DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-22, as originally filed, are presently pending and have been elected and considered below.
Restriction
Restriction requirement is withdrawn in light of applicant’s arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3-11, 14, 16-17, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0231771 A1, PIRON et al. (hereinafter PIRON) in view of US 2015/0289779 A1, Fischl et al. (hereinafter Fischl).
As to claim 1, PIRON discloses a method, comprising:
determining physical attributes of a tumor within a human or animal using one or more processors of one or more computers (Fig 5; pars 0005-0006, one or more processors being utilized and/or assist for all relevant surgical operations), wherein the tumor is at least partially surrounded by the brain or other organs (Fig 8; pars 0042, 0048, 0114, identifying location, size, or shape of a tumor around the brain);
preparing a three-dimensional volumetric model of the tumor according to the physical attributes of the tumor using the one or more processors (pars 0156, 0163, 0166, forming a digital 3D model based on the dimension/size of the tumor);
preparing three-dimensional approach volumes using the one or more processors, wherein the approach volumes include volumetric models of regions of the brain occupied by at least a portion of the tumor (Figs 7-10; pars 0041-0043, 0046 0077, 0091, 0116, 0119, a translucent model (e.g. a 3D visual representation of the brain) being prepared for a brain surgery);
determining an initial path for each of the approach volumes from an entry point to an end point at the tumor using the one or more processors (Fig 8; pars 0040-0041, 0043-0047, 0055-0057, identifying initial path from entry point to end point);
calculating a ranking for each initial path based on proximity of the initial paths with the approach volumes using the one or more processors (Fig 8; pars 0041, 0045-0047, 0099, calculating score for projected surgical path); and
determining an optimum surgical path that is based on one or more of the initial paths using the one or more processors, wherein the optimum surgical path is selected from among highest ranked initial paths (pars 0041, 0045-0047, 0099, a desirable surgical path being determined based on calculated score).
Nevertheless, Fischl, in the same or similar field of endeavor, additionally teaches determining an optimal path from initial paths for a brain surgery operation (Fig 4; pars 0016-0017, 0046, 0048,58).
Therefore, consider PIRON and Fischl’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Fischl’s teachings in PIRON’s method by selecting a desired or optimal path from initially identified path to improve surgical safety and minimize the risk.
As to claim 3, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: obtaining aspects of the approach volumes from a database of predetermined models of regions of a human brain (PIRON: pars 0059, 0067, 0073, 0168, search and identify suitable candidates from a database of existing pre-fabricated or pre-designed pars based on 3D dimension).
As to claim 4, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining a collection of one or more affected approach volumes occupied by at least a portion of the tumor using the one or more processors (PIRON: Fig 8, define regions or volume of interest for surgical operation (e.g. volumes where the tumor occupied) pars 0040, 0087, 0121).
As to claim 5, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: using the one or more processors to determine points on each initial path that are either inside or outside brain tissue (PIRON: Figs 3A-3B, 7B, 8, 10; pars 0043, 0055-0057).
As to claim 6, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: using the one or more processors to determine boundaries of regions free of brain tissue that lie between the entry point and the end point (PIRON: Fig 7B; pars 0057, 0061, 0064, the boundary being associated with the bone or skull opening).
As to claim 7, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining at least one entry point with each approach volume, where in each entry point is defined by a three dimensional point in space outside of skull structures that contain the brain (PIRON: pars 0005, 0009, 0038, a reference point in 3D space located on or near the patient).
As to claim 8, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 7, comprising: determining a surgical path for each approach volume that includes an initial craniotomy location and the end point, using the one or more processors (PIRON: Figs 8, 10, determine location(s) for attaching bone flap fastener(s); pars 0016, 0042, 0044-0046, 0048, 0057).
As to claim 9, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 8, comprising: generating rays originating from each entry point in a direction toward the end point using the one or more processors; raycasting against a geometric model of the skull structures using the one or more processors (PIRON: Fig 5, a projection device for raycasting; pars 0099, 0114, 0132, 0164, optically projecting onto the cutting surface); and determining the initial craniotomy location for each approach volume according to a location where each ray of the generated rays intersects the skull structures (PIRON: pars 0143, 0164).
As to claim 10, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining one or more exit surfaces defining three dimensional surface meshes that are free of intersections with brain tissue using the one or more processors (PIRON: pars 0039, 0059, 0064, 0164, exit surface being within 3D surface map (mesh) being scanned and determined without intersecting brain tissue; Fischl: pars 0048, 0053, 0064).
As to claim 11, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 10, comprising: determining an exit point along a surgical path where the surgical path leaves a corresponding exit surface and enters surrounding brain tissue using the one or more processors (PIRON: Fig 8; pars 0041, 0044-0048; Fischl: pars 0047-0048).
As to claim 14, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 9, comprising: using the one or more processors to generate a curved surgical path for each surgical path (PIRON: Figs 6-8; pars 0046-0049, 0059, 0145, 0151, 0156, 0170, a surgical path to fit with curvature of the skull structure among other considerations).
As to claim 16, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: accessing multiple two dimensional cross sectional images of the brain, wherein each two dimensional image has a corresponding z position using the one or more processors and relating x and y values of brain structure represented in the two dimensional images with the corresponding z positions of the two dimensional images to create a volumetric model of a cranium and associated structures within a head and skull base using the one or more processors (PIRON: Figs 2A, 4, 7B, 10; pars 0040, 0052, 0056-0057, 0085-0086, fiducial makers for the brain structure corresponding to position and orientation in x, y, and z coordinates being determined and tracked).
As to claim 17, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining one or more hazard zones defining three dimensional regions of the brain susceptible to damage by surgical intervention using the one or more processors (PIRON: pars 0041, 0044, 0048, 0116, one or more region being identified with score measuring suitability or risk of surgery); and determining a numerical hazard score for each hazard zone, the numerical hazard score defining a relative danger associated with each hazard zone using the one or more processors (PIRON: pars 0041, 0044, 0048, 0116, the score represents relative risk in surgical intervention).
As to claim 19, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, wherein calculating the ranking for each initial path comprises: determining a length of the initial path (PIRON: par 0046); determining a total cumulative distance along the initial path that is within brain tissue (PIRON: par 0046); and/or determining an angular alignment of the approach path relative to the longitudinal axis of the tumor (PIRON: par 0119).
As to claim 20, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: accepting input from a user modifying at least one point along the initial paths after the optimum surgical path is determined (PIRON: pars 0057, 0065, 0116, 0119, multipoint trajectories maybe manually adjusted).
As to claim 21, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: accepting input from a user selecting one of the initial paths as the optimum surgical path (PIRON: Fig 8; pars 0045-0047, selecting the goodness of fit (e.g. optimal) sulcal path as a surgical path).
As to claim 22, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: displaying the optimum surgical path on a display device, wherein the optimum surgical path is superimposed over an image of the brain (PIRON: Figs 5. 8; pars 0040, 0043, 0094, 0099, overlaid display).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PIRON in view of Fischl and further in view of US 2014/0007309 A1, Plodinec et al. (hereinafter Plodinec).
As to claim 2, PIRON as modified discloses the method of claim 1 but does not expressly disclose subdividing the tumor into discrete sample points in a predetermined grid using the one or more processors. Plodinec, in the same or similar field of endeavor, further teaches subdividing the tumor into discrete sample points in a predetermined grid (pars 0030-0033, 0052, 0054, 0139). Therefore, consider PIRON as modified and Plodinec’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Plodinec’s teachings in PIRON as modified’s method to provide finer spatial resolution for tumor treatment or surgical operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13, 15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
Prior art of record (PIRON, Fischl, and Plodinec) neither expressly discloses alone nor teaches in combination functions and features recited in claims 12-13, 15, and 18, respectively.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662