DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on 05/13/2026, in which claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, and 15-16 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections:
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the remarks that none of the cited references disclose the amended limitations of the independent claims. Applicant further argues on page 8 of the remarks that an understanding was reached during the examiner interview that the references do not disclose the amended features.
In response to applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited references fail to disclose the amended limitations of the independent claims. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the “initialize a correction value for correcting the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication so as to cancel application of the correction and restore the signal strength to an uncorrected state, the correction being based on the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication, when a connection of the electrical power-saving communication is lost” limitation includes ending correction of the signal strength after completing a correction when connection of the electrical power-saving communication is lost. Suzuki discloses the amended limitation through completing self-positioning after stopping the ranging and BLE scan used for performing a positioning calculation (Suzuki [0206], [0186]-[0188]). Suzuki further discloses initiating a BLE scan after the mobile terminal leaves a ranging zone and the BLE connection is disconnected (Suzuki [0347]). Therefore, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki teach all elements of the amended independent claims. Furthermore, the interview summary record stated that option 2, corresponding to the current amendments, would require further search and consideration and that no specific agreement was reached.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 05/01/2026 has been received and considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “initialize a correction value for correcting the signal strength…so as to cancel application of the correction and restore the signal strength to an uncorrected state” is unclear. It is unclear if the “initialize a correction value” is the same correction value previously referenced in the “correct a signal strength…based on a distance measurement” limitation. Furthermore, it is unclear whether the recitation of “initialize a correction value for correcting the signal strength…so as to cancel application of the correction” includes performing correction of the signal strength while concurrently canceling application of correction. For purposes of compact prosecution, the “initialize a correction value for correcting the signal strength…” limitation is interpreted as ending correction of the signal strength after completing a correction, when connection of the electrical power-saving communication is lost.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0196095 A1 (hereinafter Smith), in view of Cheong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0032123 A1 (hereinafter Cheong), and further in view of Suzuki et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0276431 A1 (hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses an information processing device (Smith Fig. 1), comprising:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor being configured to (see at least Smith [0055]: “The controller 58 of the object device 50 in the illustrated embodiment of FIG. 3 may include one or more processors 51 that execute one or more applications 57 (software and/or includes firmware), one or more memory units 52 (e.g., RAM and/or ROM)”):
correct a signal strength of electrical power-saving communication based on a distance measurement between a vehicle and a portable information terminal calculated from a result of communication by the ultra-wideband communication (see at least Smith [0078]-[0079]: “For instance, in a configuration in which both BLE and UWB information are obtained, this information can be combined to enhance and stabilize a localization estimate. The BLE and UWB channels used in the localization may involve different frequencies, and the signal characteristics to be exploited for ranging are different (RSSI for BLE and time-of-flight for UWB). RSSI ranging calibration may be augmented or supplemented with time-of-flight from UWB communications.”; [0004]: “Using a function based on the relationship between signal strength and distance, the location of the portable device relative to the vehicle can be computed.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation correcting a signal strength of electrical power-saving communication includes RSSI ranging calibration),
put the ultra-wideband communication into an on state and initiate distance measurement between the vehicle and the portable information terminal by the ultra-wideband communication in a case in which the corrected signal strength is equal to or higher than an operation allowable threshold value (see at least Smith [0162]-[0163]: “The impact on thresholds is similar to or the same as that of the distance calculation output from the reference locator 210 or the adapter locator 310. For example, the reference locator 210 or the adapter locator 310 may be configured to provide an output indicative of distance or location of a remote device 20 relative to an object 10. Examples of the output include location information, such as a computed distance of the remote device 20 relative to the object 10, or a signal strength that itself may be indicative of location or distance of the remote device 20 relative to the object 10…Presence of the remote device 20 within one or more of these zones or transitioning from one or more zones to another zone may be associated with an action or status with respect to the remote device. For instance, if the remote device 20 transitions from an outer zone considered far from the vehicle to an unlock zone identified as proximal to the vehicle (e.g., within 2 m of the vehicle), the system 100 may be configured to unlock the vehicle. The system 100 may define an unlock zone, not as a computed distance, but as an RSSI threshold (or set of thresholds).”; Smith [0075]-[0076] discloses UWB communication is in an on state when the communication link utilizes UWB and UWB is used to measure distance by transmitting short pulses),
enable control of the vehicle so as to perform at least one of locking, unlocking or engine starting of the vehicle in accordance with an operation signal transmitted from the portable information terminal by the electrical power-saving communication (see at least Smith [0163]: “The system 100 may define an unlock zone, not as a computed distance, but as an RSSI threshold (or set of thresholds).”; [0062]: Smith discloses determining whether to unlock, lock, or enable mobilization of the vehicle based on the proximity of the remote device).
Smith fails to expressly disclose temporarily putting ultra-wideband communication into an on state and subsequently into an off state. However, Cheong teaches
temporarily put ultra-wideband communication into an on state and subsequently into an off state (see at least Cheong [0085]: “In this case, the processor 420 may monitor a first channel (e.g., channel 37) for 500 ms from the starting point in time of the BLE scan, and then stop the BLE scan for 4500 ms. The processor 420 may monitor a second channel (e.g., channel 38) for the following 500 ms and stop the BLE scan for 4500 ms. Then, the processor 420 may monitor a third channel (e.g., channel 39) for the following 500 ms and stop the BLE scan for 4500 ms. For example, the processor 420 may repeatedly perform the BLE scan as described above until the Bluetooth function is deactivated, until stop of the BLE scan is requested by the UWB application, or until scan is stopped based on the Bluetooth protocol.”; ultra-wideband communication is temporarily put into an on state and subsequent off state by performing BLE scans for UWB ranging for predetermined intervals before the scan is stopped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device disclosed by Smith with the temporarily putting ultra-wideband communication into an on and off state taught by Cheong with reasonable expectation of success. Cheong is directed towards the related field of an ultra-wideband communication method based on Bluetooth communication. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Smith with Cheong to reduce power consumption (see at least Cheong [0005]: “Accordingly, when a UWB communication module for the UWB communication is continuously activated, battery consumption of an electronic device may increase. In order to reduce power consumption of the electronic device, activation of UWB communication based on Bluetooth (e.g., Bluetooth low energy, BLE) communication having relatively low power consumption may be performed.”).
Smith in view of Cheong fail to expressly disclose initializing correction of the signal strength so as to cancel application of the correction and restore the signal strength to an uncorrected state when the communication connection is lost. However, Suzuki teaches
and initialize a correction value for correcting the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication so as to cancel application of the correction and restore the signal strength to an uncorrected state, the correction being based on the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication, when a connection of the electrical power-saving communication is lost (see at least Suzuki [0206]: “In step S56, after stopping the Uplink TDoA ranging and the second BLE scan, the mobile terminal 13 starts self-positioning again by receiving a Downlink TDOA BLINK packet.”; [0347]: “Note that, depending on the use case, a case is also assumed in which the mobile terminal 13 leaves the ranging zone Zone3 to the ranging zone Zone2 and then enters the ranging zone Zone3 again to perform application data communication. In such a case, after disconnecting the second BLE connection, the mobile terminal 13 may again initiate the second BLE scan to detect the second BLE ADV signal.”; [0186]-[0188]: “In step S25, the anchor system 12 disconnects the first BLE communication with the mobile terminal 13. In step S26, the anchor system 12 transmits a Downlink BLINK packet from the UWB anchors 21-1 to 21-4, for example, at the timing of every 1 ms as described above. In step S27, the mobile terminal 13 performs positioning calculation on the basis of the time difference between the arrival times at which the Downlink BLINK packets transmitted from the UWB anchors 21-1 to 21-4 arrive at the mobile terminal 13 and the position information of the UWB anchors 21-1 to 21-4.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation initializing a correction value for correcting the signal strength so as to cancel application of the correction and restore the signal strength to an uncorrected state includes stopping ranging used for the positioning calculation and resuming self-positioning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device disclosed by Smith in view of Cheong with Suzuki with reasonable expectation of success. Suzuki is directed towards the related field of an information processing system. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Smith in view of Cheong with Suzuki to improve connection reliability (see at least Suzuki [0007]: “Furthermore, while a large amount of UWB communication for distance measurement occurs, UWB data communication also needs to be performed while avoiding interference, and it seems to be practically difficult to allocate sufficient time while avoiding interference. Meanwhile, in a case where the UWB distance measurement area is extremely narrowed in order to reduce the UWB communication amount, there is a concern that the UWB connection time via OOB (BLE), which is usually made before the start of UWB communications, may not be long enough to allow all mobile terminals to reliably connect with the ticket gate and pass through the ticket gate.”)
Regarding claim 2, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Smith further teaches wherein processor is configured to
correct the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication to a signal strength corresponding to the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication (see at least Smith [0078]-[0079]: “For instance, in a configuration in which both BLE and UWB information are obtained, this information can be combined to enhance and stabilize a localization estimate. The BLE and UWB channels used in the localization may involve different frequencies, and the signal characteristics to be exploited for ranging are different (RSSI for BLE and time-of-flight for UWB). RSSI ranging calibration may be augmented or supplemented with time-of-flight from UWB communications.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation correcting a signal strength of electrical power-saving communication includes RSSI ranging calibration; under broadest reasonable interpretation corresponding to the distance measurement includes correspond to the time-of-flight),
based on a predetermined correlation between the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication and the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication (see at least Smith [0156]: “As shown, with respect to the reference device 200, every 6 dBm decrease in RSSI corresponds to a doubling of distance (assuming all other factors, such as those described above, remain constant [which is unlikely, particularly as distance increases]). The actual RSSI-to-distance relationship may vary from the relationship shown in the illustrated embodiment, based upon the environment and can vary from as low as 3 dBm decrease per doubling of distance to a 12 dBm or more decrease per doubling of distance.”).
Regarding claim 5, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Smith further teaches wherein the processor is configured to,
after enabling control of the vehicle so as to perform at least one of locking, unlocking or engine starting of the vehicle by electrical power-saving communication, perform distance measurement between the vehicle and the portable information terminal based on the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication (see at least Smith [0162]: “For example, the reference locator 210 or the adapter locator 310 may be configured to provide an output indicative of distance or location of a remote device 20 relative to an object 10. Examples of the output include location information, such as a computed distance of the remote device 20 relative to the object 10, or a signal strength that itself may be indicative of location or distance of the remote device 20 relative to the object 10...For instance, if the remote device 20 transitions from an outer zone considered far from the vehicle to an unlock zone identified as proximal to the vehicle (e.g., within 2 m of the vehicle), the system 100 may be configured to unlock the vehicle.”).
Regarding claim 10, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Smith further teaches wherein the processor is configured to,
when enabling control of the vehicle so as to perform at least one of locking, unlocking or engine starting of the vehicle by electrical power-saving communication, clarify a positional relationship between the vehicle and the portable information terminal by the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication (see at least Smith [0062]: “For instance, in an embodiment where the object 10 is a vehicle, the system 100 may facilitate determining whether the remote device 20 is outside the vehicle but in close proximity, such as within 5 feet, 3 feet, or 2 feet or less, to the driver-side door 14…Conversely, if the remote device 20 is determined to be outside close proximity to the driver-side seat, the system 100 may determine to immobilize or maintain immobilization of the vehicle.”; [0107]: “As described herein, the signal strength (RSSI) at the receiver is dependent upon the orientation of the transmitter (e.g., the remote device 20) relative to an antenna of the receiver (e.g., the object device 50 or the sensor 40, or both). The orientation may vary in angle and polarization relative to the antenna of the receiver in addition to its distance, and attenuators/reflectors in and around the antenna (e.g., a vehicle shell, materials nearby to the antenna [including its ground plane and wiring], etc.).”).
Regarding claim 11, this claim recites a method for the information processing device of claim 1. Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki also discloses a method for the device of claim 1 as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, this claim recites a medium embodying the device of claim 1. Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki also discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program executable by a computer (Smith [0053]). Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Cheong further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to temporarily put the ultra-wideband communication into an on state and subsequently into an off state, after the portable information terminal have established the electrical power-saving communication (see at least Cheong [0085]: “The scan parameter may include, for example, information on a duty cycle (e.g., an activation time period and length of the first communication circuit 491) of the BLE scan for UWB communication…For example, the processor 420 may repeatedly perform the BLE scan as described above until the Bluetooth function is deactivated, until stop of the BLE scan is requested by the UWB application, or until scan is stopped based on the Bluetooth protocol.”; [0116]: “Referring to FIG. 7, each of the first electronic device 201, the second electronic device 202, and the third electronic device 203 may perform a periodic BLE scan.”).
Regarding claim 16, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Cheong further teaches
wherein the processor is configured to temporarily put the ultra-wideband communication into an on state, and subsequently into an off state after ranging has been complete (see at least Cheong [0067]: “For example, the external electronic device 211 may transmit a connection request (e.g., a low energy (LE) connection request) to the first electronic device 201 and the first electronic device 201 may respond to the connection request, thereby establishing a link between the first electronic device 201 and the external electronic device 211. After establishing the link, the first electronic device 201 and the external electronic device 211 may communicate. For example, the external electronic device 211 may initiate UWB ranging with the first electronic device 201 by transmitting a signal indicating the UWB ranging through the established link…Upon receiving the signal requesting the UWB ranging, the first electronic device 201 may activate a communication module for UWB communication.”; Cheong [0084]-[0085] teaches a BLE scan can be using for UWB ranging operation and the BLE scan can be stopped when ranging is complete).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki, and further in view of Avakjan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0198852 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki teaches all elements of the information processing device according to claim 1 as explained above. Smith further teaches
and correct the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication based on the distance measurement by the ultra-wideband communication unit (see at least Smith [0078]-[0079]: “For instance, in a configuration in which both BLE and UWB information are obtained, this information can be combined to enhance and stabilize a localization estimate. The BLE and UWB channels used in the localization may involve different frequencies, and the signal characteristics to be exploited for ranging are different (RSSI for BLE and time-of-flight for UWB). RSSI ranging calibration may be augmented or supplemented with time-of-flight from UWB communications.”; under broadest reasonable interpretation correcting a signal strength of electrical power-saving communication includes RSSI ranging calibration).
Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki fails to expressly disclose setting a number of measurement attempts to zero at a time of initiation. However, Avakjan teaches
set a number of distance measurement attempts by the ultra-wideband communication unit to zero at a time of initiation of control (see at least Avakjan [0168]: “Then, in order for the control unit 110 to be able to let the connected mobile device 120 to make the determination as to whether or not to allow a future re-connection when it has been released from the connection, such that re-connections attempts are not made when such attempts shouldn't be made, the control unit 110 may keep track of the number of generated events. The track-keeping may be implemented by a counter of events. The counter of events may be given an initial value at some point in time, e.g. zero.”; [0046]: “Distance measuring may also be achieved by analysis of characteristics of the radio communication e.g., via Time of Flight, or some other method combining such analysis with phase difference. Such distance measuring could for example be implemented with UWB.”);
in a case in which the number of distance measurement attempts does not exceed one, and the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication received by the electrical power-saving communication unit is equal to or greater than an electrical power-saving communication establishment threshold value, the electrical power-saving communication establishment threshold being lower than the operation allowable threshold value (This limitation is taught through the combination of Smith and Avakjan. Smith discloses “the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication received by the electrical power-saving communication unit is equal to or greater than an electrical power-saving communication establishment threshold value, the electrical power-saving communication establishment threshold being lower than the operation allowable threshold value” because Smith discloses multiple zone thresholds corresponding to an RSSI and distance of a device (Smith [0157], [0089], [0162]-[0163]). Smith fails to expressly disclose “a case in which the number of distance measurement attempts does not exceed one”. However, Avakjan teaches “a case in which the number of distance measurement attempts does not exceed one” because Avakjan teaches adjusting a counter to a first counter value for a first event of connecting to a mobile device within range (Avakjan [0174]-[0177]). Therefore, the combination of Smith and Avakjan teaches all elements of this limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device disclosed by Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki with the initialization taught by Avakjan with reasonable expectation of success. Avakjan is directed towards the related field of access control using short-range wireless communications. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki with Avakjan to keep track of connection attempts (see at least Avakjan [0168]: “Then, in order for the control unit 110 to be able to let the connected mobile device 120 to make the determination as to whether or not to allow a future re-connection when it has been released from the connection, such that re-connections attempts are not made when such attempts shouldn't be made, the control unit 110 may keep track of the number of generated events.”).
Regarding claim 4, Smith in combination with Cheong and Suzuki discloses the information processing device recited in claim 1. Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki fails to expressly disclose correcting signal strength each time a connection is performed between the vehicle and portable terminal. However, Avakjan teaches
correct the signal strength of the electrical power-saving communication each time a connection of the electrical power-saving communication is performed between the vehicle and the portable information terminal (see at least Avakjan [0022] : “The one or more mobile devices may for example be automatically connected to the control unit when in reach of the control unit.”; [0108]-[0109]: “The corrected estimated value, based on the received signal strength and motion sensor data, may be calculated in any other suitable method, for instance as a motion compensated distance or as a motion compensated quality indicator… The corrected estimated value may also be calculated by the control unit 110 for each of the one or more connected mobile devices 120-122.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the device disclosed by Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki with the correction based on connection status taught by Avakjan with reasonable expectation of success. Avakjan is directed towards the related field of access control using short-range wireless communications. Smith teaches the importance of a connection between the vehicle and terminal (see at least Smith [0096]), but fails to expressly disclose correcting a signal each time a connection is formed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Smith in view of Cheong and Suzuki with Avakjan to improve connections to incoming users (see at least Avakjan [0025]: “The embodiments herein also allow to monitor many mobile devices at once and prioritizing them, e.g. by disconnecting selected connections. By disconnecting selected connections, such as connections to inactive or just passing mobile devices, incoming users may get connected faster.”).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J SLOWIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662