DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a Final Office Action in response to the arguments and/or amendments filed on 24 June 2026.
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 13 is/are amended.
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29 is/are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “optimized for analysis by the analytics engine”. The claim lacks antecedent basis for an “analytics engine” but it is apparent from the claim that this term is a typographical error for “analytic” engine which has an established antecedent basis. Claims 7 and 13 are similarly rejected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the one or more executable scripts comprise instructions for querying a database for cohort data, and wherein a cohort engine is configured to provide the cohort data to an analytics engine in a temporal query language format optimized for analysis by the analytics engine”. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the meaning of the claim, rendering the claim indefinite.
One of ordinary skill in the art understands “temporal query language” to refer to a query language for querying temporal databases. The phrase “temporal query language format” does not appear to be an established phrase in the prior art. Examiner notes that both the USPTO’s internal SEARCH software and Google return zero results for the phrase “temporal query language format.” However, the phrase “query language format” is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to refer to the formatting of a query in a query language. Thus, the phrase “temporal query language format” would be interpreted as referring to the formatting of a temporal query in a temporal query language.
The claim recites “querying a database for cohort data” and then “provid[ing] the cohort data … in a temporal query language format.” As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the temporal query language format to be the format of the results of the query rather than the query itself. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand what it means to return the results of a query “in a temporary query language format” because they would understand a “temporal query language format” as applicable to the formatting of the query rather than the results.
The relevant portion of the specification states:
[0025] Cohort engine 104 may be configured to interpret a consult request query (e.g., as represented in a completed study template, as described herein), sift through available patient data (e.g., patient objects), retrieve appropriate patient data for the consult request query, and push or provide retrieved patient data to analytics engine 112. For example, cohort engine 104 may obtain patient-timeline objects, processed with a selected knowledge graph by interpreter 106, from a memory or storage 120, and provide it to analytics engine 112 in a standard language format (e.g., temporal query language (TQL)). The standard language format may be configured to optimize the patient data for analysis by analytics engine 112. Such configuration may comprise a command or instruction regarding the retrieval of information by cohort engine 104 for analytics engine 112 (e.g., to include or exclude a type of lab result, to include simply a yes or no answer on whether a lab result is available rather than providing the actual lab result value, to include a most recent lab result, to include a patient's entire history of lab results, to include a patient's history of lab results for a given period of time, a given category of tests, and other commands and instructions).
This disclosure does not explain or clarify what it means for results to be provided in a “temporal query language format” but does appears to confirm that the cohort engine provides patient data, i.e. results, to the analytics engine. As one of ordinary skill in the art would still not understand the meaning of the claim or the format that the cohort data is provided to the analytics engine, the scope of the claim would not be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 7 and 13 are similarly rejected.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation “temporal query language format” will be interpreted as any format for results of a temporal query language query.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1, which is representative of claims 7 and 13, recites a method for rapid informatics-based prognosis development, the method comprising:
accessing patient data with different coding schemes from a plurality of disparate data sources;
generating, based on the accessed patient data with different coding schemes, a plurality of patient objects corresponding to a plurality of patients, wherein each patient object of the plurality of patient objects represents at least a portion of a medical history of a patient of the plurality of patients over a period of time, wherein generating the plurality of patient objects comprises:
processing the accessed patient data with different coding schemes to conform to a coding hierarchy by applying a knowledge graph that maps codes from the different coding schemes to a single standard code structure, wherein the coding hierarchy maps a plurality of codes to a phenotype, and
wherein the phenotype indicates a condition or a set of conditions;
accessing a consult request;
selecting a study template configured to design a study to develop a consult output in response to the consult request;
accessing a completed study template;
wherein the completed study template comprises a completed field in the study template based on information from the consult request, the completed field comprising a variable provided in at least one of a timeframe field, a phenotype field, a cohort field, or a demographic field, and
wherein the completed study template comprises
accessing,
generating the consult output based on the cohort data, the consult output comprising a result from an analysis of the cohort data according to a criterion and an instruction in the study template.
The preceding recitation of the claim has had strikethroughs applied to the additional elements beyond the abstract idea to more clearly demonstrate the limitations setting forth the abstract idea. The remaining limitations describe a concept of gathering information, receiving an analysis request, analyzing the information according to a procedure, and generating results of the analysis. This concept describes a mental process that an analyst should follow to prepare a report similar to the “mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions” given in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C) as an example of managing personal behavior in the methods of organizing human activity sub-grouping. As such, these limitation set forth a method of organizing human activity. Alternatively, the identified limitations encompass observations, evaluations, and judgements, and can be practically performed in the human mind. As such, these limitations set forth a mental process. Therefore the claims are determined to recite an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106, reflecting the 2019 PEG, directs examiners at Step 2A Prong Two to consider whether the additional elements of the claims integrate a recited abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 7 recites the additional element of a system comprising a memory and a processor. Claim 13 recites the additional element of a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium. These additional elements are recited at an extremely high level of generality, and may be interpreted as generic computing devices used to implement the abstract idea. Per MPEP 2106.05(f), implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing device does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. As such, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims recite the additional element of one or more executable scripts. This limitation amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea with a computing device. As previously noted, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing device does not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. As such, this limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims recite the additional element of querying a database for data, and wherein an engine is configured to provide the data to an analytic engine in a temporal query language format optimized for analysis by the analytic engine. This additional element does not reflect any improvement to technology, does not require a particular machine, does not effect a transformation, and does not meaningfully limit the implementation of the abstract idea. Instead, this additional element only generally links the abstract idea to a computing environment involving temporal data queries. As such, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims further recite the additional element of a distributed, in-memory database engine. This additional element does not reflect any improvement to technology, does not require a particular machine, does not effect a transformation, and does not meaningfully limit the implementation of the abstract idea. Instead, this additional element only generally links the abstract idea to a computing environment involving a distributed, in-memory database. As such, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
There are no further additional elements. When considered as a combination, the additional elements only generally link the abstract idea to computing environment with a distributed in-memory temporal database. As such the combination of additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As the additional elements, individually and as a combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B of the Mayo/Alice analysis, examiners are to consider whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As previously noted, the claims recite additional elements which may be interpreted as generic computing devices used to implement the abstract idea. However, per MPEP 2106.05(f), implementing an abstract idea on a generic computing device does not add significantly more in Step 2B, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a generic computer. As such, these additional elements do not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claims recite the additional element of a querying a database for data, and wherein an engine is configured to provide the data to an analytic engine in a temporal query language format optimized for analysis by the analytics engine. However, Roth et al. (US 2015/0169667 A1) demonstrates (Temporal query languages have been well-studied. See at least [0143]) that temporal queries of temporal data and their results were well known long before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claims further recite the additional element of a distributed, in-memory database engine. Lee et al. (SAP HANA Distributed In-Memory Database System: Transaction, Session, and Metadata Management), SQLMaria (Oracle Launches TimeTen Scaleout!), and Apache (In-memory database with Apache Ignite) describe prior art, commercially available distributed in-memory databases. These references cumulatively demonstrate that distributed, in-memory databases were conventional before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element does not amount to significantly more.
There are no further additional elements. When considered as a combination, the additional elements only generally link the abstract idea to computing environment with a distributed in-memory temporal database. As such the combination of additional elements does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, when considered individually and as a combination, the additional elements of the independent claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus the independent claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 14, 15, and 19-29 further describe the abstract idea, but the claims continue to recite an abstract idea. Dependent claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 14, 15, do not recite any further additional elements. The previously identified additional elements, individually and as a combination, fail to integrate the narrowed abstract idea into a practical application for reasons similar to those indicated above. Therefore the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. Further, the previously identified additional elements, individually and as a combination, do not amount to significantly more than the narrowed abstract idea for reasons similar to those indicated above. Dependent claim 19 recites the additional element of storing an object in a database. This additional element reflects no improvement to technology, no particular machine, and no transformation of an article. Instead, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment involving a computer. As such, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. Further, Per MPEP 2106.5(d), storing data in a memory is a well-known, routine, and conventional computer function. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the other computing device additional elements, does not amount to significantly more. Dependent claim 20 recites the additional element of using natural language processing. This additional element reflects no improvement to technology, no particular machine, and no transformation of an article. Instead, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment involving a computer implementing natural language processing. As such, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. Further, Berkan et al. (US 2003/0074353 A1) demonstrates (“Conventional natural language processing”, [0004]) that natural language processing was conventional long before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the other computing device additional elements, does not amount to significantly more. Dependent claims 21, 22, 24, 25, 27, and 28 further describe the additional element of a script. This additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea with a computing device. As such, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore the claims are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. Further, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, amounts to instructions to implement the abstract idea with a computing device. As such this additional element does not amount to significantly more. Dependent claims 23, 26, and 29 recite the additional element of a distributed, in-memory database. This additional element reflects no improvement to technology, no particular machine, and no transformation of an article. Instead, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, only generally links the abstract idea to a technological environment involving distributed storage. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the other computing device additional elements, does not amount to significantly more. Further, Lee et al. (SAP HANA Distributed In-Memory Database System: Transaction, Session, and Metadata Management), SQLMaria (Oracle Launches TimeTen Scaleout!), and Apache (In-memory database with Apache Ignite) describe prior art, commercially available distributed in-memory databases. These references cumulatively demonstrate that distributed, in-memory databases were conventional before the priority date of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the other computing device additional elements, does not amount to significantly more.
Thus as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, 19-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lefkofsky et al. (US 2020/0211716 A1) in view of Reimer (Using UMLS for electronic health data standardization and database design) and Apache (In-memory database with Apache Ignite).
Regarding Claim 1, 7, and 13: Lefkofsky discloses a method for rapid informatics-based prognosis development, the method comprising:
accessing patient data with different coding schemes from a plurality of disparate data sources; generating, based on the accessed patient data with different coding schemes, a plurality of patient objects corresponding to a plurality of patients, wherein each patient object of the plurality of patient objects represents at least a portion of a medical history of a patient of the plurality of patients over a period of time, wherein generating the plurality of patient objects comprises: processing the accessed patient data with different coding schemes to conform to a coding hierarchy, wherein the coding hierarchy maps a plurality of codes to a phenotype, and wherein the phenotype indicates a condition or set of conditions (The patient data store 14 may be a pre-existing dataset that includes patient clinical history, such as demographics, comorbidities, diagnoses and recurrences, medications, surgeries, and other treatments along with their response and adverse effects details. … In one aspect, these datasets may be generated from one or more sources. … certain system users may be able to buy or license aspect to the datasets, such as when those users do not have immediate access to a sufficiently robust dataset, when those users are looking for even more records, and/or when those users are looking for specific data types, such as data reflecting patients having certain primary cancers, metastases by origin site and/or diagnosis site, recurrences by origin, metastases, or diagnosis sites, etc. See at least [0052]. Also: A patient data store may include one or more feature modules which may comprise a collection of features available for every patient in the system 10. See at least [0054]. Also: Features derived from structured, curated, or electronic medical or health records may include clinical features such as diagnosis, symptoms, therapies, outcomes, patient demographics such as patient name, date of birth, gender, ethnicity, date of death, address, smoking status, diagnosis dates for cancer, illness, disease, diabetes, depression, other physical or mental maladies, personal medical history… . See at least [0057]. Also: Feature collections may include a diverse set of fields available within patient health records. Clinical information may be based upon fields which have been entered into an electronic medical record (EMR) or an electronic health record (EHR) by a physician, nurse, or other medical professional or representative. Other clinical information may be curated from other sources, such as molecular fields from genetic sequencing reports. See at least [0055]).
accessing a consult request; selecting a study template configured to design a study to develop a consult output in response to the consult request; accessing a completed study template, wherein the completed study template comprises a completed field in the study template based on information from the consult request, the completed field comprising a variable provided in at least one of a timeframe field, a phenotype field, a cohort field, or a demographic field; wherein the completed study template comprises one or more executable scripts for performing an associated study type, wherein the one or more executable scripts are configured to automatically generate queries in a temporal query language optimized for analysis by an analytics engine without requiring manual user coding; accessing, using a cohort engine and at least one of the one or more executable scripts, cohort data based on the completed study template, the cohort data derived from the plurality of patient objects, wherein the cohort engine comprises a database engine configured to query structured temporal data stored as patient timeline objects; and generating the consult output based on the cohort data, the consult output comprising a result from an analysis of the cohort data according to a criterion and an instruction in the study template (notebooks provide a benefit to users by allowing the Interactive Analysis Portal 22 to provide custom templates to their selected data and leverage pre-built healthcare statistical models to provide results to users who are not sophisticated in programming. See at least [0263]. Also: A user may configure a reporting page for a notebook. A reporting page may include text, images, and graphs as selected and populated by the users. Preconfigured elements may be selected from a list, such as a dropdown list or a drag-and-drop menu. Preconfigured elements include statistical analysis modules and machine learning models. For example, a user may wish to perform linear regression on the data with respect to specific features. A user may select linear regression, and a menu with checkboxes may appear with features from their data set which should be supplied to the linear regression model. Once filled out, a template for reporting the linear regression results with respect to the selected features may be added to the reporting page at a location identified by the active cursor or the drop location for a drag- and drop-element. If a user wishes to solve a problem using a machine learning model, it may be added to the sheet. A header may be populated identifying the model, the hypertuning parameters, and the reported results. In some instances, a model that was previously trained may then be applied to the current cohort. See at least [0265] and Fig. 32. Also: One or more templates may be provided in template window 3050 for the user's convenience. Templates may include one or more cells preconfigured to operate on an input data such as the filtered patient cohort, run one or more cells of code to generate logical results, and run one or more cells of text or visualizations to report out the results of the performed logic on the input data in a convenient manner. Templates may exist for charts, graphs, regressions, dimension reductions, classifications, RNA or DNA normalization, and other commonly used features across templates available to the user. See at least [0275]. Also: A comprehensive collection of features in additional feature modules may combine a variety of features together across varying fields of medicine which may include diagnoses, responses to treatment regimens, genetic profiles, clinical and phenotypic characteristics, and/or other medical, geographic, demographic, clinical, molecular, or genetic features. See at least [0055]. Also: Processing device 3402 represents one or more general-purpose processing devices such as a microprocessor, a central processing unit, or the like. More particularly, the processing device may be … processor implementing other instruction sets, or processors implementing a combination of instruction sets. See at least [0291]. Also: Notebook editor 3200 may auto-populate with Title 3210 and one or more cells 3240A-D based upon the user selected workbook. … A cell UIE may provide selections pertaining to the currently selected cell 3240A-D having a block of code, such a commands for running the currently selected cell, terminating the currently selected cell, adding a cell, deleting a cell, running all cells, running all cells above, running all cells below, or terminating all cells. A kernel UIE may provide selections pertaining to one or more programming languages and/or available to the user such as … Structured Query Language (SQL) … . Selecting a kernel from the kernel UIE reloads the workbook so that the cells execute commands from the respective language. A widget UIE may provide selections pertaining to one or more supported code snippets for the active kernel. Code snippets may include code for creating visualizations such as a graph or a plot, code for simple arithmetic operations such as calculating a mean or a standard deviation, or code for more complex operations such as calculating a distribution and displaying a respective curve. See at least [0279]. Also: the back end layer 12 also may include a distributed computing and modeling layer 38 that receives data from the patient cohort timeline data storage 18 to provide inputs to a plurality of modules. See at least [0051]. Also: the system may include a patient timeline analysis module 28 that permits a user to review the sequence of events in the clinical life of each patient. See at least [0099]. Also: The Interactive Analysis Portal 22 allows the Notebook generation to perform one or more statistical models, analysis, and visualization or reporting of results to the narrowed down cohort without having the user code anything in the notebook as the selected models, analysis, visualizations, or reports of the notebook itself are configured to accept the cohort from the Interactive Analysis Portal 22 and provide the analysis on the cohort as is, without user intervention at the code level. See at least [0259]. Also: An associated user may then select a previously generated notebook which applies selected analysis to the narrowed down cohort without having the user code or recode anything in the notebook as the notebook itself is configured to accept the cohort from the Interactive Analysis Portal 22 and provide the notebook results without user intervention. See at least [0261]).
Lefkofsky does not expressly describe applying a knowledge graph that maps codes from the different coding schemes to a single standard code structure.
However, Reimer teaches processing the patient data with different coding schemes to conform to a coding hierarchy, by applying a knowledge graph that maps codes from the different coding schemes to a single standard code structure, wherein the coding hierarchy maps a plurality of codes to a phenotype, and wherein the phenotype indicates a condition or set of conditions (“Another approach to normalizing data is the National Library of Medicine’s Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) that provides a robust index of terminologies and standards in 1 framework that enables incorporating data regardless of how the data are originally structured and stored. For example, structured data stored as ICD-10 codes will map to a unique concept identifier (CUI) in UMLS.” See at least Page 2. Also: Figure 1: The “Mapping*” box includes a “Source code” box that shows ICD9 and ICD10 diagnosis data being input into UMLS. Examiner’s note: The specification expressly identifies Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) as a knowledge graph).
Lefkofsky provides a system generates a dataset of patient data features from different sources, upon which the claimed invention’s use of a knowledge graph to map codes to a single code structure can be seen as an improvement. However, Reimer demonstrates that the prior art already knew of using knowledge graphs to convert condition codes into a single coding scheme. One of ordinary skill in the art could have trivially applied the techniques of Reimer to the system of Lefkofsky to generate the patient dataset’s feature data. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such an application of Reimer would have resulted in an improved system which could more quickly generate feature data from multiple sources. As such, the application of Reimer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosures of Lefkofsky and the teachings of Reimer.
Lefkofsky does not describe a distributed, in-memory database engine.
However, Apache teaches a distributed, in-memory database engine (“Apache Ignite® is a distributed in-memory database”, Page 1).
Lefkofsky and Reimer suggests a system which utilizes stored patient data, upon which the claimed invention’s use of a distributed, in-memory database can be seen as an improvement. However, Apache demonstrates that the prior art already knew of distributed, in-memory databases. One of ordinary skill in the art could have easily applied the techniques of Apache to the system of Lefkofsky and Reimer. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such an application of Apache would have resulted in an improved system which would more quickly access patient data. As such, the application of Apache, and the claimed invention, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of the disclosures of Lefkofsky and the teachings of Reimer and Apache.
Regarding Claim 2, 8, and 14: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein the study comprises one or both of a descriptive study and an analytical study (A user may configure a reporting page for a notebook. A reporting page may include text, images, and graphs as selected and populated by the users. Preconfigured elements may be selected from a list, such as a dropdown list or a drag-and-drop menu. Preconfigured elements include statistical analysis modules and machine learning models. For example, a user may wish to perform linear regression on the data with respect to specific features. A user may select linear regression, and a menu with checkboxes may appear with features from their data set which should be supplied to the linear regression model. Once filled out, a template for reporting the linear regression results with respect to the selected features may be added to the reporting page at a location identified by the active cursor or the drop location for a drag- and drop-element. If a user wishes to solve a problem using a machine learning model, it may be added to the sheet. A header may be populated identifying the model, the hypertuning parameters, and the reported results. In some instances, a model that was previously trained may then be applied to the current cohort. See at least [0265] and Fig. 32).
Regarding Claim 3, 9, and 15: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein the study template comprises one or more of a case series template, a sub-group template, a cohort template, and a case-control template (See at least Fig. 32, Element 3240A).
Regarding Claim 19: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein the patient objects are stored in a temporal database (The patient data store 14 may be a pre-existing dataset that includes patient clinical history, such as demographics, comorbidities, diagnoses and recurrences, medications, surgeries, and other treatments along with their response and adverse effects details. See at least [0052]. Also: the system may include a patient timeline analysis module 28 that permits a user to review the sequence of events in the clinical life of each patient. See at least [0099]. Also: a dataset that only utilizes backward-looking features, derived at each event point on the timeline. See at least [0142]).
Regarding Claim 20: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein obtaining cohort data is done at least in part using natural language processing to identify patient objects relevant to the study (In another embodiment, the user interface may include a natural language search style bar to facilitate filter criteria definition for the cohort, for example, in the “Ask Gene” tab 236 of the user interface or via a text input of the filtering interface. In one aspect, an ability to specify a query, either via keyboard-type input or via machine-interpreted dictation, may define one or more of the subsequent layers of a cohort funnel (described in greater detail in the next section). Thus, for example, when employing traditional natural language processing software or techniques, an input of “breast cancer patients” would cause the system to recognize a filter of “cancer_site==breast cancer” and add that as the next layer of filtering. Similarly, the system would recognize an input of “pancreatic patients with adverse reactions to gemcitabine” and translate it into multiple successive layers of filtering, for example, “cancer_site==pancreatic cancer” AND “medication==gemcitabine” AND “adverse reaction==not null.” See at least [0086]. Also: In a second aspect, the natural language processing may permit a user to use the system to query for general insights directly, thereby both narrowing down a cohort of patients via one or more funnel levels and also causing the system to display an appropriate summary panel in the user interface. Thus, in the situation that the system receives the query “What is the 5 years progression-free survival rate for stage III colorectal cancer patients, after radiotherapy?,” it would translate it into a series of filters such as “cancer_site==colorectal” AND “stage==III” AND “treatment==radiotherapy” and then display five-year progression-free survival rates using, for example, the patient survival analysis user interface 30. Similarly, the query “What percentage of female lung cancer patients are post-menopausal at a time of diagnosis?” would translate it into a series of patients such as “gender==female,” “cancer_site==lung,” and “temporal==at diagnosis,” determine how many of the resulting patients had data reflecting a post-menopause situation, and then determine the relevant percentage, for example, displaying the results through one or more statistical summary charts. See at least [0087]).
Regarding Claim 21, 24, and 27: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein the one or more executable scripts comprises instructions for querying a database or other storage for cohort data (the back end layer 12 also may include a distributed computing and modeling layer 38 that receives data from the patient cohort timeline data storage 18 to provide inputs to a plurality of modules. See at least [0051]).
Regarding Claim 22, 25, and 28: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein the one or more executable scripts is configured to reference at least part of a related study (Generating a notebook may be performed with a GUI for notebook editing. A user may configure a reporting page for a notebook. A reporting page may include text, images, and graphs as selected and populated by the users. Preconfigured elements may be selected from a list, such as a dropdown list or a drag-and-drop menu. Preconfigured elements include statistical analysis modules and machine learning models. For example, a user may wish to perform linear regression on the data with respect to specific features. A user may select linear regression, and a menu with checkboxes may appear with features from their data set which should be supplied to the linear regression model. Once filled out, a template for reporting the linear regression results with respect to the selected features may be added to the reporting page at a location identified by the active cursor or the drop location for a drag- and drop-element. If a user wishes to solve a problem using a machine learning model, it may be added to the sheet. A header may be populated identifying the model, the hypertuning parameters, and the reported results. In some instances, a model that was previously trained may then be applied to the current cohort. See at least [0265]).
Regarding Claim 23, 26, and 29: Lefkofsky in view of Reimer and Apache makes obvious the above limitations. Lefkofsky further discloses wherein each patient object of the plurality of patient objects comprises structured temporal data (The patient data store 14 may be a pre-existing dataset that includes patient clinical history, such as demographics, comorbidities, diagnoses and recurrences, medications, surgeries, and other treatments along with their response and adverse effects details. See at least [0052]. Also: the back end layer 12 also may include a distributed computing and modeling layer 38 that receives data from the patient cohort timeline data storage 18 to provide inputs to a plurality of modules. See at least [0051]). As previously noted, Apache teaches a distributed, in-memory database engine (“Apache Ignite® is a distributed in-memory database”, Page 1). The motivation to combine Lefkofsky, Reimer, and Apache is the same as explained under claim 1 above, and is incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 112(a) Rejections of claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29: The amended claims no longer include the identified language.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's amendments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered and they resolve the identified rejection. The rejection under 112(a) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 101 Rejections of claims 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29:
The claims … recite a specific technical solution to the technical problem of medical data fragmentation across various incompatible coding standards. As the specification explains, “designing and performing retrospective observation studies remain a time consuming, manual process involving multiple steps”.
The claims solve this problem through a concrete technical pipeline that includes data harmonization via a knowledge graph and the use of a distributed, in-memory database engine configured to query structured temporal data store as patient time-line objects.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s characterization of the technical problem indicates that it is an automation of a “time consuming, manual process.” Examiner notes that per MPEP 2106.05(a), the court have indicated that “[m]ere automation of manual processes” may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality.
Per MPEP 2106.05(a), “If it is asserted that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification.” Here, the disclosure provides no information on how to implement either the referenced knowledge graph data harmonization or the use of distributed in-memory database engine, and appears to be entirely reliant on the existing knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to support the claimed functionalities. Such a disclosure indicates that the identified limitations do not constitute a technical improvement.
Applicant’s Arguments Regarding 103 Rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13-15, and 19-29: The cited references do not teach the amended features such as the use of a knowledge graph.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are rendered moot by the amendment of claim(s) 1, 7, and 13.
Additional Considerations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 of the prior office action dated 28 January 2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bion A Shelden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 2026-08-12