DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 23 is/are allowable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1). Applicant continues, claim 23 recites, inter alia, “generating, via a first wireless transceiver, first communication data corresponding singly to a mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile communication device is communicating a first set of a plurality of packets at the first location, the first communication data including at least (i) a first set of a plurality of timestamp data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the first set is timestamped and (ii) identification data of the mobile communication device; generating, via a second wireless transceiver, second communication data corresponding singly to the mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile communication device is communicating a second set of a plurality of packets at the second location, the second communication data including at least (i) a second set of a plurality of timestamp data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the second set is timestamped and (ii) the identification data of the mobile communication device... generating, via the computer server, travel time data for the mobile communication device with respect to a travel segment defined between the first location and the second location using the first communication data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets and the second communication data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets...”. Nadeem does not disclose at least these features, as recited. In contrast, Nadeem consistently refers to a single timestamp in association with a single message. For example, at paragraph [0066], which is cited in the rejection, Nadeem discloses that “the central system 215 receives a message from a first roadside unit, for instance unit 206 with a time stamp t1 and a BT ID related to a vehicle which may be called ID_Veh_a” and similarly “the central system 215 also receives a message from a second roadside unit, for instance from unit 205 with a time stamp t2 and the BT ID related to the vehicle with ID Id_Veh_a.” That is, Nadeem does not disclose a plurality of timestamps corresponding to a plurality of packets, as recited in the claims. Also, Nadeem does not disclose “packet sniffing” with respect to a given set of a plurality of packets from a mobile communication device at a given location and then processing that set of the plurality of packets to generate a corresponding set of a plurality of timestamp data. Rather, Nadeem Page 9 of discloses an active inquiry-response system where the roadside unit prompts for a response message by sending an “inquiry message” and then timestamps the single, solicited response message that the roadside unit receives back. See Nadeem at paragraphs [0008], [0053], [0064], and [0085], as well as Nadeem's claims. Also, regarding paragraph [0055], Nadeem's passing mention of a “sniffer” in an alternative embodiment appears to relate to identifying a Bluetooth transmitter for instances in which that Bluetooth device is in non-discoverable mode. Furthermore, in setting forth and maintaining the rejection, the Office cites Nadeem's disclosure of a “roadside system, especially along a busy road, can detect multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and send multiple messages with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles” at paragraph [0087] with respect to the above-mentioned claimed features. See the final Office Action at page 5. However, contrary to the Office's allegations, in this cited portion, Nadeem is merely describing a system that detects multiple different vehicles on a busy road and sends a separate, single timestamped message for each vehicle. Moreover, in the subsequent sentence in paragraph [0087], Nadeem further states that “preferably, the roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system.” In context, Nadeem merely discloses a one-to-one relationship of a single message per vehicle. As discussed above, Nadeem's methodology is consistently based on a single timestamp per vehicle. Additionally, in paragraph [0023], Nadeem discloses that once a timestamped signal is received by the traffic management system, then the processor filters out subsequent timestamped signals. Also, it is further noted that Nadeem does not even appear to mention the term, “packet,” in US 2011/0156924. As such, Nadeem fails to disclose or suggest each and every feature of the independent claims.
5. However, Applicant is reminded that in telecommunication and networking, a packet is a formatted unit of data carried by a packet-switched network. A packet consists of control information and payload. In general, the payload is the data that is carried on behalf of an application. For Example, a message is transmitted as the payload of a packet. Payload is usually of variable length, up to a maximum that is set by the network protocol and sometimes the equipment on the route. When necessary, networks break a large payload and send it to the receiver in several packets or formatted units of data. Accordingly, the message of Nadeem is transmitted in multiple packets. As such, the message of Nadeem was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant’s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as a plurality of packets. That is, Nadeem discloses a plurality of packets, as recited in the claims. Furthermore, while Applicant asserts Nadeem only discloses an active inquiry-response system, Nadeem is multiple paragraphs, including relevant paragraphs [0053 & 0090], discloses “Bluetooth protocols simplify the discovery and setup of services between devices. Bluetooth devices can advertise all of the services they provide. This makes using services easier because more of the security, network address and permission configuration can be automated than with many other network types. Any Bluetooth device in discoverable mode will transmit the following information on demand: a) Device name, b) Device class, c) List of services, d) Technical information, for example, device features, manufacturer, Bluetooth specification used, clock offset.” and “one may determine a travel time over a route that includes at least three remote systems by tracing a single vehicle with a Bluetooth device in discoverable mode or with a sniffer type detection.” That is, when a Bluetooth device of a vehicle is in discoverable mode, it sends the information in packets, and the packets are sniffed by the roadside units. Accordingly, Nadeem teaches packet sniffing. Applicant has amended the claim to recite “each packet of the first set is timestamped” and “each packet of the second set is timestamped.” The feature of timestamping each packet is not disclosed by Nadeem. Accordingly, the newly amended features above have necessitated new reference Loc (US-20100265931-A1), which teaches, in brief, including a time stamp in each packet (See at least [0020]). Accordingly, the combination of Nadeem and Loc teaches timestamping each packet.
6. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
7. Applicant argues independent claim(s) 8 has/have been amended similar to independent claim 1 and it/they is/are allowable for reasons similar to those presented in favor of patentability of claim 1.
8. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
9. Applicant argues the dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of its/their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claim(s).
10. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim(s) 2, 8-9, 23-24, and 27
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, wherein the identification data is based on a media access control (MAC) address associated with the mobile communication device (See at least Fig. 2, and [0059-0061]: a Traffic Controller (TC) 210 has memory to store data, such as a MAC address [i.e., a media access control (MAC) address associated with the mobile communication device] or similar ID data derived from data that has been transmitted by a BT device in a vehicle in a discoverable mode).
In regard to claim 8
, Nadeem discloses a system comprising (See at least [0088]: the system [i.e., a system] and methods for determination of a travel time of a single vehicle):
a first wireless transceiver assigned to a first location and setup to perform packet sniffing at the first location, the first wireless transceiver being configured to generate first communication data corresponding singly to a mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile communication device is communicating a first set of a plurality of packets at the first location, the first communication data including at least (i) a first set of a plurality timestamp data (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0059-0060 & 0065-0066 & 0087]: a receiver [i.e., wireless transceiver] is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter [i.e., a mobile communication device] such as a Bluetooth transmitter. A traffic controller contains a traffic controller (TC) unit 210 that is connected with a BT receiver 211 [i.e., a first wireless transceiver]. The traffic controller unit 210 is enabled to receive and process data provided by the BT receiver 211. A roadside unit that is Bluetooth enabled and which has a processor and a communication device to transfer data with the outside world such as device 205. The unit 210 is a BT enhanced TC unit that is enabled or programmed to search for BT devices within BT reach of unit 211 [i.e., a first wireless transceiver assigned to a first location, Examiner notes, as seen by Fig. 2 of Nadeem, Bluetooth receiver 211, associated with unit 205, is located at an intersection. The area within Bluetooth reach of unit 211 is the first location]. The BT enhanced or enabled unit 210 is programmed to conduct searching for BT discoverable devices on a continuous basis. A traffic controller 205 controls a traffic light 204. BT enabled road side units, such as units 205 and 206 have a wireless communication channel such as channel 208 and 209 with a central system 215, which has at least a processor, a memory and communication equipment 217 to receive data from roadside units such as units 205 and 206 and to transmit data to roadside units such as 205 and 26. A central system 215 is a Traffic Management Center. BT receivers will be able to recognize and identify the BT devices in the vehicles that are passing by the roadside units. Since these traffic controllers are installed at road intersections, BT receivers would be able to track vehicles between intersections. The central system 215 receives a message [i.e., first communication data corresponding singly to a mobile communication device] from a first roadside unit with a time stamp t1 [i.e., a first set of a plurality timestamp data] and a BT ID [i.e., identification data of the mobile communication device] related to a vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages [i.e., a plurality of packets, Examiner notes, a message is divided into small units which are called packets and then transferred between the sender and the receiver. Accordingly, a message is essentially a plurality of packets transferred over a network] with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. The roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system);
a second wireless transceiver set up to perform packet sniffing at a second location, the second wireless transceiver being configured to generate second communication data corresponding singly to the mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile communication device is communicating a second set of a plurality of packets at the second location, the second communication data including at least (i) a second set of a plurality of timestamp data (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0059-0060 & 0063-0066 & 0087]: a receiver [i.e., wireless transceiver] is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter [i.e., the mobile communication device] such as a Bluetooth transmitter. A traffic controller contains a traffic controller (TC) unit 210 that is connected with a BT receiver 211 [i.e., a second wireless transceiver]. The traffic controller unit 210 is enabled to receive and process data provided by the BT receiver 211. A roadside unit that is Bluetooth enabled and which has a processor and a communication device to transfer data with the outside world such as device 205. The unit 210 is a BT enhanced TC unit that is enabled or programmed to search for BT devices within BT reach of unit 211 [i.e., a second wireless transceiver … at a second location, Examiner notes, unit 206, includes a Bluetooth receiver 211 which is the second wireless transceiver. Furthermore, as seen by Fig. 2 of Nadeem, Bluetooth receiver 211, associated with unit 206, is located at an intersection. The area within Bluetooth reach of unit 211 is the second location]. The BT enhanced or enabled unit 210 is programmed to conduct searching for BT discoverable devices on a continuous basis. A traffic controller 206 which is related to a traffic light 203. A traffic controller 205 controls a traffic light 204. A similar process of detecting and recording an ID of a BT device takes place in another roadside unit, which is BT enabled, for instance in unit 206, which is also enabled to control a traffic light 203. BT enabled road side units, such as units 205 and 206 have a wireless communication channel such as channel 208 and 209 with a central system 215, which has at least a processor, a memory and communication equipment 217 to receive data from roadside units such as units 205 and 206 and to transmit data to roadside units such as 205 and 206. A central system 215 is a Traffic Management Center. BT receivers will be able to recognize and identify the BT devices in the vehicles that are passing by the roadside units. Since these traffic controllers are installed at road intersections, BT receivers would be able to track vehicles between intersections. The central system 215 receives a message [i.e., second communication data corresponding singly to the mobile communication device] from a second roadside unit with a time stamp t1 [i.e., a second set of a plurality timestamp data] and a BT ID [i.e., identification data of the mobile communication device] related to a vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages [i.e., a plurality of packets, Examiner notes, a message is divided into small units which are called packets and then transferred between the sender and the receiver. Accordingly, a message is essentially a plurality of packets transferred over a network] with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. The roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system); and
a computer server in data communication with the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver, the computer server being configured to perform a method that includes (See at least [0085]: the remote system will send the collected information to a central system [i.e., a computer server]. The central system, based on the collected information from multiple remote or roadside systems [i.e., in data communication with the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver], is able to track vehicles, for instance traveling between intersections and to calculate travel times between remote systems):
storing the first communication data from the first wireless transceiver in a database system (See at least [0081]: the Bluetooth signal [i.e., the first communication data from the first wireless transceiver] that is received by a system is processed by the system and is stored [i.e., storing in a database system] or buffered to be combined with additional data such as a timestamp and a location stamp to be forwarded to the outside world such as another system. The same happens at the second system. It is left to the central system to match the messages from first and second system);
storing the second communication data from the second wireless transceiver in the database system (See at least [0081]: the Bluetooth signal [i.e., the second communication data from the second wireless transceiver] that is received by a system is processed by the system and is stored [i.e., storing … in the database system or buffered to be combined with additional data such as a timestamp and a location stamp to be forwarded to the outside world such as another system. The same happens at the second system. It is left to the central system to match the messages from first and second system);
extracting the first communication data and the second communication data via the identification data of the mobile communication device (See at least [0085]: the remote system will send the collected information to a central system. The central system, based on the collected information from multiple remote or roadside systems, is able to track vehicles for instance traveling between intersections and to calculate travel times between remote systems. Examiner notes, calculating travel time based on the collected information necessarily requires extracting the first communication data and the second communication data);
generating travel time data for the mobile communication device with respect to a travel segment defined between the first location and the second location using the first communication data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets and the second communication data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets (See at least [0069 & 0085]: the central system determines the travel time between the two roadside units [i.e., generating travel time data for the mobile communication device with respect to a travel segment defined between the first location and the second location]. Based on the geographical location of these units and their known distance the system 215 also determines an average speed of the vehicle between the two roadside locations of the units 205 and 206. The remote system will send the collected information to a central system. The central system, based on the collected information from multiple remote or roadside systems [i.e., using the first communication data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets and the second communication data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets], is able to track vehicles for instance traveling between intersections and to calculate travel times between remote systems);
generating aggregated travel time data for the travel segment, the aggregated travel time data including at least the travel time data of the mobile communication device for the travel segment and other travel time data of one or more other mobile communication devices for the travel segment (See at least [0069]: the central system determines the travel time between the two roadside units [i.e., generating aggregated travel time data for the travel segment]. Based on the geographical location of these units and their known distance the system 215 also determines an average speed of the vehicle between the two roadside locations of the units 205 and 206); and
transmitting the aggregated travel time data for visual representation on display technology in response to a request for the aggregated travel time data (See at least Fig. 3, and [0089]: the processor has a communication port 1207 to communicate with a network. An instruction set or program is stored in a memory 1202 for executing the methods. The instruction set is provided and combined with the data in a processor 1203, which processes the instructions of 1202 applied to the data of 1201. Any signal resulting from the processor is outputted on a device 1204. Such a device for instance is a display [i.e., visual representation on display technology]. Such a device is a communication device to transmit output data on a communication channel).
Nadeem is silent timestamp data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the first set is timestamped,
timestamp data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the second set is timestamped.
However, Loc teaches the computation of the distance between the controlling device and a tracking device. The tracking device sends a request to the controlling device for time sync, the controlling device responds with a number of time-sync data packets, each packet includes a time stamp [i.e., each packet of the first set is timestamped and each packet of the second set is timestamped] that indicates the time the packet is transmitted from the controlling device (Figs. 1-5, and [0016 & 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem in view of Loc with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and include a timestamp in each packet that is transmitted.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Loc, to monitor or display distances from a fixed, stationary device to objects such as cars, bicycles, people and animals (See at least [0010]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows objects to be tracked between different locations.
In regard to claim 9
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 9 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regard to claim 23
, Nadeem discloses a computer-implemented method comprising (See at least Fig. 13, and [0031 & 0088]: a computer system for performing the methods for determination of a travel time of a single vehicle):
generating, via a first wireless transceiver, first communication data corresponding singly to a mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile communication device that communicating a first set of a plurality of packets at the first location, the first communication data including at least (i) a first set of a plurality of timestamp data (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0059-0060 & 0065-0066 & 0087]: a receiver [i.e., wireless transceiver] is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter [i.e., a mobile communication device] such as a Bluetooth transmitter. A traffic controller contains a traffic controller (TC) unit 210 that is connected with a BT receiver 211 [i.e., a first wireless transceiver]. The traffic controller unit 210 is enabled to receive and process data provided by the BT receiver 211. A roadside unit that is Bluetooth enabled and which has a processor and a communication device to transfer data with the outside world such as device 205. The unit 210 is a BT enhanced TC unit that is enabled or programmed to search for BT devices within BT reach of unit 211. The BT enhanced or enabled unit 210 is programmed to conduct searching for BT discoverable devices on a continuous basis. A traffic controller 205 controls a traffic light 204. BT enabled road side units, such as units 205 and 206 have a wireless communication channel such as channel 208 and 209 with a central system 215, which has at least a processor, a memory and communication equipment 217 to receive data from roadside units such as units 205 and 206 and to transmit data to roadside units such as 205 and 26. A central system 215 is a Traffic Management Center. BT receivers will be able to recognize and identify the BT devices in the vehicles that are passing by the roadside units. Since these traffic controllers are installed at road intersections, BT receivers would be able to track vehicles between intersections. The central system 215 receives a message [i.e., first communication data corresponding singly to a mobile communication device] from a first roadside unit with a time stamp t1 [i.e., a first set of a plurality timestamp data] and a BT ID [i.e., identification data of the mobile communication device] related to a vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages [i.e., a plurality of packets, Examiner notes, a message is divided into small units which are called packets and then transferred between the sender and the receiver. Accordingly, a message is essentially a plurality of packets transferred over a network] with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. The roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system);
generating, via a second wireless transceiver, second communication data corresponding singly to the mobile communication device upon performing packet sniffing as the mobile commination device is communicating a second set of a plurality of packets at the second location, the second communication data including at least (i) a second set of a plurality of timestamp data (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0059-0060 & 0063-0066 & 0087]: a receiver [i.e., wireless transceiver] is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter [i.e., the mobile communication device] such as a Bluetooth transmitter. A traffic controller contains a traffic controller (TC) unit 210 that is connected with a BT receiver 211 [i.e., a second wireless transceiver]. The traffic controller unit 210 is enabled to receive and process data provided by the BT receiver 211. A roadside unit that is Bluetooth enabled and which has a processor and a communication device to transfer data with the outside world such as device 205. The unit 210 is a BT enhanced TC unit that is enabled or programmed to search for BT devices within BT reach of unit 211 [i.e., a second wireless transceiver … at a second location, Examiner notes, unit 206, includes a Bluetooth receiver 211 which is the second wireless transceiver. Furthermore, as seen by Fig. 2 of Nadeem, Bluetooth receiver 211, associated with unit 206, is located at an intersection. The area within Bluetooth reach of unit 211 is the second location]. The BT enhanced or enabled unit 210 is programmed to conduct searching for BT discoverable devices on a continuous basis. A traffic controller 206 which is related to a traffic light 203. A traffic controller 205 controls a traffic light 204. A similar process of detecting and recording an ID of a BT device takes place in another roadside unit, which is BT enabled, for instance in unit 206, which is also enabled to control a traffic light 203. BT enabled road side units, such as units 205 and 206 have a wireless communication channel such as channel 208 and 209 with a central system 215, which has at least a processor, a memory and communication equipment 217 to receive data from roadside units such as units 205 and 206 and to transmit data to roadside units such as 205 and 206. A central system 215 is a Traffic Management Center. BT receivers will be able to recognize and identify the BT devices in the vehicles that are passing by the roadside units. Since these traffic controllers are installed at road intersections, BT receivers would be able to track vehicles between intersections. The central system 215 receives a message [i.e., second communication data corresponding singly to the mobile communication device] from a second roadside unit with a time stamp t1 [i.e., a second set of a plurality timestamp data] and a BT ID [i.e., identification data of the mobile communication device] related to a vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages [i.e., a plurality of packets, Examiner notes, a message is divided into small units which are called packets and then transferred between the sender and the receiver. Accordingly, a message is essentially a plurality of packets transferred over a network] with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. The roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system);
storing the first communication data from the first wireless transceiver in a database system (See at least [0081]: the Bluetooth signal [i.e., the first communication data from the first wireless transceiver] that is received by a system is processed by the system and is stored [i.e., storing in a database system] or buffered to be combined with additional data such as a timestamp and a location stamp to be forwarded to the outside world such as another system. The same happens at the second system. It is left to the central system to match the messages from first and second system);
storing the second communication data from the second wireless transceiver in the database system (See at least [0063 & 0081]: the Bluetooth signal [i.e., the second communication data from the second wireless transceiver] that is received by a system is processed by the system and is stored [i.e., storing … in the database system or buffered to be combined with additional data such as a timestamp and a location stamp to be forwarded to the outside world such as another system. The same happens at the second system. It is left to the central system to match the messages from first and second system);
extracting, via a computer server, the first connumeration data and the second communicating data via the identification data of the mobile communication device (See at least [0085]: the remote system will send the collected information to a central system. The central system, based on the collected information from multiple remote or roadside systems, is able to track vehicles for instance traveling between intersections and to calculate travel times between remote systems. Examiner notes, calculating travel time based on the collected information necessarily requires extracting the first communication data and the second communication data);
generating, via the computer server, travel time data for the mobile communication device with respect to a travel segment defined between the first location and the second location using the first communication data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets and the second communication data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets (See at least [0069 & 0085]: the central system determines the travel time between the two roadside units [i.e., generating, via the computer server, travel time data for the mobile communication device with respect to a travel segment defined between the first location and the second location]. Based on the geographical location of these units and their known distance the system 215 also determines an average speed of the vehicle between the two roadside locations of the units 205 and 206. The remote system will send the collected information to a central system. The central system, based on the collected information from multiple remote or roadside systems [i.e., using the first communication data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets and the second communication data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets], is able to track vehicles for instance traveling between intersections and to calculate travel times between remote systems);
generating aggregated travel time data for the travel segment, the aggregated travel time data including at least the travel time data of the mobile communication device for the travel segment and other travel time data of one or more other mobile communication devices for the travel segment (See at least [0069]: the central system determines the travel time between the two roadside units [i.e., generating aggregated travel time data for the travel segment]. Based on the geographical location of these units and their known distance the system 215 also determines an average speed of the vehicle between the two roadside locations of the units 205 and 206); and
transmitting the aggregated travel time data for visual presentation on display technology in response to a request for the aggregated travel time data (See at least Fig. 3, and [0089]: the processor has a communication port 1207 to communicate with a network. An instruction set or program is stored in a memory 1202 for executing the methods. The instruction set is provided and combined with the data in a processor 1203, which processes the instructions of 1202 applied to the data of 1201. Any signal resulting from the processor is outputted on a device 1204. Such a device for instance is a display [i.e., visual representation on display technology]. Such a device is a communication device to transmit output data on a communication channel),
wherein,
the first wireless transceiver is assigned to the first location and setup to perform packet sniffing at the first location (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0066]: a receiver is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter such as a Bluetooth transmitter. The central system 215 receives a message from a first roadside unit [i.e., the first wireless transceiver is assigned to the first location]);
the second wireless transceiver is assigned to the second location and setup to perform packet sniffing at the second location (See at least Fig. 2, [0055 & 0063-0066]: a receiver is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., setup to perform packet sniffing] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter such as a Bluetooth transmitter. A similar process of detecting and recording an ID of a BT device takes place in another roadside unit, which is BT enabled, for instance in unit 206, which is also enabled to control a traffic light 203. The central system 215 also receives a message from a second roadside unit [i.e., the second wireless transceiver is assigned to the second location], for instance from unit 205 with a time stamp t2 and the BT ID related to the vehicle).
Nadeem is silent timestamp data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the first set is timestamped,
timestamp data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets such that each packet of the second set is timestamped.
However, Loc teaches the computation of the distance between the controlling device and a tracking device. The tracking device sends a request to the controlling device for time sync, the controlling device responds with a number of time-sync data packets, each packet includes a time stamp [i.e., each packet of the first set is timestamped and each packet of the second set is timestamped] that indicates the time the packet is transmitted from the controlling device (Figs. 1-5, and [0016 & 0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem in view of Loc with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and include a timestamp in each packet that is transmitted.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Loc in regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 24
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23,
the first wireless transceiver includes one or more radio frequency transceivers and one or more chipsets to at least generate the first communication data via packet sniffing (See at least [0051-0055 & 0066]: Bluetooth is a wireless standard and a communications protocol utilizing a 2.4 GHz radio spectrum. A receiver is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., first wireless transceiver] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter such as a Bluetooth transmitter. Examiner notes, the sniffer of the first roadside unit necessarily requires a chipset to generate the data); and
the second wireless transceiver includes one or more radio frequency transceivers and one or more chipsets to at least generate the second communication data via packet sniffing (See at least [0051-0055 & 0066]: Bluetooth is a wireless standard and a communications protocol utilizing a 2.4 GHz radio spectrum. A receiver is a sniffer or a sniffer-like receiver [i.e., second wireless transceiver] that is enabled to detect identifying properties of a transmitter such as a Bluetooth transmitter. Examiner notes, the sniffer of the second roadside unit necessarily requires a chipset to generate the data).
In regard to claim 27
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 27 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 24 above, therefore claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 24.
13. Claim(s) 3, 10, and 21-22
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Nekoui et al. (US-20230152471-A1).
In regard to claim 3
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, accordingly the rejection of claim 23 is incorporated.
Further, Nadeem discloses wherein:
the first communication data includes at least (a) the first location data of the first location, (b) the identification data of the mobile communication device location, (c) the first set of the plurality of timestamp data respectively corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets (See at least Fig. 2, [0066 & 0087]: the central system 215 receives a message [i.e., first communication data] from a first roadside unit, for instance unit 206 with a time stamp t1 [i.e., first set of the plurality of timestamp data] and a BT ID [i.e., identification data] related to a vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. Preferably, the roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, Nadeem suggests multiple messages are sent for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. Since each message is timestamped, multiple messages for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles is a first set of a plurality timestamp data corresponding to a first set of a plurality of packets),
the second communication data includes at least (a) the second location data of the second location, (b) the identification data of the mobile communication device, (c) the second set of the plurality of timestamp data respectively corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets (See at least Fig. 2 and [0066 & 0087]: the central system 215 also receives a message [i.e., second communication data] from a second roadside unit [i.e., at the second location], for instance from unit 205 with a time stamp t2 [i.e., the second set of the plurality of timestamp data] and the BT ID [i.e., identification data] related to the vehicle. A roadside system, especially along a busy road, detects multiple Bluetooth devices related to multiple vehicles and timestamp and sends multiple messages with an identifier for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. Preferably, the roadside system transmits a timestamped message related to a Bluetooth device carrying vehicle to the central system, before the vehicle is detected by the next roadside system. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, Nadeem suggests multiple messages are sent for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles. Since each message is timestamped, multiple messages for each of the Bluetooth device carrying vehicles is a second set of a plurality of timestamp data corresponding to a second set of a plurality of packets),
Nadeem, as modified by Loc, is silent on (d) a first set of received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets;
(d) a second set of received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets.
However, Nekoui teaches (d) a first set of received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets (See at least Fig. 9, [0079-0081]: remote vehicles (RVs) 904 estimate a location of host vehicle (HV) 902 using a Received Signal Strength Indicator [i.e., a first set of received signal strength] which is the received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets);
(d) a second set of received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets. (See at least Fig. 9, and [0079-0081]: remote vehicles (RVs) 904 estimate a location of host vehicle (HV) 902 using a Received Signal Strength Indicator [i.e., a second set of received signal strength] which is the received signal strength data respectively corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem in view of Nekoui with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and include the received signal strength indicator with the data.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Nekoui, to determine whether time reporting by the navigation system is correct (See at least [0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the user to have a clear idea about the accuracy of the navigation system.
In regard to claim 10
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 10 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regard to claim 21
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, accordingly the rejection of claim 23 is incorporated.
Nadeem, as modified by Loc, is silent on further comprising:
generating a hash code by hashing the identification data associated with the mobile communication device,
wherein the first communication data and the second communication data are extracted using the hash code.
However, Nekoui teaches generating a hash code by hashing the identification data associated with the mobile communication device (See at least [0064]: similar to the functionality described in connection with the transmission by device 310, the controller/processor 359 provides RRC layer functionality associated with system information acquisition, RRC connections, and measurement reporting; PDCP layer functionality associated with header compression / decompression, and security (ciphering [i.e., generating a hash code], deciphering, integrity protection, integrity verification); RLC layer functionality associated with the transfer of upper layer PDUs, error correction through ARQ, concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly of RLC SDUs, re-segmentation of RLC data PDUs, and reordering of RLC data PDUs; and MAC layer functionality associated with mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, scheduling information reporting, error correction through HARQ, priority handling, and logical channel prioritization),
wherein the first communication data and the second communication data are extracted using the hash code (See at least [0064]: similar to the functionality described in connection with the transmission by device 310, the controller/processor 359 provides RRC layer functionality associated with system information acquisition, RRC connections, and measurement reporting; PDCP layer functionality associated with header compression / decompression, and security (ciphering, deciphering [i.e., extracting using the hash code], integrity protection, integrity verification); RLC layer functionality associated with the transfer of upper layer PDUs, error correction through ARQ, concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly of RLC SDUs, re-segmentation of RLC data PDUs, and reordering of RLC data PDUs; and MAC layer functionality associated with mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, scheduling information reporting, error correction through HARQ, priority handling, and logical channel prioritization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as modified by Loc, in view of Nekoui with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and use ciphering/deciphering on the data.
The motivation to do so is that to keep the communication data safe and secure.
In regard to claim 22
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 22 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 21 above, therefore claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 21.
14. Claim(s) 4 and 11
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Nekoui et al. (US-20230152471-A1) and further in view of Brinig et al. (US-20160232719-A1).
In regard to claim 4
, Nadeem, , as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Further, Nekoui teaches wherein the travel time data is generated based on a difference between the second (See at least Fig. 13, and [0095]: at block 1304, the process 1300 includes determining a navigation system time difference based on the navigation timestamp information at the first instance and the second instance which is generating travel time data);
Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, does not teach computing a first median timestep based on the first set of timestamp data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets transmitted by the mobile communication device at the first location, and
computing a second median timestamp based on the second set of timestamp data corresponding to the second set of the plurality of packets transmitted by the mobile communication device at the second location,
However, Brinig teaches computing a first median timestep based on the first set of timestamp data corresponding to the first set of the plurality of packets transmitted by the mobile communication device at the first location (See at least [0014 & 059]: the system identifies the set of location data points by determining which location data points (i) are within the first distance or first estimated travel time away from the pickup location, (ii) are within the second distance or second estimated travel time away from the pickup location, (iii) have timestamps between a first time [i.e., first set of the plurality of timestamp data] when the driver device was determined to be within the first distance or first estimated travel time away from the pickup location and a second time when the driver device was determined to be more than a second distance or second estimated travel time away from the pickup location, and/or (iv) are substantially identical or equal to each other. The location extrapolation determines an associated timestamp for the averaged location data point as one that is the median or averaged timestamp of the set [i.e., computing a first median timestep based on the first set of timestamp data]), and
computing a second median timestamp based on the second set of timestamp data corresponding to the second set of packets transmitted by the mobile communication device at the second location, (See at least [0014 & 0059]: the system can identify the set of location data points by determining which location data points (i) are within the first distance or first estimated travel time away from the pickup location, (ii) are within the second distance or second estimated travel time away from the pickup location, (iii) have timestamps between a first time when the driver device was determined to be within the first distance or first estimated travel time away from the pickup location and a second time [i.e., second set of the plurality of timestamp data] when the driver device was determined to be more than a second distance or second estimated travel time away from the pickup location, and/or (iv) are substantially identical or equal to each other. The location extrapolation determines an associated timestamp for the averaged location data point as one that is the median or averaged timestamp of the set [i.e., computing a second median timestep based on the first set of timestamp data])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as already modified by Loc and Nekoui, in view of Nekoui and Brinig with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and use the median timestamp for generating the travel time.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Nekoui in regard to claim 1.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Brinig, to correct inaccuracies in trip data while the trip is in progress (See at least [0016]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows objects the travel time to be calculated accurately.
In regard to claim 11
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the system of claim 10.
Claim 11 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
15. Claim(s) 5 and 12
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Nekoui et al. (US-20230152471-A1) and further in view of Neiger et al. (US-20170270790-A1).
In regard to claim 5
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Further, Nekoui teaches further comprising:
wherein the travel time data is generated based on a difference between second time data and the first time data (See at least Fig. 13, and [0095]: at block 1304, the process 1300 includes determining a navigation system time difference based on the navigation timestamp information at the first instance and the second instance which is generating travel time data).
Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, does not teach extracting first time data, the first time data being a last occurring timestamp from among the first set of the plurality of timestamp data; and
extracting second time data, the second time data being a first occurring timestamp from among the second set of the plurality of timestamp data,
However, Neiger teaches extracting first time data, the first time data being a last occurring timestamp from among the first set of the plurality of timestamp data (See at least [0132]: the departure time is determined from a linear interpolation using the location and timestamp of the last vehicle location record “at the stop” and the location and timestamp of the first vehicle location record that is immediately “after the stop” [i.e., last occurring timestamp]. Examiner notes, as explained above, the last timestamp at a location and the first timestamp at the next location is used for calculating the departure time which encompasses extracting the last occurring timestamp from among the first set of the plurality of timestamp data and the first occurring timestamp from among the second set of the plurality of timestamp data); and
extracting second time data, the second time data being a first occurring timestamp from among the second set of the plurality of timestamp data (See at least [0132]: the departure time is determined from a linear interpolation using the location and timestamp of the last vehicle location record “at the stop” and the location and timestamp of the first vehicle location record that is immediately “after the stop” [i.e., last occurring timestamp]. Examiner notes, as explained above, the last timestamp at a location and the first timestamp at the next location is used for calculating the departure time which encompasses extracting the last occurring timestamp from among the first set of the plurality of timestamp data and the first occurring timestamp from among the second set of the plurality of timestamp data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as already modified by Loc and Nekoui, in view of Nekoui and Neiger with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and use the timestamp immediately after the stop for generating the travel time.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Nekoui in regard to claim 1.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Neiger, an improved system that more robustly provides real-time, accurate estimated arrival times for a transit vehicle (See at least [0006]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the driver to trust the travel time and plan accordingly.
In regard to claim 12
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the system of claim 10.
Claim 12 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 5 above, therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 5.
16. Claim(s) 6 and 13
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Nekoui et al. (US-20230152471-A1) and further in view of Rankin et al. (US-20190327579-A1).
In regard to claim 6
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Further, Nekoui teaches further comprising:
wherein the travel time data is generated based on a difference between second time data and the first time data (See at least Fig. 13, and [0095]: at block 1304, the process 1300 includes determining a navigation system time difference based on the navigation timestamp information at the first instance and the second instance which is generating travel time data).
Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, does not teach extracting first time data corresponding to a first identified packet from among the first set of the plurality of packets, the first identified packet communicated by the mobile communication device at the first location with a highest signal strength; and
extracting second time data corresponding to a second identified packet from among the second set of the plurality of packets, the second identified packet communicated by the mobile communication device at the second location with a highest signal strength,
However, Rankin teaches extracting first time data corresponding to a first identified packet from among the first set of the plurality of packets, the first identified packet communicated by the mobile communication device at the first location with a highest signal strength (See at least abstract, and [0079]: systems and methods for detecting and processing spatiotemporal data where the “first” signal is the first sufficiently strong signal over a period of time, and the “last” signal is the last sufficiently strong signal for a period of time. The “strongest” or “max” signal strength [i.e., a highest signal strength] for a given detection is identified as the strongest signal that was received between a “first” signal and the corresponding “last” signal); and
extracting second time data corresponding to a second identified packet from among the second set of the plurality of packets, the second identified packet communicated by the mobile communication device at the second location with a highest signal strength (See at least abstract, and [0079]: systems and methods for detecting and processing spatiotemporal data where the “first” signal is the first sufficiently strong signal over a period of time, and the “last” signal is the last sufficiently strong signal for a period of time. The “strongest” or “max” signal strength [i.e., a highest signal strength] for a given detection is identified as the strongest signal that was received between a “first” signal and the corresponding “last” signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as already modified by Loc and Nekoui, in view of Nekoui and Rankin with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and use the “strongest” or “max” signal strength for a given detection for generating the travel time.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Nekoui in regard to claim 1.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Rankin, automated real-time processing of various spatiotemporal measures, such as wait time and dwell time (See at least [0002]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the system to provide a more accurate travel time.
In regard to claim 13
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc and Nekoui, teaches the system of claim 10.
Claim 13 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
17. Claim(s) 25 and 28
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Yamaguchi (US-20240348706-A1).
In regard to claim 25
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 23, accordingly the rejection of claim 23 is incorporated.
Nadeem, as modified by Loc, is silent on wherein the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver are configured to communicate with the computer server via extensible messaging and presence protocol (XMPP), message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT), or ZeroMQ.
However, Yamaguchi teaches wherein the first wireless transceiver and the second wireless transceiver are configured to communicate with the computer server via extensible messaging and presence protocol (XMPP), message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT),or ZeroMQ (See at least Fig. 2, and [0071]: communication module 206 of the server 200 transmits the traffic information, the information including surrounding topics, and the information regarding the server that are generated by the information generation unit 205 to the second communication module 106 of the client terminal 100, the second communication module 106 has a protocol stack including “MQTT” as the application layer, “TCP” as the transport layer, “IP” as the internet layer, and “WiFi” as the network interface layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as modified by Loc, in view of Yamaguchi with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and use message queuing telemetry transport (MQTT) for communicating with the server.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Yamaguchi, to contribute to a cost reduction by selecting a server communication protocol suitable for various applications of a communication system for automatic driving (See at least [0011]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the system to become more reliable.
In regard to claim 28
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 28 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 25 above, therefore claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 25.
18. Claim(s) 26 and 29
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeem et al. (US-20110156924-A1) in view of Loc (US-20100265931-A1) and further in view of Reisinger (US-20240235712-A1).
In regard to claim 26
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the method of claim 23, accordingly the rejection of claim 23 is incorporated.
Nadeem, as modified by Loc, is silent on further comprising:
synchronizing a first clock of the first wireless transceiver based on the first location data; and
synchronizing a second clock of the second wireless transceiver based on the second location data;
However, Reisinger teaches synchronizing a first clock of the first wireless transceiver based on the first location data (See at least Fig. 1, and [0036]: the individual transceiver units TRX [i.e., first wireless transceiver] is synchronized with the apparatus clock 8 [i.e., first clock] and hence works in the same apparatus time zone 9 [i.e., first location data]. Examiner notes, synchronizing based on the time zone is synchronizing based on the location); and
synchronizing a second clock of the second wireless transceiver based on the second location data (See at least Fig. 1, and [0036]: the individual transceiver units TRX [i.e., second wireless transceiver] is synchronized with the apparatus clock 8 [i.e., second clock] and hence works in the same apparatus time zone 9 [i.e., second location data]. Examiner notes, synchronizing based on the time zone is synchronizing based on the location);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Nadeem, as modified by Loc, in view of Reisinger with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – communication systems – and synchronize the individual transceiver units with to work based on the time zone.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Reisinger in regard to claim 6.
In regard to claim 29
, Nadeem, as modified by Loc, teaches the system of claim 8.
Claim 29 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 26 above, therefore claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 26.
Conclusion
19. The prior art made of record
and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Alger et al. (US-20050037772-A1) teaches a method as well as a system for determining the travel time of at least one mobile user end device between a starting point and an end point that is spatially separated from it.
Finkelstein et al. (US-20160366022-A1) teaches a method for determining the distance between the two network nodes using time of travel and a propagation velocity of signals transmitted through a transmission media via which the network nodes are connected.
Resner et al. (US-20070035661-A1) teaches a display that can be programmed to display aggregate travel time.
Non-patent Literature Janecek et al. “Cellular data meet vehicular traffic theory: location area updates and cell transitions for travel time estimation” teaches a method for determining vehicle travel times and road congestion inferred from anonymized signaling data collected from a cellular mobile network.
Non-patent Literature Thiagarajan et al. “VTrack: accurate, energy-aware road traffic delay estimation using mobile phones” teaches a method for cellular triangulation using position samples from drivers’ phones to monitor traffic delays at a fine spatiotemporal granularity.
Non-patent Literature Wan et al. “Mobile Crowd Sensing for Traffic Prediction in Internet of Vehicles” teaches a method for mobile crowd sensing technology to support the creation of dynamic route choices for drivers wishing to avoid congestion.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661