DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/24/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 28-34 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fu (WO 2024011423 A1) in view of Qiang (Pub No 20250097779).
Regarding claim 3,
Appilcant argues the prior art is Mondet does not qualify since it is owned by Qualcomm the same as the invention.
Examiner relies on newly cited Rao to teach the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 28-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (WO 2024011423 A1) in view of Qiang (Pub No 20250097779).
Regarding claim 1 and 29,
Fu teaches A method for wireless communications at a wireless device, comprising:
One or more processors; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (see processor and memory para [0013])
obtaining, via a control plane message, an indication of a packet data unit (PDU) set dependency pattern for at least a first PDU set and a second PDU set of a group of PDU sets, the PDU set dependency pattern indicating a relationship between the first PDU set and the second PDU set for decoding the first PDU set and the second PDU set; (interpreted as In some embodiments, different data corresponds to PDU sets with different attributes. Optionally, the attributes include at least one of the following: type, importance, relevance, priority, and dependency, see para [0068]. Also see Dependency means that a PDU set relies on one or more PDU sets to be decoded, used or worked, and the two work together as a whole, see para [0114])
wherein each PDU set of the group of PDU sets is associated with a same service flow (transmits different PDU sets (corresponding to one QoS flow), see para [0172])
decoding at least the first PDU set and the second PDU set based at least in part on the relationship between the first PDU set and the second PDU set for decoding the first PDU set and the second PDU set. (interpreted as In addition, different PDU sets may also be associated or dependent on each other. For example, the PDU set representing I frames has a dependency on the PDU set representing P frames, and the compression and decoding of P frames depends on I frames, see para [0046])
However Fu does not teach wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern comprises a bitmap associated with the first PDU set having a length equal to a quantity of PDU sets in the group of PDU sets, the bitmap indicating the relationship between the first PDU set and one or more PDU sets of the group of PDU sets;
Qiang teaches wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern comprises a bitmap associated with the first PDU set having a length equal to a quantity of PDU sets in the group of PDU sets, the bitmap indicating the relationship between the first PDU set and one or more PDU sets of the group of PDU sets; (interpreted as The information indicating the association relationship between the plurality of PDU sets may be, for example, number information of the PDU sets, a bitmap indicating the number information of the PDU sets, or an identifier indicating the association relationship between the PDU sets. For example, a packet of a PDU set may carry a number of another PDU set associated with the PDU set; a packet of a PDU set may carry a bitmap (bitmap), and each bit (bit) in the bitmap corresponds to one PDU set, when a bit in the bitmap is set to 1, it indicates that a PDU set corresponding to the bit has an association relationship with the current PDU set, see para [0243])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Fu with the bitmap as taught by Qiang with the motivation being as a formation for indicating configuration information (e.g. dependency) to perform the appropriate processing of the information.
Regarding claim 28 and 30,
Fu teaches A method for wireless communication at a wireless device, comprising:
One or more processors; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the One or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (see processor and memory para [0013])
encoding at least a first packet data unit (PDU) set and a second PDU set of a group of PDU sets based at least in part on a PDU set dependency pattern, wherein the encoding is based at least in part on a relationship of the PDU set dependency pattern between the first PDU set and the second PDU set for the encoding, wherein each PDU set of the group of PDU sets is associated with a same service flow; (interpreted as In some embodiments, different data corresponds to PDU sets with different attributes. Optionally, the attributes include at least one of the following: type, importance, relevance, priority, and dependency, see para [0068]. Also see Dependency means that a PDU set relies on one or more PDU sets to be decoded, used or worked, and the two work together as a whole, see para [0114]. Also see transmits different PDU sets (corresponding to one QoS flow), see para [0172])
outputting, via a control plane message, an indication of the PDU set dependency pattern based at least in part on the encoding; and outputting the second PDU set, (interpreted as generates an SDAP PDU; distributes the PDU to the corresponding or correct lower layer path according to the mapping relationship configured by RRC; indicates different information of different data to the lower layer (PDCP), for example, the different information may be: importance, or relevance, or priority, or dependency, or frame type, or packet type, etc, see para [0168])
However Fu does not teach wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern comprises a bitmap associated with the first PDU set having a length equal to a quantity of PDU sets in the group of PDU sets, the bitmap indicating the relationship between the first PDU set and one or more PDU sets of the group of PDU sets;
Qiang teaches wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern comprises a bitmap associated with the first PDU set having a length equal to a quantity of PDU sets in the group of PDU sets, the bitmap indicating the relationship between the first PDU set and one or more PDU sets of the group of PDU sets; (interpreted as The information indicating the association relationship between the plurality of PDU sets may be, for example, number information of the PDU sets, a bitmap indicating the number information of the PDU sets, or an identifier indicating the association relationship between the PDU sets. For example, a packet of a PDU set may carry a number of another PDU set associated with the PDU set; a packet of a PDU set may carry a bitmap (bitmap), and each bit (bit) in the bitmap corresponds to one PDU set, when a bit in the bitmap is set to 1, it indicates that a PDU set corresponding to the bit has an association relationship with the current PDU set, see para [0243])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Fu with the bitmap as taught by Qiang with the motivation being as a formation for indicating configuration information (e.g. dependency) to perform the appropriate processing of the information.
Regarding claim 5,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach wherein:
each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective PDU set of the group of PDU sets, and
a value of each bit indicates whether the respective PDU set is dependent on the first PDU set.
Qiang teaches wherein:
each bit of the bitmap corresponds to a respective PDU set of the group of PDU sets, and
a value of each bit indicates whether the respective PDU set is dependent on the first PDU set. (interpreted as The information indicating the association relationship between the plurality of PDU sets may be, for example, number information of the PDU sets, a bitmap indicating the number information of the PDU sets, or an identifier indicating the association relationship between the PDU sets. For example, a packet of a PDU set may carry a number of another PDU set associated with the PDU set; a packet of a PDU set may carry a bitmap (bitmap), and each bit (bit) in the bitmap corresponds to one PDU set, when a bit in the bitmap is set to 1, it indicates that a PDU set corresponding to the bit has an association relationship with the current PDU set, see para [0243])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Fu with the bitmap as taught by Qiang with the motivation being as a formation for indicating configuration information (e.g. dependency) to perform the appropriate processing of the information.
Regarding claim 31,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern further comprises an indication of whether the decoding of the second PDU set relies on information included in the first PDU set, whether the decoding of the first PDU set relies on information included in the second PDU set, or both. (interpreted as In addition, different PDU sets may also be associated or dependent on each other. For example, the PDU set representing I frames has a dependency on the PDU set representing P frames, and the compression and decoding of P frames depends on I frames, see para [0046]. Also see Case 3: identify different data based on an attribute of the data, where the attribute includes at least one of the following: a type, an importance, an association, a priority, and a dependency, see para [0083])
Regarding claim 32,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the PDU set dependency pattern further comprises an indication of a relationship between the first PDU set and the second PDU set, and an indication of a sequence number of the first PDU set, an indication of a sequence number of the second PDU set, or both. (interpreted as In some embodiments, the sender performs joint processing on different data corresponding to the same QoS stream. The joint processing includes at least one of the following: using a unified SN (Sequence Number) to number the different data; using a unified first function for the different data; and further, using the same buffer for the different data, see para [0089])
Regarding claim 33,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein an order of a
sequence number of the first PDU set and a sequence number of the second PDU set is different
than a display order of the first PDU set and the second PDU set. (interpreted as The sending end uses a unified serial number (SN) to number different data packets, meaning different data packets are jointly numbered. For example, data 1 and data 2 are different data packets. Data 1 includes data packets A, B, and C, and data 2 includes data packets D and E. With joint numbering, for example, data packet A corresponds to SN 1, data packet D to SN 2, data packet B to SN 3, data packet C to SN 4, and data packet E to SN 5. If independent numbering is used, for example, data packet A corresponds to SN 1, data packet B to SN 2, data packet C to SN 3, data packet D to SN 1, and data packet E to SN 2. The above example illustrates the difference between independent numbering and joint numbering, see para [0090])
Regarding claim 34,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein an order of a sequence number of the first PDU set and a sequence number of the second PDU set is the same as a display order of the first PDU set and the second PDU set. (interpreted as The sending end uses a unified serial number (SN) to number different data packets, meaning different data packets are jointly numbered. For example, data 1 and data 2 are different data packets. Data 1 includes data packets A, B, and C, and data 2 includes data packets D and E. With joint numbering, for example, data packet A corresponds to SN 1, data packet D to SN 2, data packet B to SN 3, data packet C to SN 4, and data packet E to SN 5. If independent numbering is used, for example, data packet A corresponds to SN 1, data packet B to SN 2, data packet C to SN 3, data packet D to SN 1, and data packet E to SN 2. The above example illustrates the difference between independent numbering and joint numbering, see para [0090])
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu (WO 2024011423 A1) in view of Qiang (Pub No 20250097779) and Rao (Pub No 20240147477)
Regarding claim 3,
Fu teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: obtaining, as part of metadata, associated with the first PDU set, an indication of a start of the PDU dependency pattern.
Mondet teaches further comprising: obtaining, as part of metadata, associated with the first PDU set, an indication of a start of the PDU dependency pattern. (The information related to the PDU set may include the size of the PDU set (e.g., total payload, number of PDUs in PDU set), an indication of start/first and/or end/last PDU of PDU set, and/or an indication of the association/dependency of the PDUs in a PDU set (e.g., ID of PDU set, importance/priority value), see [0127]. See metadata para 0089])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the PDU dependency as taught by Fu with the indication of the start of dependency Mondet with the motivation being to indicate when the dependency is applicable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7, 9, 12-21, 23-25, 27 allowed.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461