Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/06/2025 has been entered. Independent Claims 1, 13, 16, and 27 have been amended. Dependent claims 3-4, 6-7, 15, 18-19, 21-22, 29, and 30 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1-10, 13-24, and 27-30 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/06/2025 on pages 9-10 of applicant’s remark regarding Claims 1, 13, 16, and 27. The applicant argues that the combination of Kuschk in view of Kurras does not teach the amended claim for a sensing entity being used for point cloud generation, as the independent claims have been amended to say that.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, 16, and 27 have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 13-19, 22, 24, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuschk (Pub. No.: US 20240027610 A1, hereafter “Kuschk”) in view of Kurras (Pub. No.: US 20230318690 A1, hereafter “Kurras”), further in view of Rhyu (Pub. No.: US 20230345030 A1, hereafter “Rhyu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 13, Claim 16, and Claim 27
Kuschk teaches an Apparatus and Method Comprising
at least one memory (Kuschk Fig. 7: 704); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Kuschk Fig. 7: 702; Kuschk teaches at least one memory coupled to at least one processor); identify a point cloud (Kuschk ¶0052: generate a point cloud) comprising a plurality of points (Kuschk ¶0052: valid radar hits) associated with radio frequency (RF) sensing (Kuschk ¶0052: radar tensors; Kuschk teaches a processor with memory generating a point cloud, identifying objects within it, using RF); and transmit, to the sensing entity via the at least one transceiver, an indication of the point cloud based on the configuration (Kuschk ¶0035: transmits the cloud point; Kuschk teaches transmitting the cloud point information to a computing system).
Kuschk does not explicitly teach
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), a transmit receive point (TRP), or a base station, comprising: at least one transceiver;
However, Kurras teaches
An apparatus for wireless communication (Kurras ¶0309: V2X communication) at a user equipment (UE) (Kurras ¶0309: mobile user device, e.g. a UE), a transmit receive point (TRP) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a base station (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), comprising: at least one transceiver (Kurras Fig. 10: 610; Kurras teaches a UE can function as a V2X for communicating with a TRP);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kuschk by way of Kurras, to include an element that teaches a UE can function as a V2X for communicating with a TRP, as taught by Kurras in Fig. 10 and ¶0309, to better enable cross-system transfers of information and further optimize communication systems by reducing the requirement for a additional systems interlacing with the existing system.
Kuschk in view of Kurras does not explicitly teach
receive, from a sensing entity via the at least one transceiver, a configuration of point cloud reporting, wherein the configuration of point cloud reporting corresponds to one or more of a sensing reference signal configuration, a reporting frequency, or a reporting format;
However, Rhyu teaches
receive (Rhyu ¶0111: reception UE), from a sensing entity (Rhyu ¶0111: transmission UE) via the at least one transceiver (Rhyu Fig. 15: V3C/NAL), a configuration of point cloud reporting (Rhyu ¶0111: session description protocol for point cloud transmission and reception, e.g. a PCC file format, see ¶0103), wherein the configuration of point cloud reporting (Rhyu ¶0103: point cloud) corresponds to one or more of a sensing reference signal configuration (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a reporting frequency (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a reporting format (Rhyu ¶0103: PCC file format, e.g., a point cloud compression; Rhyu teaches a UE generating a point cloud compression file from point cloud data and transmitting to a receiving UE including a PCC file format and the information for reception);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kuschk in view of Kurras by way of Rhyu, to include an element that teaches a UE generating a point cloud compression file from point cloud data and transmitting to a receiving UE including a PCC file format and the information for reception, as taught by Rhyu in Fig. 15, ¶0103-¶0112, to improve IoT networks relating to a sensor network, M2M communications, and MTC being implemented using 5G communication systems.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 14, Claim 17, and Claim 28
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk further discloses
wherein the point cloud is based on one or more radar data cubes (Kuschk Fig. 3: 304; Kuschk teaches the cloud point being based on multiple radar cubes).
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 15, Claim 18, and Claim 29
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk further discloses
wherein each point in the plurality of points (Kuschk ¶0027: radar tensor) is associated with a range (Kuschk ¶0027: range), a velocity (Kuschk ¶0029: velocity), and one or more angles (Kuschk ¶0029: pitch; Kuschk teaches generating a datapoint based off of range, velocity, and pitch).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 19, and Claim 30
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk further discloses
wherein the point cloud is associated with a local coordinate system associated with the UE (Kuschk ¶0029: type of object, e.g. a vehicle), the TRP (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or the base station (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kuschk teaches using the type of object to add to the cloud point information).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 22
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk further discloses
wherein the configuration of point cloud reporting further corresponds to one or more of a velocity compensation mode (Kuschk ¶0029: velocity of the object), at least one reporting condition (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a representation system (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kuschk teaches the velocity of the object being a part of the processing).
Regarding Claim 8
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 7. Kuschk further discloses
wherein the configuration of point cloud reporting further corresponds to the at least one reporting condition (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), and to identify the point cloud (Kuschk ¶0029: identifies the radar tensor), the at least one processor is further configured to exclude at least one point from the point cloud based on the at least one reporting condition (Kuschk ¶0040: identify threshold values; Kuschk teaches the cloud reporting based on identifying a point cloud, and, excluding information based on a threshold value).
Regarding Claim 10 and Claim 24
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk discloses
wherein the point cloud is associated with a single frequency layer (Kuschk ¶0030: continuous wave radar) or a plurality of frequency layers (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kuschk teaches the point cloud based off of the radar data of a continuous wave system).
Claim(s) 5, 9, 20, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuschk (Pub. No.: US 20240027610 A1, hereafter “Kuschk”) in view of Kurras (Pub. No.: US 20230318690 A1, hereafter “Kurras”), further in view of Rhyu (Pub. No.: US 20230345030 A1, hereafter “Rhyu”), and even further in view of Kotagiri (Pub. No.: US 11569893 B1, hereafter “Kotagiri”).
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 20
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu does not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the sensing entity via the at least one transceiver, a second indication of one or more point cloud reporting capabilities associated with the UE, the TRP, or the base station, wherein the one or more point cloud reporting capabilities correspond to one or more of one or more reported parameters, a coordinate system, a reporting format, one or more frequencies, at least one antenna configuration, or a beam pattern configuration.
However, Kotagiri teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Kotagiri Fig. 3: 304) is further configured to: transmit, to the sensing entity via the at least one transceiver (Kotagiri Fig. 9: 910), a second indication (Kotagiri Fig. 3: Between 314 and 104) of one or more point cloud reporting capabilities associated (Kotagiri Fig. 3: 314) with the UE (Kotagiri col. 6, line 50: UE), the TRP (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or the base station (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), wherein the one or more point cloud reporting capabilities correspond to one or more of one or more reported parameters, a coordinate system (Kotagiri col. 6, line 56: GPS), a reporting format (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), one or more frequencies (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), at least one antenna configuration (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a beam pattern configuration (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kotagiri teaches a UE reporting out a point cloud information, and including GPS information).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu, by way of Kotagiri, to include an element that teaches a UE reporting out a point cloud information, and including GPS information, as taught by Kotagiri in Fig. 3, Fig, 9, and col. 6 line 47-65, to better enable the minimum number of radio frequency chains and optimize MIMO-NOMA systems.
Regarding Claim 9 and Claim 23
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kotagiri discloses
the at least one processor being further configured to: transmit, to the sensing entity via the at least one transceiver (Kotagiri Fig. 9: 910), a second indication of a position (Kotagiri col. 6, line 56: GPS) or an orientation (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) of the UE (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), the TRP (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or the Base station (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Kotagiri teaches ).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu, by way of Kotagiri, to include an element that teaches a UE reporting out a point cloud information, and including GPS information, as taught by Kotagiri in Fig, 9, and col. 6 line 47-65, to better enable the minimum number of radio frequency chains and optimize MIMO-NOMA systems.
Claim(s) 6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuschk (Pub. No.: US 20240027610 A1, hereafter “Kuschk”) in view of Kurras (Pub. No.: US 20230318690 A1, hereafter “Kurras”), further in view of Rhyu (Pub. No.: US 20230345030 A1, hereafter “Rhyu”), and even further in view of Cho (Pub. No.: US 20210188311 A1, hereafter “Cho”).
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 21
Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu teaches the method and apparatus as explained above in Claim 1. Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu does not explicitly teach
wherein the reporting format corresponds to full reporting or differential reporting.
However, Cho discloses
wherein the reporting format corresponds to full reporting (Cho ¶0349: transmitting driving information) or differential reporting (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Cho teaches the network reporting information to the UE).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kuschk in view of Kurras and further in view of Rhyu, by way of Cho, to have the network report information to the UE, as seen in Fig. 16, ¶0349, and ¶0360, to enable efficiency and expand capability in the environment.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415