DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a driving unit configured to rotate in claims 4 and 11
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a driving unit configured to rotate (Claim 4, line 4 and Claim 11, line 10)” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 828,120 to Jones.
In re claim 1, Jones teaches a cutter apparatus for a double tube comprising:
a main body (11); a cylindrical protection member (13) connected to the main body, the cylindrical protection member (13) configured to receive therewithin an inner tube of the double tube, the double tube including the inner tube and an outer tube; and
a cutter member including a blade (8) configured to cut for cutting the outer tube.
Note, the preamble is directed to a cutter, not the combination of the cutter and the workpiece (which in this instance is the double tube). The cylindrical protection member has to be capable of receiving an inner tube of the double tube, in which it is. The cutter is inserted inside a pipe for cutting (Col. 2, lines 67-85)
In re claim 2, wherein the cutter member is (capable of being) on the cylindrical protection member (13, as shown in at least Figure 5).
In re claim 3, wherein the blade configured to fold (as shown in at least Figure 5) on the cylindrical protection member (13), and is configured to protrude (as shown in at least Figure 6) from the cylindrical protection member (13) when the outer tube is cut.
In re claim 4, wherein the cylindrical protection member (13) is rotatably connected to the main body (11), and the main body (11) includes a driving unit (thread, which engage the threads of the cylindrical protection member) configured to rotate the cylindrical protection member.
In re claim 5, further comprising: a cylindrical outer cover (5) on the main body (11) and surrounding the cylindrical protection member (13).
In re claim 11, Jones teaches a cutter apparatus for a double tube, the cutter apparatus for the double tube comprising:
a main body (11);
a cylindrical protection member (13) rotatably connected to the main body and configured to receive therewithin an inner tube of the double tube, the double tube including the inner tube and an outer tube;
a cutter member the cylindrical protection member and including a blade (8) configured to cut for cutting the outer tube; and
a driving unit (threads of the main body) configured to rotate f the cylindrical protection member.
In re claim 12, wherein the blade (8) is configured to fold (as shown in at least Figure 5) on the cylindrical protection member (13), and is configured to protrude (as shown in at least Figure 6) when the outer tube is cut.
In re claim 13, further comprising: a cylindrical outer cover (5) on the main body and surrounding the cylindrical protection member (13).
In re claim 18, Jones teaches a cutter apparatus for a double tube comprising:
a main body (11);
a cylindrical protection member (13) connected to the main body (11) and configured to receive therewithin an inner tube of the double tube, the double tube including the inner tube and an outer tube;
a cutter member (as shown in at least Figures 1-6) on the cylindrical protection member (13, as shown in at least Figure 5) and including a blade (8) configured to cut the outer tube;
and a cylindrical outer cover (5) on to the main body and surrounding the outer tube, the outer tube being outside the cylindrical protection member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of US Patent No. 7,913,395 to Nigh, and in further view of US Patent No, 7,316,069 to Graybeal.
In re claims 6, 14, and 19, Jones teaches wherein the cylindrical outer cover (5), but does not teach the cylindrical outer cover includes a transparent material.
Nigh provides a teaching in the art of pipe cutters, a transparent shield (30) around the entire perimeter of the cutter (Abstract, Col. 5, lines 62-67, Col. 1, line 1).
It would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to fabricate the cylindrical outer cover of Jones from a transparent material as taught by Nigh which is advantageous for providing increased safety and visibility for making precise cuts in various environments.
Jones teaches wherein the cylindrical outer cover, but does not teach the cylindrical outer cover includes a scale to check a length of the outer tube to be cut.
Graybeal teaches a cutter apparatus having a cylindrical outer cover with a scale (134) to check a length of the outer tube to be cut.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the cylindrical outer cover of Jones with a scale as taught by Graybeal which is advantageous for precision, speed, and efficiency of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 11-14, 18, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724