DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 2, the limitation “a reflectivity of a surface of the target is greater than that of other components in the Lidar” is unclear in scope, because other elements of the Lidar have not been listed. The claim could be interpreted as “a reflectivity of a surface of the target is greater than that of all other components in the Lidar”; Examiner has interpreted the claim accordingly.
With regard to claims 5 and 7, the formulas recited from the reflectivity of the target to the laser beam seem to be inconsistent. Reflectivity on the left side of each equation is conventionally a number between 0 and 1, without units, while the right side of the equation multiples quantities with units of power (PE), frequency (K1), and another frequency (K2) (all other factors multiplied together are dimensionless). Therefore a conversion factor between the left and right sides is required for consistency, or the quantity PR must represent something other than a reflectivity.
Clarification and correction of the claims are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (US 2020/0191926). Hao discloses a LIDAR (Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0015-0016]) comprising a laser transmitter (20), a laser detector (26), a target (36), and a housing (14), wherein the laser transmitter, the laser detector, and the target are all provided in the housing, and the target is configured to receive a laser beam transmitted by the laser transmitter and to reflect the laser beam to the laser detector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwangbo et al. (US 2020/022533), and further in view of Zhang et al. "Radiometric Calibration for Incidence Angle, Range and Sub-Footprint Effects on Hyperspectral LiDAR Backscatter Intensity" Remote Sensing, 2020, vol. 12, 2855. With regard to claim 2, Hao does not disclose, but Hwangbo et al. teach (Fig. 6, paras. [0021] & [0079]), that a LIDAR has a mirror plane (reflector 130a) arranged on a side surface of the housing (180); wherein a laser (110), a detector (120) are arranged within the housing (180). The configuration taught by Hwangbo et al. , specifically the mirror plane arranged on a side surface of the housing, serves to reflect the light beam reflected or scattered by an object to be detected, toward the lower portion of the housing where the detector is located. Therefore, including the configuration of mirror plane taught by Hwangbo in the LIDAR of Hao, would have been an obvious design choice depending only on positions of detectors and windows in the housing, and would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, before the filing date of the application. Neither Hao nor Hwangbo disclose, a reflectivity of a surface of the target is greater than that of other components in the LIDAR. However, Zhang teaches in the same field of endeavor, a LIDAR system for calibrating point cloud data, using a target with a reflectance of 99% (standard reflectance panel, section 2.2.2, 3rd para.). It was typical of the art that other LIDAR components have a lower reflectance than 99%; the Examiner takes Official Notice of this fact. The high reflectance of the target enables comparison of backscattered signals at different wavelengths and angles. Therefore, one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, would reasonably want a high target reflectance such as taught by Zhang, for the target in the LIDAR of Hao as modified by Hwangbo.
With regard to claim 3, the target (36) in the LIDAR of Hao is provided at an edge of a field angle at a preset position of an inner wall (window 30) of the housing (14).
With regard to claims 4 and 6, neither Hao nor Hwangbo disclose teaches a method or a system for evaluating a point cloud quality of a LIDAR including the limitations of these claims. However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches a method for evaluating point cloud quality of a LIDAR system. Specifically, the method comprises the following steps: determining an evaluation parameter based on coordinate information of the laser transmitter, a difference between a time at which the laser transmitter transmits a laser beam and a time which a laser detector receives the laser beam reflected by a target, and a reflectivity of a surface of the target (radar equation which relates a parameter (received laser power ) reflected by a target, to range and position of the target determined by time of flight (3D point cloud) and reflectance of the target, (section 2.2.1 Radar equation);
Determining a number of point clouds based on the laser beam received by the laser detector and reflected by the target (point clouds for different targets, and/or at different wavelengths) ; and
Comparing the evaluation parameter and the number of point clouds respectively with a preset evaluation parameter and a preset number of point clouds to obtain an evaluation result (evaluation parameter obtained from point cloud using a standard reference panel as target, para. 2.2.2).
The method for evaluating point cloud quality of Zhang, would have been obvious to apply to operation of the LIDAR or Hao as modified by Hwangbo, for the purpose of calibrating the target and/or LIDAR system (laser transmitter and detector); therefore one skilled in the art, e. g. an optical engineer, would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to perform the method of Zhang with the LIDAR system of Hao as modified by Hwangbo.
With regard to claim 6, the LIDAR of Hao includes one or more processors such as microprocessor or control circuitry for processing the (point cloud) data (para. [0020]). Zhang teaches the method for evaluating point cloud quality as described above regarding claim 4. Therefore, the obtaining module, determination module and evaluation module are merely instances of the processors in Hao, programmed or designed to carry out the method of Zhang, and would have been merely routine in the art to include.
With regard to claims 5 and 7, Zhang et al. teach the limitation,
Prλ = PtλD2ρλ cos θλ 4R 2 λ ηsysλ ηatmλ (Equation 2)
wherein Pr is the received laser power, Pt is the transmitted power, D is the receiver aperture diameter, R is the range from the LIDAR system to the target, ηsysλ is the system losses, ηatmλ is the atmospherics losses. This equation corresponds to Applicant’s limitations, wherein the range is determined from the time of flight to the target, and would have been obvious to apply before the effective filing date of the application, to relate the transmitted laser power, received laser power after light is reflected from the target, and reflectivity of the target, in the method or system taught by Zhang performed by the LIDAR of Hao as modified by Hwangbo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wustefeld et al. disclose a LIDAR calibration method and system with a target in a housing.
/ERIC L BOLDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645