DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Amendment/Claims
Applicant's response filed 08/07/2025 has been considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous office action mailed 03/07/2025 are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
With entry of the amendment filed on 08/07/2025, claims are pending. Claims 1-35 and 39 are currently under examination. Claims 36-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The replacement Drawings are accepted and the rejection is withdrawn.
The amendments to the Specification are accepted and is in sequence compliance.
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in response to Applicant’s arguments.
The 102 rejection is withdrawn in view of the new rejections herein.
New Claim Rejections
Claim Interpretation:
The specification describes structures conceptualized by the claimed structure in at least Figure 1. The limitations above describe the structure as forming a double stranded molecule wherein X contains nucleotides complementary to nucleic acid sequences of Y, thus forming a double stranded oligonucleotide connected by linker L.
The specification describes the structure in [0012] The inventors of the present invention found that, by coupling an oligodeoxyribonucleotide and a complementary chain containing its corresponding -3-RNA with a linker such as DNA or RNA that is degraded under physiological conditions to obtain a single-stranded oligonucleotide having a structure that partially hybridizes within a molecule thereof and has an antisense sequence capable of controlling expression of a target gene, the single-stranded oligonucleotide 5demonstrates an antisense effect that is equal to or greater than that of the double-stranded oligonucleotide.
Thus for prior art purposes, the claimed oligonucleotide forms a double stranded structure as described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McSwiggen et al. (US 20070032441 cited on IDS 11/11/22).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6, McSwiggen et al. teach a single stranded molecule wherein one strand is an antisense strand and the other is a sense strand that are connected to a linker molecule that can be a polynucleotide linker or a non-nucleotide linker (0032). McSwiggen et al. teach a linear hairpin structure or an asymmetric hairpin structure that can be 36-70 with having about 3 to 25 base pairs and (0043-0044) wherein loop is biodegradable (0112-0113). McSwiggen et al. teach the X and Y can bind the L on the 5’ or 3’ side (Figure 97). This structure would anticipate the claimed structure of X-L-Y with X and Y being antisense and sense strands and L being a linker.
Regarding claim 5, McSwiggen teach examples of linkers that can be phosphodiester linkages (0540-0550).
Regarding claims 7-14, 16, 17, 26-29, McSwiggen et al. teach oligonucleotides are modified to enhance stability and/or enhance biological activity by modification with nuclease resistant groups, for example, 2'-amino, 2'-C-allyl, 2'-fluoro, 2'-O-methyl, 2'-O-allyl, 2'-H, nucleotide base modifications, deoxyribonucleotides or phosphorothioate linkages and teach the modified nucleotides can be from 5-100% in each strand (see at least 0020-0021,0008, 0019).
Regarding the limitation of “contains at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H”, the specification describes that RNase H can recognize a double strand in which at least one of the base moiety, phosphodiester bond moiety or sugar moiety of at least one of DNA and RNA has been modified [0025]. McSwiggen et al. teach base, sugar or phosphodiester modification can be from 5-100% of each strand and thus it would encompass having at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, teach replacing only 2 nucleotides in the end regions of each strand with deoxyribonucleotides (0019-022) but does not teach an oligonucleotide containing four contiguous deoxyribonucleotides.
Regarding claims 18 and 21-25, McSwiggen et al. teach embodiments of a multifunctional siRNA wherein the 5’ end of an antisense strand (X) linked to the 3’ end of another antisense strand (X’), wherein the linkers can be nucleotide based or biodegradable linkers as described in the description above or known in the art (see at least 0474-476) and the linkers can be phosphorothioate (0658-0661). McSwiggen et al. teach advantages to the multifunctional siRNA such as targeting two different genes (see 0477).
Regarding claims 30-35 and 39, McSwiggen et al. teach the oligonucleotide can be in pharmaceutical compositions and teach conjugates and/or complexes that can be used “to facilitate delivery of siNA molecules into a biological system, such as a cell. The conjugates and complexes provided by the instant invention can impart therapeutic activity by transferring therapeutic compounds across cellular membranes, altering the pharmacokinetics, and/or modulating the localization of nucleic acid molecules of the invention. The present invention encompasses the design and synthesis of novel conjugates and complexes for the delivery of molecules, including, but not limited to, small molecules, lipids, cholesterol, phospholipids, nucleosides, nucleotides, nucleic acids, antibodies, toxins, negatively charged polymers and other polymers, for example, proteins, peptides, hormones, carbohydrates, polyethylene glycols, or polyamines, across cellular membranes. In general, the transporters described are designed to be used either individually or as part of a multi-component system, with or without degradable linkers…Conjugates of the molecules described herein can be attached to biologically active molecules via linkers that are biodegradable, such as biodegradable nucleic acid linker molecules” (see para.0496). McSwiggen et al. teach using the siRNA to target specific cell types such as targeting the asialoglycoprotein receptor (see 0770) and teach a sugar conjugate N-acetyl-galactosamine (0552). McSwiggen et al. teach methods of design and synthesis of said molecules (see 0808-0813).
Thus McSwiggen et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12, 13, 17 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inturrisi et al. (US 20110293628).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Inturrisi et al. teach a single stranded molecule wherein one strand is an antisense strand and the other is a sense strand that are connected to a linker molecule that can be a polynucleotide linker or a non-nucleotide linker wherein the X and Y can bind the L on the 5’ or 3’ side (0010, 0091). This structure would anticipate the claimed structure of X-L-Y with X and Y being antisense and sense strands and L being a linker.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 17 and 24-29, Inturrisi et al. teach oligonucleotides can comprise modified backbones, internucleotide linkages and sugar modifications (see at least 0093-0096).
Thus Inturrisi et al. anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-35 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McSwiggen et al. (US 20070032441) and Yakota et al. (US 20140302603).
The claims are drawn to a single-stranded oligonucleotide represented by the formula X-L-Y wherein the first oligonucleotide has a nucleotide sequence X, and the second oligonucleotide has a nucleotide sequence Y, the nucleotide sequence X contains a first nucleotide sequence that is capable of hybridizing with at least a portion of the second oligonucleotide and contains at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H, the nucleotide sequence Y contains a second nucleotide sequence that is capable of hybridizing with at least a portion of the first oligonucleotide and contains at least one ribonucleotide, at least one of the nucleotide sequence X and the nucleotide sequence Y contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6, McSwiggen et al. teach a single stranded molecule wherein one strand is an antisense strand and the other is a sense strand that are connected to a linker molecule that can be a polynucleotide linker or a non-nucleotide linker (0032). McSwiggen et al. teach a linear hairpin structure or an asymmetric hairpin structure that can be 36-70 with having about 3 to 25 base pairs and wherein loop is biodegradable (0112-0113). McSwiggen et al. teach the X and Y can bind the L on the 5’ or 3’ side (Figure 97). This structure would anticipate the claimed structure of X-L-Y with X and Y being antisense and sense strands and L being a linker.
Regarding claim 5, McSwiggen teach examples of linkers that can be phosphodiester linkages (0540-0550).
Regarding claims 7-14, 16, 17, 26-29, McSwiggen et al. teach oligonucleotides are modified to enhance stability and/or enhance biological activity by modification with nuclease resistant groups, for example, 2'-amino, 2'-C-allyl, 2'-fluoro, 2'-O-methyl, 2'-O-allyl, 2'-H, nucleotide base modifications, deoxyribonucleotides or phosphorothioate linkages and teach the modified nucleotides can be from 5-100% in each strand (see at least 0020-0021,0008, 0019).
Regarding the limitation of “contains at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H”, the specification describes RNase H can recognize a double strand in which at least one of the base moiety, phosphodiester bond moiety or sugar moiety of at least one of DNA and RNA has been modified [0025]. McSwiggen et al. teach base, sugar or phosphodiester modification can be from 5-100% of each strand and thus it would encompass having at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H.
Yakota et al. teach a nucleotide strand having at least four or more contiguous nucleotide recognized by RNase H is advantageous to promote cleavage (0129). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate at least 4 contiguous nucleotides into the strands taught by McSwiggen et al. that are recognized by RNase H to promote cleavage.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, McSwiggen et al. teach replacing only 2 nucleotides in the end regions of each strand with deoxyribonucleotides (0019-022) but does not teach or suggest an oligonucleotide containing four contiguous deoxyribonucleotides.
Regarding claims 18, 19 and 21-25, McSwiggen et al. teach embodiments of a multifunctional siRNA wherein the 5’ end of an antisense strand (X) linked to the 3’ end of another antisense strand (X’), wherein the linkers can be nucleotide based or biodegradable linkers as described in the description above or known in the art (see at least 0474-476) and the linkers can be phosphorothioate (0658-0661). McSwiggen et al. teach advantages to the multifunctional siRNA such as targeting two different genes (see 0477).
Regarding claims 30-35 and 39, McSwiggen et al. teach the oligonucleotide can be in pharmaceutical compositions and teach conjugates and/or complexes that can be used “to facilitate delivery of siNA molecules into a biological system, such as a cell. The conjugates and complexes provided by the instant invention can impart therapeutic activity by transferring therapeutic compounds across cellular membranes, altering the pharmacokinetics, and/or modulating the localization of nucleic acid molecules of the invention. The present invention encompasses the design and synthesis of novel conjugates and complexes for the delivery of molecules, including, but not limited to, small molecules, lipids, cholesterol, phospholipids, nucleosides, nucleotides, nucleic acids, antibodies, toxins, negatively charged polymers and other polymers, for example, proteins, peptides, hormones, carbohydrates, polyethylene glycols, or polyamines, across cellular membranes…Conjugates of the molecules described herein can be attached to biologically active molecules via linkers that are biodegradable, such as biodegradable nucleic acid linker molecules” (see para.0496). McSwiggen et al. teach using the siRNA to target specific cell types such as targeting the asialoglycoprotein receptor (see 0770) and teach a sugar conjugate N-acetyl-galactosamine (0552). McSwiggen et al. further teach methods of design and synthesis of said molecules (see 0808-0813).
Therefore it would have obvious to use the oligonucleotide structure of McSwiggen et al. and incorporate four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H, wherein the nucleotides are not all deoxyribonucleotides, comprises modified nucleotides and can be a multimeric composition as taught above to target the same or different genes for inhibition of gene expression.
Thus in the absence of evidence to the contrary, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-35 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "in the case of having two or more antisense sequences, the target RNA hybridized by each antisense sequence may be the same or different, wherein X and Y hybridize by the first nucleotide sequence portion and the second nucleotide sequence portion.” This limitation is indefinite because the claim recites Y is 4-100 nucleotides in length and it is unclear how this sequence can have one or more antisense sequence encompassed in a sequence of only 4 nucleotides. Claims 2-35 and 39 are rejected as they depend or encompass claim 1.
Maintained Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 1-35 and 39 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of double patenting over claims 1-43 and 45 of Patent No 11,530,409. This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not yet been patented. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Patent ‘409 and the instant claims are drawn to a single-stranded oligonucleotide represented by the formula X-L-Y wherein the first oligonucleotide has a nucleotide sequence X, and the second oligonucleotide has a nucleotide sequence Y, the nucleotide sequence X contains a first nucleotide sequence that is capable of hybridizing with at least a portion of the second oligonucleotide and contains at least four contiguous nucleotides recognized by RNase H, the nucleotide sequence Y contains a second nucleotide sequence that is capable of hybridizing with at least a portion of the first oligonucleotide and contains at least one ribonucleotide, at least one of the nucleotide sequence X and the nucleotide sequence Y contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues the instant claims and claims of Patent ‘409 do not define the formula X-L-Y in the same manner because Patent ‘409 recites that "the nucleotide sequence X contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA," whereas the claims [of] the present application do not recite that the nucleotide sequence X contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA. Applicant further argues “the claims of the present application recite that "the nucleotide sequence Y contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA," whereas the claims of the '409 patent do not recite that the nucleotide sequence Y contains at least one antisense sequence capable of hybridizing with a target RNA.”
This argument is factually incorrect. Claim 1 of Patent ‘409 recites that in the formula X-L-Y, X or Y can contain an antisense sequence as shown highlighted in a reprint of the claim as printed in the patent and as previously stated in the rejection:
Thus the scope of the instant claims and the claims of Patent ‘409 overlap in scope are not are not patentably distinct from each other.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/KIMBERLY CHONG/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 1636