DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-18 are pending in the application. New grounds of rejection have been added for claims 1-5 and 17-18 as a result of the amendment to the claims submitted 2/10/2026. Claims 6-16 remain allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2007/0141449) in view of Chu et al. (US 2007/0269685).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses in Figs 1-8, a cylindrical secondary battery ([0025]) comprising: a can (ref 20) comprising a circular bottom part (Fig 1, at bottom) and a cylindrical side part (Fig 1, side part of ref 20) having an opened one end (Fig 1); an electrode assembly (ref 10) in which a first electrode plate (ref 11), a second electrode plate (ref 12), and a separator (ref 13) are wound ([0025]) and which is accommodated in the can (ref 20); and a collecting plate ([0026]) arranged in a direction toward (Fig 1) the first electrode plate (ref 11), wherein the first electrode plate (ref 11) and the collecting plate ([0026]), and the second electrode plate (ref 12) and the bottom part (Fig 1, at bottom) are electrically connected to each other in a non-welding manner (Fig 1, [0026], [0031]-[0035]).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the collecting plate comprising an insertion part extending from a bottom surface of the collecting plate into a winding center of the electrode assembly.
Chu et al. discloses in Figs 1-13, a cylindrical battery ([0060]) including battery (ref 1) including wound negative and positive electrodes ([0024]). A positive end cap (ref 1) includes an insertion portion extending into (refs 50, 51, Figs 5A-B) a winding center (Figs 5A-B) of the cylindrical battery. This configuration enhances the sealing and structural integrity of the battery ([0070]-[0072])
Chu et al. and Kim are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the collector extending portions disclosed by Chu et al. into the collector structure of Kim to enhance the structural integrity and sealing of the battery, enhancing overall safety and performance.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first electrode plate (ref 11) is a positive electrode plate ([0026]) comprising a first electrode non-coating portion (refs 11a + 40), and an end of the cylindrical side part is curled (at ref 21, Fig 4) to press the collecting plate ([0026]) so that the first electrode non-coating portion (refs 11a + 40) and the collecting plate ([0026]) are in close contact with each other ([0030]-[0031], Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a gasket (ref 31) inserted between (Figs 1, 4) the collecting plate ([0026]) and the side part (Fig 1, ref 20 side) to insulate the can (ref 20) from an insulating plate (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the second electrode plate (ref 12) is a negative electrode plate ([0026]) comprising a second electrode non-coating portion (refs 12a + 50), and when the end of the cylindrical side part is curled (at ref 21, Fig 4) to press the collecting plate ([0026]), the second electrode non-coating portion (refs 12a + 50) is pressed to be in close contact with (Fig 1) the bottom part (Fig 1, bottom ref 20).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first electrode plate (ref 11) is not welded to the collecting plate ([0026]), and the second electrode plate (ref 12) is not welded to (Fig 1, [0026], [0031]-[0035]) the bottom part (Fig 1, bottom ref 20) when the cylindrical secondary battery is in operation (Fig 1, [0026], [0031]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the first electrode plate (ref 11) is operably and electrically connected and not welded to (Fig 1, [0026], [0031]-[0035]) the collecting plate ([0026]), and wherein the second electrode plate (ref 12) is operably and electrically connected and not welded to (Fig 1, [0026], [0031]-[0035]) the bottom part (Fig 1, bottom ref 20).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2007/0141449) in view of Chu et al. (US 2007/0269685) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0287965).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a core pin inserted into a winding center of the electrode assembly.
Kim et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, a cylindrical battery (ref 1, Fig 1) including a wound electrode assembly (ref 10) having a center pin (ref 14) inserted in the middle ([0047]-[0048]) of the electrode assembly (ref 10). This enhances the strength of the electrode assembly ([0047]-[0048]).
Kim and Kim et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the core pin of Kim et al. into the center of the electrode assembly of Kim to enhance the overall structural integrity of the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Reasons for allowance of instant claims 6-16 were stated in the 7/2/2025 office action at P6-8. As such, said reasons for allowance are not being repeated here.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 17-18 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725