Specification
The amendments, filed April 27, 2026, have been entered. Claims 4, 6, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-16 are currently pending in the application.
The amendments to the specification have overcome the previous objection. The amendments to claims 4 and 6 have overcome the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant requests that the interpretation of claim 12, which requires the mattress support comprise “only two panels”, to be changed such that the term “panels” is interpreted to mean sections not directly interconnected by hinges, and “sub-panels” be interpreted to mean sections directly interconnected by hinges. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the sub-panels disclosed in Applicant’s are directly interconnected by hinges (such as head sub-panels 55A-C in Figures 1B and 2), head and foot panels 53 and 52, respectively, are also directly interconnected by a hinge 58. Additionally, claim 12 requires that the bed “only” contain two panels. While Applicant’s specification provides for the panels to be comprised as sub-panels, the claim language “only” could reasonably be interpreted to mean the bed frame comprises only two panels, each being an integral construction. As claim 13 requires the head and foot panels to comprise sub-panels, Examiner is noting that in claim 12, and in light of the specification, the term “only” is not being interpreted to limit the claim to head and foot panels of a one-piece construction each, and that the claim can encompass head and foot panels which comprise groups of two or more sub-panels.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 1 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on pages 15-16 that the previously cited art of Chen (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095802) does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2) because, Applicant alleges, that the assignee of the Chen obtained the disclosure from the inventor of the instant application. Applicant states that a supplement response, including a Declaration under Rule 1.130, will be filed providing evidence of these allegations. However, no declaration, affidavit, or otherwise has been filed which includes evidence that the assignee of Chen obtained their disclosure from the inventor of the instant application, and as such, Chen is not disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2). However, in the interest of compact prosecution and in the event evidence is properly and timely submitted at a later date which is then deemed sufficient to disqualify Chen as prior art, claims 1-14 are, in addition to being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Chen in view of the below stated prior art, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Shan (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0248864 in view of the below stated prior art.
Additionally, Applicant argues, on pages 13-14 that the previously cited prior art of Durrans (Patent Publication No. WO 2021/001666 A1) does not disclose the newly amended subject matter of claim 15. However, a new rejection has been entered under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Durrans in view of Chen, where Chen (as Chen has not been disqualified as prior art) is cited for teaching the claimed borders.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12 requires the mattress support to include “only” two panels, the head and foot panels, but claim 13 further requires these panels be further comprised of sub-panels. The claims are therefore being interpreted according to the special definition of a panel provided by paragraph 0042, where a plurality of subpanels may be considered, as a group, a singular panel.
Claims 14 and 16 contain the limitation “a further disassembled mattress foundation” in line 2 of claim 14 and “a further packaged mattress foundation” in line 2 of claim 16. “Further” in these claims is being interpreted to mean an additional mattress foundation, as discussed in Applicant’s specification, paragraph 0029.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0248864) in view of Durrans (Patent Publication No. WO 2021/001666 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shan (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095802) discloses a packaged mattress foundation (paragraph 0029), the packaged mattress foundation 1 comprising: the mattress foundation 1 configured to be packaged (paragraph 0029) and a disassembled mattress foundation 1 being configured to be packaged (Figure 3 and paragraph 0029).
Shan does not explicitly disclose the disassembled mattress foundation being contained in a packaging box having a box length and a box width; the packaged mattress foundation being provided for stacking on a pallet having a pallet length and a pallet width said box length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box width being no greater than the pallet width.
Durrans teaches a packaging box 58 having a box length and a box width (Figure 13d); the packaged mattress foundation 24, 24’ being provided for stacking on a pallet having a pallet length and a pallet width said box 58 length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box 58 width being no greater than the pallet width (Figures 6a-c and 13a-d, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where bed bases may be packaged to fit on standard Euro pallets which are 100cm wide and 120 cm long).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Shan with Durrans (both being directed to foldable, packable bed frame) such that the packaged mattress foundation is provided in a packaging box for stacking on a pallet where the box length and width are no greater than the pallet length and width. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because providing a package which is limited in size in order to fit on a standard pallet maximizes the amount of bed bases which can be transported at once, reducing shipping costs (Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12).
Regarding claim 2, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: said box length is no greater than 122 cm; and said box width is no greater than 102 cm (see Durrans, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where the bed bases are designed to fit onto a standard Euro pallet which is 100cm wide by 120cm long).
Regarding claim 3, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein said disassembled mattress foundation 1 and 2 includes: a mattress support 11-15 for supporting a mattress 60 (see Shan, Figures 2 and 4), said mattress support 11-15 having a head panel 11-12 and a foot panel 13-15, said head panel 11-12 having a head-panel length and a head-panel width (see Shan, Figure 1) and being configured to support a head portion of the mattress (see Shan, Figure 1) said foot panel 13-15 having a foot-panel length and foot panel width and being configured to support a foot portion of the mattress (see Shan, Figures 1 and 4); said head-panel 24 length is no greater than the pallet length; said head-panel 24 width is no greater than the pallet width (see Durrans, Figures 6a-c and 13a-d and Page 16, line 15-Page 17-line 12, also see Shan, Figure 3 and paragraph 0029, where the head and foot panels 11-15 are folded into a single, more compact unit); said foot-panel 13-15 length is no greater than the pallet length; and said foot-panel 13-15 width is no greater than the pallet width (see Durrans, Figures 6a-c and 13a-d and Page 16, line 15-Page 17-line 12, also see Shan, Figure 3 and paragraph 0029, where the head and foot panels 11-15 are folded into a single, more compact unit).
Regarding claim 4, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 11-15 has a head-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 11-12 attached to rail 21); said foot panel 13-15 has a foot-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 13-15 attached to rail 22); an outer rail 22 being directly attached to one of said head-panel bottom and said foot-panel 13-15 bottom (see Shan, Figure 2); an inner rail 21 being directly attached to one of said head-panel 11-13 bottom and said foot-panel bottom not being directly attached to said outer rail 21 (see Shan, Figure 2 and paragraphs 0028-0029); and a hinge interconnecting said outer rail 22 and said inner rail 21 (see Shan, the hinge being defined by the pivot which connects the rails 21 and 22, see Figure 2 and paragraph 0028); said outer rail 22 being distinct from said inner rail 21 when said head panel and said foot panel are folded about said hinge (see Shan, Figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 12, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein said mattress support includes only two panels 11-12 and 13-15, said only two panels being said head panel 11-12 and said foot panel 13-15 (see Shan, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 12. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 11-12 includes a head panel hinge (see Shan, paragraph 0023, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 11 and 12) and only two head subpanels 11 and 12, said only two head subpanels 11 and 12 being a back subpanel 11 and a waist subpanel 12 (see Shan, Figures 1-4) said head-panel hinge interconnecting said back subpanel and said waist subpanel (see Shan, paragraph 0023, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 11 and 12); and said foot panel 13-15 includes only a buttocks-leg foot panel hinge (see Shan, paragraph 0023, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 13 and 14) a leg-foot foot panel hinge (see Shan, paragraph 0027, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 14 and 15) three foot subpanels 13, 14, 15, said only three foot subpanels 13, 14, 15 being a buttock subpanel 13, a leg subpanel 14, and a foot subpanel 15 (see Shan, Figures 1-4), said buttocks-leg foot-panel hinge interconnecting said buttocks subpanel 13 and said leg subpanel 14 (see Shan, paragraph 0023, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 13 and 14), and said leg-foot foot-panel hinge interconnecting said leg subpanel 14 and said foot subpanel 15 (see Shan, paragraph 0027, the hinge defined by the pivotable connection between sub-panels 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 14, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Shan, as modified, further discloses a further disassembled mattress foundation 10 being contained within said packaging box (see Shan, paragraph 0039, where the mattress foundation is folded in the manner of Figures 3 to be placed packaged, and see Durrans, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where multiple bed bases can be stored in a 1.6-meter-high stack on a standard Euro pallet which is 1m wide and 1.2m long)).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Durrans and further in view of Wang (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0034676).
Regarding claim 5, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: head panel 11-12 has a head-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 11-12 attached to rail 21); said foot panel 13-14 has a foot-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 13-15 attached to rail 22); said head-panel 11-12 bottom facing said foot-panel 13-15 bottom when said mattress support 11-15 is folded for shipping (see Shan, Figure 3).
Shan, as modified, does not disclose a back massaging unit is disposed on said head panel at a first position between said head panel and said foot panel; and a foot massaging unit is disposed on said foot panel at a second position between said head panel and said foot panel, said second position being distinct from said first position.
Wang teaches a back massaging unit 190 is disposed on said head panel 181 at a first position 25 (Figures 8 and 11, paragraphs 0065 and 0086) and between said head panel 181 and said foot panel 184 (Figures 8 and 11 and paragraph 0065); and a foot massaging unit 190 is disposed on said foot panel 184 at a second position 25 between said head panel 181 and said foot panel 184, said second position 25 being distinct from said first position 25 (Figures 8 and 11 and paragraph 0065 and 0086, where a slot 25 is located on each of the head panel 181 and foot panel 184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Shan, as modified, with Wang (both being directed to articulating beds) and arrived at a back massaging unit being disposed on said head panel at a first position between said head panel and said foot panel; and a foot massaging unit being disposed on said foot panel at a distinct second position between said head panel and said foot panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the massaging units of Wang provide massage effects to a user when need (paragraphs 0085-0087).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Durrans and Wang and further in view of Bellingroth (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0022516).
Regarding claim 6, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 5. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 11-12 includes a back sub-panel 11 and a waist sub-panel 12; said foot panel 13-15 includes a leg sub-panel 14 and a foot sub-panel 15 (see Shan, Figures 1-4); a back motor 5 is disposed on said head-panel bottom at a third position and is configured to move said waist sub-panel 12 relative to said back sub-panel 11 (see Shan, Figure 2 and paragraph 0032); and said first position 25 (on head panel 181, see Wang, Figures 4-5), said second position 25 (on leg panel 184, see Wang, Figures 4-5), and said fourth position (defined by the motor 155 on foot panel 184, see Wang, Figures 4-5,) are distinct when said head-panel 1 bottom faces said foot-panel 2 bottom for shipping (see Wang, Figures 4-5 where the apertures 25 are positioned on different sides of the bed frame).
Shan, as modified, does not disclose a leg motor is disposed on said foot-panel bottom at a fourth position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel relative to said foot sub-panel; and said third position and said first, second, and fourth positions are distinct when said head-panel bottom faces said foot-panel bottom for shipping.
Bellingroth teaches a leg motor 43 is disposed on said foot-panel 14 bottom at a fourth position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel 9 relative to said foot sub-panel 14 (paragraph 0041 and Figure 5); and said first position of said head motor 32 and said second position of leg motor 34 are distinct when said head-panel 12 bottom faces said foot-panel 14 bottom for shipping (Figures 6-7 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Shan, as modified, with Bellingroth (both being directed to folding, articulating beds) with a leg motor positioned at a fourth location distinct from the first, second, and third locations when the bed frame is folded. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the leg motor of Bellingroth allows for the foot panel to be moved independently from the head panel while still allowing for the bed frame to be folded by offsetting the locations of the head and leg motors (paragraph 0041).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Durrans and further in view of Bellingroth.
Regarding claim 7, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 11-12 has a head-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 11-12 attached to rail 21) and includes a back sub-panel 11 and a waist sub-panel 12 (Figure 2); said foot panel 14015 has a foot-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 13-15 attached to rail 22) said foot panel 13-15 and includes a leg sub-panel 14 and a foot sub-panel 15(see Shan, Figures 2 and 4); a back motor 5 is disposed on said head-panel bottom at a first position and is configured to move said head sub-panel 11 relative to said back sub-panel 12 (see Shan, Figure 2 and paragraph 0032);
Shan, as modified, does not disclose a leg motor is disposed on said foot-panel bottom at a second position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel relative to said foot sub-panel; and said first position and said second position are distinct when said head-panel bottom faces said foot-panel bottom for shipping.
Bellingroth teaches a leg motor 43 is disposed on said foot-panel 14 bottom at a second position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel 9 relative to said foot sub-panel 14 (paragraph 0041 and Figure 5); and said first position said head motor 32 and said second position 34 are distinct when said head-panel 12 bottom faces said foot-panel 14 bottom for shipping (Figures 6-7 and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Shan, as modified, with Bellingroth (both being directed to folding, articulating beds) with a leg motor positioned at a second location distinct from the first location of the head motor when the bed frame is folded. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the leg motor of Bellingroth allows for the foot panel to be moved independently from the head panel while still allowing for the bed frame to be folded by offsetting the locations of the head and leg motors (paragraph 0041).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Durrans and further in view of Huang (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0221881).
Regarding claim 11, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 4. Shan, as modified, further discloses wherein: at least one of said inner rail 21 and said outer rail 22 has a leg-mount plate 10 connected thereto (see Shan, Figure 2 and paragraphs 0039-0040), and a leg for supporting said mattress support 1 and 2 above a floor (see Shan, paragraphs 0039-0040).
Shan, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the leg mount plate including a threaded socket, the leg for supporting said mattress support above a floor includes a bolt, said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket.
Huang teaches said leg mount plate including a threaded socket (of mounting seats 1101, 1102, 1001, and 1002, Figures 1 and 7 and paragraphs 0017 and 0020), the leg 13 for supporting said mattress support 1 above a floor includes a bolt (defined by the fastening bolts, paragraphs 0016-0017), said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket (of mounting seats 1101, 1102, 1001, and 1002, Figures 1 and 7 and paragraphs 0017 and 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Shan, as modified, with Huang (both being directed to folding, articulating beds) such that the leg includes a bolt, said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the bolts of Huang allow for the bed legs to be simply screwed or unscrewed from the sockets in order to set-up or knock-down the mattress support, respectively (paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0020).
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095802) in view of Durrans (Patent Publication No. WO 2021/001666 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095802) discloses a packaged mattress foundation 1 and 2 (Figures 1 and 7-8 and paragraph 0077), the packaged mattress foundation 1 and 2 comprising: a packaging box (described as the container in paragraph 0077) having a box length and a box width (paragraph 0077), and a disassembled mattress foundation 1 and 2 being contained within said packaging box (paragraph 0077, where the mattress foundation is folded in the manner of Figures 7-8 to be placed within the container for transport).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the packaged mattress foundation being provided for stacking on a pallet having a pallet length and a pallet width said box length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box width being no greater than the pallet width.
Durrans teaches the packaged mattress foundation 24, 24’ being provided for stacking on a pallet having a pallet length and a pallet width said box 58 length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box 58 width being no greater than the pallet width (Figures 6a-c and 13a-d, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where bed bases may be packaged to fit on standard Euro pallets which are 100cm wide and 120 cm long).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chen with Durrans (both being directed to foldable, packable bed frame) such that the packaged mattress foundation is provided for stacking on a pallet where the box length and width are no greater than the pallet length and width. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because limiting the size of the package in order to fit on a standard pallet maximizes the amount of bed bases which can be transported at once, reducing shipping costs (Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12).
Regarding claim 2, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said box length is no greater than 122 cm; and said box width is no greater than 102 cm (see Durrans, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where the bed bases are designed to fit onto a standard Euro pallet which is 100cm wide by 120cm long).
Regarding claim 3, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein said disassembled mattress foundation 1 and 2 includes: a mattress support 4, 5, 7-10 for supporting a mattress 60 (see Chen, Figure 1 and paragraph 0078), said mattress support 4, 5, 7-10 having a head panel 1 and a foot panel 2, said head panel 1 having a head-panel length and a head-panel width (see Chen, Figure 1) and being configured to support a head portion of the mattress (see Chen, Figure 1 and paragraph 0078), said foot panel 2 having a foot-panel length and foot panel width and being configured to support a foot portion of the mattress (see Chen, Figure 1 and paragraph 0078); said head-panel 24 length is no greater than the pallet length; said head-panel 24 width is no greater than the pallet width (see Durrans, Figures 6a-c and 13a-d and Page 16, line 15-Page 17-line 12, also see Chen, Figure 4, where the head and foot panels 20 and 30 are contained and shipped within the same box); said foot-panel 24’ length is no greater than the pallet length; and said foot-panel 24’ width is no greater than the pallet width (see Durrans, Figures 6a-c and 13a-d and Page 16, line 15-Page 17-line 12, also see Chen, Figure 4 and paragraph 0077, where the entire mattress foundation 1 and 2 are contained and shipped within the same box).
Regarding claim 4, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 1 has a head-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 6, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 1 attached to rail 3); said foot panel 2 has a foot-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 1, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 2 attached to rail 6); an outer rail 6 being directly attached to one of said head-panel bottom and said foot-panel 10 bottom (see Chen, Figure 6); an inner rail 3 being directly attached to one of said head-panel 5 bottom and said foot-panel bottom not being directly attached to said outer rail 6 (see Chen, Figures 6-8 and paragraph 0077); and a hinge 32 interconnecting said outer rail 6 and said inner rail 3 (see Chen, Figures 15-16 and paragraph 0095); said outer rail 6 being distinct from said inner rail 3 when said head panel and said foot panel are folded about said hinge 32 (see Chen, Figures 15-16 and paragraph 0095).
Regarding claim 7, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 1 has a head-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 6, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 1 attached to rail 3) and includes a back sub-panel 5 and a waist sub-panel 4; said foot panel 2 has a foot-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 1, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 2 attached to rail 6) said foot panel 2 and includes a leg sub-panel 9 and a foot sub-panel 10 (see Chen, Figures 1 and 4); a back motor 15 is disposed on said head-panel bottom at a first position and is configured to move said head sub-panel 4 relative to said back sub-panel 5 (see Chen, Figure 6 and paragraphs 0080-0081); a leg motor 21 is disposed on said foot-panel 2 bottom at a second position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel 9 relative to said foot sub-panel 10 (see Chen, Figure 6 and paragraphs 0083-0084); and said first position 25 (see Chen, Figure 6 defined by the position of the back motor 15), said second position 25 (and see Chen, Figure 6, defined by the position of the leg motor 21), are distinct when said head-panel 1 bottom faces said foot-panel 2 bottom for shipping (see Chen, Figure 6, where the motors 15 and 21 are offset on either side of a longitudinal center line of the bed frame).
Regarding claim 8, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said mattress support 1 and 2 includes a hinge 32 (see Chen, Figures 15-16 and paragraph 0095), said hinge 32 interconnecting said head panel 1 and said foot panel 2 (see Chen, Figures 6-8 and 16, and paragraph 0095); said head panel 1 has a head-panel 1 bottom (see Chen, Figure 6, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 1 attached to rail 3) and, said head-panel bottom having a head-panel left edge, a head-panel right edge opposing said head-panel left edge, and a head-panel outer edge (the left, right, and outer edges of the head panel being defined by the edges positioned on the left and right of the head panel and the edge positioned furthest from the center of the mattress foundation 1 and 2, respectively, see Chen, Figures 1 and 4), said head-panel outer edge being disposed on said head-panel bottom opposingly from said hinge 32 (see Chen, Figures 1 and 4); said foot panel has a foot-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 1, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 2 attached to rail 6), said foot-panel bottom having a foot-panel left edge, a foot-panel right edge opposing said foot-panel left edge, and a foot-panel outer edge (the left, right, and outer edges of the foot panel being defined by the edges positioned on the left and right of the foot panel and the edge positioned furthest from the center of the mattress foundation 1 and 2, respectively, see Chen, Figures 1 and 4), said foot-panel outer edge being disposed on said foot-panel bottom opposingly from said hinge 32 (see Chen, Figure 4); a fixed left border 40 being disposed on one of said foot-panel 2 left edge and said head-panel left edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0100-0101, the left border 40 being defined by the left portion of border 40); a fixed right border 40 being disposed on one of said foot-panel 2 right edge and said head-panel right edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0100-0101, the left border 40 being defined by the left portion of border 40); a fixed outer border 40 being disposed on one of said foot-panel 2 outer edge and said head-panel outer edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0100-0101, the outer border 40 being defined by the portion of border 40 furthest from the center of the mattress foundation); a removable left border 37 being removably attachable to an other of said foot-panel left edge and said head-panel 1 left edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0102-0103, the left border 39 being defined by the border 39 positioned on the left edge of head panel 1), said removable left border 39 being removed when said mattress support 1 and 2 is folded and attached when said mattress support 1 and 2 is unfolded (see Chen, Figures 13-15 and paragraph 0102-0103); a removable right border 39 being removably attachable to an other of said foot-panel right edge and said head-panel 1 right edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0102-0103, the right border 39 being defined by the border 39 positioned on the right edge of head panel 1), said removable right border 39 being removed when said mattress support 1 and 2 is folded and attached when said mattress support 1 and 2 is unfolded (see Chen, Figures 13-15 and paragraph 0102-0105); and a removable outer border 36 being removably attachable to an other of said foot-panel outer edge and said head-panel 1 outer edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraph 0102-0105), said removable outer border 36 being removed when said mattress support 1 and 2 is folded and attached when said mattress support is unfolded 1 and 2 (see Chen, Figures 13-15 and paragraphs 0102-0105).
Regarding claim 10, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 8. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein said mattress support 1 and 2 includes a hook-and-loop fastener 41 and 42 having a first part 41 releasably connected to a second part 42; said first part 41 of said hook-and-loop fastener being disposed on at least one of said removable left border 39, said removable right border 39, and said removable outer border 37 (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraph 0105); and said second part 42 of said hook-and-loop fastener being disposed on at least one of said foot-panel left edge, said foot-panel right edge, said foot-panel outer edge, said head-panel 1 left edge, said head-panel 1 right edge, and said head-panel 1 outer edge (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraph 0105, where the second part 42 is connected to all of said head-panel 1 left edge, said head-panel 1 right edge, and said head-panel 1 outer edge).
Regarding claim 12, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein said mattress support includes only two panels 1 and 2, said only two panels 1 and 2 being said head panel 1 and said foot panel 2 (see Chen, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 12. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 1 includes a head-panel hinge (defined by the hinge connecting panels 4 and 5, Figure 3) and only two head subpanels 4 and 5, said only two head subpanels 4 and 5 being a back subpanel 5 and a waist subpanel 4 (see Chen, Figure 3) said head-panel hinge interconnecting said back subpanel 5 and said waist subpanel 4 (see Chen, Figure 3); and said foot panel 2 includes a buttocks-leg foot-panel hinge (defined by the hinge connecting subpanel 7 and subpanel 9, see Chen, Figure 6), a leg-foot foot-panel hinge (defined by the hinge connecting subpanel 9 and subpanel 10, see Chen, Figure 6) only three foot subpanels 7, 9, and 10, said only three foot subpanels 7, 9, and 10 being a buttock subpanel 7, a leg subpanel 9, and a foot subpanel 10 (see Chen, Figures 1 and 4 and paragraph 0074), said buttocks-leg foot-panel hinge interconnecting said buttocks subpanel and said leg subpanel, and said leg-foot foot-panel hinge interconnecting said leg subpanel and said foot subpanel (see Chen, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 14, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Chen, as modified, further discloses a further disassembled mattress foundation 1 and 2 being contained within said packaging box (paragraph 0077, where the mattress foundation is folded in the manner of Figures 7-8 to be placed within the container for transport, and see Durrans, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where multiple bed bases can be stored in a 1.6-meter-high stack on a standard Euro pallet which is 1m wide and 1.2m long)).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Durrans and further in view of Wang (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0034676).
Regarding claim 5, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: head panel 1 has a head-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 6, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 1 attached to rail 3); said foot panel 2 has a foot-panel bottom (see Chen, Figure 1, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 2 attached to rail 6); said head-panel 5 bottom facing said foot-panel 10 bottom when said mattress support 4, 5, and 7-10 is folded for shipping (see Chen, Figures 7-8);
Chen, as modified, does not disclose a back massaging unit is disposed on said head panel at a first position between said head panel and said foot panel; and a foot massaging unit is disposed on said foot panel at a second position between said head panel and said foot panel, said second position being distinct from said first position.
Wang teaches a back massaging unit 190 is disposed on said head panel 181 at a first position 25 (Figures 8 and 11, paragraphs 0065 and 0086) and between said head panel 181 and said foot panel 184 (Figures 8 and 11 and paragraph 0065); and a foot massaging unit 190 is disposed on said foot panel 184 at a second position 25 between said head panel 181 and said foot panel 184, said second position 25 being distinct from said first position 25 (Figures 8 and 11 and paragraph 0065 and 0086, where a slot 25 is located on each of the head panel 181 and foot panel 184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Chen, as modified, with Wang (both being directed to articulating beds) and arrived at a back massaging unit being disposed on said head panel at a first position between said head panel and said foot panel; and a foot massaging unit being disposed on said foot panel at a distinct second position between said head panel and said foot panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the massaging units of Wang provide massage effects to a user when need (paragraphs 0085-0087).
Regarding claim 6, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 5. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said head panel 1 includes a back sub-panel 5 and a waist sub-panel 4; said foot panel 2 includes a leg sub-panel 9 and a foot sub-panel 10 (see Chen, Figures 1 and 4); a back motor 15 is disposed on said head-panel bottom at a third position and is configured to move said waist sub-panel 4 relative to said back sub-panel 5 (see Chen, Figure 6 and paragraphs 0080-0081); a leg motor 21 is disposed on said foot-panel 2 bottom at a fourth position and is configured to move said leg sub-panel 9 relative to said foot sub-panel 10 (see Chen, Figure 6 and paragraphs 0083-0084); and said first position 25 (on head panel 181, see Wang, Figures 4-5), said second position 25 (on leg panel 184, see Wang, Figures 4-5), said third position (defined by the motor 145 on head panel 181, see Wang, Figures 4-5 and see Chen, Figure 6 defined by the position of the back motor 15), and said fourth position (defined by the motor 155 on foot panel 184, see Wang, Figures 4-5, and see Chen, Figure 6 defined by the position of the leg motor 21) are distinct when said head-panel 1 bottom faces said foot-panel 2 bottom for shipping (see Wang, Figures 4-5 where the apertures 25 are positioned on different sides of the bed frame, and see Chen, Figure 6, where the motors 15 and 21 are offset on either side of a longitudinal center line of the bed frame).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Durrans and further in view of Clenet (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0247138).
Regarding claim 9, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 8. Chen, as modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said fixed left border, said fixed right border, said fixed outer border, said removable left border, said removable right border, and said removable outer border includes a flexible resilient foam.
Clenet teaches wherein at least one border 42 includes a flexible resilient foam (paragraph 0030 and Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fling date to have combined Chen, as modified, with Clenet (both being directed to articulating beds) such that at least one of said fixed left, right, and outer borders said removable left, right, and outer borders includes a flexible resilient foam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the foam border of Clenet helps prevent injury from collisions of a user with the bed frame (paragraph 0032).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Durrans and further in view of Huang (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0221881).
Regarding claim 11, Chen, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1, 3, and 4. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: at least one of said inner rail 3 and said outer rail 6 has a leg-mount plate 12 connected thereto (see Chen, Figure 6 and paragraph 0075), said leg-mount plate 12 having a threaded socket formed therein (see Chen, paragraph 0075); and a leg for supporting said mattress support 1 and 2 above a floor includes a threaded mounting member (see Chen, paragraphs 0075 and 0090), said threaded mounting member being configured to screw into said threaded socket (see Chen, paragraphs 0075 and 0090), said leg being removed when said mattress support 1 and 2 is folded for shipping (see Chen, Figures 7-8) and screwed in when said mattress support 1 and 2 is unfolded for use (see Chen, paragraph 0090).
Chen, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the leg for supporting said mattress support above a floor includes a bolt, said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket.
Huang teaches the leg 13 for supporting said mattress support 1 above a floor includes a bolt (defined by the fastening bolts, paragraphs 0016-0017), said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket (of mounting seats 1101, 1102, 1001, and 1002, Figures 1 and 7 and paragraphs 0017 and 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Chen, as modified, with Huang (both being directed to folding, articulating beds) such that the leg includes a bolt, said bolt being configured to screw into said threaded socket. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the bolts of Huang allow for the bed legs to be simply screwed or unscrewed from the sockets in order to set-up or knock-down the mattress support, respectively (paragraphs 0016-0017 and 0020).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durrans (Patent Publication No. WO 2021/001666 A1) in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 15, Durrans discloses a palletized container of mattress foundations 24 and 24’, comprising: a pallet a pallet length and a pallet width (Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where multiple bed bases can be stored in a 1.6 meter high stack on a standard Euro pallet which is 1m wide and 1.2m long); and a packaged mattress foundation 24 being stacked on said pallet (Figures 13a-d), said packaged mattress foundation 24 including: a packaging box 58 having a box length and a box width (Figure 13d), said box length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box width being no greater than the pallet width (Figures 13a-d, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where bed bases may be packaged to fit on standard Euro pallets which are 100cm wide and 120 cm long); and a disassembled mattress foundation 24 being contained within said packaging box (Figure 13d); said disassembled mattress foundation including :a head panel 100; a foot panel 100 being disposed parallel to said head panel within said packaging box (Figures 6a-6b).
Durrans does not disclose a fixed left border, a fixed right border, and a fixed outer border; said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border being permanently attached along a perimeter of a bottom of one of said head panel and said foot panel; and a removable left border, a removable right border, and a removable outer border being detached from a perimeter of a bottom of one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border; said removable left border, said removable right border, and said removable outer border being attachable to said perimeter of said bottom of said one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border.
Chen teaches a fixed left border 40, a fixed right border 40, and a fixed outer border 40; said fixed left border 40, said fixed right border 40, and said fixed outer border 40 being permanently attached along a perimeter of a bottom of one of said head panel and said foot panel (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0100-0101; and a removable left border 39, a removable right border 39, and a removable outer border 39 being detached from a perimeter of a bottom of one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0102-0103), said fixed right border 40, and said fixed outer border 40; said removable left border 39, said removable right border 39, and said removable outer border 39 being attachable to said perimeter of said bottom of said one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border (see Chen, Figure 14 and paragraphs 0102-0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Durrans with Chen (both being directed to folding, articulating beds) with fixed left, right, and outer borders attached to the head or foot panels and removable left, right, and outer borders detachable from the bottom of the other of the head or foot panels. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the border of Chen allows for the bed frame to have a thicker appearance when in use, which may be aesthetically preferable to some, while still allowing the bed frame to be folded in a thin manner for packaging or storage (paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 16, Durrans, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 15. Durrans, as modified, further discloses a further packaged mattress foundation being stacked on said packaged mattress foundation 24 (Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where multiple bed bases can be stored in a 1.6 meter high stack on a standard Euro pallet which is 1m wide and 1.2m long), said packaged mattress foundation 24 including: a packaging box 58 having a box length and a box width (Figure 13d), said box length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box width being no greater than the pallet width (Figures 13a-d, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where bed bases may be packaged to fit on standard Euro pallets which are 100cm wide and 120 cm long); and a disassembled mattress foundation 24 being contained within said packaging box (Figure 13d).
Allowable Subject Matter
Applicant alleges that the previously cited art of Chen (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095802) does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2) because the assignee of the Chen obtained the disclosure from the inventor of the instant application. Applicant states that a supplemental response, including a Declaration under Rule 1.130, will be filed providing evidence of these allegations. However, no declaration, affidavit, or other evidence has been filed which includes evidence that the assignee of Chen obtained their disclosure from the inventor of the instant application, and as such, Chen cannot be disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2), and, as such, Chen has been cited in the rejections of both claims 8 and 15, and their respective dependent claims. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, should evidence be properly and timely entered that is then deemed sufficient to disqualify Chen as prior art, claims 8 and 15 would contain allowable subject matter, such that claims 15 and 16 would be allowable and claims 8-10 would be objected to as being dependent from a rejected claim and containing allowable subject matter. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating potentially allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, Shan, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Chen, as modified, further discloses wherein: said mattress support 11-15 includes a hinge 32 (see Shan, the hinge being defined by the pivot which connects the rails 21 and 22, see Figure 2 and paragraph 0028); said head panel 11-12 has a head-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the head panel 11-12 attached to rail 21) and, said head-panel bottom having a head-panel left edge, a head-panel right edge opposing said head-panel left edge, and a head-panel outer edge (the left, right, and outer edges of the head panel being defined by the edges positioned on the left and right of the head panel and the edge positioned furthest from the center of the mattress foundation 1 and 2, respectively, see Shan, Figure 2), said head-panel outer edge being disposed on said head-panel bottom opposingly from said hinge (see Shan, the hinge being defined by the pivot which connects the rails 21 and 22, see Figure 2 and paragraph 0028); said foot panel 13-15 has a foot-panel bottom (see Shan, Figure 2, the bottom being defined by the side of the foot panel 14-15 attached to rail 22), said foot-panel bottom having a foot-panel left edge, a foot-panel right edge opposing said foot-panel left edge, and a foot-panel outer edge (the left, right, and outer edges of the foot panel being defined by the edges positioned on the left and right of the foot panel and the edge positioned furthest from the center of the mattress foundation 1 and 2, respectively, see Shan, Figure 2), said foot-panel outer edge being disposed on said foot-panel bottom opposingly from said hinge (see Shan, the hinge being defined by the pivot which connects the rails 21 and 22, see Figure 2 and paragraph 0028). Additionally, regarding claim 15, Durrans discloses a palletized container of mattress foundations 24 and 24’, comprising: a pallet a pallet length and a pallet width (Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where multiple bed bases can be stored in a 1.6 meter high stack on a standard Euro pallet which is 1m wide and 1.2m long); and a packaged mattress foundation 24 being stacked on said pallet (Figures 13a-d), said packaged mattress foundation 24 including: a packaging box 58 having a box length and a box width (Figure 13d), said box length being no greater than the pallet length, and said box width being no greater than the pallet width (Figures 13a-d, Page 16, line 15-Page 17, line 12, where bed bases may be packaged to fit on standard Euro pallets which are 100cm wide and 120 cm long); and a disassembled mattress foundation 24 being contained within said packaging box (Figure 13d).
Clenet (U.S. Publication No. 2011/0247138) is cited as being of interest for teaching a fixed border 30 and 42 disposed on the foot panel left, right, and outer edges 40 and the head panel left, right, and outer edges 40 (Figure 3 and paragraph 0030). Clenet does not disclose a removable left border, a removable right border, and a removable outer border being detached from a perimeter of a bottom of one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border; said removable left border, said removable right border, and said removable outer border being attachable to said perimeter of said bottom of said one of said head panel and said foot panel not attached to said fixed left border, said fixed right border, and said fixed outer border. Moreover, there would be no motivation to further modify Clenet such that some of the fixed borders are removable, as the borders of Clenet are provided to give the bed frame a smooth exterior surface with continuous rounded edges at all corners. This includes extruding the borders in large pieces and providing a fabric cover tightly stapled to the head and foot panels 38. Providing removable borders would likely break up the smooth exterior surface that Clenet provides, rendering it unsuitable for its intended use. As such, in the interest of compact prosecution, if Chen were to be disqualified as prior art as noted above, there would then be no disclosure, teaching, or suggestion in the prior art of record such that a rejection of claims 8 and 15 may be reasonably maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679