DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 04 September 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all identified groups of claims together would not present a burden (see Response at Pg. 2). This is not found persuasive because the identified groups are directed to diverse statutory classes of invention and a search of the elected group is not necessarily exhaustive of a search of the non-elected groups.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 16 November 2022, 07 February 2023, 06 March 2024, 15 May 2024, and 24 May 2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the Specification, while being enabling for polyethylene glycol as a water-soluble organic compound, and Mowinyl 6969D, Superflex 870, Mowinyl DM774, and Polyzole AP-3270N fine resin particles (see Specification at ¶¶ [0062]-[0063]), does not reasonably provide enablement for all potential water-soluble organic compounds and resin fine particle materials, as is currently contemplated by Claim 1. Similarly, the claims broadly include any substance which could be considered a resin dispersion pigment without identifying any particular dispersion pigment.
In its current state, the breadth of Claim 1 is vast in view of the claim’s contemplation of any conceivable water-soluble organic compounds and fine resin particles. The nature of the invention is understood to be that of recording and/or printing, broad fields of art. The state of the prior art is varied, owing to the breadth of Claim 1 and the applicability of many disciplines thereto. The level of ordinary skill in the art is understood to be that of recording and/or printing using water-based inks. The level of predictability in the art is low in view of the wide range of potentially eligible materials contemplated by Claim 1. There is limited direction provided by the inventors and a low number of working examples in view of the limited number of embodiments described by the instant Specification.
The quantity of experimentation required to practice the invention as claimed is excessive. To wit, in limited embodiments, the instant Specification describes and enables a recording method featuring water-based inks comprising polyethylene glycol as a water-soluble organic compound and specified commercially-available materials as fine resin particles. In contrast, the instant claims are drawn to using any water-soluble organic compound, any fine resin particle material, and any resin dispersion pigment to conduct a recording operation. The instant Specification does not provide guidance with regard to other potentially operable materials and techniques or compatibility thereof, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have to undertake undue experimentation in attempts to practice an operable embodiment of the invention as currently claimed.
Thus it is found that the Specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
2. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to Claim 1, it is unclear as to what the term “fine” confers as a limitation upon the resin particles in the water-based recording ink. For purposes of examination, the fine resin materials identified by the instant Specification at ¶ [0062] are understood to read upon the claim. Claims 2-5 are similarly rejected to the extent they depend from Claim 1 and do not resolve the noted ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH068527 to Hirooka et al., an English translation of which is provided herewith and referred-to herein, (“Hirooka”) in view of US 2021/0301165 to Yamazaki et al., effectively filed March 25 2020, (“Yamazaki”).
With regard to Claims 1, 3, and 5, Hirooka teaches a recording method comprising discharging ink from a head onto a conveyed recording medium with subsequent heat-facilitated fixing of the recording wherein it is determined whether the recording medium is a coated or non-coated paper (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0025], [0086]). According to Hirooka, the fixing temperature is determined based on the type of recording media, wherein the heat applied for coated paper is greater than that of non-coated paper (see ¶¶ [0086]-[0088], [0095], [0120]). Hirooka teaches use of water-soluble ink; however the reference does not expressly teach constituents thereof as claimed. Yamazaki is directed to aqueous ink compositions suitable for recording and printing processes comprising dispersed resin pigment, fine resin particles, and a water-soluble organic compound (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0010]-[0011], [0068]-[0076], [0119]-[0128], [0139]-[0142]). Notably, Yamazaki teaches the claimed types of fine resin particles and water-soluble organic compounds (see ¶¶ [0075], [0140]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the aqueous printing ink of Yamazaki in the method of Hirooka with a reasonable expectation of success since Yamazaki describes usage of inks taught therein in such recording processes as that of Hirooka.
With regard to Claim 2, Hirooka does not expressly teach zero heating of coated paper as claimed; however Yamazaki describes using low heat for ink setting in cases of sensitive recording media with excellent results and economic benefits associated therewith (see Yamazaki at ¶¶ [0096]-[0097]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have allowed conducted ink setting without additional heat input in the process of Hirooka in order to reduce process energy usage and/or enable recording on heat-sensitive media.
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirooka in view of Yamazaki as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2018/0086108 to H. Hojo (“Hojo”).
With regard to Claim 4, Hirooka does not expressly teach IR heating. Hojo is similarly directed to a recording process using aqueous ink, and teaches IR heating at selectable energy input amounts in order to control adhesion and media integrity (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0112], [0422]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have conducted heating using an IR heater and to have adjusted heating amount within the claimed range in the method of Hirooka, as taught by Hojo, throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in obtaining a desired degree of adhesion while ensuring print media integrity.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715