DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/22/2022 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed July 1st, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Applicant’s arguments filed 7/1/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to the Kerrick reference not being reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventors are involved, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lines 15-18 on Page 1 of the applicant’s own specification states “geo-analysis model can be expressed by actual (e.g. physical) geographic model objects.” Kerrick is analogous to presenting a model in the form of assembled components. This is supported by paragraph [0019] of Kerrick which states, “an assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly, a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly”. The “model” is the CAD assembly, and the “assembled components” are the physical assembly created by the robot. Therefore, Kerrick is reasonably pertinent to the problem the inventor is trying to solve.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Kerrick fails to disclose or suggest that the physical assembly serves as a representation of a model, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0032] of Kerrick discloses, “to manufacture physical assembly 140 to represent CAD assembly 118”, which is a physical assembly representing a CAD assembly or CAD model. Hence, Kerrick discloses or suggests that the physical assembly serves as a representation of a model
In response to applicant’s arguments that Kerrick , the examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the applicant’s own arguments, the model is “intended to convey model information to a user.” This intended use carries no patentable weight, and therefore, Kerrick’s physical assembly is analogous to creating a geo-analysis model. Furthermore, a “geo-analysis model” is intended use of a model. The model is intended to be used for geographical analysis or communicating geographic analysis information but again, intended use(s) carries no patentable weight. Kerrick’s physical assembly creates a representation of a digital model (CAD), which under the broadest reasonable interpretation, is what the claimed invention is trying to do.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Kerrick it was not obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kerrick's assembly engine to arrive at the geo-analysis model componentized presenter of the invention as claimed, the examiner respectfully disagrees. A “geo-analysis model format” is not clearly defined within the applicant’s specification. As a result, the examiner is interpreting “a format” to be “the arrangement of something”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “format.” Kerrick teaches converting a digital model (CAD – a digital format) to a physical assembly (a different format) and therefore discloses “formats” and “conversion between those formats.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take a digital model that represents things in the physical world to create a physical representation of that model, as that is something that is commonly done with computer-aided designs (CAD).
Since Kerrick discloses or suggests each and every element of the claims, the examiner’s rejection stands.
As presented above, Kerrick discloses or suggests the claimed features. Page 5 Lines 13-23 of the applicant’s own specification discloses, “the subject information of raw material of the geo-analysis model can include name, interface number, and type (model subject, submodule, input/output plug, and workflow indicator.) The physical information of raw material of the geo-analysis model can include shape, color, weight, electromagnetic field, and additional sensors.” Parsons discloses “multiple objects categories” and “Each object 1 is placed inside a case 60 which has a bar code label 29” meaning each object is identified. These objects represent “raw material supplies”, and Kerrick teaches the physical architecture built from the objects. Kerrick and Parsons together are teaching the claim limitation(s), not Parsons alone. Parsons is used to teach the “raw material supplies” with their “multiple object categories” and is used to teach a “supporting table” with their “storage racks”, since both are used to hold objects. In addition, Parsons teaches “a runner transport”, which receives an object and moves it a long a track. This is functionally analogous to a “material routing mechanism”. Accordingly, Parsons’ system comprises the physical hardware, material routing mechanisms, and specific device configurations required by the claimed invention.
Since Parsons cures the deficiency of Kerrick, the Examiner respectfully notes that the rejection stands.
In response to applicant’s arguments that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not characterize Dong's 3D camera feeds of objects as geographic models or geo-analysis data, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The abstract of Dong teaches “3D object recognition system including a 3D detector for detecting said article and a database containing data on characteristics of article types”. There would be a need to classify different objects (e.g. rocks, minerals, plants, bodies of water etc…), especially for geographic models. In fact, that is one way to create a more accurate geographic model, so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to do so. In addition, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dong’s boundary detection for objects with Kerrick’s object placement, because it’s important to ensure objects to not go “out of bounds” when placing them.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Dong fails to disclose or suggest parsing or executing format conversions between geo-analysis models and geographic models, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Dong teaches taking position and orientation data and converting it into a coordinate frame. Position and orientation information are separated or parsed in order to isolate that data. Then transforming that data into a coordinate frame is analogous to converting data elements from an analysis model format to another model format. As mentioned earlier, the application of a model to geo-analysis or geographic models is intended use, and therefore does not carry patentable weight.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Dong's background subtraction process neither operates on an abstract data model nor removes conceptual or semantic characteristics therefrom, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned by the applicant, Dong’s background subtraction process is a pixel-level segmentation technique that isolates physical, tangible boundaries of objects in a field of view. However, Dong is not being relied upon to teach the conceptual or semantic characteristics are removed from an abstract data model to derive a physical presentation representation, that is being taught by Kerrick.
Accordingly, Dong discloses or suggests logical processing steps required to convert abstract, non-spatial data structures found in geo-analysis models into physical presentation components.
Dong cures the deficiencies of Kerrick and Parsons. Accordingly, Examiner respectfully states that this rejection stands.
Kerrick discloses or suggests the claimed features, and Parsons and Dong cure any deficiencies. Examiner respectfully notes that this rejection stands as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kerrick et al. (US 2020/0147794 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Kerrick discloses a geo-analysis model componentized presentation process for delivering improved representation of a geo-analysis model to a user via a model object, the process comprising ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly (analogous to a geo-analysis model), a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly (process for delivering improved representation) corresponding to the CAD assembly):
activating an input control module to input model information ([0003] a designer can use a computer aided design (CAD) application (input control module) to design a set of three dimensional (3D) CAD components (model information));
activating an assembly control module to assemble a model object from model components, based on the model information ([0017] In doing so, the engineer maps the individual CAD components to corresponding physical components, determines how those physical components should be arranged and coupled together, and then programs the robot with a set of motion commands that causes the robot to obtain, arrange, and couple together the various physical components; ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly, a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly. The assembly engine analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly); and
presenting the model object to the user ([0021] a display device (inherently configured to present to a user), [0022] Assembly engine 120 is a software application that, when executed by processor 112, configures processor 112 to analyze CAD assembly 118 and generate motion commands that cause robot 130 to generate physical assembly 140 based on CAD assembly 118 (generating physical assembly is another way to “present” the object to the user)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerrick (US 2020/0147794 A1) in view of Parsons et al. (US 5,379,229).
Regarding Claim 1, Kerrick discloses a geo-analysis model componentized presenter for creating an improved representation of a geo-analysis model for a user ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly1 (geo-analysis), a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly), the presenter comprising:
a geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device ([0019] Based on the assembly sequence and the component paths, the assembly engine generates a set of motion commands (model parsing) that the robot (assembly device) executes to assemble the physical components into the physical assembly), and
an assembled physical object representation of the geo-analysis model ([0019] Based on the assembly sequence and the component paths, the assembly engine generates a set of motion commands that the robot executes to assemble the physical components into the physical assembly (physical object representation of the model)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing a model parsing device.
Parsons teaches model parsing device (Col. 9 Lines 66-68 The CPU (analogous to a model parsing device) 18 issues control signals which include command sequences to the motor controllers 22, 23, 110, 112).
Kerrick and Parsons are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of movement and placement of physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of geo-analysis model componentized presenter, as disclosed by Kerrick, further including a model parsing device as taught by Parsons for the purpose of giving commands on which controller, motor, and/or component should be rotated, actuated, and/or responded to (Parsons, Col. 10 Lines 1-35).
Regarding Claim 2, Kerrick discloses wherein the geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device comprises a supporting device and a general controller ([0019] The assembly engine (general controller) analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly; [0021] As shown, system 100 includes a computing device (analogous to a general controller) 110 coupled to a robot (analogous to a supporting device) 130 that is configured to manufacture a physical assembly 140; [0033] assembly sequence 202 includes a set of CAD components 300, a set of processes 310, a set of CAD sub-assemblies 320, and CAD assembly 118 (component supply area, robotic workcell, and assembly workspace)).
Regarding Claim 3, Kerrick discloses wherein the supporting device comprises a multiplicity of raw material supplies, an assembly tray, a multiplicity of guideways, and a supporting table ([0017] obtain, arrange, and couple together the various physical components (analogous to multiplicity of raw material supplies); [0019] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths (multiplicity of guideways) that each physical component should; [0022] Cell data 122 defines the physical attributes of a robot cell (analogous to assembly tray) where robot 130 operates and defines the manufacturing capabilities of robot 130, [0036] A given component position 400 is a 3D location that a particular CAD component 300 may occupy during assembly or disassembly of CAD assembly 118 (assembly location is analogous to assembly tray)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing a supporting table.
Parsons teaches a supporting table (Figs. 1 and 2 Elements 130a and 130b storage racks (analogous to supporting tables); Col. 2 Lines 30-33 A plurality of storage rack assemblies is included, each storage rack assembly having at least one storage rack, each storage rack having a plurality of slots sized for storing the objects (analogous to raw material supplies); Col. 3 Lines 46-48 The storage transport 6 receives the object 1 and moves to a selected slot 4, into which the object is stored (slot/rack is analogous to assembly tray); Col. 3 Lines 61-64 A plurality of horizontal tracks 8a-8d are located at the end of the storage rack assembly 2, each track at a different height. A runner transport 10a–10a is coupled to each track 8a-8d (runner tracks are analogous to guideways); Col. 5 Lines 45-47 A plurality of storage rack assemblies 2a-2h are aligned parallel to one another (supporting table)).
Kerrick and Parsons are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of movement and placement of physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of geo-analysis model componentized presenter, as disclosed by Kerrick, further including a supporting table as taught by Parsons for the purpose of being able to store objects (Parsons, Col. 5 Lines 43-68).
Regarding Claim 4, Kerrick discloses wherein the multiplicity of raw material supplies comprises a submodule raw material supply, a model subject raw material supply, a workflow indicator sub-module raw material supply, and an input/output plug raw material supply (Fig. 1 Element 114 I/O Devices (input/output plug raw material supply); Fig. 2 Element 200 Assembly Sequence Generator (workflow module) and Element 202 Assembly Engine (workflow submodule); [0019] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths that each physical component (model subject raw material supply) should follow when being incorporated into the physical assembly; [0033] a set of CAD sub-assemblies 320 (submodule); [0034] n one embodiment, assembly sequence generator 200 may generate assembly sequence 202 by dividing CAD assembly 118 into a set of larger sub-assemblies 320 that are coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints (analogous to submodule raw material supply); [0074] In this regard, each block in the flowchart or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s)).
Parsons teaches a multiplicity of raw material supplies (Col. 2 Lines 36-41 Control means responsive to said storage operation requests and retrieval operation requests select one of the storage rack assemblies into which a respective object is stored to distribute objects assigned to any one object category (multiplicity of raw material supplies) uniformly among each of the storage rack assemblies; Col. 11 Lines 49-59 Table 1b lists the attributes which are common to each object 1 within an object category), which helps supplement the citations relied upon in Kerrick.
Regarding Claim 5, Kerrick discloses wherein the assembly tray is configured to route, position, or place specified raw material supplies or physical components of geographical models to represent the combination of a specified geo-analysis model, geo-analysis model subsystem, or component of a geo-analysis model ([0047] The assembly engine analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly (position). The assembly sequence indicates the order in which each physical component should be incorporated into the physical assembly (route) and how those physical components should be physically coupled together (place)).
Regarding Claim 6, Kerrick discloses wherein the multiplicity of guideways are configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to or from the assembly tray ([0047] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths (guideways) that each physical component (analogous to raw materials) should follow when being incorporated into the physical assembly).
Regarding Claim 7, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing wherein the multiplicity of guideways comprise magnetic guideways configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to the assembly tray by magnetic force.
Parsons teaches wherein the multiplicity of guideways comprise magnetic guideways configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to the assembly tray by magnetic force (Col. 30 Lines 52-54 the electromagnet assembly 32 of the conveyor transport 16a is actuated towards the opening 14 and the magnet 33 is turned on).
Kerrick and Parsons are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of movement and placement of physical objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of geo-analysis model componentized presenter, as disclosed by Kerrick, further including wherein the wherein the multiplicity of guideways comprise magnetic guideways configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to the assembly tray by magnetic force as taught by Parsons for the purpose of retrieval and storage of objects and to prevent the object from falling during movement or transport of the object (Parsons, Col. 8 Lines 27-68 – Col. 9 Lines 1-2).
Regarding Claim 10, Kerrick discloses wherein the general controller comprises a power cord, a network interface, a switch panel, an operation display, an operation panel, and a model access module ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly, a set of motion commands that causes the robot (robotic assembly system requires a power supply (power cord)) to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly (general controller); [0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations (operation panel), including, for example, a display device (operation display), a keyboard, and a touchscreen, among others; [0022] Assembly engine 120 is a software application (model access module) that, when executed by processor 112, configures processor 112 to analyze CAD assembly 118 and generate motion commands that cause robot 130 to generate physical assembly 140 based on CAD assembly 118; [0023] As shown, assembly engine 120 includes an assembly sequence in generator 200, a component path generator 210, and a robot motion generator 220; [0051] wherein generating the assembly sequence comprises generating a place/transition network that includes a first node corresponding to a first CAD component, a second node corresponding to a second CAD component, and a third node corresponding to a process for combining the first CAD component and the second CAD component to generate a first CAD sub-assembly included in the CAD assembly (network interface); [0072] an electrical connection having one or more wires (cord)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing a switch panel.
Parsons teaches a switch panel (Col. 23 Lines 10-11 Steps 400-409 are initialization steps which are performed when a storage transport 6a is brought online (bringing a system online is analogous to flipping a switch)).
Regarding Claim 11, Kerrick discloses wherein the power cord is configured to provide power for the geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device ([0019] a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly (robotic assembly system requires a power supply (power cord)), [0072] an electrical connection having one or more wires (cord)).
Regarding Claim 12, Kerrick discloses wherein the network interface is configured to provide network connection for the entire geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device ([0051] wherein generating the assembly sequence comprises generating a place/transition network (network interface) that includes a first node (network connection) corresponding to a first CAD component, a second node corresponding to a second CAD component, and a third node corresponding to a process for combining the first CAD component and the second CAD component to generate a first CAD sub-assembly included in the CAD assembly).
Regarding Claim 13, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing wherein the switch panel is configured to connect or disconnect the power cord.
Parsons discloses wherein the switch panel is configured to connect or disconnect the power cord (Col. 23 Lines 10-11 Steps 400-409 are initialization steps which are performed when a storage transport 6a is brought online (bringing a system online is analogous to flipping a switch to power a system)).
Regarding Claim 14, Kerrick discloses wherein the operation display is configured to show selected information of the imported geo-analysis model on the display ([0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations, including, for example, a display device (a display is inherently configured to show information), a keyboard, and a touchscreen, among others).
Regarding Claim 15, Kerrick discloses wherein the operation panel is configured to allow the user to select and import model information ([0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations (operation panel is configured for input and/or output, which supports the functionality of importing model information)).
Regarding Claim 16, Kerrick discloses wherein the model access module is configured to import the geo-analysis model into a geographic model format ([0002] Various embodiments relate generally to computer aided design (analogous to a geographic model format) and robotic manufacturing and, more specifically, to techniques for informed robotic assembly, [0049] Some embodiments include a computer-implemented method for constructing physical assemblies based on computer-aided design (CAD) assemblies (analogous to a geo-analysis model), the method comprising generating an assembly sequence based on a CAD assembly (analogous to importing the geo-analysis model), wherein the assembly sequence indicates an order for incorporating different physical components into a physical assembly (analogous to a geographic model format)).
Claims 8-9, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerrick (US 2020/0147794 A1) in view of Parsons et al. (US 5,379,229), and in further view of Dong (US 2015/0081090 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Kerrick and Parsons are not relied upon disclosing wherein the supporting table comprises a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary.
Dong teaches wherein the supporting table comprises a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary ([0030] The sorting bins may be basket-like containers placed on sliding base with security fences (baffles) covered around (around meaning there’s a boundary). This security fences may be locked by electro-magnet lock controlled by system digital I/O output).
Kerrick and Dong are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because they are in the same field of 3D object recognition/definition and handling systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention of geo-analysis model componentized presenter, as disclosed by Kerrick, further including a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary as taught by Dong for the purpose of placing differently identified articles into each sorting bin (Dong, [0007] and [0029]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kerrick and Parsons not relied upon disclosing wherein the supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary.
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured and adapted to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary.
Dong teaches supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured and adapted to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary ([0030] In addition, each sorting bin may be mounted with manual push button and proximity sensors to detect (adapted to sense) the loads of placed articles; [0031] Either pushbuttons may be pressed or the proximity sensor senses that the sorting bin is full, the robot will not place additional articles into this bin any more (analogous to extending beyond a boundary – a limit being reached)).
Regarding Claim 18, Kerrick discloses wherein: the input control module comprises:
an input operation unit ([0003] a designer can use a computer aided design (CAD) application to design (“design” is an input operation in CAD) a set of three dimensional (3D) CAD component; [0022] analyze CAD assembly (input operation) 118 and generate motion commands that cause robot 130 to generate physical assembly);
a model access operation unit, and a model parser operation unit ([0022] Physical assembly 140 is a physical representation of CAD assembly 118 (model access operation is accessing CAD assembly to create physical assembly); [0034] In one embodiment, assembly sequence generator 200 may generate assembly sequence 202 by dividing CAD assembly 118 into a set of larger sub-assemblies 320 that are coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints. Assembly sequence generator 200 may then repeat this process by dividing each CAD sub-assembly 320 into smaller CAD sub-assemblies 320 and/or smaller CAD components 300 coupled together together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints. In this manner, assembly sequence generator 200 can recursively disassemble CAD assembly 118 until a set of CAD components 300 remain (model parser operation(s))); and
the assembly control module comprises: an assembly rules library, an assembly controller, and a relative motion controller ([0023] assembly sequence generator 200 (rules library), a component path generator 210, and a robot motion generator 220 (assembly controller)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing a relative motion controller.
Parsons teaches a relative motion controller (Col. 8 Lines 35-40 An electromagnet assembly 32 provides the attractive force necessary to pull an object case 60 out of its slot 4 during a retrieval operation (or opening 14 during a storage operation) (relative motion controller)).
Dong supplementarily teaches a model access operation ([0028] The control system 34 then engages (access operation) an end-effector 35 which in this case is engaged with a linear slide 40 (model)).
Regarding Claim 19, Kerrick discloses the input operation unit is configured to read a data element in a geo-analysis model format ([0026] Assembly sequence generator 200 processes cell data 122 when generating assembly sequence 202 to account for the manufacturing capabilities of robot 130);
the model access operation unit is configured to convert the data element from the geo-analysis model format to a geographic model format ([0040] Robot motion generator 220 generates motion commands 222 by translating the 3D trajectories and/or 3D rotations (data elements) set forth in component paths 212 into a CNC representation (geographic model format));
the model parser operation unit is configured to remove one or more conceptual characteristics of the geo-analysis model, and define a final shape of a geographic model ([0034] In one embodiment, assembly sequence generator 200 may generate assembly sequence 202 by dividing CAD assembly 118 into a set of larger sub-assemblies 320 that are coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints. Assembly sequence generator 200 may then repeat this process by dividing each CAD sub-assembly 320 into smaller CAD sub-assemblies 320 and/or smaller CAD components 300 coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints. In this manner, assembly sequence generator 200 can recursively disassemble CAD assembly 118 until a set of CAD components 300 remain);
the assembly rules library comprises a series of assembly rules with a mix calling interface ([0019] The assembly sequence indicates the order in which each of those physical components should be incorporated into the physical assembly and how those physical components should be physically coupled together (assembly rules), [0024] Assembly sequence 202 indicates the order with which robot 130 should assemble a set of physical components (assembly rules) corresponding to the CAD components included in CAD assembly 118 to generate physical assembly 140. Assembly sequence 202 also indicates specific operations that robot 130 should perform in order to couple those physical components together in a manner that is consistent with the relationship data set forth in CAD assembly 118 (calling interface is needed to receive and process relationship data));
the assembly controller is an assembly tray controller configured to route, position, or place specified raw material supplies or physical components of geographical models ([0047] The assembly engine analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly (position). The assembly sequence indicates the order in which each physical component should be incorporated into the physical assembly (route) and how those physical components should be physically coupled together (place)); and
the model object comprises: at least one model subject, a multiplicity of model-submodules, a multiplicity of input/output plugs, and a multiplicity of workflow indicators (Fig. 1 Element 114 I/O Devices (input/output plug raw material supply); Fig. 2 Element 200 Assembly Sequence Generator (workflow module) and Element 202 Assembly Engine (workflow submodule); [0019] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths that each physical component (model subject raw material supply) should follow when being incorporated into the physical assembly; [0033] a set of CAD sub-assemblies 320 (submodule); [0034] n one embodiment, assembly sequence generator 200 may generate assembly sequence 202 by dividing CAD assembly 118 into a set of larger sub-assemblies 320 that are coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints (analogous to submodule raw material supply); [0074] In this regard, each block in the flowchart or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing the relative motion controller is a magnetic motion controller.
Parsons teaches the relative motion controller is a magnetic motion controller (Col. 8 Lines 35-40 An electromagnet assembly 32 provides the attractive force necessary to pull an object case 60 out of its slot 4 during a retrieval operation (or opening 14 during a storage operation))
Dong supplementarily teaches the model access operation comprises converting the data element from the geo-analysis model format to a geographic model format ([0008] locating the position and orientation (position and orientation are data elements) of the article from the 3D image and transformed such information into robot coordinate frame (geographic model format)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerrick (US 2020/0147794 A1) in view of Parsons et al. (US 5,379,229), in view of Dong (US 2015/0081090).
Regarding Claim 20, Kerrick discloses a geo-analysis model componentized presenter for creating an improved representation of a geo-analysis model for a user, the presenter comprising a geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device and an assembled physical object representation of the geo-analysis model ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly2 (geo-analysis), a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly… Based on the assembly sequence and the component paths, the assembly engine generates a set of motion commands (model parsing) that the robot (assembly device) executes to assemble the physical components into the physical assembly (physical object representation of the model));
wherein the geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device comprises a supporting device and a general controller ([0019] The assembly engine (general controller) analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly; [0021] As shown, system 100 includes a computing device (analogous to a general controller) 110 coupled to a robot (analogous to a supporting device) 130 that is configured to manufacture a physical assembly 140; [0033] assembly sequence 202 includes a set of CAD components 300, a set of processes 310, a set of CAD sub-assemblies 320, and CAD assembly 118 (component supply area, robotic workcell, and assembly workspace));
wherein the supporting device comprises a multiplicity of raw material supplies, an assembly tray, a multiplicity of guideways, and a supporting table ([0017] obtain, arrange, and couple together the various physical components (analogous to multiplicity of raw material supplies); [0019] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths (multiplicity of guideways) that each physical component should; [0022] Cell data 122 defines the physical attributes of a robot cell (analogous to assembly tray) where robot 130 operates and defines the manufacturing capabilities of robot 130, [0036] A given component position 400 is a 3D location that a particular CAD component 300 may occupy during assembly or disassembly of CAD assembly 118 (assembly location is analogous to assembly tray));
wherein the multiplicity of raw material supplies comprises a submodule raw material supply, a model subject raw material supply, a workflow indicator sub-module raw material supply, and an input/output plug raw material supply (Fig. 1 Element 114 I/O Devices (input/output plug raw material supply); Fig. 2 Element 200 Assembly Sequence Generator (workflow module) and Element 202 Assembly Engine (workflow submodule); [0019] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths that each physical component (model subject raw material supply) should follow when being incorporated into the physical assembly; [0033] a set of CAD sub-assemblies 320 (submodule); [0034] n one embodiment, assembly sequence generator 200 may generate assembly sequence 202 by dividing CAD assembly 118 into a set of larger sub-assemblies 320 that are coupled together via one or more joints and then determining one or more processes 310 corresponding to those joints (analogous to submodule raw material supply); [0074] In this regard, each block in the flowchart or block diagrams may represent a module, segment, or portion of code, which comprises one or more executable instructions for implementing the specified logical function(s));
wherein the assembly tray is configured route, position, or place specified raw material supplies or physical components of geographical models to represent the combination of a specified geo-analysis model, geo-analysis model subsystem, or component of a geo-analysis model ([0047] The assembly engine analyzes the CAD assembly to determine an assembly sequence for various physical components to be included in the physical assembly (position). The assembly sequence indicates the order in which each physical component should be incorporated into the physical assembly (route) and how those physical components should be physically coupled together (place));
wherein the multiplicity of guideways are configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to or from the assembly tray ([0047] The assembly engine further analyzes the CAD assembly to determine different component paths (guideways) that each physical component (analogous to raw materials) should follow when being incorporated into the physical assembly);
wherein the general controller comprises a power cord, a network interface, a switch panel, an operation display, an operation panel, and a model access module ([0019] assembly engine that is configured to generate, based on a CAD assembly, a set of motion commands that causes the robot (robotic assembly system requires a power supply (power cord)) to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly (general controller); [0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations (operation panel), including, for example, a display device (operation display), a keyboard, and a touchscreen, among others; [0022] Assembly engine 120 is a software application (model access module) that, when executed by processor 112, configures processor 112 to analyze CAD assembly 118 and generate motion commands that cause robot 130 to generate physical assembly 140 based on CAD assembly 118; [0023] As shown, assembly engine 120 includes an assembly sequence in generator 200, a component path generator 210, and a robot motion generator 220; [0051] wherein generating the assembly sequence comprises generating a place/transition network that includes a first node corresponding to a first CAD component, a second node corresponding to a second CAD component, and a third node corresponding to a process for combining the first CAD component and the second CAD component to generate a first CAD sub-assembly included in the CAD assembly (network interface); [0072] an electrical connection having one or more wires (cord));
wherein the power cord is configured and adapted to provide power for the geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device ([0019] a set of motion commands that causes the robot to manufacture a physical assembly corresponding to the CAD assembly (robotic assembly system requires a power supply (power cord)), [0072] an electrical connection having one or more wires (cord));
wherein the network interface is configured to provide a network connection for the entire geo-analysis model parsing and assembly device ([0051] wherein generating the assembly sequence comprises generating a place/transition network (network interface) that includes a first node (network connection) corresponding to a first CAD component, a second node corresponding to a second CAD component, and a third node corresponding to a process for combining the first CAD component and the second CAD component to generate a first CAD sub-assembly included in the CAD assembly);
wherein the switch panel is configured to connect or disconnect the power cord; wherein the operation display is configured and adapted to show selected information of the imported geo-analysis model on display ([0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations, including, for example, a display device (a display is inherently configured to show information), a keyboard, and a touchscreen, among others);
wherein the operation panel is configured to allow the user to select and import model information ([0021] I/O devices 114 include any technically feasible set of devices configured to perform input and/or output operations (operation panel is configured for input and/or output, which supports the functionality of importing model information));
wherein the model access module is configured to import the geo-analysis model into a geographic model format ([0002] Various embodiments relate generally to computer aided design (analogous to a geographic model format) and robotic manufacturing and, more specifically, to techniques for informed robotic assembly, [0049] Some embodiments include a computer-implemented method for constructing physical assemblies based on computer-aided design (CAD) assemblies (analogous to a geo-analysis model), the method comprising generating an assembly sequence based on a CAD assembly (analogous to importing the geo-analysis model), wherein the assembly sequence indicates an order for incorporating different physical components into a physical assembly (analogous to a geographic model format)).
However, Kerrick is not relied upon disclosing a model parsing device; a supporting table; wherein the multiplicity of guideways comprise magnetic guideways configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to the assembly tray by magnetic force; wherein the supporting table comprises a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary; wherein the supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary; a switch panel; and wherein the switch panel is configured and adapted to connect or disconnect the power cord.
Parsons teaches model parsing device (Col. 9 Lines 66-68 The CPU (analogous to a model parsing device) 18 issues control signals which include command sequences to the motor controllers 22, 23, 110, 112); a supporting table (Figs. 1 and 2 Elements 130a and 130b storage racks (analogous to supporting tables); Col. 2 Lines 30-33 A plurality of storage rack assemblies is included, each storage rack assembly having at least one storage rack, each storage rack having a plurality of slots sized for storing the objects (analogous to raw material supplies); Col. 3 Lines 46-48 The storage transport 6 receives the object 1 and moves to a selected slot 4, into which the object is stored (slot/rack is analogous to assembly tray); Col. 3 Lines 61-64 A plurality of horizontal tracks 8a-8d are located at the end of the storage rack assembly 2, each track at a different height. A runner transport 10a–10a is coupled to each track 8a-8d (runner tracks are analogous to guideways); Col. 5 Lines 45-47 A plurality of storage rack assemblies 2a-2h are aligned parallel to one another (supporting table)); a multiplicity of raw material supplies (Col. 2 Lines 36-41 Control means responsive to said storage operation requests and retrieval operation requests select one of the storage rack assemblies into which a respective object is stored to distribute objects assigned to any one object category (multiplicity of raw material supplies) uniformly among each of the storage rack assemblies; Col. 11 Lines 49-59 Table 1b lists the attributes which are common to each object 1 within an object category), which helps supplements the citations relied upon in Kerrick; wherein the multiplicity of guideways comprise magnetic guideways configured to move specified raw materials required by the geographical model to the assembly tray by magnetic force (Col. 30 Lines 52-54 the electromagnet assembly 32 of the conveyor transport 16a is actuated towards the opening 14 and the magnet 33 is turned on); a switch panel (Col. 23 Lines 10-11 Steps 400-409 are initialization steps which are performed when a storage transport 6a is brought online (bringing a system online is analogous to flipping a switch)); and wherein the switch panel is configured and adapted to connect or disconnect the power cord (Col. 23 Lines 10-11 Steps 400-409 are initialization steps which are performed when a storage transport 6a is brought online (bringing a system online is analogous to flipping a switch to power a system)).
However, Parsons is not relied upon teaching wherein the supporting table comprises a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary; and wherein the supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary.
Dong teaches wherein the supporting table comprises a multiplicity of table boundaries, and a multiplicity of boundary baffles, each boundary baffle, respectively, located at or near a respective table boundary ([0030] The sorting bins may be basket-like containers placed on sliding base with security fences (baffles) covered around (around meaning there’s a boundary); and
wherein the supporting table comprises a boundary detector configured to sense when one or more physical objects on the table extend in whole or in part beyond a respective table boundary ([0030] In addition, each sorting bin may be mounted with manual push button and proximity sensors to detect (adapted to sense) the loads of placed articles; [0031] Either pushbuttons may be pressed or the proximity sensor senses that the sorting bin is full, the robot will not place additional articles into this bin any more (analogous to extending beyond a boundary – a limit being reached)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gershenfeld et al. (US 2008/0109103 A1) is in the field of a digital assembler for creating three-dimensional objects from digital materials (Abstract).
Slemmons (US 3,807,314 A) is in the field of a magnetic trolley conveyor system (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMID TARIQ HAFIZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT J UTAMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 The limitation of “geo-analysis” model is a field-of-use designation. Under In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997), a field-of-use limitation does not impart patentability to an otherwise anticipated structure (See also MPEP § 2173.05(g)). A CAD assembly – which utilizes 3D geometry to describe physical shapes (a.k.a components), by indicating the position and orientation of one component relative to another, and describes how those CAD components are coupled together via one or more constraints – is structurally and functionally analogous to a geo-analysis model, which calculates geographical indicators using defined computational algorithms. Both are, abstract digital models composed of typed components with defined inputs, outputs, and run logic.
2 The limitation of “geo-analysis” model is a field-of-use designation. Under In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997), a field-of-use limitation does not impart patentability to an otherwise anticipated structure (See also MPEP § 2173.05(g)). A CAD assembly – which utilizes 3D geometry to describe physical shapes (a.k.a components), by indicating the position and orientation of one component relative to another, and describes how those CAD components are coupled together via one or more constraints – is structurally and functionally analogous to a geo-analysis model, which calculates geographical indicators using defined computational algorithms. Both are, abstract digital models composed of typed components with defined inputs, outputs, and run logic.