DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohammed et al. (US 2014/0014894 A1; hereinafter Mohammed).
Regarding Claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1) discloses a light emitting diode (LED) device comprising: a first doped semiconductor layer (P-type layer like the one shown in detail Fig.2A; 298);
a second doped semiconductor layer (N-type layer like the one shown in detail Fig.2A; 294);
a plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) each electrically connected to the first doped semiconductor layer (P-type layer like the one shown in detail Fig.2A; 298);
a plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) each electrically connected to the second doped semiconductor layer (294; [0029]), the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) comprising discrete segments separated by an insulating layer (112/116; Fig.1C; [0027]); and
an array of a plurality of vias (120/130) arranged across the device, the plurality of vias connecting the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) to the first doped semiconductor layer (298), each of the plurality of vias (120/130) connecting at most one corresponding first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) of the plurality of first contacts to the first doped semiconductor layer (298).
Regarding Claim 2. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the insulating layer (112/116; [0027]) comprises one or more of silicon nitride (SiN) and silicon oxide (SiOx).
Regarding Claim 3. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the insulating layer (112/116) comprises a bilayer insulating layer ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 4. The device of claim 3, Mohammed (Fig.1C; [0027]) discloses wherein the bilayer insulating layer (112/116) comprises silicon nitride (SiN) and silicon oxide (SiOx).
Regarding Claim 5. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) comprise aluminum ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 6. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the first doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type) is between the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) and the second doped semiconductor layer (294 n-type).
Regarding Claim 7. The device of claim 6, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses an insulating layer (150, [0032]) between the first doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type) and the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130).
Regarding Claim 8. The device of claim 7, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the plurality of vias (120/130) connected the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) to the first doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type) through the insulating layer (150).
Regarding Claim 10. The device of claim 9, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the electrode layer (155) is arranged as multiple discrete areal segments separated by electrically insulating material (150) so that transverse electrical conduction between adjacent areal segments is substantially prevented, and each areal segment of the electrode layer (155) is connected to at most one corresponding contact of the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130).
Regarding Claim 11. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C; if in claim 1 the first and second doped semiconductor layer and the contacts are all swapped or if Fig.1 is seen up-side down this claim and its dependent would be rejected with same reference) discloses wherein the second doped semiconductor layer (if swapped 298 p-type would be considered the second layer) is between the plurality of first contacts (if swapped; 115 the ones connected to 140/130/120) and the first doped semiconductor layer (if swapped; N-type layer like the one shown in detail Fig.2A; 294 would be first layer).
Regarding Claim 12. The device of claim 11, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses further comprising an insulating layer (150) between the second doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type) and the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to metals 140/130/120).
Regarding Claim 13. The device of claim 12, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the plurality of vias (140/130/120) connect the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to 140/130/120) to the first doped semiconductor layer (N-type layer like the one shown in detail Fig.2A; 294) through the insulating layer and the second doped semiconductor layer (298 n-type), and the plurality of vias (140/130/120 the ones connected to 140) are electrically insulated (insulated by 150) from the second doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type).
Regarding Claim 14. The device of claim 1, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses further comprising an array of a second plurality of vias (140/130/120) arranged across the device, the second plurality of vias (140/130/120) connecting the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) to the second doped semiconductor layer (294 n-type).
Regarding Claim 15. The device of claim 14, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein each via of the second plurality of vias (140/130/120) connects at most one corresponding contact of the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) to the second doped semiconductor layer (294 n-type).
Regarding Claim 16. Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses a light emitting diode (LED) device comprising: an n-doped semiconductor layer (294; Fig.2);
a p-doped semiconductor layer (298; Fig.2);
a plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) each electrically connected to the p-doped semiconductor layer (298);
a plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) each electrically connected to the n-doped semiconductor layer (294), the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer) comprising discrete segments separated by an insulating layer (112/116); and
an array of a plurality of vias (120/130 not connected to 140) arranged across the device, the plurality of vias (120/130) connecting the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) to the p-doped semiconductor layer (298), each of the plurality of vias (120/130) connecting at most one corresponding first contact (115) of the plurality of first contacts (115 the ones connected to shorter metals 120/130) to the p-doped semiconductor layer (298).
Regarding Claim 17. The device of claim 16, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the insulating layer (112/116; [0027]) comprises one or more of silicon nitride (SiN) and silicon oxide (SiOx).
Regarding Claim 18. The device of claim 16, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the insulating layer (112/116; [0027]) comprises a bilayer insulating layer.
Regarding Claim 19. The device of claim 18, Mohammed (Fig.1C; [0027]) discloses wherein the bilayer insulating layer (112/116) comprises silicon nitride (SiN) and silicon oxide (SiOx).
Regarding Claim 20. The device of claim 16, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses wherein the plurality of edge contacts (115 the ones connected to 140 and p-type layer; [0027]) comprise aluminum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed.
Regarding Claim 9. The device of claim 8, Mohammed (Fig.1C) discloses an electrode layer (155) between the first doped semiconductor layer (298 p-type) and the insulating layer (150) and in contact with the first doped semiconductor layer (298).
Mohammed (Fig.1C) does not particularly disclose wherein the electrode layer is substantially transparent.
Mohammed ([0034]) discloses that there is another electrode (170) on top of the device which is transparent and it discloses that this transparent electrode enhances the current spreading and therefore better light emission.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in the art before the effective filing of the application to have the electrode as a transparent electrode to enhance the current spreading and therefore better light emission.
Conclusion
/HAJAR KOLAHDOUZAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898