DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “predetermined adsorptive capacity” and claim 7 recites “predetermined adsorptive capacities”. The instant specification [0110] discloses the pressure drop relates to the adsorption performance of the carbon sheets because it controls the contact of fluid that moves through the unitary sorbent sheets. Therefore, the claim limitation “predetermined adsorptive capacity” is interpreted as predetermined pressure drop or adsorptive capacity.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each objection previously set forth in the office action mailed 09/05/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 6 that Greenbank fails to teach or suggest a sorbent material sheet product where the spacer sheet comprises a plurality of strips spaced at least one predetermined distance from each other where the predetermined distance corresponds to the predetermined adsorptive capacity of the sorbent material sheet product. Greenbank merely discloses that the thickness of the spacer is used to control the pressure drop of the sorbent material sheet products by precisely controlling the spacing between sorbent material sheets.
However, Greenbank discloses in some embodiments, the stacked sheets are held in a spaced apart relationship which controls one or more of void volume, flow rate, pressure drop, and other characteristics ([0098]). As stated in the claim interpretation above, “predetermined adsorptive capacity” is interpreted as predetermined pressure drop. The spacing can be achieved with various folds in the sheets, and can also be achieved by the corresponding raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets which are aligned to form gaps between the sheet ([0098]).The examiner is interpreting the raised portions of the sheets as the claimed plurality of strips and the depressed portions of the sheets as the spacing between the plurality of strips which spacing is at least one predetermined distance between the plurality of strips. If the sheets are arranged deliberately so that the raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets do not nest between sheets, this results in additional spacing between the sheets and permits fluid flow in those portions ([0098]). Therefore, Greenbank does disclose a sorbent material sheet product where the spacer sheet comprises a plurality of strips spaced at least one predetermined distance from each other where the predetermined distance corresponds to the predetermined adsorptive capacity of the sorbent material sheet product since Greenbank discloses the stacked sheets are held in a spaced apart relationship which controls pressure drop, and thus adsorptive capacity.
Applicant argues on Pg. 7 that Smith fails to teach or suggest all aspects of claims 1 and 7. It seems an error was made and Applicant intended to argue Greenbank fails to teach or suggest all aspects of claims 1 and 7. However, this is not persuasive for the reasons described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 6-9, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Greenbank et al (US 20210039037 A1, cited in IDS 06/13/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Greenbank discloses a method of making a sorbent material sheet product ([0021]). The sorbent material sheet product will comprise a single sorbent material sheet that is wound or rolled to achieve the desired characteristics including , but not limited to … pressure drop, capacity ([0089] meeting limitation “having a predetermined adsorptive capacity”). The stacked sorbent material sheet product of the invention comprises two or more sorbent sheets each defining an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein each sorbent sheet comprises a sorbent material and a binder ([0090] meeting limitation “forming a substrate sheet”, “wherein one or more of the substrate sheet and the spacer sheet are made of sorbent material”); where adjacent sorbent sheets are stacked and arranged such that adjacent upper and lower surfaces are substantially congruent with each other, and aligned to allow fluid flow at least between adjacent upper and lower surfaces ([0090] meeting limitation “attaching the substrate sheet and the spacer sheet as adjacent touching layers to thereby form a unitary sorbent sheet which is part of the sorbent material sheet product”). In some embodiments, the stacked sheets are held in a spaced apart relationship which controls one or more of void volume, flow rate, pressure drop, and other characteristics ([0098]). As stated in the claim interpretation above, “predetermined adsorptive capacity” is interpreted as predetermined pressure drop. The spacing can be achieved with various folds in the sheets, and can also be achieved by the corresponding raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets which are aligned to form gaps between the sheet ([0098]).The examiner is interpreting the raised portions of the sheets as the claimed plurality of strips and the depressed portions of the sheets as the spacing between the plurality of strips which spacing is at least one predetermined distance between the plurality of strips. If the sheets are arranged deliberately so that the raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets do not nest between sheets, this results in additional spacing between the sheets and permits fluid flow in those portions ([0098] meeting limitation “forming a plurality of strips and arranging the plurality of strips and spacing the plurality of strips at least one predetermined distance from each other to thereby form a spacer sheet that has a plurality of spaced apart strips and a plurality of intervening spaces, wherein the at least one predetermined distance between the plurality of strips corresponds to the predetermined adsorptive capacity of the sorbent material sheet product”).
Regarding claim 2 and 3, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the stacked sorbent sheet product has a BWC of about 7.0 g/100 cm3 to about 30 g/100 cm3 ([0097]). Ranges are also contemplated, such as about 10-20 g/cm3 ([0097]). The range disclosed by Greenbank (10-20 g/cm3) falls within the claimed range (about 1 g/cm3 to about 20 g/cm3) and (about 8 g/cm3 to about 20 g/cm3).
Regarding claim 6, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses three groups of experimental examples were saturated with butane vapor and then purged to determine the overall butane working capacity of the sorbent material sheets ([0182]).
Regarding claim 7, Greenbank discloses embodiments of the invention are directed to devices containing one or more sheets of sorbent material, sorbent material sheets, and methods for making sorbent material sheets and devices containing these sheets ([0041] meeting limitation “a method of forming at least two sorbent material sheet products”). An alternative enhancement to sorbent sheet production is to process sorbent sheets such that two or more sorbents with different properties are included in a single sheet but are segregated along the width of the sheet ([0062]). For example, a high BWC sorbent could be used in the same sheet with a low BWC sorbent, such that the vapors from fuel tank emissions would contact the high BWC sorbent ahead of the low BWC sorbent, within a single chamber ([0062] meeting limitation “having at least two different predetermined adsorptive capacities”).
The stacked sorbent material sheet product of the invention comprises two or more sorbent sheets each defining an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein each sorbent sheet comprises a sorbent material and a binder ([0090] meeting limitation “forming a first substrate sheet”, “wherein one or more of the first substrate sheet and the first spacer sheet are made of sorbent material”); where adjacent sorbent sheets are stacked and arranged such that adjacent upper and lower surfaces are substantially congruent with each other, and aligned to allow fluid flow at least between adjacent upper and lower surfaces ([0090] meeting limitation “attaching the first substrate sheet and the first spacer sheet as adjacent touching layers to thereby form a unitary sorbent sheet which is part of the first sorbent material sheet product”). In some embodiments, the stacked sheets are held in a spaced apart relationship which controls one or more of void volume, flow rate, pressure drop, and other characteristics ([0098]). As stated in the claim interpretation above, “predetermined adsorptive capacity” is interpreted as predetermined pressure drop. The spacing can be achieved with various folds in the sheets, and can also be achieved by the corresponding raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets which are aligned to form gaps between the sheet ([0098]).The examiner is interpreting the raised portions of the sheets as the claimed plurality of strips and the depressed portions of the sheets as the spacing between the plurality of strips which spacing is at least one predetermined distance between the plurality of strips. If the sheets are arranged deliberately so that the raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets do not nest between sheets, this results in additional spacing between the sheets and permits fluid flow in those portions ([0098] meeting limitation “forming a first plurality of strips and arranging the first plurality of strips and spacing the first plurality of strips at least one predetermined distance from each other to thereby form a first spacer sheet that has a plurality of spaced apart strips and a plurality of intervening spaces, wherein the at least one predetermined distance between the first plurality of strips corresponds to a first predetermined adsorptive capacity of a first sorbent material sheet product”).
The stacked sorbent material sheet product of the invention comprises two or more sorbent sheets each defining an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein each sorbent sheet comprises a sorbent material and a binder ([0090] meeting limitation “forming a second substrate sheet”, “wherein one or more of the second substrate sheet and the second spacer sheet are made of sorbent material”); where adjacent sorbent sheets are stacked and arranged such that adjacent upper and lower surfaces are substantially congruent with each other, and aligned to allow fluid flow at least between adjacent upper and lower surfaces ([0090] meeting limitation “attaching the second substrate sheet and the second spacer sheet as adjacent touching layers to thereby form a unitary sorbent sheet which is part of the second sorbent material sheet product”). In some embodiments, the stacked sheets are held in a spaced apart relationship which controls one or more of void volume, flow rate, pressure drop, and other characteristics ([0098]). The spacing can be achieved with various folds in the sheets, and can also be achieved by the corresponding raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets which are aligned to form gaps between the sheet ([0098]).The examiner is interpreting the raised portions of the sheets as the claimed plurality of strips and the depressed portions of the sheets as the spacing between the plurality of strips which spacing is at least one predetermined distance between the plurality of strips. If the sheets are arranged deliberately so that the raised and/or depressed portions of the sheets do not nest between sheets, this results in additional spacing between the sheets and permits fluid flow in those portions ([0098] meeting limitation “forming a second plurality of strips and arranging the second plurality of strips and spacing the second plurality of strips at least one predetermined distance from each other to thereby form a second spacer sheet that has a plurality of spaced apart strips and a plurality of intervening spaces, wherein the at least one predetermined distance between the second plurality of strips corresponds to a second predetermined adsorptive capacity of a second sorbent material sheet product”).
Regarding claim 8 and 9, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the stacked sorbent sheet product has a BWC of about 7.0 g/100 cm3 to about 30 g/100 cm3 ([0097]). Ranges are also contemplated, such as about 10-20 g/cm3 ([0097]). The range disclosed by Greenbank (10-20 g/cm3) falls within the claimed range (about 1 g/cm3 to about 20 g/cm3) and (about 8 g/cm3 to about 20 g/cm3).
Regarding claim 14, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses three groups of experimental examples were saturated with butane vapor and then purged to determine the overall butane working capacity of the sorbent material sheets ([0182]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenbank et al (US 20210039037 A1, cited in IDS 06/13/2021).
Regarding claim 4, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the stacked sorbent sheet product has a BWC greater than about 7 g/100 cm3 ([0097]). 7 g/100 cm3 is equivalent to 0.07 g/cm3.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Greenbank (greater than about 0.07 g/cm3) overlaps with the claimed range (about 1 g/cm3 to about 8 g/cm3). Therefore, the range in Greenbank renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 5, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose each of the plurality of strips has a width of about 1 mm to about 10 mm. As the void volume, flow rate and pressure drop are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the width of the plurality of strips, the precise width of the plurality of strips would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed width of the plurality of strips cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the width of the plurality of strips in the method of Greenbank to obtain the desired balance between the void volume, flow rate and pressure drop (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 10, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses the stacked sorbent sheet product has a BWC greater than about 7 g/100 cm3 ([0097]). 7 g/100 cm3 is equivalent to 0.07 g/cm3.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, the range taught by Greenbank (greater than about 0.07 g/cm3) overlaps with the claimed range (about 1 g/cm3 to about 8 g/cm3). Therefore, the range in Greenbank renders obvious the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose each strip in the first plurality of strips and the second plurality of strips has a width of about 1 mm to about 10 mm. As the void volume, flow rate and pressure drop are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the width of the plurality of strips, the precise width of the plurality of strips would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed width of the plurality of strips cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the width of the plurality of strips in the method of Greenbank to obtain the desired balance between the void volume, flow rate and pressure drop (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 12, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above and further discloses in some embodiments, the stacked or pressed sheets may be such that the sides of adjoining sheets are substantially contiguous ([0124]).
While Greenbank does not explicitly disclose wherein each strip in the first plurality of strips and the second plurality of strips have the same width, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art for the strips to have the same width to be contiguous when adjoined as disclosed by Greenbank.
Regarding claim 13, Greenbank discloses all the limitations in the claims as set forth above. While Greenbank does not explicitly disclose the sorbent material of the first plurality of strips and the second plurality of strips has the same composition, Greenbank does disclose the sorbent material that includes a carbonaceous material ([0007]), the carbonaceous material is activated carbon or reactivated carbon ([0009]). Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use the same sorbent material composition for the first and second plurality of strips.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738