DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 30-31 refer to GenBank reference number “NC_045512.2”. Such reference numbers generally get updated and changed, therefore reference to such number makes the claim indefinite. It is suggested to replace such reference number with SEQ ID NO.
Further, the purpose of the screening step of the method in claim 30 is unclear, because in the same step siRNAs resulting from such screening are already defined and listed. It is suggested to exclude screening step from the method.
Claim 32 refers to siRNA in line 8, while the claim is related to verifying activity of shRNA, so that it is not clear which siRNA the claim refers to. Further, it is not clear at all how the actual validation of shRNA activity happens. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 31 depends on claim 30 and recites the same limitation as in claim 30: “synthesizing siRNAs comprises performing screening on a plurality of sequences to obtain the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 16 to 18, SEQ ID NO: 20 to 22, SEQ ID NO: 30 to 32, SEQ ID NO: 49 to 51, SEQ ID NO: 52 to 54, SEQ ID NO: 56 to 58”. Other steps in the claim essentially identify specific SEQ ID NOs from the same list, which are already identified.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113355288, September 2021, cited from machine translation, of record) and in further view of Loibner et al (WO 2008/046125, April 2008), Okamoto et al (US 2012/0238038, September 2012), Ebben et al (WO 2023/023597, claiming priority to 63/234478, filed August 2021, of record), Leavitt et al (US 2009/0123501, May 2009, of record), Ghosh et al (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 1990, 1(1): 71-76) and Weng et al (CN 111321142, June 2020).
Li et al teach T-cell modified to express ACE2 capable of binding to SARS-CoV-2 for treatment of COVID-19 (see Abstract). Such T-cell can further comprise coding gene for shRNA targeting SARS-CoV-2, which can be expressed (see page 6). The shRNA aims to destroy SARS- CoV-2 genome in a cell targeted by ACE2 (see page 10).
Li do not teach ACE2 of instant SEQ ID NO: 59 synthesized using peptide synthesizer by solid phase synthesis from C-terminus to N-terminus, or conjugation of ACE2 to both ends of shRNA based on siRNA of SEQ ID NO: 21 using maleimide-thiol coupling, or screening for siRNAs shared by all novel coronavirus strains, or construction of shRNA expression vector using pSilencer4.1.CMV.neo, pEGFP vector expressing ORF1ab or S gene using PCR and validating RNAi effect in 293T cells.
Loibner teach the sequence of ACE2 on Figure 4, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 59 (see Figure 4).
Okamoto teach synthesizing peptides using peptide synthesizer by solid phase synthesis from C-terminus to N-terminus by sequential connection of amino acids with protected N-amino groups and consecutive removal of such group before connection to the next amino acid (see paragraph [0080]).
Ebben teach virus-like particles comprising siRNAs and shRNAs targeting SARS-CoV- 2, such siRNA or shRNA delivered by liposome (see paragraphs [0014-0017]). One of such siRNAs is of SEQ ID NO: 12 (see Table 1), 21 nucleotides long, and fully identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 21. shRNA is formed by connecting two complementary strands of siRNA at one end by a loop of 2-10 nucleotides (see paragraph [0073]). Ebben teach screening of siRNAs optimized to inhibit viral replication (see first two lines on page 40).
Leavitt et al teach shRNA-protein conjugates (see paragraph [0151]).
Ghosh teach conjugation of enzyme to oligonucleotide by modifications of each one with maleimide and thiol residues with further formation of conjugate (see Abstract).
Weng teach identification of shRNAs targeting different genes of SARS-CoV-2 virus (see page 6 of machine translation), construction of shRNA expression vector based on pSilencer4.1.CMV.neo vector (see page 8 of machine translation), construction of pEGFP vector expressing ORF1ab or S gene using PCR (see page 9 of machine translation) and validation of RNAi effect in 293T cells (see page 9 of machine translation).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to conjugate shRNA taught by Ebben to ACE2 protein taught by Li and Loibner and synthesized by method taught by Okamoto as taught by Leavitt using maleimide-thiol conjugation taught by Ghosh and validate RNAi activity of shRNA based on teachings of Weng, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Li teach a cell expressing two compounds targeting SARS-CoV- 2: ACE2 protein capable of binding to the virus and siRNA capable of destroying viral genome, therefore treating the viral infection, motivating one of the art to combine both elements taught by Li in one conjugate by attaching ACE2 proteins to both ends of shRNA so that ACE2 protein targets the shRNA to viral particle, because such shRNA-protein conjugates are known in the art as taught by Leavitt. Okamoto teach an effective method of protein synthesis, which can be applied for synthesizing ACE2 protein taught by Loibner. Ghosh teach an effective way of conjugation of oligonucleotide, which can be shRNA, to protein, which can be ACE2. Further, Weng provide teachings to validate activity of shRNAs, allowing to identify most effective shRNAs targeting different genes of SARS-CoV-2 virus.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/25/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of any patent granted on pending reference Application Number 18/054212 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
All previous claims were cancelled by Applicant, therefore any arguments are moot.
Applicant is highly encouraged to contact Examiner by phone for assistance in further amendments and identification of patentable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637