DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts, on page 15 of Remarks, that “the cited portions of TSAI recite "the network (e.g., the MN) sends to the UE a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message that includes a predefined conditional reconfiguration, including, for example, radio resource configurations of PCell/PSCells of candidate cells (e.g., PSCell-1 in SN-1 and PSCell-2 in SN-2) and triggering conditions associated therewith." See TSAI, paragraph 20. TSAI also states "the MN can transmit a radio
resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message to the UE. The RRC reconfiguration message carries an SN RRC reconfiguration message that indicates the radio resource configuration of candidate PSCells, e.g., PSCell-1, PSCell-2 and PSCell-3, and triggering conditions associated therewith." See id., paragraph 29. Thus, as discussed during the interview, TSAI describes a UE receiving a RRC message that indicates a predefined configuration, and triggering conditions for candidate cells associated with the predefined configuration. However, as discussed during the interview, TSAI does not disclose or suggest "receive, in a radio resource control (RRC) message, configuration information indicating: a base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration
and a base master cell group (MCG) configuration, one of a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration associated with a CPA procedure or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration associated with a first CPC procedure, and a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure," as recited in amended claim 1.”
On the contrary, Tsai clearly discloses that configuration information is received, via RRC signaling, indicating a base SCG configuration, a base MCG configuration, and a CPA configuration associated with a CPA procedure. Tsai states, in paragraph [0020]: “The basic flow of the conditional reconfiguration procedure can be illustrated as follows: the network (e.g., the MN) sends to the UE a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message that includes a predefined conditional reconfiguration, including, for example, radio resource configurations of PCell/PSCells of candidate cells (e.g., PSCell-1 in SN-1 and PSCell-2 in SN-2) and triggering conditions associated therewith;” [emphasis added]. By definition, a PCell (primary cell) is associated with an MCG (master cell group), and a PSCell (primary secondary cell) is associated with an SCG (secondary cell group), and so a PCell configuration is an MCG configuration, and a PSCell configuration is an SCG configuration. Therefore, Tsai discloses the transmission of a base SCG configuration and a base MCG configuration, via RRC signaling, to the UE. Furthermore, Tsai states, in the Abstract: “For example, the method can include receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including first and second radio resource configurations of first and second primary secondary cells (PSCells) and conditional PSCell addition (CPA) and conditional PSCell change (CPC) triggering conditions, ...” [emphasis added]. Therefore, Tsai discloses “receive, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information indicating: a base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and a base master cell group (MCG) configuration, one of a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration associated with a CPA procedure or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration associated with a first CPC procedure,” in claim 1.
Applicant asserts, on page 16 of Remarks, that “Additionally, the Office Action concedes that TSAI does not disclose "receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling,... a subsequent CPC configuration associated with a second CPC procedure,: and instead relies on EKLOF'788 for allegedly disclosing these features. At the cited portions, EKLOF'788 states "[t]he node operating as Master Node (MN) sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, containing the new UE configuration where the previously configured CPC cells have been removed from the configuration." See EKLOF'788, paragraph 146. Thus, as discussed during the interview, EKLOF'788 describes a separate RRC message indicating a new configuration, and removing CPC cells. However, a separate RRC message is a new CPC configuration, as described in EKLOF'788, does not disclose or suggest "receive, in a radio resource control (RRC) message, configuration information indicating: a base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and a base master cell group (MCG) configuration, one of a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration associated with a CPA procedure or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration associated with a first CPC procedure, and a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure," as recited in amended claim 1.”
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that “a separate RRC message is a new CPC configuration, as described in EKLOF'788” does not correspond to the above quoted limitations, “new CPC configuration” is clearly synonymous with “subsequent CPC configuration”. Furthermore, Eklöf clearly discloses, in paragraph [0146], that this new CPC configuration is carried in an RRC message and is associated with a CPC procedure: “The node operating as Master Node (MN) sends an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, containing the new UE configuration where the previously configured CPC cells have been removed from the configuration.” [emphasis added].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11-13, 16, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0040452 (hereinafter Tsai), in view of Eklöf et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0379788 (hereinafter Eklöf).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (disclosed is a UE for wireless communication, according to Abstract, [0016], [0054], Fig. 4 [element 400]), comprising:
a memory (the UE comprises memory circuitry, according to [0054], Fig. 4 [element 420]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (the UE comprises processing circuitry coupled to its memory circuitry, according to [0054], Fig. 4 [element 410]), configured to:
receive, in a radio resource control (RRC) message, configuration information (the UE receives, from a master node (MN), triggering conditions and predefined configurations that are related to candidate PSCells, in an RRC reconfiguration message, according to Abstract, [0029], Fig. 1 [step 120]) indicating:
a base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and a base master cell group (MCG) configuration (the UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message that includes a predefined conditional reconfiguration that further includes radio resource configurations of PCell/PSCells of candidate cells (because a PCell is associated with an MCG and a PSCell is associated with an SCG, and because a base configuration is a predefined, or reference, configuration, the RRC reconfiguration message that is received by the UE therefore comprises a base MCG configuration and a base SCG configuration), according to [0020]);
one of a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration associated with a CPA procedure or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration associated with a first CPC procedure (the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration for a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure, according to Abstract, [0029]);
perform one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure based at least in part on the one of the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration (based on the CPA triggering condition being met, the UE performs the CPA procedure, according to [0031]-[0032], Fig. 1 [steps 130 and 140]); and
perform the second CPC procedure based at least in part on the subsequent CPC configuration (based on the subsequent CPC triggering condition being met, the UE performs the CPC procedure, according to [0033]-[0034], Fig. 1 [steps 150 and 160]).
Tsai does not expressly disclose receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure.
Eklöf discloses receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure (an MN sends to a UE, via an RRCReconfiguration message, a new CPC configuration that has previously configured CPC candidate cells removed (whereby the RRCReconfiguration message with the new CPC configuration may also be associated with a CPA configuration, according to [0115]), according to [0145]-[0146]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai with Eklöf by receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai discloses a network node for wireless communication (disclosed is an MN for wireless communication, according to [0016]), comprising:
a memory (the MN necessarily comprises a memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (the MN necessarily comprises a processor coupled to its memory), configured to:
receive, from one or more other network nodes, multiple secondary cell group (SCG) configurations (the MN receives, from secondary nodes (SNs), configurations for a plurality of PSCells, according to [0027]-[0028], Fig. 1 [step 110]); and
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, configuration information based at least in part on the multiple SCG configurations (the MN transmits, in an RRC reconfiguration message to a UE, triggering conditions and predefined configurations for the plurality of PSCells, according to Abstract, [0029], Fig. 1 [step 120]), the configuration information indicating:
a base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration and a base master cell group (MCG) configuration (the UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message that includes a predefined conditional reconfiguration that further includes radio resource configurations of PCell/PSCells of candidate cells (because a PCell is associated with an MCG and a PSCell is associated with an SCG, and because a base configuration is a predefined, or reference, configuration, the RRC reconfiguration message that is received by the UE therefore comprises a base MCG configuration and a base SCG configuration), according to [0020]);
one of a conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) configuration associated with a CPA procedure or a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration associated with a first CPC procedure (the RRC reconfiguration message includes a configuration for a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure, according to Abstract, [0029]).
Tsai does not expressly disclose receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure.
Eklöf discloses receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure (an MN sends to a UE, via an RRCReconfiguration message, a new CPC configuration that has previously configured CPC candidate cells removed (whereby the RRCReconfiguration message with the new CPC configuration may also be associated with a CPA configuration, according to [0115]), according to [0145]-[0146]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai with Eklöf by receiving, via RRC signaling, configuration information indicating a subsequent CPC configuration associated with the CPA configuration or the first CPC procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
Claim 27 recites the method (disclosed is a method of wireless communication perform by a UE, according to Abstract, [0026], Fig. 1) that the UE recited in claim 1 operates according to, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 29 recites the method (disclosed is a method of wireless communication perform by an MN, according to [0026]-[0027], Fig. 1) that the UE recited in claim 12 operates according to, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a measurement report indicating measurements associated with one or more target PSCells, wherein receiving the configuration information is based at least in part on the measurement report (the UE sends, to the MN, a measurement report comprising measured values for a plurality of PSCells, whereby said MN determines which of these PSCells are targets for said UE based on this measurement report, whereby the RRC reconfiguration message that is sent from the MN to the UE is formatted according to this determination, according to [0027]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the measurement report to one of a master node associated with a master cell group, or a secondary node associated with a secondary cell group of a multi-radio access technology (multi-RAT) dual connectivity (MR-DC) system (the UE sends the measurement report to the MN (which is associated with a master cell group, according to [0017]), according to [0027]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one of the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration is based at least in part on the base SCG configuration (the configuration for the CPA procedure relates to a set of candidate PSCells that belong to a secondary cell group (SCG), according to [0029], [0032], [0034]).
Tsai does not expressly disclose that the subsequent CPC configuration is based at least in part on a second base SCG configuration.
Eklöf discloses that the subsequent CPC configuration is based at least in part on a second base SCG configuration (an SN-generated SCG RRC Reconfiguration is used to remove CPC candidates in the creation of the new CPC configuration, according to [0145]-[0146], [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Eklöf such that the subsequent CPC configuration is based at least in part on a second base SCG configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to maintain at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure after performing the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure (the UE still keeps the predefined reconfiguration and triggering condition for each stored candidate PSCell [“base secondary cell group (SCG) configuration”] after performing the CPA procedure, in order to perform a subsequent CPC procedure, according to [0032], whereby the UE applies the appropriate stored PSCell configuration when performing the subsequent CPC procedure, according to [0034]).
Tsai does not expressly disclose that performing the second CPC procedure is based at least in part on the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure.
Eklöf discloses that performing the second CPC procedure is based at least in part on the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure (an SN-generated SCG RRC Reconfiguration is used to remove CPC candidates in the creation of the new CPC configuration, according to [0145]-[0146], [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Eklöf such that performing the second CPC procedure is based at least in part on the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Tsai does not expressly disclose that the one or more processors are further configured to discard the configuration information after performing the second CPC procedure.
Eklöf discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to discard the configuration information after performing the second CPC procedure (a CPC procedure may be followed by a subsequent CPC procedure, whereby configuration information for CPC candidate cells are discarded after the end of a CPC procedure, according to [0146], [0165]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Eklöf such that the one or more processors are further configured to discard the configuration information after performing the second CPC procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
Claims 13 and 28 do not differ substantively from claim 2, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 16 does not differ substantively from claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Tsai does not expressly disclose that the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to at least one target secondary node, information associated with execution conditions associated with a second CPC procedure, wherein the second
CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration; and receive, from the at least one target secondary node, an indication of one or more candidate target PSCells and associated execution conditions for the second CPC procedure.
Eklöf discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to at least one target secondary node, information associated with execution conditions associated with a second CPC procedure, wherein the second
CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration (the MN transmits, to a T-SN, an SN MODIFICATION REQUEST message that indicates the cancellation of cells, according to [0140]-[0141], Fig. 9 [step 8]); and
receive, from the at least one target secondary node, an indication of one or more candidate target PSCells and associated execution conditions for the second CPC procedure (the T-SN transmits, to the MN, an SN MODIFICATION REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE message that indicates cells that are to be removed from the subsequent CPC procedure, according to [0143], Fig. 9 [step 9]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Eklöf such that the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to at least one target secondary node, information associated with execution conditions associated with a second CPC procedure, wherein the second CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration; and receive, from the at least one target secondary node, an indication of one or more candidate target PSCells and associated execution conditions for the second CPC procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to make available previously reserved resources (Eklöf: [0145]).
6. Claims 4-5, 14-15, 19-22, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Eklöf as applied to claims 1, 12, and 29 above, further in view of Wu, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0386191 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the configuration information is based at least in part on at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration, and wherein the configuration information indicates, for each of multiple target PSCells, a delta configuration associated with the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration.
Wu discloses that the configuration information is based at least in part on at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration, and wherein the configuration information indicates, for each of multiple target PSCells, a delta configuration associated with the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration (a UE receives an RRC reconfiguration message that specifies a baseline SCG configuration that indicates future delta configurations for conditional PSCell changes and conditional PSCell additions, according to [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Wu such that the configuration information is based at least in part on at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration, and wherein the configuration information indicates, for each of multiple target PSCells, a delta configuration associated with the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tsai, Eklöf, and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the configuration information includes an indication that the configuration information includes the delta configuration for each of the multiple target PSCells.
Wu discloses that the configuration information includes an indication that the configuration information includes the delta configuration for each of the multiple target PSCells (the RRC reconfiguration message specifies a plurality of delta configurations for candidate PSCells, according to [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf as modified by Wu with Wu such that the configuration information includes an indication that the configuration information includes the delta configuration for each of the multiple target PSCells.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
Claims 14 and 30 do not differ substantively from claim 4, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 15 does not differ substantively from claim 5, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the multiple SCG configurations include a base SCG configuration and multiple delta configurations, wherein each of the multiple delta configurations is associated with a corresponding target cell.
Wu discloses that the multiple SCG configurations include a base SCG configuration and multiple delta configurations, wherein each of the multiple delta configurations is associated with a corresponding target cell (the RRC reconfiguration message comprises a baseline SCG configuration with multiple delta configurations for candidate PSCells, according to [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Wu such that the multiple SCG configurations include a base SCG configuration and multiple delta configurations, wherein each of the multiple delta configurations is associated with a corresponding target cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tsai, Eklöf, and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the one or more other network nodes, a first message (the MN transmits an SN addition request message to an SN, according to [0028]).
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in response to the first message, the base SCG configuration.
Wu discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in response to the first message, the base SCG configuration (a delta configuration (which is associated with an SCG configuration, according to [0009]) is sent to the MN via an SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, according to [0101], Fig. 5A [step 510]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf as modified by Wu with Wu such that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, in response to the first message, the base SCG configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tsai, Eklöf, and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 19. Additionally, Tsai discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the one or more other network nodes, a secondary node addition request (the MN transmits an SN addition request message to an SN, according to [0028]).
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the multiple delta configurations via one or more secondary node addition request acknowledgement communications.
Wu discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the multiple delta configurations via one or more secondary node addition request acknowledgement communications (delta configurations are sent to the MN via SN Addition Request Acknowledge messages, according to [0101], Fig. 5A [step 510]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf as modified by Wu with Wu such that the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the multiple delta configurations via one or more secondary node addition request acknowledgement communications.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tsai, Eklöf, and Wu discloses all the limitations of claim 19.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the one or more other network nodes, an indication that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with the multiple delta configurations.
Wu discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the one or more other network nodes, an indication that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with the multiple delta configurations (a delta configuration (which is associated with an SCG configuration, according to [0009]) is sent to the MN via an SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, according to [0101], Fig. 5A [step 510]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf as modified by Wu with Wu such that the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the one or more other network nodes, an indication that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with the multiple delta configurations.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a minimum quality of service (Wu: [0007]).
7. Claims 7, 10, 17, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Eklöf as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, further in view of Hwang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0124607 (hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, is associated with a target MCG configuration associated with a corresponding target cell, of the multiple target PSCells.
Hwang discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, is associated with a target MCG configuration associated with a corresponding target cell, of the multiple target PSCells (an MN associates a measurement ID with the execution condition for each candidate target PSCell, which in turn are associated with an MCG measurement configuration, according to [0238]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Hwang such that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, is associated with a target MCG configuration associated with a corresponding target cell, of the multiple target PSCells.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a desired quality of service (Hwang: [0095]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to maintain a source SCG configuration and a source MCG configuration after performing the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure, wherein the subsequent CPC configuration indicates multiple measurement identifiers associated with multiple target PSCells, and wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, corresponds to the source MCG configuration.
Hwang discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to maintain a source SCG configuration and a source MCG configuration after performing the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure, wherein the subsequent CPC configuration indicates multiple measurement identifiers associated with multiple target PSCells, and wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, corresponds to the source MCG configuration (as part of a CPA procedure, a UE receives SCG configuration information and MCG configuration information and maintains this information throughout said procedure, according to [0225], [0237]-[0238], [0255]-[0257], Fig. 9 [steps 5-7 and 10-12], whereby during a CPC procedure, each measurement ID is associated with a corresponding target PSCell, according to [0165], [0202]-[0203], whereby the measurement IDs are associated with an MCG measurement configuration, according to [0210]-[0212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Hwang such that the one or more processors are further configured to maintain a source SCG configuration and a source MCG configuration after performing the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure, wherein the subsequent CPC configuration indicates multiple measurement identifiers associated with multiple target PSCells, and wherein each measurement identifier, of the multiple measurement identifiers, corresponds to the source MCG configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a desired quality of service (Hwang: [0095]).
Claim 17 does not differ substantively from claim 7, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, wherein a first set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the one of the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration and are associated with a source secondary cell group measurement configuration, and wherein a second set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the subsequent CPC configuration and are associated with a target secondary cell group measurement configuration.
Hwang discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells (an MN associates a measurement ID with the execution condition for each candidate target PSCell, according to [0238]),
wherein a first set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the one of the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration and are associated with a source secondary cell group measurement configuration (as part of a CPA procedure, a UE receives SCG configuration information, according to [0225], [0237]-[0238], [0255]-[0257]), and wherein a second set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the subsequent CPC configuration and are associated with a target secondary cell group measurement configuration (during a CPC procedure, each measurement ID is associated with the measurement configuration of a corresponding target PSCell, according to [0165], [0202]-[0203]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Hwang such that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, wherein a first set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the one of the CPA configuration or the CPC configuration and are associated with a source secondary cell group measurement configuration, and wherein a second set of the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with the subsequent CPC configuration and are associated with a target secondary cell group measurement configuration.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a desired quality of service (Hwang: [0095]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, and wherein the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with a source master cell group configuration associated with the network node.
Hwang discloses that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, and wherein the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with a source master cell group configuration associated with the network node (an MN associates a measurement ID with the execution condition for each candidate target PSCell, which in turn are associated with an MCG measurement configuration, according to [0238]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Hwang such that the configuration information includes multiple measurement identifiers associated with execution conditions of multiple target PSCells, and wherein the multiple measurement identifiers are associated with a source master cell group configuration associated with the network node.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain a desired quality of service (Hwang: [0095]).
8. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Eklöf as applied to claims 8 and 12 above, further in view of Zhang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0111427 (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication that the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is to be maintained after the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is performed.
Zhang discloses that the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication that the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is to be maintained after the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is performed (a wireless communication device receives an RRCReconfiguration message from an MN, instructing said wireless communication device to maintain a CPAC (either CPA or CPC) configuration (which is associated with an SCG configuration, according to [0160]), according to [0200]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Zhang such that the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication that the at least one of the base SCG configuration or the base MCG configuration associated with the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is to be maintained after the one of the CPA procedure or the first CPC procedure is performed.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain low latency services (Zhang: [0064]).
Claim 18 does not differ substantively from claim 9, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
9. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai as applied to claim 12 above, in view of Eklöf et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0300691 (hereinafter Eklöf ‘691).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Tsai and Eklöf discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Neither Tsai nor Eklöf expressly discloses that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with a secondary node change required communication received from a source network node, and wherein the secondary node change required communication further indicates at least one of: target secondary node identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or a second CPC procedure, wherein the second CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration, candidate PSCell identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, information associated with execution conditions associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, a base secondary cell group confirmation, or an indication of a selective activation procedure.
Eklöf ‘691 discloses that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with a secondary node change required communication received from a source network node, and wherein the secondary node change required communication further indicates at least one of: target secondary node identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or a second CPC procedure, wherein the second CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration, candidate PSCell identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, information associated with execution conditions associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, a base secondary cell group confirmation, or an indication of a selective activation procedure (an SN Change Required message includes multiple candidate target node IDs that are associated with a CPC procedure [“target secondary node identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure”], as well as the SCG configuration for each target SN, according to [0329]-[0331]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Eklöf with Eklöf ‘691 such that the multiple SCG configurations are associated with a secondary node change required communication received from a source network node, and wherein the secondary node change required communication further indicates at least one of: target secondary node identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or a second CPC procedure, wherein the second CPC procedure corresponds to the subsequent CPC configuration, candidate PSCell identifiers associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, information associated with execution conditions associated with the one of the first CPC procedure or the second CPC procedure, a base secondary cell group confirmation, or an indication of a selective activation procedure.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve robustness against communication failure in New Radio systems (Eklöf ‘691: [0002]-[0003]).
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645