DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12-20 are currently pending. Claims 2-7, 10, 11, 13 and 14 have been canceled. Claims 1, 8, 9, 12 , 15 and 16 have been amended.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,724 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and patent ‘724 have claims drawn to an organic metallic compound represented by formula 1 ( see compound 191
of ‘724 patent), which are obvious the same as compound 21 of the instant claims.
The present claims indicated above also cover the light emitting device as well as an electronic apparatus which overlap the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,724 and thus , render the present claims prima facie obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2022/0348599 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12-20, Kwon et al. teach an organometallic compound (see abstract, claims and examples) represented by formula 1, more specifically compound 191:
meeting the limitation of compound 21:
of the presently claimed invention and in formula 1 is group represented by one of Formula CY1-1 to CY1-6 and in Formula 1 is a group represented by one of Formula CY2-1 as instantly claimed. Also, Kwon et al. teach a light-emitting device ( an organic light-emitting device; see claim 16) comprising: a first electrode, a second electrode; and an organic layer disposed between the electrodes, wherein the organic layer comprises an emission layer, and wherein the organic layer further comprises the organometallic compound. Kwon et al. also disclose the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound ( claim 17) and maximum emission wavelength may be from about 500 nm to about 750A nm [0205]. Also, Kwon et al. further disclose an electronic apparatus comprising the OLED ( claim 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Ji et al. (US 2024/0292748 A1; see abstract, claims and examples) teach a compound represented by
( see page 344) meeting the limitation of the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 as recited by the instant claims and the compound represented by formula 12:
as recited in claim 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737