolymerizable barriers that includes a cross-linker and photoinitiator ([0006]-[0007],[0026]) to provide: cross-linking the crosslinkable material such that none of the test volume(s) are in fluid communication with the port when the portion(s) of the liquid are in the test volume(s). Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known methods of photopolymerizing crosslinkable material at desired regions to improve isolation and fluidic separation of the assay stations.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gong further teaches method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more test volumes comprise two or more test volumes (Gong, Figs. 1-5 teaches two or more assay stations 26);
the one or more portions of the liquid comprise two or more portions of the liquid (Gong, [0057] teaches filling the assay stations; Figs. 5A-5C and [0129] teaches flowing a sample solution 56 into two or more assay stations 56 via sample solution inlet 21 and channel 30; therefore, two or more portions of the sample solution each flows into respective assay stations to provide each assay station with a portion of the sample solution); and
directing and cross-linking the crosslinkable material is performed such that none of the test volumes are in fluid communication with any other of the test volumes when the portions of the liquid are in the test volumes (see above claim 1, Gong in view of Sassi teaches directing and crosslinking to fluidically isolate assay stations 26 that each include a sample solution, therefore none of the test volumes are in fluid communication with the other test volumes; Gong, Figs. 5D-5E and [0062]-[0063] teaches fluidic isolation of assay stations 26; Sassi, ([0006]-[0007],[0026] teach photopolymerization with a cross-linker and photoinitiator, i.e. crosslinking).
Regarding claim 3, Gong further teaches the method of claim 1, comprising introducing a reagent into each of the portion(s) of the liquid ([0074] teaches reagents are introduced or pre-applied into the assay stations to mix with the sample to form a sample/reagent liquid mix; [0086] teaches the assay station includes components of the assay reaction; [0231] teaches molecules are pre-loaded into the assay stations).
Regarding claim 4, Gong further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein directing the crosslinkable material comprises directing the crosslinkable material from the port and into at least one of the channel(s) (Fig. 5C-5E and [0131] teaches directing isolation medium 54 from the inlet 21 and into channels 30 and 22; [0111]-[0112] teaches the isolation medium comprises thermally curable polymer liquid, such as PDMS elastomer, i.e. thermally-crosslinkable material, or UV or light curable polymer liquid, such as polyacrylates or polyurethane precursors, i.e. photo-crosslinkable material).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gong fails to explicitly teach: the method of claim 1, wherein the cross-linking is performed before a portion of the liquid flows into one of the test volume(s).
Gong teaches isolation medium may be introduced through selected inlets to purge sample fluids from the first channel 30 ([0110]). Gong teaches the isolation medium not only serves to seal assay station 26, but also provides for displacement of sample fluid from the first channel 30 ([0131]). Gong teaches assay stations are first filled with sample fluid and then sealed with isolation medium; or alternatively, particular assay stations are sealed while other assay stations are at various stages of filling and sealing, which is achieved by the timing and introduction of isolation medium ([0142]). Gong teaches a particular assay station is sealed before a portion of the liquid flows into one of the test volumes (Fig. 7D-1 teaches the left assay station 26 is sealed by isolation medium 54 before sample solution 56 flows into the right assay station 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gong to incorporate Gong’s teachings and embodiments of sealing particular assay stations while others are at various stages of filling and sealing (Figs. 7D-1; [0142]) to provide: the method of claim 1, wherein the cross-linking is performed before a portion of the liquid flows into one of the test volume(s). Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving optimization of timing of sealing desired assay stations before other assay stations are filled and sealed.
Regarding claim 8, Gong further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the microfluidic network (Figs. 1-5) includes, for each of the test volume(s) (assay stations 26), a chamber (channels 28) through which fluid must flow before entering the test volume (Figs. 1-5 teaches channels 28, i.e. chambers, through which the sample solution 56 must flow before entering the assay stations 26).
Regarding claim 10, Gong further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the liquid comprises an aqueous liquid ([0046] and [0057] teaches an aqueous fluid sample).
Regarding claim 11, modified Gong fails to explicitly teach: the method of claim 1, wherein the crosslinkable material comprises: a monomer; a cross-linker; and an initiator.
Sassi teaches microfluidic devices, wherein barriers are introduced between different compartments of the device to prevent fluid flow between the two compartments (abstract). Sassi teaches a method to create a barrier to flow in a microfluidic device, comprising the steps of introducing a photopolymerizable material in an intersection between two microchannels in the device, and forming a localized gel by photopolymerization at the intersection; and the localized gel acts to create a barrier to the flow of materials in the intersection ([0006]). Sassi teaches the photopolymerization mixture includes a monomer and a photoactivated initiator and the photopolymerization is effected by UV light ([0007]). Sassi teaches the barriers can include acrylamides that are polymerized with a photoinitiator; wherein a composition of the barrier includes a cross-linker that is photolytically, thermally, or chemically liable; cross-linked polymers are envisioned; and a monomer and initiator will form a barrier ([0026]). Sassi teaches after introducing the barrier-forming composition into appropriate areas, the barriers may be formed at the desired sites, such as by focused light to the site of interest ([0026]). Sassi teaches a monomeric fluid composition is comprised of a monomer and photolytically activated initiator ([0047]). Sassi teaches Sassi teaches a desire for isolating or introducing a particular medium to desired regions or channels ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method modified Gong to incorporate Sassi’s teachings of introducing barriers between compartments using photopolymerizable barriers that includes monomers, a cross-linker, and photoinitiator ([0006]-[0007],[0026], [0047]) to provide: the method of claim 1, wherein the crosslinkable material comprises: a monomer; a cross-linker; and an initiator. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully utilizing known components for photopolymerizable methods to improve isolation and fluidic separation of the assay stations.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Sassi as applied to claims 4 and 1, respectively, above, and further in view of Gong (US 20160107159 A1; herein, “US ‘159”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Gong fails to explicitly teach: the method of claim 4, wherein before the flowing, the crosslinkable material is disposed on the liquid in the port.
Gong teaches isolation medium may be introduced through selected inlets to purge sample fluids from the first channel 30 ([0110]). Gong teaches the isolation medium not only serves to seal assay station 26, but also provides for displacement of sample fluid from the first channel 30 ([0131]). Gong teaches assay stations are first filled with sample fluid and then sealed with isolation medium; or alternatively, particular assay stations are sealed while other assay stations are at various stages of filling and sealing, which is achieved by the timing and introduction of isolation medium ([0142]).
Sassi teaches one may fill the main channel and other channels and chambers with a medium, and then force the barrier-forming medium to an intersection, directing the other medium out of the channel, until the barrier-forming medium has reached the intersection ([0033]).
US ‘159 teaches a microfluidic device (abstract; Figs. 1-2) including a port (Fig. 2, vacuum generator 1081) comprising a sealant (202) disposed on a fluid sample (200). US ‘159 teaches a method includes introducing a sealant to substantially replace the fluid in the space subsequent to substantially filling the at least one well with the fluid, and filling the space with the sealant to seal the at least one well substantially filled with the fluid ([0020]; Figs. 4a-4d). US ‘159 teaches flowing the fluid sample into a channel and space (Fig. 4c) and then subsequently directing the sealant into the channel and space (Fig. 4d), wherein before the flowing, the sealant is disposed on the liquid in the port (Figs. 4a-4b teaches sealant 202 disposed on fluid sample 202 in the vacuum generator 1081). US ‘159 teaches both the fluid sample and sealant are preloaded into the port, i.e. vacuum generator 1081, and the sealant floats on the fluid sample since the fluid sample has a heavier fluid density than the sealant ([0066]). US ‘159 teaches the sealant can be a thermal or UV curable polymer ([0062]). US ‘159 teaches the microfluidic device and methods beneficially enable a speed of flow of the fluid sample and sealant when introduced into the space, and thus advantageously allows materials preloaded into wells to be retained during fluid sample and sealant introduction without risk of unintentionally being flushed out that may result in undesirable cross-contamination ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gong to incorporate Gong’s teachings of the isolation medium introduced through inlets to displace the sample fluid and timing of introduction of the isolation medium, Sassi’s teachings of forcing the barrier-forming medium to direct other medium out of the channel, and US ‘159’s teachings of a sealant preloaded on a sample in a port prior to the sample and sealant being introduced into a microfluidic device to provide: the method of claim 4, wherein before the flowing, the crosslinkable material is disposed on the liquid in the port. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully introducing the crosslinkable material on the liquid for improved timing and sequential displacement of the liquid and crosslinkable material from the port and through the microfluidic network. Additionally, doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving pre-loading of the crosslinkable material and liquid for improved efficiency and speed of the method as taught by US ‘159 ([0106]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gong fails to teach: the method of claim 1, wherein a density of the crosslinkable material is less than a density of the liquid.
US ‘159 teaches a microfluidic device (abstract; Figs. 1-2) including a port (Fig. 2, vacuum generator 1081) comprising a sealant (202) disposed on a fluid sample (200). US ‘159 teaches a method includes introducing a sealant to substantially replace the fluid in the space subsequent to substantially filling the at least one well with the fluid, and filling the space with the sealant to seal the at least one well substantially filled with the fluid ([0020]; Figs. 4a-4d). US ‘159 teaches flowing the fluid sample into a channel and space (Fig. 4c) and then subsequently directing the sealant into the channel and space (Fig. 4d), wherein before the flowing, the sealant is disposed on the liquid in the port (Figs. 4a-4b teaches sealant 202 disposed on fluid sample 202 in the vacuum generator 1081). US ‘159 teaches both the fluid sample and sealant are preloaded into the port, i.e. vacuum generator 1081, and the sealant floats on the fluid sample since the fluid sample has a heavier fluid density than the sealant ([0066]). US ‘159 teaches the sealant can be a thermal or UV curable polymer ([0062]). US ‘159 teaches the microfluidic device and methods beneficially enable a speed of flow of the fluid sample and sealant when introduced into the space, and thus advantageously allows materials preloaded into wells to be retained during fluid sample and sealant introduction without risk of unintentionally being flushed out that may result in undesirable cross-contamination ([0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gong to incorporate US ‘159’s teachings of a less dense sealant preloaded on a more dense sample in a port prior to the sample and sealant being introduced into a microfluidic device (Figs. 4c-4d; [0066]) to provide: the method of claim 1, wherein a density of the crosslinkable material is less than a density of the liquid. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving pre-loading of the crosslinkable material and liquid for improved efficiency and speed of sequentially introducing the liquid and the crosslinkable material as taught by US ‘159 ([0106]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Sassi as applied to claim 1, respectively, above, and further in view of Arab et al. (US 20200298229 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gong fails to teach: the method of claim 1, wherein:
the microfluidic network includes, for each of the test volume(s), a droplet-generating region; and
the flowing is performed such that, for each of portion(s) of the liquid:
the portion flows through a respective one of the droplet-generating region(s) to produce droplets; and
the droplets flow into the test volume.
Gong teaches a need for fully integrated, high throughput systems to rapidly and simultaneously perform analyses ([0006]). Gong teaches methods utilizing arrays on chips are advantageous because such chips allow for simultaneous, parallel processing that can increase the rate at which analyses can be conducted as compared to conventional methods which often require labor intensive sample preparations ([0010]).
Arab teaches a microfluidic chip comprising a microfluidic network including a test volume, ports, and channels (abstract). Arab teaches the microfluidic chip defines one or more droplet-generating regions to form consistently sized droplets (Figs. 1, 7 and [0009]), wherein the microfluidic network (Figs. 1,7) includes, for each of the test volumes (26), a droplet-generating region (74). Arab teaches flowing is performed such that, for each of portion(s) of the liquid: the portion flows through a respective one of the droplet-generating region(s) to produce droplets; and the droplets flow into the test volume (abstract and [0054] teaches fluid enters the chip via a port, flows through the droplet-generating regions 74, and produces droplets that flow to the test volume). Arab teaches the microfluidic chips generate droplets to facilitate analysis of a sample, which can encapsulate cells or molecules under investigation to, in effect, amplify the concentration thereof and to increase the number of reactions ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and microfluidic network of modified Gong to incorporate Arab’s teachings of a microfluidic chip with droplet-generating regions for each test volume for flowing a liquid through for generating droplets towards the test volumes (Figs. 1,7; [0003],[0009],[0054]) and Gong’s teachings of parallel processing and high throughput systems ([0006],[0010]) to provide: the method of claim 1, wherein: the microfluidic network includes, for each of the test volume(s), a droplet-generating region; and the flowing is performed such that, for each of portion(s) of the liquid: the portion flows through a respective one of the droplet-generating region(s) to produce droplets; and the droplets flow into the test volume. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving analysis of a sample by amplifying the concentration of molecules under investigation and increasing the number of reactions as taught by Arab ([0003]), therefore improving parallel processing and throughput of each test volume.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Sassi as applied to claim 11, respectively, above, and further in view of Phelan (US 20080143003 A1) and Willcock et al. (US 20210230479 A1).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gong fails to teach: the method of claim 11, wherein:
the monomer comprises poly(dimethylsiloxane) monomethacrylate terminated, 3- [trist(trimethylsiloxy)sily]propyl methacrylate, and/or 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7- dodecafluoroheptyl acrylate;
the cross-linker comprises polydimethylsiloxane-diacrylamide, poly(propylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate, ethylene glycol dimethacrylate,2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5-octafluoro-1,6-hexyl diacrylate; and
the initiator comprises 2-hydroxy-4'-(2-hydroxyethoxy)-2-methylpropiophenone,diphenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)phosphine oxide, and/or 1-hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone.
Sassi teaches the polymerizable medium will require a monomer and may also require an initiator; and depending on the monomer, various conventional polymerization initiation systems may be employed, such as 1-hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone ([0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modified Gong to incorporate Sassi’s teachings of an initiator including 1-hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone ([0032]) to provide: the method of claim 11, wherein: the initiator comprises 1-hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation successfully utilizing known initiators for photopolymerizing crosslinkable material at desired regions to improve isolation and fluidic separation of the assay stations.
Modified Gong fails to teach: the method of claim 11, wherein:
the monomer comprises poly(dimethylsiloxane) monomethacrylate terminated, 3- [trist(trimethylsiloxy)sily]propyl methacrylate, and/or 2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7- dodecafluoroheptyl acrylate; and the cross-linker comprises polydimethylsiloxane-diacrylamide, poly(propylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate, ethylene glycol dimethacrylate,2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5-octafluoro-1,6-hexyl diacrylate.
Phelan teaches curable polymers (abstract). Phelan teaches crosslinking is performed by UV radiation ([0030]). Phelan teaches a photocurable or thermal curable polymer, and curing kinetics can be controllable by varying the photoinitiator ([0051]). Phelan teaches monomers can be used, which includes monomethacrylated polydimethylsiloxane and tristrimethylsilyloxysilylpropyl methacrylate ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monomer of modified Gong to incorporate Phelan’s teachings of known monomers for curable polymers, such as monomethacrylated polydimethylsiloxane and tristrimethylsilyloxysilylpropyl methacrylate ([0065]) to provide: the method of claim 11, wherein: the monomer comprises poly(dimethylsiloxane) monomethacrylate terminated, and/or 3- [trist(trimethylsiloxy)sily]propyl methacrylate. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation successfully utilizing known monomers for crosslinkable material at desired regions to improve isolation and fluidic separation of the assay stations. Additionally, doing so would have been an obvious substitution of modified Gong’s monomer for Phelan’s known monomers, with a predictable result of enabling curing and crosslinking of the crosslinkable material (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Modified Gong fails to teach: the method of claim 11, wherein: the cross-linker comprises polydimethylsiloxane-diacrylamide, poly(propylene glycol) diacrylate, poly(propylene glycol) dimethacrylate, ethylene glycol dimethacrylate,2,2,3,3,4,4,5,5-octafluoro-1,6-hexyl diacrylate.
Willcock teaches a hydrogel matrix that forms a cross-linked network (abstract). Willcock teaches a monomer can be crosslinked with a crosslinker such as ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (EGDMA) ([0040]-[0041],[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and cross-linker of modified Gong to incorporate Willcock’s teachings of a crosslinker such as ethylene glycol dimethacrylate to provide: the method of claim 11, wherein: the cross-linker comprises ethylene glycol dimethacrylate. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation successfully utilizing known crosslinkers for crosslinkable material at desired regions to improve isolation and fluidic separation of the assay stations. Additionally, doing so would have been an obvious substitution of modified Gong’s cross-linker for Willcock’s known cross-linker, with a predictable result of enabling curing and crosslinking of the crosslinkable material (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US 20210308681 A1) teaches a high throughput microdroplet-based systems (abstract) comprising a plurality of test volumes each with droplet generators (Fig. 10, droplet generators 28).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758