DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the current set of claims, particularly independent Claims 1 & 14, have changed the scope of the claimed invention. However, the previous prior art rejection still reads upon the present claimed invention.
On pages 5-7 of the Remarks section, as indicated by the page number at the bottom of each page, Applicant argues against the previous 103 prior art rejection of independent Claims 1 & 14, asserting that the combination of primary reference Metzner et al., (“Metzner”, US 4,797,191), and secondary references Merchant et al., (“Merchant”, US 2020/0030515), and Metzner et al., (“Metzner 2”, US 4,995,959), do not disclose the presently amended limitations a sensing channel in fluid communication with an exit channel” and “a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel”. Applicant also argues that Metzner and Merchant do not disclose the limitation “wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration components into the sensor module and to convey the sample fluid into a separate bypass pathway and back into the treatment system” as previously claimed. The Examiner reiterates that other secondary reference Metzner 2 discloses this limitation instead. The Examiner finds that the cited portions of Metzner 2, (See column 4, lines 40-51, lines 59-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner 2), describe the actions that occur when the valve 9 is opened, and valve 8 is closed, in which calibration fluid is drawn through line 24 in electrode block 13 (the sensor module), (See column 4, lines 65-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner 2), which reads directly upon “the valve is configured to convey the calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensor module”, and also notes that when valve 9 is opened, the sample fluid flows through line 21, whereby the aspiration cannula 16 is cleansed, (See column 4, lines 40-43, Metzner 2). Here, when the valve 9 is open, the calibration fluid clearly flows through the sensor module (electrode block 13) via line 24, and the sample fluid clearly flows through line 21, which is a separate bypass pathway from the sensor module (electrode block 13). The Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive for this reason.
Applicant then continues on to argue that Metzner 2 does not disclose that the previously disclosed bypass pathway (connecting line 21) in Figure 1 of Metzner is “not separated” from the sensing channel (flow channel 24) and an exit channel as claimed. Applicant argues that these different lines/pathways are fluidly connected, and concludes that they are not separate as a result. The Examiner notes however that the term “separated” does not require the lack of any fluid communication. The Examiner finds that connecting line 21 splits from flow channel 24 at previous junction points with lines 18/19 or line 25. Line 21 is separate from Flow channel 24 for its entirety. Even though fluid can flow between any point in the system including these lines/pathways, the lines are distinct and separate. It is not claimed that there is no fluid communication as a result. For these reasons, the Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive.
On page 7, Applicant makes remarks against the dependent claim rejections but provides no specific arguments. Thus, these remarks are moot.
Examiner has also reviewed the copending applications as indicated by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14 and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 & 14 recite that there is “a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel” but it is not clear from the instant Specification and Drawings that there is a bypass pathway that is “separated” from the sensing channel and exit channel such that they do not interact. Thus, the Examiner indicates that there does not appear to be support for this added limitation to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 12-14 & 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzner et al., (“Metzner”, US 4,797,191), in view of Merchant et al., (“Merchant”, US 2020/0030515), in further view of Metzner et al., (“Metzner 2”, US 4,995,959).
Claims 1-8, 10 & 12 are directed to a fluid sensor system, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claims 1-8, 10 & 12, Metzner discloses a fluid sensor system, the fluid sensor system comprising: a sensor module comprising a sensing channel in communication with an exit channel and configured to receive a sample fluid, (Electrode Block 22 and Flow Channel 24 with inherent inlet/outlet, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 37-47), two or more calibration compartments, (Vessels 50 & 52, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-63), and a sensing element configured to interact with the sample fluid in the sensing channel, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 37-47, See column 5, lines 42-68); and a reader electrically and mechanically coupled to the sensor module, (Electrode Connection Unit 94 and Control Device 90, See Figure 1, See column 6, lines 5-26), the reader comprising a controller configured to control operation of the fluid sensor system, (Electrode Connection Unit 94 and Control Device 90, See Figure 1, See column 6, lines 5-26), and a valve between a reservoir and the sensor module, wherein in a first position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey the sample fluid into the sensing channel and the exit channel, (Valve 58 between Container 62 and Electrode Block 22, See Figure 1).
Metzner does not explicitly disclose that the fluid sensor system performs in-line monitoring and wherein the fluid sensor system is configured to connect in-line with the reservoir that is a treatment system, the fluid is conveyed from the reservoir into the sensor module, a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system.
Merchant discloses a fluid sensor system that performs in-line monitoring and wherein the fluid sensor system is configured to connect in-line with the reservoir that is a treatment system, (See paragraphs [0065], [0123], [0161], Merchant) the fluid is conveyed from the reservoir into the sensor module, (Sensor/Electrode 380 to Valve 320 to Sorbent Cartridge 332 to Compartment 338 and returned back to Sensor/Electrode 380 via Dialysis Machine 302, See Figure 6D, See paragraph [0107], [0109]). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid sensor system of Metzner by incorporating the fluid sensor system performs in-line monitoring and wherein the fluid sensor system is configured to connect in-line with the reservoir that is a treatment system the fluid is conveyed from the reservoir into the sensor module as in Merchant because “ion-selective electrodes can be used to measure or otherwise sense potassium concentrations in blood, dialysate, or both”, (See paragraph [0161], Merchant), in which it “can, if desired be configured as part of the extracorporeal blood circuit disposable tubing system”, (See paragraph [0065], Merchant), in order to perform “a dialysis treatment on a patient, sensing a concentration of potassium…during the treatment, and modifying the dialysis treatment based on the sensed concentration”, (See paragraph [0042], Merchant), so that it will “guard against too sudden a change in blood potassium concentration during dialysis treatments”, (See paragraph [0005], Merchant).
Modified Metzner does not disclose a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system.
Metzner 2 discloses a fluid sensor system, a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, (Line 21 is separate from Channel 24 and either channel 25/26, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 6-25, Metzner), the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel, (See column 4, lines 59-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner), and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system, (See column 4, lines 40-51, lines 65-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid sensor system of modified Metzner by incorporating a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system as in Metzner 2 “whereby the aspiration cannula…is cleansed”, or is “washed through” and “pumped clear of the fluid which it contains”, (See column 4, lines 40-51, lines 65-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner 2).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the sensing element comprises a plurality of transducers, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1, Metzner, See column 4, lines 37-47, See column 5, lines 42-68).
Claim 3: The fluid sensor system of Claim 2, wherein the plurality of transducers are configured to interact with the sample fluid and transmit a signal indicative of a particular constituent component of the sample fluid, (Electrode Block 22 with four sections part of Measuring Unit 20, See Figure 1, See column 6, lines 27-41, Metzner, See column 6, lines 5-38).
Claim 4: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the sensing element comprises at least three transducers, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1, Metzner, See column 4, lines 37-47).
Claim 5: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the two or more calibration compartments comprises a first calibration compartment configured to store a first calibration fluid, (Vessels 50 & 52, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-61, See column 3, lines 28-30, See column 6, lines 67-68, column 7, lines 1-15, Metzner).
Claim 6: The fluid sensor system of Claim 5, wherein the two or more calibration compartments comprises a second calibration compartment configured to store a second calibration fluid different from the first calibration fluid, (Vessels 50 & 52, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-61, See column 3, lines 28-30, See column 6, lines 67-68, column 7, lines 1-15, Metzner).
Claim 7: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the reader is connectible to an external device and configured to send measurement results to the external device, (See paragraph [0152], Merchant).
Claim 8: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, further comprising a fluid pathway having a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet, the sensing channel is connected to a portion of the fluid pathway between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet, (Line 32 and Discharge Line 54, See column 4, lines 48-68, See Figure 1, Metzner).
Claim 10: The fluid sensor system of Claim 8, wherein an exit channel downstream of the sensing element is connected to the fluid pathway, (Discharge Line 54 is part of overall pathway combining Lines 54 and 32, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 48-68, Metzner).
Claim 12: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, further comprising a waste compartment positioned downstream of and connected to the sensing element by way of an exit channel, (Waste Container 62 connected to Electrode Block 22 via Discharge Line 54, See Figure 1, See column 5, lines 22-25, Metzner).
Claim 13: The fluid sensor system of Claim 1, wherein a sample exit channel downstream of the sensing element is connected to the treatment system through a fluid outlet of the fluid sensor system, (Potassium Sensors 818A/B on line with inlet/outlet connected to extracorporeal circuit, See Figure 8, See paragraph [0131], Merchant).
Claims 14 & 16-20 are directed to a fluid sensor system, an apparatus system group.
Regarding Claims 14 & 16-20, Metzner discloses a method of monitoring a sample fluid, the method comprising: connecting a sensor module, wherein the sensor module comprises a sensing channel in fluid communication with an exit channel and configured to receive the sample fluid, (Electrode Block 22 and Flow Channel 24 with inherent inlet/outlet, See Figure 1) and a sensing element, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1); providing the sample fluid to the sensing element to thereby cause the sample fluid to interact with the sensing element, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1); transmitting a signal indicative of a particular constituent component of the sample fluid by the sensing element to a reader electrically and mechanically coupled to the sensor module, (Electrode Connection Unit 94 and Control Device 90, See Figure 1); and calibrating the sensing element using a calibration fluid stored in two or more calibration compartments, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1), and a valve between a reservoir and the sensor module, wherein in a first position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey the sample fluid from the reservoir into the sensing channel and the exit channel, (Valve 58 between Container 62 and Electrode Block 22, See Figure 1).
Metzner does not explicitly disclose connecting the sensor module in-line with a treatment system, and that the sample fluid is from the reservoir that is a treatment system, a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system.
Merchant discloses a method connecting the sensor module in-line with a treatment system, and that the sample fluid is from the treatment system, (See paragraphs [0065], [0123], [0161], Merchant), the fluid is conveyed from the reservoir into the sensor module, (Sensor/Electrode 380 to Valve 320 to Sorbent Cartridge 332 to Compartment 338 and returned back to Sensor/Electrode 380 via Dialysis Machine 302, See Figure 6D, See paragraph [0107], [0109]). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Metzner by incorporating t connecting the sensor module in-line with a treatment system, and that the sample fluid is from the treatment system the fluid is conveyed from the reservoir into the sensor module as in Merchant because “ion-selective electrodes can be used to measure or otherwise sense potassium concentrations in blood, dialysate, or both”, (See paragraph [0161], Merchant), in which it “can, if desired be configured as part of the extracorporeal blood circuit disposable tubing system”, (See paragraph [0065], Merchant), in order to perform “a dialysis treatment on a patient, sensing a concentration of potassium…during the treatment, and modifying the dialysis treatment based on the sensed concentration”, (See paragraph [0042], Merchant), so that it will “guard against too sudden a change in blood potassium concentration during dialysis treatments”, (See paragraph [0005], Merchant).
Modified Metzner does not disclose a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system.
Metzner 2 discloses a fluid sensor system, a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, (Line 21 is separate from Channel 24 and either channel 25/26, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 6-25, Metzner), wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel, (See column 4, lines 59-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner), and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system, (See column 4, lines 40-51, lines 65-68, column 5, lines 1-8 Metzner 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid sensor system of modified Metzner by incorporating a bypass pathway separated from the sensing channel and the exit channel, wherein, in a second position of the valve, the valve is configured to convey calibration fluid from at least one of the two or more calibration compartments into the sensing channel and the exit channel and to convey the sample fluid into the bypass pathway and back into the treatment system as in Metzner 2 “whereby the aspiration cannula…is cleansed”, or is “washed through” and “pumped clear of the fluid which it contains”, (See column 4, lines 40-51, lines 65-68, column 5, lines 1-8, Metzner 2).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 16: The method of Claim 14, wherein the sensing element comprises a plurality of transducers, (Electrode Block 22 has four different electrode sections with Channel 24 running therethrough; alternatively Sensors 70, 72, 74 & 76 all interact upstream/downstream of Channel 24, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 37-47, See column 5, lines 42-68, Metzner).
Claim 17: The method of Claim 14, wherein the calibration fluid is stored in a first calibration compartment of the two or more calibration compartments, and a second calibration fluid is stored in a second calibration compartment of the two or more calibration compartments, (Vessels 50 & 52, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-61, See column 3, lines 28-30, See column 6, lines 67-68, column 7, lines 1-15, Metzner).
Claim 18: The method of Claim 14, wherein the sensor module comprises a waste compartment positioned downstream of the sensing element and configured to receive the sample fluid that has passed through the sensing element, (Waste Container 62 connected to Electrode Block 22 via Discharge Line 54, See Figure 1, See column 5, lines 22-25, Metzner).
Claim 19: The method of Claim 14, further comprising calibrating the sensor module after providing the sample fluid to the sensing element, (Vessels 50 & 52, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 59-61, See column 3, lines 28-44, Metzner).
Claim 20: The method of Claim 19, further comprising providing a second sample fluid from the treatment system to the sensing element to thereby interact the second sample fluid with the sensing element, (See column 3, lines 28-44, Metzner; and See paragraph [0130], Merchant; Examiner interprets continuously measuring the potassium of the fluid over time using the sensor module to read upon measuring at least a second portion or sample of fluid during that time; also Metzner discloses repeating the cycle again).
Claim(s) 11 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzner et al., (“Metzner”, US 4,797,191), in view of Merchant et al., (“Merchant”, US 2020/0030515), in further view of Metzner et al., (“Metzner 2”, US 4,995,959), in further view of Kelly et al., (“Kelly”, US 2013/0199998).
Claim 11 is directed to a fluid sensor system, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Metzner discloses the fluid sensor system of Claim 8, wherein the fluid inlet or the fluid outlet comprises an adapter configured to couple to the treatment system, (Cannula Adaptor 16 connected to Line 32 and Flow Channel 24, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 64-67, Metzner).
Modified Metzner does not disclose that the adapter is a Luer lock.
Kelly discloses a treatment system in which an adapter is a Luer lock, (See paragraph [0181]. [0274], Kelly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the fluid sensor system of modified Metzner by incorporating that the adapter is a Luer lock as in Kelly in order to use adapters that are “quick connectors, such as luer connectors, that are large and operable with little force and dexterity”, (See paragraph [0274], Kelly).
Claim 15 is directed to a fluid sensor system, an apparatus type invention group.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Metzner discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet of the sensor module connect to the treatment system by way of an adapter, (Cannula Adaptor 16 connected to Line 32 and Flow Channel 24, See Figure 1, See column 4, lines 64-67, Metzner).
Modified Metzner does not disclose that the adapter is a Luer lock.
Kelly discloses a treatment system in which an adapter is a Luer lock, (See paragraph [0181]. [0274], Kelly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of modified Metzner by incorporating that the adapter is a Luer lock as in Kelly in order to use adapters that are “quick connectors, such as luer connectors, that are large and operable with little force and dexterity”, (See paragraph [0274], Kelly).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779