DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 31 December 2025 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 15-17 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 18-19 are cancelled.
Claims 21-23 are new.
Claims 1-2, 4-17, and 20-23 and are pending.
The cancellation of claim 19 has rendered moot the objection of claim 19 set forth in the last Office action. The objection has been withdrawn.
The cancellation of claim 19 has rendered moot the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the last Office action. The rejection has been withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejection of 1, 3, 5, 7-10, 13-14, and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson et al. (“Highly Linearized Twisted Iridium(III) Complexes”, Inorganic Chemistry (2018) vol. 57, pp. 14450-14462.) (hereafter “Davidson”) set forth in the last Office action as well as the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan Davidson et al. (“Highly Linearized Twisted Iridium(III) Complexes”, Inorganic Chemistry (2018) vol. 57, pp. 14450-14462.) (hereafter “Davidson”) in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn. However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made. Thus, it is noted that this rejection of claims 9 and 10 is overcome by amendment. Therefore, new grounds of rejection for claims 9 and 10 are necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 regarding the rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pretot et al. (WO 2006/067074 A1) (hereafter “Pretot”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection does not meet the limitation “if one of ring A and ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
Applicant asserts that the provisos of Claims 1, 17, and 20 require that “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” However, this is not a full recitation of the claim limitation. The full claim limitation is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, and if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” Thus, the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect. Interpreting the if statements “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” to be alternatives to invoke the then statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” would require the claim limitation to read is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, or if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
In summary, the claim is being interpreted such that the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect.
In the rejection L is a linker comprising an O atom, thus the linker is not a linear alkyl linker and the proviso is not in effect. L as an O atom meets condition (iii) of the amended claim language
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 regarding the rejections of claims 1-5, 8, and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagayama et al. (JP 2015-189688 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Nagayama”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection does not meet the limitation “if one of ring A and ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
Applicant asserts that the provisos of Claims 1, 17, and 20 require that “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” However, this is not a full recitation of the claim limitation. The full claim limitation is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, and if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” Thus, the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect. Interpreting the if statements “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” to be alternatives to invoke the then statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” would require the claim limitation to read is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, or if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
In summary, the claim is being interpreted such that the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect.
In the rejection L is a linker comprising a linear alkyl and a bivalent benzene, thus the linker is not simply a linear alkyl linker and the proviso is not in effect.
It is noted however, that Applicant’s arguments are correct in the context of the rejection of claims 9 and 10, which would require an interpretation of the instant L being simply a linear alkyl.
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 regarding the rejections of claims 1-10 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0047519 A1) (hereafter “Wang”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection does not meet the limitation “if one of ring A and ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
Applicant asserts that the provisos of Claims 1, 17, and 20 require that “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” However, this is not a full recitation of the claim limitation. The full claim limitation is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, and if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” Thus, the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect. Interpreting the if statements “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” to be alternatives to invoke the then statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” would require the claim limitation to read is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, or if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
In summary, the claim is being interpreted such that the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect.
In the rejection L is a branched alkyl linker, thus the linker is not a linear alkyl linker and the proviso is not in effect.
Applicant's arguments filed 31 December 2025 regarding each of the provisional rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting described in paragraphs 33 to 73 of the last office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim amendments have overcome the provisional rejections. No further argument is provided.
Respectfully, the claim amendments do not appear to overcome the rejections. Each of the linking groups L in the provisional rejections appear to meet the amended claim limitations.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant asserts that the provisos of Claims 1, 17, and 20 require that “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” However, this is not a full recitation of the claim limitation. The full claim limitation is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, and if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.” Thus, the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect. Interpreting the if statements “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” to be alternatives to invoke the then statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” would require the claim limitation to read is “and if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker, or if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine, then L is linked to the pyridine ring.”
In summary, the claim is being interpreted such that the “then” statement of “L is linked to the pyridine ring” requires that both “if Z is Si and L is a linear alkyl linker” and “if one of ring A and Ring B is benzene and the other is pyridine” for the proviso to be in effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20: Claims 1, 17, and 20 recite the limitation of option (iii) that L is selected from the group consisting of BR", BR"R"', NR", PR", 0, S, Se, C=O, C=S, C=Se, C=NR", C=CR"R"', S=O, SO2, CR", CR"R"', SiR"R"', GeR"R"', alkyl, cycloalkyl, arvl, heteroarvl, and combinations thereof.” This listing of options for the instant L cannot be found in the specification.
Regarding claims 2, 4-16, and 21-23: Claims 2, 4-16, and 21-23 are rejected due to their dependence from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8, 12-13, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagayama et al. (JP 2015-189688 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Nagayama”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 8, 12-13, 21, and 23: Nagayama discloses the compound shown below {p. 9}.
R1, R2, and R3 are each methyl, meeting condition (i) of the current claims. L is a combination of alkyl and aryl, meeting condition (iii) of the current claims.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 13, 16, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pretot et al. (WO 2006/067074 A1) (hereafter “Pretot”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 13, 16, 21, and 23: Pretot discloses the compound shown below {p. 105, Compound H-11}.
Where the instant L2 is a single bond, and the substituent on the benzene ring of the phenylpyridine ligand is a combination of alkoxy and silyl and O is a bivalent organic linker. Thus, the instant L is O, meeting condition (iii) of the current claims.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 10-2013-0110934 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23: Park discloses the compound shown below {p. 13, Compound 153}.
Where L is aryl, meeting condition (iii) of the current claims. Where at least one of moiety B A or moiety B is a polycyclic, fused ring structure, meeting condition (ii) of the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 17, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0047519 A1) (hereafter “Wang”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-8, 17, 21, and 23: Wang discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {Device Example 1 as described in Table 1 and paragraph [0250]}.
The organic layer comprises the compound shown below {(Device Example 1 as described in Table 1 and paragraph [0250]: Metal complex 43 is the light-emitting dopant of the light-emitting layer.), (p. 26, Metal Complex 43)}.
The organic layer further comprises two host materials having the structures shown below {(Device Example 1 as described in Table 1 and paragraph [0250]: The host materials are H1 and H2.), (pp. 25-26, the structures of H1 and H2)}.
Where Compound H1 is described in the HOST group defined in the specification.
The metal complex of Wang shown above does not comprise a silyl group.
However, Wang teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Wang are metal complexes a ligand comprising a ligand La having the structure of Formula 1A shown below and a ligand Lb having the structure of Formula 1B of Wang {paragraphs [0011]-[0017] and [0086]-[0091]}.
Where R2 of Wang has the structure of Formula 2 of Wang {paragraphs [0032] and [0106]}.
Where Formula 2 can have the structure of the silyl groups shown below {paragraph [0149]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted one of the silyl groups shown above in place of the tertiary butyl group of the metal complex of Wang shown above, based on the teaching of Wang. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of one of the silyl groups shown above would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups of Formula 2 of Wang), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Where L is branched alkyl, meeting condition (iii) of the current claims.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan Wang et al. (US 2023/0047519 A1) (hereafter “Wang”), as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”).
Regarding claim 20: Wang teaches all of the features with respect to claims 1 and 17, as outlined above.
Claim 20 differs from claim 17 in the organic light-emitting device is comprised in a consumer product.
Wang does not teach a specific consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device of Wang described above.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic electroluminescent devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic electroluminescent devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the organic light-emitting device of Wang to be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display device with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 13-14, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 10-2013-0110934 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-8, 13-14, 21, and 23: Park discloses the compound shown below {p. 13, Compound 169; p. 27, Synthesis of Compound 169}.
Where TMS is trimethylsilyl.
Park does not teach a compound similar to the compound shown above except for having an acetylacetonate ligand in place of the phenylpyridine ligand lacking a trimethylsilyl substituent.
However, Park teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Park have the structure of Chemical Formula 1 of Park, shown below {p. 4, lines 1-4}.
Where the ligand L can be optionally acetylacetonate as well as optionally phenyl pyridine {p. 5, lines 8 through p. 6, line 4; pp. 6-14: Compounds 11, 24, 26, 72, 80-83, 89, 91, and 156}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Park such that an acetylacetonate ligand is used in place of the methyl substituted phenylpyridine ligand as the ligand L of Park, based on the teaching of Park. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of acetylacetonate would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups ligands L of Park), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Where the instant L is aryl, meeting condition (iii) of the current claims.
Regarding claim 13: Park teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Park meets the limitations of claim 13 where the ligand LB is not present.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 14-15, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 17/959,321 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-13, 14-15, and 21-23: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 17/959,321 discloses the compounds shown below {lines 2 and 11 of claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10, 13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17/959,328 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-6, 8, 10, 13, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 17/959,328 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, 21, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17/959,326 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, 21, and 23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 17/959,326 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 14, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/181,378 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 14, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/181,378 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/345,036 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/345,036 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7, 16, 21, and 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 98 of copending Application No. 17959324 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 16, 21, and 23: Claim 98 of copending Application No. 17959324 discloses the compound shown below {claim 98}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18329912 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 18329912 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 14, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17745939 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 14, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 17745939 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7, 16, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17743561 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 16, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 17743561 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18630113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 18630113 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 17959323 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 21-23: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 17959323 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18239358 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 18239358 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 7, 16, and 21-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18303707 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 16, and 21-23: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 18303707 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786