DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3,5-10,12-17 and 19-23 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 and 19 are amended. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are cancelled. Claims 21-23 are new. This office action is response to the submission on 4/9/2026.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10 of applicant response filed 4/9/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallala, A.; Kumar, A.A.; Hichri, B.; Plapper, P. Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions by Means of Industry 4.0 Enabling Technologies. Sensors 2022, 22, 4950. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22134950 (hereinafter referred to as “Gallala”), in view of Kuts, V., Modoni, G.E., Terkaj, W., Tähemaa, T., Sacco, M., Otto, T. (2017). Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell (hereinafter referred to as “Kuts”), further in view of Macias et al. (US20230048578A1).
Claim 1:
Gallala teaches “A method for evaluating remote commands, the method comprising: receiving data for a physical ecosystem; generating a digital twin of the physical ecosystem based on the data received;” (Gallala teaches a human robot interaction method which includes collecting data from equipment in order to create a merged real and virtual world including a digital twin of the robot in Gallala [Page 6 Section 4 - Page 7] "The proposed DT-HRI method aims to improve upon the current human–robot interactions, robot simulation and robot programming method due to the use of emerging technologies that can be used to fit into smart factory exigencies and demands. For this use case, the system was composed of two pieces of physical equipment: a collaborative robot and an MR head-mounted device (MR-HMD). The physical world consisted of human beings, one or more collaborative robots, an MR-HMD for each user and, when needed, application-related objects (e.g., pieces to assemble or objects to pick and place). The digital world, on the other hand, contained the digital twin model of the robot, additional virtual objects and the user interactive interface (UII). The digital world could recognize and consider human gestures, voices and movements. A third-party engine was responsible for the data collection and processing, along with the generation of the algorithm.The HRI-DT framework is illustrated in Figure 2. After connecting the different systems, data were collected from the equipment, sensors and devices, as described in Table 2. After that, a mixed world that recognized the physical robot, related objects and human gestures was created by merging real and virtual worlds, which projected the digital twin, the immersive user interactive interface and a selection of virtual objects."),
“receiving a (Gallala teaches the processor receiving the intentions of the user i.e. a command in Gallala [Page 7, second bullet point] "Autonomous Decision-Making: A broker–processor received the intentions of the user, analyzed the environmental status of both worlds and then generated algorithms for either an action to be taken by a physical entity or feedback to be shown to the user. The decision that was made was first simulated in the digital world before being transmitted to a physical entity after approval."), and
“and determining whether to execute the remote command by simulating the remote command using the digital twin and the at least one of the one or more correlated activities.” (Gallala teaches that a simulation of the planned movements will be executed and once the operator agrees, it can be validated by the user i.e. the user determines whether to execute the command in Gallala [Page 13, paragraphs 1-3] "Simulation: The simulation phase is not mandatory, but it is one of the benefits of the proposed method. Users could visualize the planned movements being executed on the virtual robot before they were transmitted to the real robot. Simulation is beneficial while working in hybrid teams. It reduces the defects of the robot and nearby equipment and maintains operator safety. It also permits real-time simulation in real environments, which cannot be achieved through traditional simulation methods that use monitors or VR-based methods.7. Validation: Once the operator agreed to a simulation, it could be validated by pressing the “Apply Movements” button on the interface. Validation meant that the simulated movements could be transmitted and executed by the real robot in the real world.8. Outcome Transmission: After the validation, the simulated outcomes were transferred to the broker using ROSbridge, where they were processed and transformed into robotic commands.").
Gallala does not appear to explicitly teach “receiving a remote command;” However, Kuts does teach this claim limitation (Kuts teaches using VR tools to control the robotic system remotely in Kuts [Page 220] "Remote Online Monitoring of the Robot Cell. Leveraging the VR tools, the robotic system can be accessed remotely from any geographical point, giving the control over the processes. Operators exploiting clothes/glasses/tools RFID sensors can move around the robot cell with their ordinary daily routine. Data from the sensors are transferred towards the VR environment. In order to have an update about the presence information of the operators, machine vision cameras and laser scanners are also being used.").
Gallala and Kuts are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using virtual/mixed reality to monitor and control manufacturing equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala and Kuts before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala to include the remote control of Kuts because adding the Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell of Kuts would allow for evaluating system reconfigurations and would allow for a user to remotely control the system as described in Kuts [Page 213] " One the technologies that can benefit from the DT is Virtual Reality (VR), which provides a virtual and realistic view of the environment where the flow of real-time and historical data is integrated with the human presence. In particular, if VR is integrated and connected with the DT, it can be exploited to:
• evaluate possible system reconfigurations via simulation (passive mode);
• remotely control the system (active mode).”
Neither Gallala or Kuts appear to explicitly teach “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;”, “identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;”, or “wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” However, Macias does teach these claim limitations.
Macias teaches “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;” (Macias teaches a processor determining a goal of a collaborator based on occupancy information and objects in the workspace in Macias [0045] "Device 400 includes a processor 410. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, the processor 410 of device 400 is configured to determine a current kinematic state of a collaborator in a workspace shared with a robot. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a goal of the collaborator based on occupancy information about objects in the workspace."; Macias teaches receiving occupancy information in Macias [0046] "Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a receiver (e.g., transceiver 420) configured to receive occupancy information about the objects in the workspace. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph with respect to device 400, the occupancy information may include at least one of a location of the object in the workspace, a volume of space occupied by the object in the workspace, and a movement trajectory of the object within the workspace."),
“identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that a processor determines a trajectory for a collaborator and generates movement instructions of a robot based on the likelihood a collaborator will follow a trajectory i.e. it identifies correlated activities including byproducts and locations and adjusts the movement of the robot based on the activities in Macias [0045] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a possible trajectory for the collaborator based on the goal and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a short-horizon trajectory for the collaborator based on previously observed kinematic states of the collaborator towards the goal. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory based on the short-horizon trajectory, the goal, and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory."), and
“wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that generated movement instructions i.e. commands are transmitted to the robot in Macias [0045-0046] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a transmitter configured to transmit the movement instruction to the robot.").
Gallala, Kuts, and Macias are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, and Macias before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias because adding the Real-time predictor of human movement in shared workspaces of Macias would allow for prediction of a human collaborator’s movements of a robot in real time in order to safely allow the person to work in tandem with the robot as described in Macias [0020] “As robots become more prevalent, robots will likely operate in shared or collaborative workspaces. When the collaborative workspace includes dynamic objects for which future movements are not necessarily known (e.g., where the collaborator is a human or an autonomous robot that does not advertise/share its planned movements), it may be important to accurately predict the planned movements of collaborators in the shared workspace so that the robot may adjust its motion to avoid possible collisions. In order to do this, an accurate prediction of the expected motion/movements of the collaborator at future points in time may be helpful. In particular, when the collaborator may use arms/limbs as part of the collaboration (e.g., to lift, move, and/or deliver an object to a robot), it may be helpful to accurately and quickly predict how the arm will move through various kinematic states from its current position to the target position so that the robot's own movements may be controlled to work safely and in tandem with the movements of the arms/limbs of the collaborator.” And in Macias [0023] “The disclosed prediction system may allow for real-time/online predictions, that is, without the need to acquire large sets of training data beforehand, as is typical for learning-model-based approaches. Another advantage of the disclosed prediction system is that it may use a planning algorithm as a generative model, which may consider the full context of the environment, including, among other information, information about obstacles, goals of the collaborator, and semantic labeling of objects. The disclosed prediction system is a data-driven approach that may be used to evaluate any scenario, without the need to acquire new data for the given scenario and regardless of whether the prediction system has been trained for the given scenario. In addition, the disclosed prediction system may include a model-based short-horizon predictor to help predict the motion of the collaborator's arms/limbs which may improve the accuracy of the long term prediction.”
Claim 5:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein simulating the remote command using the digital twin utilizes one or more machine learning algorithms.” (Gallala teaches that a neural network is used to determine the robot trajectory in Gallala [Page 11, paragraphs 3-4] "The autonomous decision-maker broker, which is presented in Figure 4, comprised an ROS-based system running on a separate computer and had several roles. It was composed of different ROS nodes, one for each service. The motion planning node trained the models to generate the robot trajectory after collecting data, using AI algorithms and the MoveIt Motion Planner [45].An AI-based algorithm was integrated into the system and used in the use case. The selected algorithm was a deep conventional neural network (DCNN), which was adapted from [46]. It aimed to train the Cartesian position and orientation of the virtual objects during simulation using domain randomization in order to execute simple pick and place tasks. Since simulation was executed in the real world, the environmental parameters, as well as surrounding objects, could change at any time. Thus, the DCNN domain randomization-based method was optimal to cover as many of the attainable scenarios as possible. Two phases were required to implement this method: (1) the collection of a large amount of data from the simulation; (2) the training of the DCNN model.").
Claim 7:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the remote command is received from a user using a user interface, the user being a remote worker.” (Kuts teaches using VR tools to control the robotic system remotely in Kuts [Page 220] "Remote Online Monitoring of the Robot Cell. Leveraging the VR tools, the robotic system can be accessed remotely from any geographical point, giving the control over the processes. Operators exploiting clothes/glasses/tools RFID sensors can move around the robot cell with their ordinary daily routine. Data from the sensors are transferred towards the VR environment. In order to have an update about the presence information of the operators, machine vision cameras and laser scanners are also being used.").
Claim 8:
Gallala teaches “A computer system for evaluating remote commands, comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage medium, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage medium for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories” (Gallala teaches that the autonomous decision-maker broker is running on a separate computer i.e. the system for receiving data, simulating the movements, and validation of the movements are performed on a computer which has a processor, memory, a storage medium, and program instructions in Gallala [Page 11, second paragraph] "The autonomous decision-maker broker, which is presented in Figure 4, comprised an ROS-based system running on a separate computer and had several roles. It was composed of different ROS nodes, one for each service. The motion planning node trained the models to generate the robot trajectory after collecting data, using AI algorithms and the MoveIt Motion Planner [45]."),
“wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising: receiving data for a physical ecosystem; generating a digital twin of the physical ecosystem based on the data received,” (Gallala teaches a human robot interaction method which includes collecting data from equipment in order to create a merged real and virtual world including a digital twin of the robot in Gallala [Page 6 Section 4 - Page 7] "The proposed DT-HRI method aims to improve upon the current human–robot interactions, robot simulation and robot programming method due to the use of emerging technologies that can be used to fit into smart factory exigencies and demands. For this use case, the system was composed of two pieces of physical equipment: a collaborative robot and an MR head-mounted device (MR-HMD). The physical world consisted of human beings, one or more collaborative robots, an MR-HMD for each user and, when needed, application-related objects (e.g., pieces to assemble or objects to pick and place). The digital world, on the other hand, contained the digital twin model of the robot, additional virtual objects and the user interactive interface (UII). The digital world could recognize and consider human gestures, voices and movements. A third-party engine was responsible for the data collection and processing, along with the generation of the algorithm.The HRI-DT framework is illustrated in Figure 2. After connecting the different systems, data were collected from the equipment, sensors and devices, as described in Table 2. After that, a mixed world that recognized the physical robot, related objects and human gestures was created by merging real and virtual worlds, which projected the digital twin, the immersive user interactive interface and a selection of virtual objects."),
“receiving a (Gallala teaches the processor receiving the intentions of the user i.e. a command in Gallala [Page 7, second bullet point] "Autonomous Decision-Making: A broker–processor received the intentions of the user, analyzed the environmental status of both worlds and then generated algorithms for either an action to be taken by a physical entity or feedback to be shown to the user. The decision that was made was first simulated in the digital world before being transmitted to a physical entity after approval."), and
“and determining whether to execute the remote command by simulating the remote command using the digital twin and the at least one of the one or more correlated activities.” (Gallala teaches that a simulation of the planned movements will be executed and once the operator agrees, it can be validated by the user i.e. the user determines whether to execute the command in Gallala [Page 13, paragraphs 1-3] "Simulation: The simulation phase is not mandatory, but it is one of the benefits of the proposed method. Users could visualize the planned movements being executed on the virtual robot before they were transmitted to the real robot. Simulation is beneficial while working in hybrid teams. It reduces the defects of the robot and nearby equipment and maintains operator safety. It also permits real-time simulation in real environments, which cannot be achieved through traditional simulation methods that use monitors or VR-based methods.7. Validation: Once the operator agreed to a simulation, it could be validated by pressing the “Apply Movements” button on the interface. Validation meant that the simulated movements could be transmitted and executed by the real robot in the real world.8. Outcome Transmission: After the validation, the simulated outcomes were transferred to the broker using ROSbridge, where they were processed and transformed into robotic commands.").
Gallala does not appear to explicitly teach “receiving a remote command;” However, Kuts does teach this claim limitation (Kuts teaches using VR tools to control the robotic system remotely in Kuts [Page 220] "Remote Online Monitoring of the Robot Cell. Leveraging the VR tools, the robotic system can be accessed remotely from any geographical point, giving the control over the processes. Operators exploiting clothes/glasses/tools RFID sensors can move around the robot cell with their ordinary daily routine. Data from the sensors are transferred towards the VR environment. In order to have an update about the presence information of the operators, machine vision cameras and laser scanners are also being used.").
Gallala and Kuts are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using virtual/mixed reality to monitor and control manufacturing equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala and Kuts before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala to include the remote control of Kuts because adding the Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell of Kuts would allow for evaluating system reconfigurations and would allow for a user to remotely control the system as described in Kuts [Page 213] " One the technologies that can benefit from the DT is Virtual Reality (VR), which provides a virtual and realistic view of the environment where the flow of real-time and historical data is integrated with the human presence. In particular, if VR is integrated and connected with the DT, it can be exploited to:
• evaluate possible system reconfigurations via simulation (passive mode);
• remotely control the system (active mode).”
Neither Gallala or Kuts appear to explicitly teach “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;”, “identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;”, or “wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” However, Macias does teach these claim limitations.
Macias teaches “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;” (Macias teaches a processor determining a goal of a collaborator based on occupancy information and objects in the workspace in Macias [0045] "Device 400 includes a processor 410. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, the processor 410 of device 400 is configured to determine a current kinematic state of a collaborator in a workspace shared with a robot. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a goal of the collaborator based on occupancy information about objects in the workspace."; Macias teaches receiving occupancy information in Macias [0046] "Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a receiver (e.g., transceiver 420) configured to receive occupancy information about the objects in the workspace. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph with respect to device 400, the occupancy information may include at least one of a location of the object in the workspace, a volume of space occupied by the object in the workspace, and a movement trajectory of the object within the workspace."),
“identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that a processor determines a trajectory for a collaborator and generates movement instructions of a robot based on the likelihood a collaborator will follow a trajectory i.e. it identifies correlated activities including byproducts and locations and adjusts the movement of the robot based on the activities in Macias [0045] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a possible trajectory for the collaborator based on the goal and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a short-horizon trajectory for the collaborator based on previously observed kinematic states of the collaborator towards the goal. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory based on the short-horizon trajectory, the goal, and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory."), and
“wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that generated movement instructions i.e. commands are transmitted to the robot in Macias [0045-0046] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a transmitter configured to transmit the movement instruction to the robot.").
Gallala, Kuts, and Macias are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, and Macias before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias because adding the Real-time predictor of human movement in shared workspaces of Macias would allow for prediction of a human collaborator’s movements of a robot in real time in order to safely allow the person to work in tandem with the robot as described in Macias [0020] “As robots become more prevalent, robots will likely operate in shared or collaborative workspaces. When the collaborative workspace includes dynamic objects for which future movements are not necessarily known (e.g., where the collaborator is a human or an autonomous robot that does not advertise/share its planned movements), it may be important to accurately predict the planned movements of collaborators in the shared workspace so that the robot may adjust its motion to avoid possible collisions. In order to do this, an accurate prediction of the expected motion/movements of the collaborator at future points in time may be helpful. In particular, when the collaborator may use arms/limbs as part of the collaboration (e.g., to lift, move, and/or deliver an object to a robot), it may be helpful to accurately and quickly predict how the arm will move through various kinematic states from its current position to the target position so that the robot's own movements may be controlled to work safely and in tandem with the movements of the arms/limbs of the collaborator.” And in Macias [0023] “The disclosed prediction system may allow for real-time/online predictions, that is, without the need to acquire large sets of training data beforehand, as is typical for learning-model-based approaches. Another advantage of the disclosed prediction system is that it may use a planning algorithm as a generative model, which may consider the full context of the environment, including, among other information, information about obstacles, goals of the collaborator, and semantic labeling of objects. The disclosed prediction system is a data-driven approach that may be used to evaluate any scenario, without the need to acquire new data for the given scenario and regardless of whether the prediction system has been trained for the given scenario. In addition, the disclosed prediction system may include a model-based short-horizon predictor to help predict the motion of the collaborator's arms/limbs which may improve the accuracy of the long term prediction.”
Claim 12:
The limitations of claim 12 are substantially the same as claim 5 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 14:
The limitations of claim 14 are substantially the same as claim 7 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 15:
Gallala teaches “A computer program product for evaluating remote commands, comprising: one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage media,” (Gallala teaches that the autonomous decision-maker broker is running on a separate computer i.e. the system for receiving data, simulating the movements, and validation of the movements are performed on a computer which has program instructions stored on a storage media in Gallala [Page 11, second paragraph] "The autonomous decision-maker broker, which is presented in Figure 4, comprised an ROS-based system running on a separate computer and had several roles. It was composed of different ROS nodes, one for each service. The motion planning node trained the models to generate the robot trajectory after collecting data, using AI algorithms and the MoveIt Motion Planner [45]."),
“the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform a method comprising: receiving data for a physical ecosystem; generating a digital twin of the physical ecosystem based on the data received;” (Gallala teaches that the autonomous decision-maker broker is running on a separate computer i.e. the system for receiving data, simulating the movements, and validation of the movements are performed on a computer which has a processor in Gallala [Page 11, second paragraph] "The autonomous decision-maker broker, which is presented in Figure 4, comprised an ROS-based system running on a separate computer and had several roles. It was composed of different ROS nodes, one for each service. The motion planning node trained the models to generate the robot trajectory after collecting data, using AI algorithms and the MoveIt Motion Planner [45]."; Gallala teaches a human robot interaction method which includes collecting data from equipment in order to create a merged real and virtual world including a digital twin of the robot in Gallala [Page 6 Section 4 - Page 7] "The proposed DT-HRI method aims to improve upon the current human–robot interactions, robot simulation and robot programming method due to the use of emerging technologies that can be used to fit into smart factory exigencies and demands. For this use case, the system was composed of two pieces of physical equipment: a collaborative robot and an MR head-mounted device (MR-HMD). The physical world consisted of human beings, one or more collaborative robots, an MR-HMD for each user and, when needed, application-related objects (e.g., pieces to assemble or objects to pick and place). The digital world, on the other hand, contained the digital twin model of the robot, additional virtual objects and the user interactive interface (UII). The digital world could recognize and consider human gestures, voices and movements. A third-party engine was responsible for the data collection and processing, along with the generation of the algorithm.The HRI-DT framework is illustrated in Figure 2. After connecting the different systems, data were collected from the equipment, sensors and devices, as described in Table 2. After that, a mixed world that recognized the physical robot, related objects and human gestures was created by merging real and virtual worlds, which projected the digital twin, the immersive user interactive interface and a selection of virtual objects."),
“receiving a (Gallala teaches the processor receiving the intentions of the user i.e. a command in Gallala [Page 7, second bullet point] "Autonomous Decision-Making: A broker–processor received the intentions of the user, analyzed the environmental status of both worlds and then generated algorithms for either an action to be taken by a physical entity or feedback to be shown to the user. The decision that was made was first simulated in the digital world before being transmitted to a physical entity after approval."), and
“and determining whether to execute the remote command by simulating the remote command using the digital twin and the at least one of the one or more correlated activities.” (Gallala teaches that a simulation of the planned movements will be executed and once the operator agrees, it can be validated by the user i.e. the user determines whether to execute the command in Gallala [Page 13, paragraphs 1-3] "Simulation: The simulation phase is not mandatory, but it is one of the benefits of the proposed method. Users could visualize the planned movements being executed on the virtual robot before they were transmitted to the real robot. Simulation is beneficial while working in hybrid teams. It reduces the defects of the robot and nearby equipment and maintains operator safety. It also permits real-time simulation in real environments, which cannot be achieved through traditional simulation methods that use monitors or VR-based methods.7. Validation: Once the operator agreed to a simulation, it could be validated by pressing the “Apply Movements” button on the interface. Validation meant that the simulated movements could be transmitted and executed by the real robot in the real world.8. Outcome Transmission: After the validation, the simulated outcomes were transferred to the broker using ROSbridge, where they were processed and transformed into robotic commands.").
Gallala does not appear to explicitly teach “receiving a remote command;” However, Kuts does teach this claim limitation (Kuts teaches using VR tools to control the robotic system remotely in Kuts [Page 220] "Remote Online Monitoring of the Robot Cell. Leveraging the VR tools, the robotic system can be accessed remotely from any geographical point, giving the control over the processes. Operators exploiting clothes/glasses/tools RFID sensors can move around the robot cell with their ordinary daily routine. Data from the sensors are transferred towards the VR environment. In order to have an update about the presence information of the operators, machine vision cameras and laser scanners are also being used.").
Gallala and Kuts are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using virtual/mixed reality to monitor and control manufacturing equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala and Kuts before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala to include the remote control of Kuts because adding the Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell of Kuts would allow for evaluating system reconfigurations and would allow for a user to remotely control the system as described in Kuts [Page 213] "One the technologies that can benefit from the DT is Virtual Reality (VR), which provides a virtual and realistic view of the environment where the flow of real-time and historical data is integrated with the human presence. In particular, if VR is integrated and connected with the DT, it can be exploited to:
• evaluate possible system reconfigurations via simulation (passive mode);
• remotely control the system (active mode).”
Neither Gallala or Kuts appear to explicitly teach “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;”, “identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;”, or “wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” However, Macias does teach these claim limitations.
Macias teaches “and wherein activities and locations of one or more physical workers are integrated into the digital twin utilizing one or more authentication methods to create a virtual work environment;” (Macias teaches a processor determining a goal of a collaborator based on occupancy information and objects in the workspace in Macias [0045] "Device 400 includes a processor 410. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, the processor 410 of device 400 is configured to determine a current kinematic state of a collaborator in a workspace shared with a robot. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a goal of the collaborator based on occupancy information about objects in the workspace."; Macias teaches receiving occupancy information in Macias [0046] "Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a receiver (e.g., transceiver 420) configured to receive occupancy information about the objects in the workspace. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph with respect to device 400, the occupancy information may include at least one of a location of the object in the workspace, a volume of space occupied by the object in the workspace, and a movement trajectory of the object within the workspace."),
“identifying one or more correlated activities using the digital twin, wherein the identifying the one or more correlated activities includes determining byproducts and locations impacted by each of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that a processor determines a trajectory for a collaborator and generates movement instructions of a robot based on the likelihood a collaborator will follow a trajectory i.e. it identifies correlated activities including byproducts and locations and adjusts the movement of the robot based on the activities in Macias [0045] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a possible trajectory for the collaborator based on the goal and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a short-horizon trajectory for the collaborator based on previously observed kinematic states of the collaborator towards the goal. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to determine a likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory based on the short-horizon trajectory, the goal, and the current kinematic state. In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory."), and
“wherein the remote command corresponds to at least one of the one or more correlated activities;” (Macias teaches that generated movement instructions i.e. commands are transmitted to the robot in Macias [0045-0046] "In addition to or in combination with any of the features described in this or the following paragraphs, processor 410 is also configured to generate a movement instruction to control movement of the robot based on the likelihood that the collaborator will follow the possible trajectory. Furthermore, in addition to or in combination with any one of the features of this and/or the preceding paragraph, device 400 may further include a transmitter configured to transmit the movement instruction to the robot.").
Gallala, Kuts, and Macias are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of controlling robots. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, and Macias before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias because adding the Real-time predictor of human movement in shared workspaces of Macias would allow for prediction of a human collaborator’s movements of a robot in real time in order to safely allow the person to work in tandem with the robot as described in Macias [0020] “As robots become more prevalent, robots will likely operate in shared or collaborative workspaces. When the collaborative workspace includes dynamic objects for which future movements are not necessarily known (e.g., where the collaborator is a human or an autonomous robot that does not advertise/share its planned movements), it may be important to accurately predict the planned movements of collaborators in the shared workspace so that the robot may adjust its motion to avoid possible collisions. In order to do this, an accurate prediction of the expected motion/movements of the collaborator at future points in time may be helpful. In particular, when the collaborator may use arms/limbs as part of the collaboration (e.g., to lift, move, and/or deliver an object to a robot), it may be helpful to accurately and quickly predict how the arm will move through various kinematic states from its current position to the target position so that the robot's own movements may be controlled to work safely and in tandem with the movements of the arms/limbs of the collaborator.” And in Macias [0023] “The disclosed prediction system may allow for real-time/online predictions, that is, without the need to acquire large sets of training data beforehand, as is typical for learning-model-based approaches. Another advantage of the disclosed prediction system is that it may use a planning algorithm as a generative model, which may consider the full context of the environment, including, among other information, information about obstacles, goals of the collaborator, and semantic labeling of objects. The disclosed prediction system is a data-driven approach that may be used to evaluate any scenario, without the need to acquire new data for the given scenario and regardless of whether the prediction system has been trained for the given scenario. In addition, the disclosed prediction system may include a model-based short-horizon predictor to help predict the motion of the collaborator's arms/limbs which may improve the accuracy of the long term prediction.”
Claim 19:
The limitations of claim 19 are substantially the same as claim 5 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallala, A.; Kumar, A.A.; Hichri, B.; Plapper, P. Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions by Means of Industry 4.0 Enabling Technologies. Sensors 2022, 22, 4950. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22134950 (hereinafter referred to as “Gallala”), in view of Kuts, V., Modoni, G.E., Terkaj, W., Tähemaa, T., Sacco, M., Otto, T. (2017). Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell (hereinafter referred to as “Kuts”), further in view of Macias et al. (US20230048578A1), further in view of Deutsch et al. (US20200183717A1).
Claim 2:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias teaches “The method of claim 1” as described above. None of Gallala, Kuts, or Macias appear to explicitly teach “further comprising: determining the remote command cannot be executed based on the simulation of the remote command using the digital twin; notifying a user the remote command cannot be executed; and providing one or more recommendations to the user.” However, Deutsch does teach this claim limitation (Deutsch teaches a digital twin may generate an alert based on a change in operating characteristics of an asset i.e. a remote command and that the digital twin may provide suggestions on actions to take to resolve the issue in Deutsch [0039] "For example, a digital twin may generate an alert or other warning based on a change in operating characteristics of the asset. The alert may be due to an issue with a component of the asset. In addition to the alert, the contextual digital twin may generate context that is associated with the alert. For example, the contextual digital twin may determine similar issues that have previously occurred with the asset, provide a description of what caused those similar issues, what was done to address the issues, and differences between the current issue and the previous issues, and the like. As another example, the context can provide suggestions about actions to take to resolve the current issue."; Deutsch teaches inputting a command in Deutsch [0057] "Furthermore, an operation of the assets 110 may be enhanced or otherwise controlled by a user inputting commands though an application hosted by the cloud platform 120 or other remote host platform such as a web server. The data provided from the assets 110 may include time-series data or other types of data associated with the operations being performed by the assets 110").
Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Deutsch are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using digital twins to monitor and/or control equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Deutsch before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, further modified to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias to include the generation of alerts and suggestions on how to overcome the issue of Deutsch because adding the Contextual digital twin runtime environment of Deutsch would allow for improving operational performance and additional context to trigger actions as described in Deutsch [0042-0043] "While progress with industrial and machine automation has been made over the last several decades, and assets have become ‘smarter,’ the intelligence of any individual asset pales in comparison to intelligence that can be gained when multiple smart devices are connected together, for example, in the cloud. Aggregating data collected from or about multiple assets can enable users to improve business processes, for example by improving effectiveness of asset maintenance or improving operational performance if appropriate industrial-specific data collection and modeling technology is developed and applied. The integration of machine and equipment assets with the remote computing resources to enable the IIoT often presents technical challenges separate and distinct from the specific industry and from computer networks, generally. To address these problems and other problems resulting from the intersection of certain industrial fields and the IIoT, the example embodiments provide a contextual digital twin that is capable of providing context in addition to a virtual representation of an asset. The context can be used to trigger actions, insight, and events based on knowledge that is captured and/or reasoned from the operation of an asset or a group of assets.”
Claim 9:
The limitations of claim 9 are substantially the same as claim 2 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 16:
The limitations of claim 16 are substantially the same as claim 2 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallala, A.; Kumar, A.A.; Hichri, B.; Plapper, P. Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions by Means of Industry 4.0 Enabling Technologies. Sensors 2022, 22, 4950. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22134950 (hereinafter referred to as “Gallala”), in view of Kuts, V., Modoni, G.E., Terkaj, W., Tähemaa, T., Sacco, M., Otto, T. (2017). Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell (hereinafter referred to as “Kuts”), further in view of Macias et al. (US20230048578A1), further in view of Malik, Ali Ahmad, and Alexander Brem. "Man, machine and work in a digital twin setup: a case study." Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing, 68, 2021, 102092, ISSN 0736-5845 arXiv preprint arXiv:2006.08760 (2020). (hereinafter referred to as “Malik”).
Claim 3:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias teaches “The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a virtual working environment for one or more remote workers,” (Gallala teaches a human robot interaction method which includes creating a merged real and virtual world including a digital twin of the robot in Gallala [Page 6 Section 4 - Page 7] "The proposed DT-HRI method aims to improve upon the current human–robot interactions, robot simulation and robot programming method due to the use of emerging technologies that can be used to fit into smart factory exigencies and demands. For this use case, the system was composed of two pieces of physical equipment: a collaborative robot and an MR head-mounted device (MR-HMD). The physical world consisted of human beings, one or more collaborative robots, an MR-HMD for each user and, when needed, application-related objects (e.g., pieces to assemble or objects to pick and place). The digital world, on the other hand, contained the digital twin model of the robot, additional virtual objects and the user interactive interface (UII). The digital world could recognize and consider human gestures, voices and movements. A third-party engine was responsible for the data collection and processing, along with the generation of the algorithm.The HRI-DT framework is illustrated in Figure 2. After connecting the different systems, data were collected from the equipment, sensors and devices, as described in Table 2. After that, a mixed world that recognized the physical robot, related objects and human gestures was created by merging real and virtual worlds, which projected the digital twin, the immersive user interactive interface and a selection of virtual objects.").
None of Gallala, Kuts, or Macias appear to explicitly teach “wherein each of the one or more remote workers are assigned a designated workspace within the virtual working environment.” However, Malik does teach this claim limitation (Malik teaches optimizing a layout of a robot i.e. controlled by a remote worker in order to avoid collisions with a human in Malik [Page 19] "After an optimal design for robot and human tasks is achieved, moving towards system integration, the robot program was tested in the real robot. The robot program was generated from the DT environment and was downloaded into the real robot. A live connection was developed between the simulation robot and the real robot. The physical robot followed the defined movements in the robot program but was placed in an empty space however, the virtual robot environment was equipped with hardware and virtual human. The collisions identified points where an optimization in layout was needed (Figure 13).").
Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Malik are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using digital twins to monitor and/or control equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Deutsch before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, modified further to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias to include the optimization of a layout in order to avoid collisions with a human of Malik because adding the Digital twin setup including man, machine, and work of Deutsch would allow for layout optimization which makes it easier to generate adaptive human-robot trajectories as described in Malik [Page 22] "The following table summarizes the key learnings from this HRC in practice:
”
Claim 10:
The limitations of claim 10 are substantially the same as claim 3 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 17:
The limitations of claim 17 are substantially the same as claim 3 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallala, A.; Kumar, A.A.; Hichri, B.; Plapper, P. Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions by Means of Industry 4.0 Enabling Technologies. Sensors 2022, 22, 4950. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22134950 (hereinafter referred to as “Gallala”), in view of Kuts, V., Modoni, G.E., Terkaj, W., Tähemaa, T., Sacco, M., Otto, T. (2017). Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell (hereinafter referred to as “Kuts”), further in view of Macias et al. (US20230048578A1), further in view of Berti et al. (US20210158242A1).
Claim 6:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias teaches “The method of claim 1,” as described above. None of Gallala, Kuts, or Macias appear to explicitly teach “wherein identifying one or more correlated activities utilizes one or more linguistic analysis techniques in analyzing the data received for the physical ecosystem.” However, Berti does teach this claim limitation (Berti teaches using a linguistic analysis technique to identify relevant data based on keywords i.e. it identifies correlated activities in Berti [0037-0038] "Then, at 208, the relevant data is identified and extracted. A parsing engine may be utilized by the digital twin consultation program 110 a, 110 b to search through the work order or document associated with the type of task and/or assignment to be performed by the technician. The parsing engine may also search (i.e., simultaneously or consecutively while searching the work order or associated document) through the digital twin resources to identify relevant data based on key words (e.g., type of the task and/or assignment) to identify features (e.g., relevant data) associated with the physical asset by comparing the work order and/or document associated with the task and/or assignment to be performed by the technician with the files within the digital twin resources. Relevant data may include any files, information or data associated with the task and/or assignment of the physical asset (e.g., reason for the technician to visit or perform the task and/or assignment on the physical asset) in which the parsing engine utilized by the digital twin consultation program 110 a, 110 b.Once relevant data associated with the physical asset is identified, the parsing engine may use a machine learning (ML) model to extract the context and information collected from the relevant data by utilizing natural language processing (NLP) techniques for textual data and visual recognition techniques for image data. More specifically, for NLP, an external engine may utilize an NLP technique (e.g., structure extraction, language identification, tokenization, decompounding, lemmatization/stemming, acronym normalization and tagging, entity extraction, phrase extraction) to process the collected textual data. Then, individual words, phrases, and/or sentences, as well as the relationships between the individual words, phrases and/or sentences, may be extracted from the processed textual data by utilizing various extraction approaches (e.g., top down, bottoms up, statistical). As a result, the crawl component may interpret the context and meaning for the words, phrases and/or sentences collected by the textual data.").
Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Berti are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using digital twins to monitor and/or control equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, and Berti before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, further modified to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias, to include the Digital twin article recommendation consultation of Berti because adding the natural language processing technique of Berti would improve functionality of the computer and increase reliability of equipment and equipment effectiveness as described in Berti [0053] " The digital twin consultation program 110 a, 110 b may improve the functionality of the computer, the technology and/or the field of technology by utilizing a digital twin associated with a physical asset to consult the scheduled technician and to identify the appropriate equipment and tools to perform the task and/or assignment (i.e., job) on the physical asset. Additionally, the digital twin consultation program 110 a, 110 b may increase the reliability of equipment and production lines, improve overall equipment effectiveness (OEE) through reduced downtime and improved performance and productivity.”
Claim 13:
The limitations of claim 13 are substantially the same as claim 6 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 20:
The limitations of claim 20 are substantially the same as claim 6 and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallala, A.; Kumar, A.A.; Hichri, B.; Plapper, P. Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions by Means of Industry 4.0 Enabling Technologies. Sensors 2022, 22, 4950. https://doi.org/10.3390/s22134950 (hereinafter referred to as “Gallala”), in view of Kuts, V., Modoni, G.E., Terkaj, W., Tähemaa, T., Sacco, M., Otto, T. (2017). Exploiting Factory Telemetry to Support Virtual Reality Simulation in Robotics Cell (hereinafter referred to as “Kuts”), further in view of Macias et al. (US20230048578A1), further in view of Deutsch et al. (US20200183717A1), further in view of Huang et al. (US20200171671A1).
Claim 23:
Gallala in view of Kuts, further in view of Macias, further in view of Deutsch teaches “The method of claim 2” as described above. None of Gallala, Kuts, Macias, or Deutsch appear to explicitly teach “adapting new recommendations for the user based on an implementation of the one or more recommendations previously provided to the user, wherein the new recommendations incorporate new business process ontologies.” However, Huang does teach this claim limitation (Huang teaches determining a match between commands and previously performed actions in Huang [0249] "The information received from the sensors or input interface can be transmitted over a network to the cloud-based server which can take the received raw data, such as audio waveforms from the human, perform speech-to-text operations, utilize the extracted text to ultimately determine a match between the commands embedded in the received data and one or more previously performed actions saved in an action database provided on the cloud-based server. The cloud intelligence platform or cloud-based processing capability can then be utilized to map a series of operations required to complete the received commands.").
Gallala, Kuts, Macias, Deutsch, and Huang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of using digital twins to monitor and/or control equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Gallala, Kuts, Macias, and Deutsch before him/her, to modify the teachings of a Digital Twin for Human–Robot Interactions of Gallala modified to include the remote control of Kuts, further modified to include the determination of occupancy information and adjustment of robot movement based on a collaborator of Macias, further modified to include the generation of alerts and suggestions on how to overcome the issue of Deutsch to include the matching of commands with previously performed actions of Huang because adding the Human augmented cloud-based robotics intelligence framework of Huang would allow for increased likelihood of success in a real-time environment as described in Huang [0131] "In some such embodiments, the processor of the cloud-based robotic intelligence engine can be configured to utilize a deep learning neural network to recognize one or more similar past environmental scenarios and recognize one or more historical actions which have resulted in successful execution of a user command, and subsequently generate a set of executable commands which will have an increased probabilistic likelihood of success in a determined real-time environment.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoneda et al. (US20190121335A1) teaches a robot teaching device that stops a command if it is likely to cause a collision and notify the user the command can’t be executed in Yoneda [0044], an other-robot avoidance mode where the controller commands other robots to move out of the way in Yoneda [0215], and places a robot in standby mode when a future collision is detected, notifies the user, and once the collision is no longer possible resumes normal operation in Yoneda [0232-0233].
Yates et al. (US20200150637A1) teaches a protected zone and if a human enters it, a robot altering its trajectory in Yates [0038].
Ha et al. (US20210201584A1) teaches a digital twin to monitor a work site remotely which tracks location information of a physical worker and stores the work history of field users in Ha [0059-0060], defining an area as dangerous and monitors if a field user enters it in Ha [0061], and that the field twin model displays virtual content including work information in Ha [0105].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.A.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116