Status of Claims
This communication is a first Non-Final Office Action on the Merits. Claims 17-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The present application, filed on 11/14/2022, claims priority to provisional application 63/283,232, filed on 11/25/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 17-20 in the reply filed on 02/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 17, recites “areduced-content” and it should be – a reduced content --. Appropriate correction is required. Further, claim 17 recites “twoor” and it should be – two or --. Appropriate correction is required. Further, claim 17 recites “representationsvia” and it should be – representations via --. Appropriate correction is required. Further, claim 17 recites “contentrepresentation” and it should be – content representation --. Appropriate correction is required. Further, claim 17 recites “morecontent” and it should be – more content --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19, recites “theset” and it should be – the set --. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract is objected to as it does not contain the proper content. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. Appropriate correction is required. The title of the invention is objected to. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters. Appropriate correction is required. The specification is objected to as the specification does not provide any clear or concise explanation of the invention to be claimed. 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: para 0002, recites: “Configuring a fabrication line is a complicated task. Moving from raw materials and initial design to a properly configured resource frequently involves many steps. If a step is performed with error or generates an output that does not match a planned output (even if the step was properly performed), it may become impossible to generate a target output.” Applicant’s specification, para 0072, recites: “A fab-stop switch controller 150 can indicate whether the fabrication line is to continue operating. Continuing to operate the fabrication line can include (for example) responding to any feedback from a given source and/or continuing to monitor or process feedback pertaining to the fabrication line. Fab-stop switch controller 150 can set a fab-stop switch that corresponds to a given fabrication line.” Examiner notes this is directed to fabrication line in manufacturing.
However, Applicant’s specification, para 0078, recites: “A resource identification transformer 172 can identify one or more specifications (i.e., one or more characteristics) of the content representation. The specification(s) or characteristic(s) may characterize a past, current, or potential future attribute of the content representation and/or corresponding resource. For example, the specification(s) may characterize a subject matter of the content representation (e.g., a technological classification), a characteristic of an entity that initiated generation of the content representation, an entity (e.g., examiner or art unit) that previously evaluated a same or previous version of the content representation, a jurisdiction that evaluated a same or previous version of the content representation, a size of part or all of the content representation (e.g., a word count of a claim, a number of claims, a page count of a section of the content representation, a page count of the content representation, etc.), etc.” Applicant’s specification, para 0127, recites: “The same or different queries may further identify a status (e.g., pending, published, allowed, issued) and/or date information (e.g., an issue date) for each content representation”. Examiner notes this appears to be directed to evaluating patent applications.
Examiner notes it is unclear how raw material fabrication lines are tied to content representations and examiners/art units. Examiner notes the specification must be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 17-20 there is no details or specifics in the specification for the technology that is sought to be patented. Mere use of the same words in the specification and the claims is not sufficient to establish written description. The written description requirement implements the principle that a patent must describe the technology that is sought to be patented; the requirement serves both to satisfy the inventor’s obligation to disclose the technologic knowledge upon which the patent is based, and to demonstrate that the patentee was in possession of the invention that is claimed." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1084 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Further, the written description requirement promotes the progress of the useful arts by ensuring that patentees adequately describe their inventions in their patent specifications in exchange for the right to exclude others from practicing the invention for the duration of the patent’s term.
Further, Claim 17 recites a “resource identification transformer”. However, there is no explanation of what the resource identification transformer is. Examiner notes a Resource Identification Transformer is often referred to in the art as a Transformer-based Re-Identification or Re-ID model using cameras to capture input images or video feed. However, this is not described in the claim nor specification. Rather, Applicant’s specification, para 0078, recites: “A resource identification transformer 172 can identify one or more specifications (i.e., one or more characteristics) of the content representation. The specification(s) or characteristic(s) may characterize a past, current, or potential future attribute of the content representation and/or corresponding resource. For example, the specification(s) may characterize a subject matter of the content representation (e.g., a technological classification), a characteristic of an entity that initiated generation of the content representation, an entity (e.g., examiner or art unit) that previously evaluated a same or previous version of the content representation, a jurisdiction that evaluated a same or previous version of the content representation, a size of part or all of the content representation (e.g., a word count of a claim, a number of claims, a page count of a section of the content representation, a page count of the content representation, etc.), etc.” Examiner again notes there is no explanation or detail on what a resource identification transformer is.
Even further, claim 17 recites a “reach system”. However, there is no explanation of what the reach system is. The specification merely recites intended uses and high-level outcomes without any actual detail. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. However, a showing of possession alone does not cure the lack of a written description. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 969-70, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1617 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Amer. Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Even Further, claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The specification simply recites intended uses and high-level outcomes without any actual detail regarding any claimed invention or functional limitations.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the parent claims and thus dependent claims are rejected on the same basis as indicated above for the respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or 35 USC § 112(pre-AIA ), second paragraph
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 17-20 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The structure which goes to make up the system must be clearly and positively specified. For example, in claim 17, it is unclear what a “resource identification transformer” is. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete system.
Further, claim 17 recites: “a resource identification transformer”, “an aggregator controller”, “a reach system” and “a transfer controller”. It is unclear how these elements are tied together. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claim 17 recites: “a reach system”. It is unclear what the reach system is.
Further, Claim 17 recites: “a reach system that: receives, via a second interface, a request that includes one or more content specifications”. It is unclear where the transfer request is coming from and where the transfer is being sent. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claim 17 recites “identifies a set of distinct content representations, each of the set.” Examiner notes “a set” is singular. “Each of the set of distinct content representations” is plural. It is unclear if it is a single set or multiple sets. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claim 17 recites: “detects that the one or more content specifications correspond to a first content representation of the two or more content representations”. It is unclear how the detection step is performed. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claims 18 and 19 recites “a weak link”. The term "weak" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "weak" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As stated in the rejection the Examiner notes that the term “weak” is a relative term and lacking a definition in the applicant’s originally filed specification the metes and bounds of this term cannot be established.
Further, claim 19, lines 7-8 recites: “the reach system detects a transfer request for a particular individual content representation”. It is unclear where the transfer request is coming from and where the transfer is being sent. Appropriate correction is required.
Further, claim 19, lines 9-10 recites: “the aggregator controller, in response to the transfer request or a corresponding related action, redefines the cluster”. It is unclear what is meant by “redefines”. Further, it is unclear what a corresponding related action is to a transfer request.
Further, claim 19, line 11 recites: “the redefined cluster does not include the particular individual content representation.” In lines 7-8, the request is for a particular individual content representation that is then “redefined” in lines 9-10. Therefore, it is unclear how the redefined cluster no longer includes the particular individual content representation. Further, it is unclear what the redefined cluster is. Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the parent claims and thus dependent claims are rejected on the same basis as indicated above for the respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1). Claims 17-20 are directed to a 'system'; in order for system claims to pass statutory requirements the claims must recite structure and/or hardware. The claims appear to recite a resource identification transformer, an aggregator controller, a reach system and a transfer controller which are equated to mere data or software which are programmed to perform certain functions, but without embodying the applications on any form of structure, or reciting any actual structure of the system, such as a processor or computer (i.e. software, per se). As such the current claims fail to recite any structure and/or hardware and as such can be deemed as software per se. Applicant reminded software alone is not patentable subject matter. Applicants system claims must be directed to the structure and hardware rather than the functions performed by the structure and/or hardware. Appropriate correction is required. In the instant case, claims 17-20 are not within one of the four statutory categories. However, if claims 17-20 were within a statutory category, they would also fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea(s). For compact prosecution, Examiner will continue the 101 analysis below.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 17 recites: A system comprising: identifies a set of distinct content representations, each of the set of distinct content representations corresponding to a resource; transforms each of the set of distinct content representations include a reduced-content representation; and facilitates presenting the reduced-content representations; detects that a trigger was received at for generating a cluster for two or more of the set of distinct content representations; links the two or more content representations; receives a request that includes one or more content specifications; and detects that the one or more content specifications correspond to a first content representation of the two or more content representations; and detects that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two more content representations, facilitate a presentation indicating that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two or more content representations. The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under all three abstract groupings of:
Mental Processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion (independent claim 1 recites for example, “identifies a set of distinct content representations, each of the set of distinct content representations corresponding to a resource; transforms each of the set of distinct content representations include a reduced-content representation; and facilitates presenting the reduced-content representations; detects that a trigger was received at for generating a cluster for two or more of the set of distinct content representations; links the two or more content representations; receives a request that includes one or more content specifications; and detects that the one or more content specifications correspond to a first content representation of the two or more content representations; and detects that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two more content representations, facilitate a presentation indicating that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two or more content representations.”) Concepts performed in the human mind as mental processes because the steps for example of identifying, transforming, presenting, receiving, detecting, corresponding and presenting data mimic human thought processes, perhaps with paper and pencil, where data interpretation is perceptible in the human mind. See In re TLI Commc’ns LLCPatentLitig., 823 F.3d 607, 611 (Fed. Cir. 2016); FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1093-94 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Dependent claims 18-20 add additional limitations, for example: (claim 18) determines that the link is a weak link that permits removal of any individual content representation of the two or more content representations from the cluster; (claim 19) the two or more of the set of distinct content representations include three or more of the set of distinct content representations; determines that the link is a weak link that permits removal of any individual content representation of the two or more content representations from the cluster; detects a transfer request for a particular individual content representation from the cluster; in response to the transfer request or a corresponding related action, redefines the cluster; and the redefined cluster does not include the particular individual content representation; (claim 20) for each resource of a set of resources corresponding to a client: identifies a set of features based on specifications corresponding to the resource; generates a point in a multi-dimensional space based on the set of features; and generates a presentation that includes a graphical representation of the points and that facilitates groupings of each of one or more subsets of the points to identify a corresponding cluster, displayed the presentation, wherein the cluster was generated in response to a user-identified grouping of the two or more of the set of distinct content representations, and wherein each of the two or more of the set of distinct content representations included a corresponding generated point in the multi-dimensional space, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of methods of mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (claim 17) resource identification transformer, interface(s), client system, aggregator controller, a link, reach system, transfer controller. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing or AI, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Furthermore, the above-mentioned additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, and fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannan et al. (US 2021/0105518 A1), hereinafter “Kannan”, over Giladi et al. (US 2019/0020734 A1), hereinafter “Giladi.”
Regarding Claim 17, In light of the above rejections, and best understanding by the examiner of the claims, the closest prior art Kannan teaches A system comprising: a resource identification transformer that: (See at least Kannan, Abstract, teaches systems, methods, and non-transitory, machine-readable media to facilitate adaptive processing and content control. Content composites may be created and configured according to a computational model);
identifies a set of distinct content representations, each of the set of distinct content representations corresponding to a resource; (See at least Kannan, para 0010, teaches identify indicia of usage of one or more of the content composites; See at least Kannan, para 0003, teaches quantities, capacities, and capabilities of resources); transforms each of the set of distinct content representations include a ... content representation; and (See at least Kannan, para 0105, teaches transform collected data portions);
facilitates presenting the ... content representations at a first interface associated with a client system; (Kannan, Abstract, teaches configured content composites may be presented with a graphical user interface of an endpoint device.);
an aggregator controller that: (Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines, which may correspond to the consolidator (Examiner notes aggregator));
detects that a trigger was received at the interface for generating a cluster for two or more of the set of distinct content representations; (See at least Kannan, para 0130, detect user-generated content; Kannan, para 0109, teaches determine, using a processing device at the endpoint device that monitors user inputs, metrics of user interactions with the at least part of the configured set of content composites when the at least part of the configured set of content composites is presented with the graphical user interface);
links the two or more content representations via a link; (See at least Kannan, para 0011, teaches linked nodes);
a reach system that: (Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines);
receives, via a second interface, a request that includes one or more content specifications; and (See at least Kannan, para 0060, teaches requested resources);
a transfer controller that: (See at least Kannan, para 0045, teaches data transfers);
detects that the one or more content specifications correspond to a first content representation of the two or more content representations; and (Kannan, para 0130, detect user-generated content; See at least Kannan, para 0011, teaches each node of the network of nodes includes respective linked content);
detects that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two more content representations, wherein the reach system is further configured to facilitate a presentation indicating that the first content representation is linked to each other of the two or more content representations (Kannan, para 0130, detect user-generated content; Kannan, Abstract, teaches configured content composites may be presented with a graphical user interface of an endpoint device; Further, Kannan, para 0011, teaches each represented node of the graphical representation may include one or more selectable links to access underlying data corresponding to one of the nodes. In various embodiments, presentation of visualization data corresponding to the graphical representation to the endpoint device to facilitate the graphical user interface and access to the graphical representation of at least part of the network data structure may be caused. In various embodiments, the underlying data may include one or both of the respective node specifications and one or more content composites corresponding to the node). Yet, Kannan does not appear to explicitly teach and in the same field of endeavor Giladi teaches reduced content (Giladi teaches content reduction throughout. See at least Giladi, Abstract, teaches systems and methods for file size reductions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Giladi with reduced content as taught by Giladi with the motivation for a reduced size to be transmitted to the user device, thereby saving network bandwidth and storage space (Giladi, para 0003). The Kannan invention now incorporating the Giladi invention, has all the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 18, Kannan, now incorporating Giladi, teaches The system of claim 17, wherein the aggregator controller further: determines that the link is a weak link that permits removal of any individual content representation of the two or more content representations from the cluster (Kannan, para 0027, teaches clusters; Kannan, para 0010, teaches content composites... specifications of one or more nodes in a network of nodes; Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines, which may correspond to the consolidator (Examiner notes aggregator) ... eliminating data not useful data (Examiner notes is removal of content representation)).
Regarding Claim 19, Kannan, now incorporating Giladi, teaches The system of claim 17, wherein: the two or more of the set of distinct content representations include three or more of the set of distinct content representations; (Kannan, para 0010, teaches content composites... specifications of one or more nodes in a network of nodes; para 0011, network of nodes includes respective linked content);
the aggregator controller further determines that the link is a weak link that permits removal of any individual content representation of the two or more content representations from the cluster; (Kannan, para 0010, teaches content composites... specifications of one or more nodes in a network of nodes; Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines, which may correspond to the consolidator (Examiner notes aggregator) ... eliminating data not useful data (Examiner notes is removal of content representation)).
the reach system detects a transfer request for a particular individual content representation from the cluster; (See at least Kannan, para 0045, teaches data transfers);
the aggregator controller, in response to the transfer request or a corresponding related action, redefines the cluster; and (Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines, which may correspond to the consolidator (Examiner notes aggregator) ... learning engine may refine content);
the redefined cluster does not include the particular individual content representation (Kannan, para 0139, teaches eliminating data not useful).
Regarding Claim 20, Kannan, now incorporating Giladi, teaches The system of claim 17, wherein the aggregator controller: for each resource of a set of resources corresponding to a client: (See at least Kannan, para 0003, teaches quantities, capacities, and capabilities of resources; Kannan, para 0139, teaches processors of the engines, which may correspond to the consolidator (Examiner notes aggregator));
identifies a set of features based on specifications corresponding to the resource; (Kannan, para 0010, teaches identify indicia of usage of one or more of the content composites); generates a point in a multi-dimensional space based on the set of features; and (Kannan, para 0010, teaches identify indicia of usage of one or more of the content composites, and mapping at least the subset of the indicia of inputs to one or more specifications of one or more nodes in a network of nodes. Examiner notes a node a point in a multi-dimensional space); generates a presentation that includes a graphical representation of the points and that facilitates groupings of each of one or more subsets of the points to identify a corresponding cluster, wherein the interface displayed the presentation, wherein the cluster was generated in response to a user-identified grouping of the two or more of the set of distinct content representations, and wherein each of the two or more of the set of distinct content representations included a corresponding generated point in the multi-dimensional space (See at least Kannan, Abstract, teaches configured content composites may be presented with a graphical user interface of an endpoint device. Further, Kannan, para 0109, teaches determine, using a processing device at the endpoint device and/or at the subsystem that monitors user inputs, metrics of user interactions with the at least part of the configured set of content composites when the at least part of the configured set of content composites is presented with the graphical user interface.)
Additional Prior Art Consulted
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure includes the following:
Cella US 2019/0121349 A1 - Systems and methods for data collection and processing system are disclosed. A multiplexer in a data collector may receive a plurality of sensor channels, wherein each of the plurality of sensor channels is coupled to at least one of a plurality of industrial sensors operationally coupled to an industrial environment. The multiplexor may perform signal conditioning including generating a timing signal from a trigger channel and deriving a relative phase between a trigger channel and an input channel in response to the timing signal.
Kidd et al. US 2017/0102693 A1 – A data analytics service for performing data analytics functions within a distributed process control environment is provided. The service may provide a user interface for creating a first diagram, representing a data model.
Liu US 2022/0232029A1 - A machine learning-based system and method for content clustering and content threat assessment includes generating embedding values for each piece of content of corpora of content data.
Lockett US 2022/0121823A1 - Artificial intelligence based document analysis systems and methods are disclosed. Embodiments of document analysis systems may allow the manipulation of datasets and associated codes by determining representations for these codes or datasets based on a machine learning model. The codes or datasets can then be manipulated using the associated representations.
Talreja US 12/511,428 B2 - A data lake for enterprise security is created from an asynchronous stream of security events by deduplicating objects and creating metadata related to downstream security functions. Deduplication of objects may be efficiently performed with a bloom filter as objects are ingested into the data lake. The objects may also be augmented with metadata arranged in schemas to facilitate monitoring and use within the data lake.
Wang US 2022/0414737 A1 - A method for managing query-based product representations includes receiving product data supplied by a product supply entity, wherein the product data is associated with one or more products for which the product supply entity provides information, generating a product representation generator for the product supply entity from a query representation generator including a machine learning model, wherein the product representation generator is trained from the query representation generator based on a portion of the product data, wherein the query representation generator was trained from a representation generator template based on user query data supplied by a search provider, wherein the query representation generator is generic across multiple product supply entities, and providing the product representation generator specific to the product supply entity, wherein the product representation generator is operable to relate a product data representation generated by the product representation generator to relevant search queries.
NPL – “Smart Grid Research: Computing - IEEE Smart Grid Vision for Computing: 2030 and Beyond”, Publisher IEEE; Date of Publication: April 2013 - The scope of this document is focused on computing technologies and the role they will play in the future electric grid. The computing technologies identified by the Computer Society Smart Grid Vision Project (CS-SGVP) team span many computing disciplines and do not necessarily represent all technologies that will shape the Smart Grid. Various projections of how Smart Grid concepts will influence power systems were considered. These projections span bulk transmission systems to isolated islands of local generation, as well as different demand side participation concepts; https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/6577594
Applicant is advised to review additional references supplied on the PTO-892 as to the state of the art of the invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to REBECCA R NOVAK whose telephone number is (571)272-2524. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynda Jasmin can be reached on (571) 272-6782. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/R.R.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629