DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Claims 1 and 2 have been amended to add the limitation that the phenoxy fibers are arranged and fixed within a plane with all the fibers aligned in parallel, allowing the matrix resin to flow along a longitudinal direction of the fibers to form the sheet shape. The original specification does not explicitly recite the orientation of the fibers, or that the flow is along a longitudinal direction of the fibers. The drawing the applicant recites as showing the orientation of the fibers does not have the resolution to determine if the fibers are in one direction, or if they have cross fibers within the fiber layer. As such, the original specification as filed does not provide support for the newly presented limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (Toughening of epoxy carbon fibre composites using dissolvable phenoxy fibres, Doctoral Thesis, School of Engineering and Material Science, Queen Mary University of London, 2013) in view of LoFaro et al. (US 2006/0252334).
Considering Claim 1: Wong teaches a FRP molded product (pg. 133) formed by impregnating a fiber base material with a matrix resin using a phenoxy fiber sheet/flow medium (pg. 133), where the phenoxy fiber sheet comprises fibers made of phenoxy resin interspersed between carbon fiber layers in a stack (Figure 4.1), the matrix resin is an epoxy resin (pg. 132), and the wherein the phenoxy fibers are integrated within the epoxy resin by dissolution during curing (pg. 133). Wong teaches the outer layers as being made of the phenoxy fibers, and thus they would become part of the design face (Figure 4.1).
Wong teaches that the fibers in the phenoxy fiber sheet are randomly oriented. However, LoFaro et al. teaches a fiber reinforced composite having a resin soluble fiber layer, where the fibers are in a parallel direction (¶0101). Wong and LoFaro et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fiber reinforced composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have oriented the phenoxy fibers in the parallel direction with the machine direction, and the motivation to do so would have been, as LoFaro et al. suggests, to provide tensile strength, low elongation, and low tear strength in the machine direction (¶0101).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong (Toughening of epoxy carbon fibre composites using dissolvable phenoxy fibres, Doctoral Thesis, School of Engineering and Material Science, Queen Mary University of London, 2013) in view of LoFaro et al. (US 2006/0252334).
Considering Claim 2: Wong teaches a FRP molded product (pg. 133) formed by impregnating a fiber base material with a matrix resin using a phenoxy fiber sheet/flow medium (pg. 133), where the phenoxy fiber sheet comprises fibers made of phenoxy resin interspersed between carbon fiber layers in a stack (Figure 4.1), the matrix resin is an epoxy resin (pg. 132), and the wherein the phenoxy fibers are integrated within the epoxy resin by dissolution during curing (pg. 133). Wong teaches stacking the fiber base material and the phenoxy fiber sheets; and injection the epoxy resin into the fiber stack (pg. 133). Wong teaches the outer layers as being made of the phenoxy fibers, and thus they would become part of the design face (Figure 4.1).
Wong teaches that the fibers in the phenoxy fiber sheet are randomly oriented. However, LoFaro et al. teaches a fiber reinforced composite having a resin soluble fiber layer, where the fibers are in a parallel direction (¶0101). Wong and LoFaro et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely fiber reinforced composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have oriented the phenoxy fibers in the parallel direction with the machine direction, and the motivation to do so would have been, as LoFaro et al. suggests, to provide tensile strength, low elongation, and low tear strength in the machine direction (¶0101).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767