DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on October 14, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 6, 10, 13, 15, and 18 are amended. Claims 1, 10, and 15 are the independent claims.
This action is final.
Applicant’s Response
In the Amendment filed on October 14, 2025, Applicant amended the claims and provided arguments in response to the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 103 and 112 in the previous office action.
Response to Argument/Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims in response to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112 in the previous office action are acknowledged, and Applicant’s associated arguments have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, and the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims in response to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 in the previous office action are acknowledged, and Applicant’s associated arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues that Lorido and Judd do not teach or suggest a CPDLC graphical user interface that uses icons that graphically represent a subnetwork, a CDA, and an NDA for the CPDLC connection, or that the CPDLC interface includes an indicator or button in a header that is displayed when creating or viewing messages on the graphical user interface, as is recited in the amended independent claims. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, and the rejection is withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection are provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 18, these claims recite “wherein the indication of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection are embedded in the header of the CPDLC graphical user interface via a button.” It is unclear whether the limitation “via a button” is intended to require that the indications for the subnetwork, the CDA, and the NDA are displayed based on the operation of a corresponding button or analogous GUI element, or if this limitation is intended to require that the indications for the subnetwork, the CDA, and the NDA all be displayed in the form of a button, such as within a single graphical user interface object including each of the listed indications, which may or may not itself have some corresponding function in response to user interaction. In the interest of providing full examination on the merits, this limitation is interpreted as being intended to require that the listed indications be displayed based on operation of by a user of a corresponding input component, such as a graphical button (or equivalent) displayed on the screen which, when operated, causes display of the listed indications embedded within the header.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lorido (US 20080163093 A1) in view of Judd et al. (US 20110270992 A1), further in view of Rodney et al. (US 20150212701 A1), further in view of Garmin (Garmin G5000 Pilot’s Guide for the Textron Citation 560XL/XLS).
With respect to claims 1, 10, and 15, Lorido teaches:
a system, comprising: one or more human-machine interfaces; and one or more processing devices communicatively coupled to the one or more human-machine interfaces, memory, and Controller- Pilot Data Link Communications (CPDLC) interface instructions, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processing devices and, when executed by the one or more processing devices, cause the one or more processing devices to perform a method; a instructions operable to cause at least one processing devices to perform the method; and a system, comprising: one or more touchscreen display devices; and one or more processing devices communicatively coupled to the one or more touchscreen display devices, memory, and CPDLC interface instructions, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processing devices and cause the one or more processors to perform the method (e.g. paragraph 0047, Fig. 1, MFD screen is an interactive screen associated with alphanumeric data input and pointing device including touch sensitive surface, where pointing and input device may be incorporated into the surface of the MFD screen; paragraphs 0083, 0097, and 0107, indicating that the aircraft has memory; paragraph 0052, display occupied by management windows, including logon management window and CPDLC management window for datalink communication services; paragraph 0119, Fig. 26, displaying of windows on MFD is province of display means for managing digital data exchanged by the aircraft; MFD 40 with display generator GA 41 receiving display instructions from various items of equipment including automatic piloting equipment and navigation system that receives information about flight parameters provided by sensors, air-ground communication system, and man/machine interface; digital management device and its display means use services of man/machine interface, exchange information with air-ground communication systems, and send display instructions to the MFD and its display generator):
where the method includes:
generate a CPDLC graphical user interface on the one or more human- machine interfaces/touchscreen display devices, wherein the CPDLC graphical user interface is configured to display icons representing a subnetwork for a CPDLC connection, a Current Data Authority (CDA) for the CPDLC connection, and a Next Data Authority (NDA) for the CPDLC connection (e.g. paragraph 0041, Figs. 2-4 showing logon management window; paragraph 0043, Figs. 6-25 showing CPDLC management window; paragraph 0047, Fig. 1, MFD screen is an interactive screen associated with alphanumeric data input and pointing device including touch sensitive surface, where pointing and input device may be incorporated into the surface of the MFD screen; lower right quadrant of screen reserved for managing datalink communication services; paragraph 0051, lower right quadrant is single display space grouping together management of all digital messages exchanged by the aircraft and its environment, the ground, or other aircraft, including CPDC datalink communication services exchanged with ground-based air traffic controls; paragraph 0052, display space occupied by management windows assigned to logon to management of air-ground link and to specialized datalink communication services including CPDLC; paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the CPDLC logon page/interface includes displayed information regarding nature of the network and status of the link (analogous to icons representing a subnetwork for the CPDLC connection), information regarding a current ground station contacted/ATSU (analogous to icons representing a current data authority) and information regarding a next ground station to be contacted/ATSU (analogous to icons representing a next data authority); compare with paragraphs 0047,0058 of the specification of the instant application indicating that icons, such as CDA icon 202, NDA icon 211 may include/be text; therefore, display of text is considered to be analogous to the display of an icon, within the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification; Examiner further notes that the logon window which is used to manage the data links/services including CPDLC (as shown in Figs. 2-4 and described in paragraph 0055) and the CPDLC window for managing the actual messages (as shown in Figs. 6-25), which are both displayed within a same region of the display/overall user interface, are considered to collectively provide the CPDLC graphical user interface);
in response to receiving a command via the CPDLC graphical user interface to log on to a CPDLC session, establish the CPDLC connection with a ground station using the subnetwork and the CDA (e.g. paragraph 0060, crew actuating the LOGON key of the lower task bar to enable procedure for establishing the link with the chosen ATC center; paragraph 0061, actuation of the LOGON key triggers a procedure for initializing an air-ground link with the designated ground station, and the LOGON window takes on the appearance of Fig. 3; paragraph 0062, air-ground link established with designated ground station, LOGON window takes the appearance of Fig. 4); and
generate an indicator or a button in a header of the CPDLC graphical user interface that includes an indication of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection (e.g. paragraph 0062, Fig. 4, displaying within the report field of the window the identity of the designated ground station in the field opposite the Current ATSU caption, the status transformed into LOGGED ON, etc., including information corresponding to the Next ATSU/NDA; i.e. where the textual information (analogous to icons as explained above) is displayed within the report field (analogous to a header) and includes textual indications corresponding to the status/nature of the link (analogous to an indication of the subnetwork), the current ATC/ATSU (analogous to a CDA), and a next ATC/ATSU (analogous to an NDA)).
Lorido does not explicitly disclose that the processing devices are processors, and that the memory is a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which the Controller-Pilot Data Link Communications (CPDLC) interface instructions are stored, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method; a program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the program product including instructions operable to cause at least one programmable processor to perform the method; and processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which CPDLC interface instructions are stored, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform the method.
However, Judd teaches that the processing devices are processors, and that the memory is a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which the Controller-Pilot Data Link Communications (CPDLC) interface instructions are stored, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method; a program product tangibly stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the program product including instructions operable to cause at least one programmable processor to perform the method; and processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium on which CPDLC interface instructions are stored, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform the method (e.g. paragraphs 0013-0016, CMU establishing CPDLC data links; CMU comprises memory 241, protocol stack and data link application 224 stored in software 222 and executable by processor 212; software 222 comprises program instructions stored in non-transitory storage device/medium 220; software 222 is operable, when executed by processor 212 to cause the CMU to carry out described functions).
In addition, to the extent that Lorido does not explicitly disclose that the current and next ATC/ATSU are a current and next data authority, Judd teaches that the current and next ATC/ATSU are a current and next data authority (e.g. paragraph 0027, ATC center that the aircraft is currently connected to and communicating with is referred to as the current data authority; paragraph 0029, next data authority is typically another ATC center along the aircraft’s flight path).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido and Judd in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft), to incorporate the teachings of Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions) to include the capability to embody the method as instructions executable by a processor to cause the method to be performed. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to reduce the likelihood of crew member confusion as described in Judd (paragraph 0022-0023).
Lorido and Judd do not explicitly disclose that the header (in which the indicator or button is generated) is displayed when creating or viewing messages on the graphical user interface. However, Rodney teaches that the header (in which the indicator or button is generated) is displayed when creating or viewing messages on the graphical user interface (e.g. Fig. 2., paragraph 0021-0023, datalink FFOV screen 200 including title block 210 which includes identification code of ATC center with which the aircraft is logged into and communicating 232 via the datalink management function, ATC center type 233 (such as FANS, ATN, etc.), and message blocks 211, 212-216 to convey notification and datalink messages to the pilot; i.e. the title block/header is displayed on a same screen in which messages are viewable, and includes indicator information regarding a connection to a current ATC center including identification of the ATC center, type, etc., analogous to an indicator including an indication of at least a CDA for the datalink connection, etc.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido, Judd, and Rodney in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft) and Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions), to incorporate the teachings of Rodney (directed to displaying a datalink message log) to include the capability to display the header (i.e. of Lorido, in which an indicator including an indication of the CPDLC connection’s subnetwork, CDA, and NDA) in a GUI that is displayed when viewing messages (i.e. as taught by Rodney). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to provide the capability to display multiple datalink messages at once on a FFOV display, reducing diversion of the pilot’s attention and making the context of the overall communication interchange more clear as described in Rodney (paragraph 0002, 0014).
Lorido, Judd, and Rodney do not explicitly disclose that the icons graphically represent the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA. However, assuming arguendo that Lorido, Judd, and Rodney do not explicitly disclose icons, Garmin teaches icons, and further teaches that the icons graphically represent the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA (e.g. pages 170-172, Figs. 4-66, 4-67, 4-68 and Tables 4-3 and 4-4, showing graphical indicator of connection status under a variety of conditions, including combined icon and textual information which graphically indicates/represents the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, current ATC facility (CDA), and next ATC facility (NDA)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido, Judd, Rodney, and Garmin in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft), Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions), and Rodney (directed to displaying a datalink message log), to incorporate the teachings of Garmin (directed to aircraft graphical user interfaces, including interfaces for CPDLC connection and messaging) to include the capability to display the indications representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA (as taught by Lorido) using icons which graphically represent the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA (as taught by Garmin). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to use/apply a known technique (i.e. use of graphical icons to indicate CPDLC connection, CDA, and NDA information) to improve a known, similar device (i.e. user interfaces having textual representations of CPDLC connection, CDA, and NDA information) in the same way, to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143, indicating KSR rationales supporting conclusions of obviousness).
With respect to claim 2, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the CPDLC interface instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate the icons representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection on a logon panel of the CPDLC graphical user interface (e.g. paragraph 0051, lower right quadrant is single display space grouping together management of all digital messages exchanged by the aircraft and its environment, the ground, or other aircraft, including CPDC datalink communication services exchanged with ground-based air traffic controls; paragraph 0052, display space occupied by management windows assigned to logon to management of air-ground link and to specialized datalink communication services including CPDLC; paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the displayed textual/icon information representative of the network/link (including its nature and status), the CDA, and the NDA, as explained previously, is generated within the CPDLC logon window/panel associated with a LOGON tab, analogous to a logon panel of the CPDLC GUI).
With respect to claim 3, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the CPDLC interface instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to modify the icons representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection to indicate a status of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection (paragraph 0061, actuation of the LOGON key triggers a procedure for initializing an air-ground link with the designated ground station, and the LOGON window takes on the appearance of Fig. 3; paragraph 0062, air-ground link established with designated ground station, LOGON window takes the appearance of Fig. 4; i.e. as shown in the GUI changes from Fig. 2 through Fig. 4, the displayed textual/icon information corresponding to the network, current CDA, and next CDA is modified to indicate their respective statuses as these change, for example, the status of the link/subnetwork changes from inactive, to logging on, to logged on, the displayed CDA information changes from no information to an identifier of a current ATSU, LBFO; it is appreciated that the NDA information corresponding to the Next ATSU would also be updated in a similar manner (such as is discussed in paragraph 0057, explaining that the identifier of any next ground station will be displayed in this space, and paragraph 0060, indicating that this corresponding data may be filled in)).
With respect to claim 11, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches the program product including instructions operable to cause at least one programmable processor to:
generate the icons representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection on a logon panel of the CPDLC graphical user interface (e.g. paragraph 0051, lower right quadrant is single display space grouping together management of all digital messages exchanged by the aircraft and its environment, the ground, or other aircraft, including CPDC datalink communication services exchanged with ground-based air traffic controls; paragraph 0052, display space occupied by management windows assigned to logon to management of air-ground link and to specialized datalink communication services including CPDLC; paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the displayed textual/icon information representative of the network/link (including its nature and status), the CDA, and the NDA, as explained previously, is generated within the CPDLC logon window/panel associated with a LOGON tab, analogous to a logon panel of the CPDLC GUI); and
modify the icons representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection to indicate a status of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection (paragraph 0061, actuation of the LOGON key triggers a procedure for initializing an air-ground link with the designated ground station, and the LOGON window takes on the appearance of Fig. 3; paragraph 0062, air-ground link established with designated ground station, LOGON window takes the appearance of Fig. 4; i.e. as shown in the GUI changes from Fig. 2 through Fig. 4, the displayed textual/icon information corresponding to the network, current CDA, and next CDA is modified to indicate their respective statuses as these change, for example, the status of the link/subnetwork changes from inactive, to logging on, to logged on, the displayed CDA information changes from no information to an identifier of a current ATSU, LBFO; it is appreciated that the NDA information corresponding to the Next ATSU would also be updated in a similar manner (such as is discussed in paragraph 0057, explaining that the identifier of any next ground station will be displayed in this space, and paragraph 0060, indicating that this corresponding data may be filled in)).
With respect to claim 16, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches, wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to modify the icons representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection to indicate a status of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection (paragraph 0061, actuation of the LOGON key triggers a procedure for initializing an air-ground link with the designated ground station, and the LOGON window takes on the appearance of Fig. 3; paragraph 0062, air-ground link established with designated ground station, LOGON window takes the appearance of Fig. 4; i.e. as shown in the GUI changes from Fig. 2 through Fig. 4, the displayed textual/icon information corresponding to the network, current CDA, and next CDA is modified to indicate their respective statuses as these change, for example, the status of the link/subnetwork changes from inactive, to logging on, to logged on, the displayed CDA information changes from no information to an identifier of a current ATSU, LBFO; it is appreciated that the NDA information corresponding to the Next ATSU would also be updated in a similar manner (such as is discussed in paragraph 0057, explaining that the identifier of any next ground station will be displayed in this space, and paragraph 0060, indicating that this corresponding data may be filled in)).
With respect to claims 7, 14, and 19, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the indication of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection are embedded in the header of the CPDLC graphical user interface (e.g. paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the displayed textual/icon information representative of the network/link (including its nature and status), the CDA, and the NDA, as explained previously, is generated/embedded within a report field of the CPDLC logon window/panel, which is displayed as a separate and distinct upper area of the window/panel, analogous to a header of the CPDLC GUI).
With respect to claims 6, 13, and 18, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the indication of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection are embedded in the header of the CPDLC graphical user interface (e.g. paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the displayed textual/icon information representative of the network/link (including its nature and status), the CDA, and the NDA, as explained previously, is generated/embedded within a report field of the CPDLC logon window/panel, which is displayed as a separate and distinct upper area of the window/panel, analogous to a header of the CPDLC GUI) on a button (e.g. abstract, windows including logon etc.; selection of tab in foreground enables corresponding management window to be selected and focused; paragraph 0052, display space of lower left quadrant of MDF screen occupied by windows including LOGON, CPDLC, etc.; each window may be brought into the foreground by virtue of selecting corresponding tabs; paragraph 0055, describing logon interface of Figs. 2-4 as being called by the logon tab; paragraph 0062, Fig. 4, displaying connection status “LOGGED ON” in auxiliary signaling field placed level with single lower task bar; paragraphs 0120-0121, management windows displayed based on selection and activation of interactive tab; i.e. the logon display including the network/link, CDA, and NDA information embedded in the report field/header is displayed via/based on selection of a corresponding tab, analogous to a button, within the user interface for displaying the logon window (such as a logon tab)).
Garmin further teaches that the CPDLC information can be displayed on a button (e.g. pages 170-172, Figs. 4-66, 4-67, 4-68 and Tables 4-3 and 4-4, showing graphical indicator of connection status under a variety of conditions, including combined icon and textual information which graphically indicates/represents the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, current ATC facility (CDA), and next ATC facility (NDA); see also page 182, Fig. 4-88 and corresponding text, indicating that an CPDLC icon button may be displayed over various screens indicating CPDLC information, such as to indicate that a message is received; Examiner notes that while the specification of the instant applicant describes and shows a CPDLC connection button 273, this button does not appear to be selectable to cause any particular operation to be executed, and instead appears to be used only to provide the current CPDLC information and appears to be similar in function to an icon; Examiner further notes that this button and/or icon appears to only display partial information at different times depending upon the actual status, as shown in Fig. 2C).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido, Judd, Rodney, and Garmin in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft), Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions), and Rodney (directed to displaying a datalink message log), to incorporate the teachings of Garmin (directed to aircraft graphical user interfaces, including interfaces for CPDLC connection and messaging) to include the capability to display the indications representing the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA (as taught by Lorido) using an icon/button which graphically represents the CPDLC connection, the CDA, and the NDA (as taught by Garmin). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to use/apply a known technique (i.e. use of graphical icons to indicate CPDLC connection, CDA, and NDA information) to improve a known, similar device (i.e. user interfaces having textual representations of CPDLC connection, CDA, and NDA information) in the same way, to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143, indicating KSR rationales supporting conclusions of obviousness).
With respect to claims 8 and 20, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 15 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the CPDLC interface instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to generate the indication of the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and the NDA for the CPDLC connection in a header of a graphical user interface separate and distinct from the CPDLC graphical user interface (e.g. paragraph 0055, Figs. 2-4, window called by the LOGON tab serves as interface for managing air-ground digital link to link the aircraft to a digital telecommunications ground station for exchanges within the services (CPDLC, ADS, FIS, AOC, APC, etc.), and is equally adapted for AFN procedures, etc.; it advises regarding the states of the link (currently being established, established, currently being disconnected, or not established), as to the identity of the ground station concerned, and as to the use or otherwise of an automatic link establishment search procedure; paragraph 0057, report field of LOGON window with caption LOGON STATUS shows the nature (ATC or ACARS) of the network to which the relevant ground stations belong; identifiers of ground station contacted “Current ATSU” and of any next ground station to be contacted “Next ATSU” when the aircraft leaves the control zone of the ground station contacted “Current ATSU” as well as the actual statuses of the links with these ground stations; i.e. the displayed textual/icon information representative of the network/link (including its nature and status), the CDA, and the NDA, as explained previously, is generated/embedded within a report field of the CPDLC logon window/panel, which is displayed as a separate and distinct (such as by being graphically outlined within its own portion of the interface, as shown in Figs. 2-4) upper area of the window/panel, analogous an interface which is separate and distinct from the CPDLC GUI (such as the remaining portion of the logon interface displayed in different areas in the lower portion of the window, in addition to being an entirely separate window from the CPDLC window shown in Figs. 6-25 for managing ATC messages)).
With respect to claim 9, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed, and Lorido further teaches wherein the one or more human-machine interfaces includes a display device with touchscreen functionality (e.g. paragraph 0047, multifunction display MFD associated with input and pointing device having touch-sensitive surface and the like; pointing and input device may be incorporated into the surface of the MFD screen; i.e. the MFD screen may include a touch sensitive surface, providing touchscreen functionality).
With respect to claims 4, 12, and 17, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 15 as previously discussed, and Judd further teaches wherein the CPDLC interface instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform further steps; the program product including instructions operable to cause at least one programmable processor to perform the further steps; wherein the CPDLC interface instructions are executable by the one or more processors and cause the one or more processors to perform the further steps, comprising:
generate an Air Traffic Control (ATC) center icon and list of ATC centers that can be selected for the CDA (e.g. paragraph 0019, user interface displays logical screens that comprise UI controls and elements; paragraph 0025, pull down menu of available ATC centers; paragraph 0032, Fig. 4, user interface 400 including selection “ATC menu”; listing of available ATCs);
in response to a user selecting the ATC center icon, displaying the list of ATC centers than can be selected for the CDA (e.g. paragraph 0019, UI controls comprise selectable objects such as logical buttons, physical buttons, etc.; paragraph 0025, user can select which ATC center to log into, such as from pull down menu of available ATC centers; paragraph 0032, button 430 associated with selection ATC menu that brings user to ATC page that lists available ATCs); and
in response to a user selecting an ATC center from the list of ATC centers that can be selected for the CDA, update the subnetwork for the CPDLC connection, the CDA for the CPDLC connection, and/or the NDA for the CPDLC connection (e.g. paragraph 0025, user selecting ATC center to log into; paragraph 0026, sending logon message, which is received by the ATC center and is used to establish CPDCL session; paragraph 0027, HMI providing indication to flight crew as to the CPDLC version of the current session; ATC center that the aircraft is connected to at any given time is referred to as the current data authority/CDA; paragraph 0029, NDA is another ATC center along flight path; after handoff to this second data authority, the NDA becomes the CDA; i.e. the user’s selection of the ATC center from the list/menu causes that ATC center to become the CDA, and associated updates are provided with respect to at least the network/connection to the ATC, and the identification of the ATC as the CDA, etc.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido, Rodney, Garmin, and Judd in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft), Rodney (directed to displaying a datalink message log), and Garmin (directed to aircraft graphical user interfaces, including interfaces for CPDLC connection and messaging), to incorporate the teachings of Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions) to include the capability to provide a graphical user interface icon (i.e. button, text, or a combination) corresponding to ATC centers, along with a list/menu of available ATC centers, so that the user’s selection of the button causes display of the list/menu, and selection of an ATC center from the list/menu causes corresponding updates to the network/connection, CDA identification, etc. (as taught by Judd). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to reduce the likelihood of crew member confusion as described in Judd (paragraph 0022-0023).
With respect to claim 5, Lorido in view of Judd, further in view of Rodney, further in view of Garmin teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 as previously discussed, and Judd further teaches wherein the list of ATC centers that can be selected for the CDA is populated via a local database or via a cloud connection (e.g. paragraph 0029, list of ATC centers stored in storage medium onboard the aircraft).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Lorido, Rodney, Garmin, and Judd in front of him to have modified the teachings of Lorido (directed to managing data exchanged by an aircraft with the ground or other aircraft), Rodney (directed to displaying a datalink message log), and Garmin (directed to aircraft graphical user interfaces, including interfaces for CPDLC connection and messaging), to incorporate the teachings of Judd (directed to enhanced flight crew display for supporting multiple CPDLC versions) to include the capability to store the list/menu of ATC centers in a local database/memory of the aircraft. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform such a modification in order to reduce the likelihood of crew member confusion as described in Judd (paragraph 0022-0023).
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain,” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting in re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (GCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co, v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F,3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir, 2005): Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY L STANLEY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2127