DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments received 05 June 2026. Claims 2 and 18-34 are cancelled; new claims 35-39 are added; claims 1, 3-17 and 35-39 are pending.
Claim Objections
In view of the amendments received 05 June 2026, the Examiner withdraws the objection to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In view of the amendments received 05 June 2026, the Examiner withdraws the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendments received 05 June 2026, the Examiner withdraws the rejection of claim 12 under 35 USC 112(b)/35 USC 112, second paragraph.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Since the arguments pertain to the amendments to the claims, they will be addressed below in the prior art rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-17 and 35-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Welsh et al (U.S. 2019/0200886). Welsh discloses (par. 0355) identifying respective heartbeat intervals based on electrophysiological data representative of cardiac electrophysiological signals measured over a time interval (“the recorded biopotential data is analyzed, such as by a processor of console 20 of FIG. 1, to determine the time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle (e.g. phases of the heart beat).” in par. 0355); computing signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals in at least some of the respective heartbeat intervals (par. 0359-0360, especially “system 100 processes the data representing the dynamic model to determine one or more metrics relating to the electrical activity, and/or the size, shape, and/or motion of the anatomy. For example, system 100 can measure and/or display one, two or more of: ejection fraction, stroke volume, chamber volume, chamber dimensions, regional wall displacement, velocity, or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness, and the like.”); analyzing the cardiac electrophysiological signals over at least a portion of the time interval by computing changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals over the at least the portion of the time interval; (par. 0355 as above); generating a map on a surface of interest (par. 0359) and performing automated signal processing (par. 0356) based on the cardiac electrophysiological signals for the heartbeat intervals, wherein the map is generated (“Functional characteristics, such as displacement or velocity of the wall at each vertex or region (instantaneously over a window of time) can be displayed as a map (e.g. a color map) depicting a representation (e.g. an index) of contractility. The difference and/or change in functional characteristic before and after a clinical event, such as an ablation procedure, can be similarly displayed as a color map depicting regions of altered function arising from the clinical event. Additionally or alternatively, one or more surface dynamics can be measured and/or displayed, such as tissue stress or strain, blood velocity, regional wall contractility or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness.”) and the automated signal processing (“In Step 1930, the recorded anatomic data is aggregated, per the time segments determined in Step 1920. For example, for each common time segment of each recorded cycle, the recorded anatomic data, comprising a set of points representing at least a portion of the cardiac surface during each time segment, is aggregated to form a set of anatomic data comprising points from multiple cycles representing a common time segment (e.g. a common phase of the cardiac cycle).”) is performed automatically responsive to the analysis of the cardiac electrophysiological signals; and controlling one or more therapeutic devices to deliver ablative energy (par. 0360) based on the changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Welsh discloses (par. 0344) determining a difference between the signal features and/or signal parameters and a respective baseline value (“The method can further include a processing step to reconstruct a representative surface or surface segment comprising one or more of the identified regions of surface points from within, near, and/or comprising a connected structure. In some embodiments, the representative surface is reconstructed from the one or more identified regions of surface points, independent of information from other surface data. In some embodiments, the processing steps for the representative surface incorporate information from the primary surface.”; baseline value corresponds to “primary surface”, and signal features/parameters correspond to “identified regions of surface points”).
Regarding claim 4, Welsh discloses (par. 0344) comparing the signal features and/or signal parameters relative to a threshold (“the reconstruction of the representative surface can utilize an iterative fitting or deformation algorithm, such as an algorithm that begins with a generalized surface shape, modifies one or more regions of the surface shape to the set of points, estimates a cost function such as a distance-error, evaluates the cost function against an ending criteria such as a threshold, and iteratively continues with the determination of a next modification to the surface shape if the end criteria is not met.”).
Regarding claim 5, Welsh discloses (par. 0359-0360) the map is generated responsive to the computed changes in the signal features indicating an arrhythmogenic condition.
Regarding claim 6, Welsh discloses (par. 0355) the automated signal processing is performed responsive to the computed changes in the signal features indicating a stable rhythm and/or a non-arrhythmogenic condition (“the recorded biopotential data is analyzed, such as by a processor of console 20 of FIG. 1, to determine the time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle (e.g. phases of the heart beat). For example, recorded biopotential data of a regular and/or near regular heart rhythm (e.g. sinus rhythm or flutter), can be segmented into a periodic set of time segments, representing phases of the cardiac cycle.”).
Regarding claim 7, Welsh discloses (par. 0385) generating the map on the surface of interest is performed automatically responsive to the computed changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters (“One or more of the steps to create the improved anatomic model can be performed semi-automatically and/or automatically (“automatically” herein). In some embodiments, an automatic modification by system 100 to the base model can be overridden by the user.”), and the method further comprises: comparing (par. 0305) the generated map with respect to a reference map and identifying regions of interest and/or differences between the generated map and the reference map, the reference map being generated for the surface of interest based on cardiac electrophysiological signals for one or more intervals that do not include the portion of the time interval for which the changes were detected (“each point in the set of points is compared to the calculated centroid, and/or to its neighboring points. In some embodiments, the distance between each point and the centroid is compared to a threshold, such as a threshold equal to two times the expected radius of the shape being modeled. In some embodiments, the distance between each point and its neighbors is compared to the same threshold, or a different threshold. In Step 1640, if the distance comparison exceeds the threshold, the point is determined to be invalid and removed from the set of points (Step 1645a). In some embodiments, a point is determined to be invalid if at least one, at least two, or all of the comparisons made exceed the compared thresholds, or if at least one of the comparisons exceeds the threshold.”).
Regarding claim 8, Welsh discloses (par. 0380) generating a notification to instruct the user to move an invasive device within a patient's body responsive to the computed changes in signal features and/or signal parameters (“system 100 can inform a user (e.g. via a user interface) of an area of low data density (e.g. a sparsely sampled area). The user can collect additional data correlating to that area, such as by directing (e.g. steering) catheter 10 “towards” the area indicated, and recording additional data. The additional data collected can be compiled with the first set of data to generate an improved base anatomic model.”).
Regarding claim 9, Welsh discloses (par. 0242) applying a trained machine learning model to the one or more parameters determined for the portion of the electrophysiological data to ascertain the signal features associated with the cardiac electrophysiological signals for the portion of the time interval (“mathematical processing can include: a fitting method; a series of weighted coefficients; a linear system; machine learning; adaptive fitting and/or filtering methods; principal components; filtering (e.g. low pass and/or high pass filtering); other mathematical methods; and/or combinations of one or more of these.”).
Regarding claim 10, Welsh discloses (par. 0355) the signal features associated with the cardiac electrophysiological signals include a cardiac rhythm for electrophysiological signals at locations on the surface of interest (“In Step 1920, the recorded biopotential data is analyzed, such as by a processor of console 20 of FIG. 1, to determine the time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle (e.g. phases of the heart beat). For example, recorded biopotential data of a regular and/or near regular heart rhythm (e.g. sinus rhythm or flutter), can be segmented into a periodic set of time segments, representing phases of the cardiac cycle.”).
Regarding claim 11, Welsh discloses (par. 0355) the signal features associated with the cardiac electrophysiological signals include at least cycle length for electrophysiological signals distributed across a surface of interest (see above citation; “time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle”).
Regarding claim 12, Welsh discloses (par. 0081) at least identifying one or more bad measurement channels (“The algorithmic trigger determination can use subsets of channels, edge detection and/or pulse width detection to determine if pacing of the patient has occurred. Optionally, pace blanking can be applied on all channels or subsets of channels, including channels on which detection did not occur.”).
Regarding claim 13, Welsh discloses (par. 0312) reconstructed electrophysiological signals calculated for the surface of interest by solving an inverse problem based on the electrophysiological data and geometry data, the geometry data representing anatomy of a patient spatially, and locations of electrodes in three-dimensional space, and the electrophysiological data being measured by one or more electrodes adapted to measure the cardiac electrophysiological signals over the time interval (par. 0293).
Regarding claim 14, Welsh discloses (par. 0232-0239) the electrophysiological signals on the surface of interest comprise respective electrophysiological signals measured invasively from the surface of interest (“The inputs can be composed entirely of electrodes internal to the body”).
Regarding claim 15, Welsh discloses (par. 0101) automatically detecting the heartbeat intervals in the cardiac electrophysiological signals, and storing beat data with the electrophysiological data to specify the detected heartbeat intervals for the respective cardiac electrophysiological signals.
Regarding claim 16, Welsh discloses (par. 0378-0379) generating a report summarizing steps performed in the method (“a base anatomic model of the heart is generated (e.g. comprising a set of vertices and polygons defining a 3D surface), based on the first set of recorded data.”), including data describing respective computed signal features and/or changes thereof associated with the cardiac electrophysiological signals over at least a portion of the time interval; and storing the report in memory (“the static anatomic model comprises a model generated using a method of “building” a complex 3D geometry around a set of points while or after they are collected”).
Regarding claim 17, Welsh discloses (par. 0055) one or more non-transitory machine-readable media configured to store instructions, which are executable by a processor to perform the method.
Regarding claim 35, Welsh discloses (par. 0231 and 0242) receiving the electrophysiological data and location data from at least one electrode positioned on an invasive device configured to be positioned within a patient's body and from at least another electrode configured to be non-invasively positioned on an outer surface of the patient's body.
Regarding claim 36, Welsh discloses (par. 0359) the signal parameters comprise at least morphological characteristics of the cardiac electrophysiological signal; and the signal features comprise at least arrhythmogenic condition of the respective heartbeat intervals.
Regarding claim 37, Welsh discloses (par. 0359-0360) specifying a location on a cardiac surface where the changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters occurred.
Regarding claim 38, Welsh discloses (par. 0355) identifying respective heartbeat intervals based on electrophysiological data representative of cardiac electrophysiological signals measured over a time interval (“the recorded biopotential data is analyzed, such as by a processor of console 20 of FIG. 1, to determine the time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle (e.g. phases of the heart beat).” in par. 0355); computing signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals in at least some of the respective heartbeat intervals (par. 0359-0360, especially “system 100 processes the data representing the dynamic model to determine one or more metrics relating to the electrical activity, and/or the size, shape, and/or motion of the anatomy. For example, system 100 can measure and/or display one, two or more of: ejection fraction, stroke volume, chamber volume, chamber dimensions, regional wall displacement, velocity, or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness, and the like.”); analyzing the cardiac electrophysiological signals over at least a portion of the time interval by computing changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals over the at least the portion of the time interval; (par. 0355 as above); generating a map on a surface of interest (par. 0359) based on the cardiac electrophysiological signals for the heartbeat intervals, wherein the map is generated (“Functional characteristics, such as displacement or velocity of the wall at each vertex or region (instantaneously over a window of time) can be displayed as a map (e.g. a color map) depicting a representation (e.g. an index) of contractility. The difference and/or change in functional characteristic before and after a clinical event, such as an ablation procedure, can be similarly displayed as a color map depicting regions of altered function arising from the clinical event. Additionally or alternatively, one or more surface dynamics can be measured and/or displayed, such as tissue stress or strain, blood velocity, regional wall contractility or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness.”) and the automated signal processing (“In Step 1930, the recorded anatomic data is aggregated, per the time segments determined in Step 1920. For example, for each common time segment of each recorded cycle, the recorded anatomic data, comprising a set of points representing at least a portion of the cardiac surface during each time segment, is aggregated to form a set of anatomic data comprising points from multiple cycles representing a common time segment (e.g. a common phase of the cardiac cycle).”) is performed automatically responsive to the analysis of the cardiac electrophysiological signals; and controlling one or more therapeutic devices to deliver ablative energy (par. 0360) based on the changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters.
Regarding claim 39, Welsh discloses (par. 0355) identifying respective heartbeat intervals based on electrophysiological data representative of cardiac electrophysiological signals measured over a time interval (“the recorded biopotential data is analyzed, such as by a processor of console 20 of FIG. 1, to determine the time periods, or segments, representing various phases of the cardiac cycle (e.g. phases of the heart beat).” in par. 0355); computing signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals in at least some of the respective heartbeat intervals (par. 0359-0360, especially “system 100 processes the data representing the dynamic model to determine one or more metrics relating to the electrical activity, and/or the size, shape, and/or motion of the anatomy. For example, system 100 can measure and/or display one, two or more of: ejection fraction, stroke volume, chamber volume, chamber dimensions, regional wall displacement, velocity, or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness, and the like.”); analyzing the cardiac electrophysiological signals over at least a portion of the time interval by computing changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters of the cardiac electrophysiological signals over the at least the portion of the time interval; (par. 0355 as above); performing automated signal processing (par. 0356) based on the cardiac electrophysiological signals for the heartbeat intervals, wherein the map is generated (“Functional characteristics, such as displacement or velocity of the wall at each vertex or region (instantaneously over a window of time) can be displayed as a map (e.g. a color map) depicting a representation (e.g. an index) of contractility. The difference and/or change in functional characteristic before and after a clinical event, such as an ablation procedure, can be similarly displayed as a color map depicting regions of altered function arising from the clinical event. Additionally or alternatively, one or more surface dynamics can be measured and/or displayed, such as tissue stress or strain, blood velocity, regional wall contractility or other index/representation of loss of function or stiffness.”) and the automated signal processing (“In Step 1930, the recorded anatomic data is aggregated, per the time segments determined in Step 1920. For example, for each common time segment of each recorded cycle, the recorded anatomic data, comprising a set of points representing at least a portion of the cardiac surface during each time segment, is aggregated to form a set of anatomic data comprising points from multiple cycles representing a common time segment (e.g. a common phase of the cardiac cycle).”) is performed automatically responsive to the analysis of the cardiac electrophysiological signals; and controlling one or more therapeutic devices to deliver ablative energy (par. 0360) based on the changes in the signal features and/or signal parameters.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792