DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the applicant’s response filed 9 June 2026, which is in response to the USPTO office action mailed 10 March 2026. Claims 6-12, 21-28 and 30-34 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 35 USC §103 rejections of claims 6-12, 21-28 and 30-34, the applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but have not been deemed persuasive.
The applicant argues “Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection because a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine the references in the manner proposed, as doing so would render Cui's system non-operative for its intended purpose. In Cui, the "threshold value" is inherently the query itself; Cui generates its new Al image by adjusting an existing image to remedy the difference between the query and that existing image (see Cui, paragraph 19). In contrast, Vee generates additional search results by broadening the query structure itself, rather than utilizing generative Al (see Vee, paragraph 103).
Modifying Cui to include Vee's threshold-based trigger would break Cui's core mechanism. Specifically, if the combined system queries a set of first images that includes at least one image that fully satisfies the query (but the total count of images falls below Vee's numerical threshold), the system would be instructed to generate a new image. However, under Cui's framework, the system would be entirely unable to generate any new image because there would be no difference between the existing, fully satisfying image and the query to remedy (see Cui, paragraph 19). Because incorporating Vee's threshold would break Cui's generative image operation, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the references as alleged.” (Remarks, pgs. 7-8). Respectfully, this argument is not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Modifying Cui to include Vee's threshold-based trigger would break Cui's core mechanism, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, Cui discloses “existing search engines can only index images that already exist on the network and provide search results accordingly. In the face of complex queries, since there may not be an image on the network that fully satisfies the query or there may be only a very small number of images that fully satisfy the query, the search engine is accordingly unable to provide an image that fully satisfies the query or is difficult to provide a sufficient number of images that fully satisfy the query” (Cui, [0017]).
In particular, Cui discloses “a query 310 for an image can be received and a first set of images 320 retrieved according to the query 310 can be obtained” (Cui, [0046], [Fig. 3]). Next, Cui discloses “At 330, it is can be determined whether the first set of images 320 includes a first image that partially satisfies the query 310” (Cui, [0047]). Finally, Cui discloses “If the first set of images 320 includes the first image that partially satisfies the query 310, at 350, a second image 360 can be generated based at least on the query 310. Since the second image 360 is generated based at least on the query 310, the second image 360 will have a higher matching degree with the query 310 or fully satisfy the query 310” (Cui, [0049]). In other words, the examiner interprets the second image(s) may be generated in a case where there is only a very small number of first images that fully satisfy the query.
Vee discloses “broadening structured queries may be generated when the search results corresponding to the first structured query are below a threshold number of search results” (Vee, [0103]). Therefore, combining the image generation of Cui with the threshold number of search results of Vee according to known methods (i.e. generating images based on a number of search results being under a threshold) would have been desirable because, when a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional results (Vee, [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 22, 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CUI et al., US 2022/0207076 A1 (hereinafter “Cui”) in view of Vee et al., US 2014/0188935 A1 (hereinafter “Vee”).
Claim 6: Cui teaches a method comprising:
receiving a search input (Cui, [0028] note the user may input, with voice or text, a query request, [Fig. 3] note 310, [0046] note Firstly, a query 310 for an image can be received);
identifying, using the search input, a set of existing images that correspond to keywords corresponding to the search input (Cui, [0030] note an image index 142 for use by the search engine in retrieving images; i.e. existing images, [0035] note a set of components corresponding to a query “red apple and purple grape” may be <red apple, purple grape>; i.e. keywords, [Fig. 3] note 320, [0046] note a first set of images 320 retrieved according to the query 310 can be obtained… the first set of images 320 may be retrieved by the search engine based on the query 310);
determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy a threshold value (Cui, [0037] note herein, “an image partially satisfying a query” may also be referred to as “an image not satisfying a query”, “an image not fully satisfying a query”, and the like, [Fig. 3] note 330, [0047] note At 330, it is can be determined whether the first set of images 320 includes a first image that partially satisfies the query 310; i.e. the examiner interprets images that do not fully satisfy a query reads on not satisfying a threshold value); and
in response to determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy the threshold value, generating new images that correspond to the search input (Cui, [Fig. 3] note 350, [0049] note If the first set of images 320 includes the first image that partially satisfies the query 310, at 350, a second image 360 can be generated based at least on the query 310. Since the second image 360 is generated based at least on the query 310, the second image 360 will have a higher matching degree with the query 310 or fully satisfy the query 310); and
displaying, for selection, images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold value is different than the search input.
However, Vee teaches this (Vee, [0103] note broadening structured queries may be generated when the search results corresponding to the first structured query are below a threshold number of search results. Structured queries with too many limitations, or that use query tokens that do not match many social-graph entities, may produce few or no results. When a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional result. The social-networking system 160 may analyze the first structured query and provide suggestion for how to modify the query so that it produces more results. The threshold number of search results may be any suitable number of results, and may be determined by the social-networking system 160 or be user-defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the image generation of Cui with the threshold number of search results of Vee according to known methods (i.e. generating images based on a number of search results being under a threshold). Motivation for doing so is that when a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional results (Vee, [0103]).
Claim 22: Cui teaches one or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with computer program instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
receiving a search input Cui, [0028] note the user may input, with voice or text, a query request, [Fig. 3] note 310, [0046] note Firstly, a query 310 for an image can be received);
identifying, using the search input, a set of existing images that correspond to keywords corresponding to the search input (Cui, [0030] note an image index 142 for use by the search engine in retrieving images; i.e. existing images, [0035] note a set of components corresponding to a query “red apple and purple grape” may be <red apple, purple grape>; i.e. keywords, [Fig. 3] note 320, [0046] note a first set of images 320 retrieved according to the query 310 can be obtained… the first set of images 320 may be retrieved by the search engine based on the query 310);
determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy a threshold value (Cui, [0037] note herein, “an image partially satisfying a query” may also be referred to as “an image not satisfying a query”, “an image not fully satisfying a query”, and the like, [Fig. 3] note 330, [0047] note At 330, it is can be determined whether the first set of images 320 includes a first image that partially satisfies the query 310; i.e. the examiner interprets images that do not fully satisfy a query reads on not satisfying a threshold value); and
in response to determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy the threshold value, generating new images that correspond to the search input (Cui, [Fig. 3] note 350, [0049] note If the first set of images 320 includes the first image that partially satisfies the query 310, at 350, a second image 360 can be generated based at least on the query 310. Since the second image 360 is generated based at least on the query 310, the second image 360 will have a higher matching degree with the query 310 or fully satisfy the query 310); and
displaying, for selection, images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold value is different than the search input.
However, Vee teaches this (Vee, [0103] note broadening structured queries may be generated when the search results corresponding to the first structured query are below a threshold number of search results. Structured queries with too many limitations, or that use query tokens that do not match many social-graph entities, may produce few or no results. When a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional result. The social-networking system 160 may analyze the first structured query and provide suggestion for how to modify the query so that it produces more results. The threshold number of search results may be any suitable number of results, and may be determined by the social-networking system 160 or be user-defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the image generation of Cui with the threshold number of search results of Vee according to known methods (i.e. generating images based on a number of search results being under a threshold). Motivation for doing so is that when a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional results (Vee, [0103]).
Claim 30: Cui teaches a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
receiving a search input (Cui, [0028] note the user may input, with voice or text, a query request, [Fig. 3] note 310, [0046] note Firstly, a query 310 for an image can be received);
identifying, using the search input, a set of existing images that correspond to keywords corresponding to the search input (Cui, [0030] note an image index 142 for use by the search engine in retrieving images; i.e. existing images, [0035] note a set of components corresponding to a query “red apple and purple grape” may be <red apple, purple grape>; i.e. keywords, [Fig. 3] note 320, [0046] note a first set of images 320 retrieved according to the query 310 can be obtained… the first set of images 320 may be retrieved by the search engine based on the query 310);
determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy a threshold value (Cui, [0037] note herein, “an image partially satisfying a query” may also be referred to as “an image not satisfying a query”, “an image not fully satisfying a query”, and the like, [Fig. 3] note 330, [0047] note At 330, it is can be determined whether the first set of images 320 includes a first image that partially satisfies the query 310; i.e. the examiner interprets images that do not fully satisfy a query reads on not satisfying a threshold value); and
in response to determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy the threshold value, generating new images that correspond to the search input (Cui, [Fig. 3] note 350, [0049] note If the first set of images 320 includes the first image that partially satisfies the query 310, at 350, a second image 360 can be generated based at least on the query 310. Since the second image 360 is generated based at least on the query 310, the second image 360 will have a higher matching degree with the query 310 or fully satisfy the query 310); and
displaying, for selection, images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold value is different than the search input.
However, Vee teaches this (Vee, [0103] note broadening structured queries may be generated when the search results corresponding to the first structured query are below a threshold number of search results. Structured queries with too many limitations, or that use query tokens that do not match many social-graph entities, may produce few or no results. When a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional result. The social-networking system 160 may analyze the first structured query and provide suggestion for how to modify the query so that it produces more results. The threshold number of search results may be any suitable number of results, and may be determined by the social-networking system 160 or be user-defined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the image generation of Cui with the threshold number of search results of Vee according to known methods (i.e. generating images based on a number of search results being under a threshold). Motivation for doing so is that when a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional results (Vee, [0103]).
Claim 34: Cui and Vee teach method of claim 6, wherein determining that the identified set of existing images does not satisfy the threshold value comprises: determining that a value representing a quantity of the identified set of existing images does not satisfy a second value representing a threshold quantity of images (Vee, [0103] note broadening structured queries may be generated when the search results corresponding to the first structured query are below a threshold number of search results. Structured queries with too many limitations, or that use query tokens that do not match many social-graph entities, may produce few or no results. When a structured query produces too few results, it may be useful to provide suggests for how to modify that query to generate additional result. The social-networking system 160 may analyze the first structured query and provide suggestion for how to modify the query so that it produces more results. The threshold number of search results may be any suitable number of results, and may be determined by the social-networking system 160 or be user-defined).
Claims 7, 8, 12, 21, 23-25, 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui and Vee in further view of KIM et al., US 2025/0005809 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Claim 7: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the method of claim 6, wherein the search input is in text form, and the keywords are expanded from the received search input.
However, Kim teaches this (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the search result expansion of Kim according to known methods (i.e. expanding search results through an additional search using a related tag). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 8: Cui and Vee teach the method of claim 6, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying the images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach on an instance of an account of a multi-media platform.
However, Kim teaches the multi-media platform (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the social network service (SNS) including a search service of Kim according to known methods (i.e. providing generative images via a combination of a social network service and a search service). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 12: Cui and Vee teach the method of claim 6, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying one or more of the images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach ranked by matching property and popularity.
However, Kim teaches the multi-media platform (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0088] note the provider unit 213 may sort documents based on ranking scores and may provide the sorted documents as the search result associated with the keyword, [0120] note the search result 610 may include documents that are sorted based on rankings to which the popularity and the newness are applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with search service of Kim according to known methods (i.e. sorting and ranking search results based on keywords and popularity). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 21: Cui, Vee and Kim teach the method of claim 8, wherein displaying the images on the instance of the account of the multi-media platform comprises: displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images on a social media platform (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Claim 23: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the media of claim 22, wherein the search input is in text form, and the keywords are expanded from the received search input.
However, Kim teaches this (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the search result expansion of Kim according to known methods (i.e. expanding search results through an additional search using a related tag). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 24: Cui and Vee teach the media of claim 22, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying the images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach on an instance of an account of a multi-media platform.
However, Kim teaches the multi-media platform (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the social network service (SNS) including a search service of Kim according to known methods (i.e. providing generative images via a combination of a social network service and a search service). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 25: Cui, Vee and Kim teach the media of claim 24, wherein displaying the images on the instance of the account of the multi-media platform comprises: displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images on a social media platform (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Claim 31: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the system of claim 30, wherein the search input is in text form, and the keywords are expanded from the received search input.
However, Kim teaches this (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the search result expansion of Kim according to known methods (i.e. expanding search results through an additional search using a related tag). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claim 32: Cui and Vee teach the system of claim 30, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying the images (Cui, [0019] note The retrieved existing images and the generated images can be combined into an image search result to be provided to the user, [0025] note provide in the image search results not only existing images searched on the network, but also images generated according to queries, [0028] note display unit 114 may be configured to present a visual interface associated with an image search service and various other information to a user of the terminal device 110, for example, presenting a search box in which a user can input the query, presenting image search results, and the like).
Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach on an instance of an account of a multi-media platform.
However, Kim teaches the multi-media platform (Kim, [0064] note FIG. 1 illustrates a user terminal 101, a social network system 102, and a search result providing system 100, [0071] note social network system 102 serves as a service platform that provides a social network service (SNS) to the user terminal 101 corresponding to a client, [0072] note search result providing system 100 may include a document on an SNS (hereinafter, also referred to as an SNS document), for example, an image in a search result associated with the keyword in conjunction with the social network system 102, [0085] note if a preset or less number of documents are extracted as the search result using the representative tag, the extractor unit 211 may expand the search result through an additional search using the related tag, [Fig. 6] note 610, [0119] note an example of a search result screen 600 displayed on the user terminal 101 as a user interface associated with a search result display procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the social network service (SNS) including a search service of Kim according to known methods (i.e. providing generative images via a combination of a social network service and a search service). Motivation for doing so is that this provides a community space for sharing an image taken or created by the user with other users and viewing images of other users (Kim, [0071]).
Claims 9 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui, Vee and Kim in further view of Ovsjanikovs et al., US 2015/0169636 A1 (hereinafter “Ovsjanikovs”).
Claim 9: Cui, Vee and Kim do not explicitly teach the method of claim 8, wherein displaying the images on the instance of the account of the multi-media platform comprises: displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images on a virtual reality (VR) medium platform.
However, Ovsjanikovs teaches this (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 4], [0041] note At block 402, the client provides a search query, [0042] note At block 404, the client obtains 3D model and image search results, [0044] note At block 408, the client obtains a view of the 3D model; i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results, [Fig. 5] note 510, 516, [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510, [0048] note For example, 3D model search results 510 can include depictions of arched arrows 516 that serve as rotation controls. A user clicking on one of arched arrows 516 causes the view of the 3D model visible in 3D model search results 510 to rotate in the direction indicated by the arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui, Vee and Kim with the 3D model and image search results of Ovsjanikovs according to known methods (i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results). Motivation for doing so is that this provides certain technical advantages, such as increased efficiency. For example, a user need only enter a single search query and obtain in response both image and 3D model search results (Ovsjanikovs, [0011]).
Claim 26: Cui, Vee and Kim do not explicitly teach the media of claim 24, wherein displaying the images on the instance of the account of the multi-media platform comprises: displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images on a virtual reality (VR) medium platform.
However, Ovsjanikovs teaches this (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 4], [0041] note At block 402, the client provides a search query, [0042] note At block 404, the client obtains 3D model and image search results, [0044] note At block 408, the client obtains a view of the 3D model; i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results, [Fig. 5] note 510, 516, [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510, [0048] note For example, 3D model search results 510 can include depictions of arched arrows 516 that serve as rotation controls. A user clicking on one of arched arrows 516 causes the view of the 3D model visible in 3D model search results 510 to rotate in the direction indicated by the arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui, Vee and Kim with the 3D model and image search results of Ovsjanikovs according to known methods (i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results). Motivation for doing so is that this provides certain technical advantages, such as increased efficiency. For example, a user need only enter a single search query and obtain in response both image and 3D model search results (Ovsjanikovs, [0011]).
Claims 10, 11, 27, 28 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui and Vee in further view of Ovsjanikovs.
Claim 10: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the method of claim 6, wherein generating the new images that correspond to the search input comprises: generating 3D models that correspond to the search input.
However, Ovsjanikovs teaches this (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 4], [0041] note At block 402, the client provides a search query, [0042] note At block 404, the client obtains 3D model and image search results, [0044] note At block 408, the client obtains a view of the 3D model; i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results, [Fig. 5] note 510, 516, [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510, [0048] note For example, 3D model search results 510 can include depictions of arched arrows 516 that serve as rotation controls. A user clicking on one of arched arrows 516 causes the view of the 3D model visible in 3D model search results 510 to rotate in the direction indicated by the arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the 3D model and image search results of Ovsjanikovs according to known methods (i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results). Motivation for doing so is that this provides certain technical advantages, such as increased efficiency. For example, a user need only enter a single search query and obtain in response both image and 3D model search results (Ovsjanikovs, [0011]).
Claim 11: Cui, Vee and Ovsjanikovs teach the method of claim 10, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying the generated 3D models (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 5], [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510).
Claim 27: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the media of claim 22, wherein generating the new images that correspond to the search input comprises: generating 3D models that correspond to the search input.
However, Ovsjanikovs teaches this (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 4], [0041] note At block 402, the client provides a search query, [0042] note At block 404, the client obtains 3D model and image search results, [0044] note At block 408, the client obtains a view of the 3D model; i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results, [Fig. 5] note 510, 516, [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510, [0048] note For example, 3D model search results 510 can include depictions of arched arrows 516 that serve as rotation controls. A user clicking on one of arched arrows 516 causes the view of the 3D model visible in 3D model search results 510 to rotate in the direction indicated by the arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the 3D model and image search results of Ovsjanikovs according to known methods (i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results). Motivation for doing so is that this provides certain technical advantages, such as increased efficiency. For example, a user need only enter a single search query and obtain in response both image and 3D model search results (Ovsjanikovs, [0011]).
Claim 28: Cui, Vee and Ovsjanikovs teach the media of claim 27, wherein displaying the images that include at least one image from both (i) the identified set of existing images and (ii) the generated new images comprises: displaying the generated 3D models (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 5], [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510).
Claim 33: Cui and Vee do not explicitly teach the system of claim 30, wherein generating the new images that correspond to the search input comprises: generating 3D models that correspond to the search input.
However, Ovsjanikovs teaches this (Ovsjanikovs, [Fig. 4], [0041] note At block 402, the client provides a search query, [0042] note At block 404, the client obtains 3D model and image search results, [0044] note At block 408, the client obtains a view of the 3D model; i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results, [Fig. 5] note 510, 516, [0046] note Display 502 includes image search results 508 and 3D model search results 510, [0048] note For example, 3D model search results 510 can include depictions of arched arrows 516 that serve as rotation controls. A user clicking on one of arched arrows 516 causes the view of the 3D model visible in 3D model search results 510 to rotate in the direction indicated by the arrow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to combine the generative image acquisition of Cui and Vee with the 3D model and image search results of Ovsjanikovs according to known methods (i.e. generating a 3D model based on search results). Motivation for doing so is that this provides certain technical advantages, such as increased efficiency. For example, a user need only enter a single search query and obtain in response both image and 3D model search results (Ovsjanikovs, [0011]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIUSEPPI GIULIANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153