DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao [US 2020/0112907] in view of Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058].
As claims 1, 17 and 20, Dao discloses an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of a non-guaranteed bit rate (GBR) bearer flow from a core entity [Fig 2, Ref 260, Fig 4, Ref 470, Fig 6,. Ref 665, Par. 0004, 0009, 0011, 0014, 0016, 0019, 0023, 0026, 0041-0042, 0057, 0132, 0158, 0166, 0222, 0231, 0322 discloses network notifies a changed value of QOS notification control to UE]; and controlling, by the terminal, the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Par. 0004, 0014, Fig 3, Ref 350, Fig 5, Ref 580, Fig 7, Ref 770 discloses UE adjust its application operation according to the changed value of QNC]. However, Dao fails to fully disclose an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) is received, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of bearer flow from a core entity. In the same field of endeavor, Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) is received, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of bearer flow from a core entity [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS for Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Fig 13, Ref S1303, Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS]; and controlling, by the terminal, the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Fig 9-10 discloses the applicant steers the packet according the ATSSS rule, Par. 0354 for Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] Fig 10 discloses the applicant steers the packet according the ATSSS rule, Par. 0201, 0249, 0338] wherein the core entity is a session management function (SMF) [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS at Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS], and wherein the changed parameter value is received in anon-access stratum (NAS) message [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS at Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS].
Since, Dao suggest a system which includes PCC for instructing the SMF for notifying UE about a new policy received and NAS between UE and SMF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a SMF for notifying the UE a changed ATSSS rule based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) rule is received as disclosed by Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] into the teaching of Dao. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of signal.
As claims 2 and 18, Dao discloses the controlling the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling, by the terminal, a computing policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement]; and/or controlling, by the terminal, a traffic policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Par. 0338 discloses transferring policy between UE and AS or Par. 0346 discloses traffic policy based on QOS].
As claims 3 and 19, Dao discloses the controlling a computing policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling the application to be executed according to a first computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better, wherein the computing duration of a same computing task under the first computing policy is shorter than the computing duration under the second computing policy [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement].
As claim 4, Dao discloses the controlling the application to be executed according to a first computing policy in response to the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: controlling the application to use a first encoding and decoding mode for encoding and decoding based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: controlling the application to use a second encoding and decoding mode for encoding and decoding based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better; wherein the computing duration of a same encoding and decoding task under the first encoding and decoding policy is shorter than the computing duration under the second encoding and decoding policy [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement].
As claim 8, Dao discloses receiving, by the terminal, a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command from the core entity, the PDU session modification command including the changed parameter value of QNC [Fig 2, Ref 260, Fig 4, Ref 470, Fig 6, Ref 665].
As claim 9, Dao discloses the changed parameter value of QNC is received when the core device does not receive the new policy and the charging control (PCC) rule for the non-GBR bearer flow within a preset duration after receiving the notification message [Par. 0085 discloses SMF receives instruction to provide QOS parameter to UE without receives New Policy wherein preset duration is from a time of receiving instruction to the time SMF transmit message]; or the changed parameter value of QNC is received when a core device receives new PCC rules for the non-GBR bearer flow within a preset duration after receiving the notification message and there is no modification to QoS requirements in the new PCC rules [ not consider because or statement].
As claim 10, Dao discloses the changed parameter value of QNC is transparently received from the core device through a radio access network (RAN) [Fig 2, Ref 260, Fig 4, Ref 470, Fig 6, Ref 665].
As claim 11, Dao discloses the parameter value of QNC comprises at least one of the following: a packet delay budget (PDR); a packet error rate (PER); and a current bit rate (CBR) [Par. 0041].
As claim 12, Dao discloses there are at least two of the parameter values of QNC [Par. 0041]; the reporting conditions corresponding to at least two of the parameter values are the same; and/or the reporting conditions corresponding to at least two of the parameter values are different [Par. 0021-0022, 0037, 0315, 0317, 0324-0325, 0329, 0336, 0039 QOS changes such as PRB PDB, min and max of bit rates].
As claim 14, Dao discloses the non-GBR bearer flow comprises: a non-GBR QoS flow; or a non-GBR evolved packet system (EPS) bearer [Par. 0057, 0132, 0159, 0168].
As claim 15, Dao discloses the QNC is defined in an uplink; or the QNC is defined in a downlink; or the QNC is defined in the uplink and the downlink [Par. 0004, 0014, Fig 3, Ref 350, Fig 5, Ref 580, Fig 7, Ref 770 discloses UE adjust its application operation as the changed value of QNC].
As claim 16, Dao discloses there is a one-to-one correspondence relationship between the non-GBR bearer flow and a target service flow, and the target service flow is a service flow that enables the QNC and comprises parameter values of the QNC [Par 0080-0082, 0397 discloses non-gbr flow associated gbr flow that enables QNC].
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao [US 2020/0112907] and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Cha [US 2015/0106513] or Mani [US 2020/0162392].
As claim 5, Dao and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] fail to fully disclose what Cha [US 2015/0106513]/Mani [US 2020/0162392] discloses the controlling a traffic policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses UE selects a policy based on a level of traffic of UE and network is greater than threshold, UE drop back ground and fore ground data, Mani discloses at 0014 discloses when bit rate of video packet and audio packet are greater than the bandwidth, then reducing video packet by reducing its bit rate only]; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses when traffic level less than threshold, then UE restarts the background transmission, Mani discloses at Par. 0045 discloses retaining bit rate of audio packet and only increasing bit rate of video packet if available bandwidth is good], wherein the traffic of the first traffic policy is less than the traffic of the second traffic policy [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses traffic of the first policy is less than second policy because traffic of first policy does not include background and Mani discloses at 0014 and 0045 disclose the traffic “video and audio” of first policy is less than traffic “video and audio” of second policy because bit rate of video packet of the first policy is less than the bit rate of second policy, so the first traffic is less than the second traffic].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for implement controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better, wherein the traffic of the first traffic policy is less than the traffic of the second traffic policy as disclosed by Cha/Mani into the teaching of Dao and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058]. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of important data.
As claim 6, Dao and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] fail to discloses what Mani discloses the traffic of the application comprises a voice data packet and a video data packet; the controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and reducing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse [Par. 0014 discloses when bit rate of video packet and audio packet are greater than the bandwidth, then reducing video packet by reducing its bit rate only]; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and increasing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better [Par. 0045 discloses retaining bit rate of audio packet and only increasing bit rate of video packet if available bandwidth is good].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for the traffic of the application comprises a voice data packet and a video data packet; the controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and reducing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and increasing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better as disclosed by Mani into the teaching of Dao and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058]. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of important data.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu [US 2021/0168079] in view of Youn [US 2023/0132058] or Youn [US 2024/0015562].
As claims 1, 17 and 20, Yu discloses an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of a non-guaranteed bit rate (GBR) bearer flow from a core entity [Fig 6, Ref S108 discloses network notifies a changed value of QOS notification control to UE]; and controlling, by the terminal, the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Fig 6, Ref S1042 discloses UE adjust its application operation according to the changed value of QNC]. However, Yu fails to fully disclose an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) rule is received, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of bearer flow from a core entity. In the same field of endeavor, In the same field of endeavor, Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses an apparatus and method for controlling an application, the method comprising: receiving, by a terminal based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) is received, a changed parameter value of quality of service (QoS) notification control (QNC) of bearer flow from a core entity [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS for Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Fig 13, Ref S1303, Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS]; and controlling, by the terminal, the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Fig 9-10 discloses the applicant steers the packet according the ATSSS rule, Par. 0354 for Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] Fig 10 discloses the applicant steers the packet according the ATSSS rule, Par. 0201, 0249, 0338] wherein the core entity is a session management function (SMF) [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS at Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS], and wherein the changed parameter value is received in anon-access stratum (NAS) message [Par. 0248 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS at Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] discloses Par. 0336 discloses SMF which receives new PCC rule from PCF, transmit ATSSS rule which includes the steering value via NAS].
Since, Yu suggests a system which includes PCC for instructing the SMF for notifying UE about a new policy received and NAS between UE and SMF. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a SMF for notifying the UE a changed ATSSS rule based on whether a core device receives a new policy or whether a new policy charging control (PCC) rule is received as disclosed by Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] into the teaching of Yu. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of signal.
As claims 2 and 18, Yu discloses the controlling the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling, by the terminal, a computing policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement]; and/or controlling, by the terminal, a traffic policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC [Fig 6, Ref S1042 discloses traffic policy based on changed QOS].
As claims 3 and 19, Yu discloses the controlling a computing policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling the application to be executed according to a first computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better, wherein the computing duration of a same computing task under the first computing policy is shorter than the computing duration under the second computing policy [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement].
As claim 4, Yu discloses the controlling the application to be executed according to a first computing policy in response to the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: controlling the application to use a first encoding and decoding mode for encoding and decoding based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second computing policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: controlling the application to use a second encoding and decoding mode for encoding and decoding based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better; wherein the computing duration of a same encoding and decoding task under the first encoding and decoding policy is shorter than the computing duration under the second encoding and decoding policy [this limitation is not consideration by examiner because the or statement].
As claim 8, Yu discloses receiving, by the terminal, a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification command from the core entity, the PDU session modification command including the changed parameter value of QNC [Par. 0019, 0366, 0467, Fig 15, Ref S410].
As claim 10, Yu discloses the changed parameter value of QNC is transparently received from the core device through a radio access network (RAN) [Par. 0019, 0366, 0467, Fig 15, Ref S410].
As claim 11, Yu discloses the parameter value of QNC comprises at least one of the following: a packet delay budget (PDR); a packet error rate (PER); and a current bit rate (CBR) [Par. 0014].
As claim 12, Yu discloses there are at least two of the parameter values of QNC [Par. 0014]; the reporting conditions corresponding to at least two of the parameter values are the same; and/or the reporting conditions corresponding to at least two of the parameter values are different [Par. 0014, 0311].
As claim 14, Yu discloses the non-GBR bearer flow comprises: a non-GBR QoS flow; or a non-GBR evolved packet system (EPS) bearer [Par. 0015].
As claim 15, Yu discloses the QNC is defined in an uplink; or the QNC is defined in a downlink; or the QNC is defined in the uplink and the downlink [Fig 6, Ref S1042 for steering policy in uplink].
As claim 16, Yu discloses there is a one-to-one correspondence relationship between the non-GBR bearer flow and a target service flow, and the target service flow is a service flow that enables the QNC and comprises parameter values of the QNC [Par. 0015 discloses non-gbr flow associated gbr flow that enables QNC].
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu [US 2021/0168079] and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cha [US 2015/0106513] or Mani [US 2020/0162392].
As claim 5, Yu and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] fail to fully disclose what Cha [US 2015/0106513]/Mani [US 2020/0162392] discloses the controlling a traffic policy of the application according to the changed parameter value of QNC comprises: controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses UE selects a policy based on a level of traffic of UE and network is greater than threshold, UE drop back ground and fore ground data, Mani discloses at 0014 discloses when bit rate of video packet and audio packet are greater than the bandwidth, then reducing video packet by reducing its bit rate only]; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses when traffic level less than threshold, then UE restarts the background transmission, Mani discloses at Par. 0045 discloses retaining bit rate of audio packet and only increasing bit rate of video packet if available bandwidth is good], wherein the traffic of the first traffic policy is less than the traffic of the second traffic policy [Cha discloses at Par. 0114 discloses traffic of the first policy is less than second policy because traffic of first policy does not include background and Mani discloses at 0014 and 0045 disclose the traffic “video and audio” of first policy is less than traffic “video and audio” of second policy because bit rate of video packet of the first policy is less than the bit rate of second policy, so the first traffic is less than the second traffic].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for implement controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better, wherein the traffic of the first traffic policy is less than the traffic of the second traffic policy as disclosed by Cha/Mani into the teaching of Yu and Youn [US 2023/0132058]. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of important data.
As claim 6, Yu and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] fail to discloses what Mani discloses the traffic of the application comprises a voice data packet and a video data packet; the controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and reducing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse [Par. 0014 discloses when bit rate of video packet and audio packet are greater than the bandwidth, then reducing video packet by reducing its bit rate only]; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and increasing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better [Par. 0045 discloses retaining bit rate of audio packet and only increasing bit rate of video packet if available bandwidth is good].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for the traffic of the application comprises a voice data packet and a video data packet; the controlling the application to be executed according to a first traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and reducing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming worse; and the controlling the application to be executed according to a second traffic policy based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better comprises: retaining the first traffic corresponding to the voice data packet and increasing the second traffic corresponding to the video data packet based on the changed parameter value of QNC becoming better as disclosed by Mani into the teaching of Yu and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058]. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of important data.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu [US 2021/0168079] and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dao [US 2020/0112907].
As claim 9, Yu [US 2021/0168079] and Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] fail to disclose what Dao discloses the changed parameter value of QNC is received when the core device does not receive the new policy and the charging control (PCC) rule for the non-GBR bearer flow within a preset duration after receiving the notification message [Par. 0085 discloses SMF receives instruction to provide QOS parameter to UE without receives New Policy wherein preset duration is from a time of receiving instruction to the time SMF transmit message]; or the changed parameter value of QNC is received when a core device receives new PCC rules for the non-GBR bearer flow within a preset duration after receiving the notification message and there is no modification to QoS requirements in the new PCC rules [not consider because or statement].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system comprising a SMF for notifying QOS based on information form NWDAF as disclosed by Dao into the teaching of Youn [US 2024/0015562] or Youn [US 2023/0132058] and Yu. The motivation would have been to maintain the quality of signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As claim 13, the prior arts does not disclose the reporting condition comprises at least one of the following: the changing value of the parameter value of QNC within a first duration is greater than a first threshold; the changing rate of the parameter value of QNC within a second duration is greater than a second threshold; the changing value of the parameter value of QNC within the first duration is greater than the first threshold, and a third threshold is retained continuously; and the changing rate of the parameter value of QNC within the second duration is greater than the second threshold, and a fourth threshold is retained continuously, wherein the third threshold and the fourth threshold are thresholds for measuring a retaining duration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Youn [US 2023/008494] discloses the MA PDU session is updated by the SMF (for example, after the SMF receives an updated (or new) PCC rule from the PCF), the ATSSS rule may be transmitted to the UE along with the NAS message. Similarly, the N4 rule may be transmitted to the UPF when a MA PDU session is created or the MA PDU session is updated by the SMF.
Youn [US 20230070882] discloses the MA PDU session is updated by the SMF (for example, after the SMF receives an updated (or new) PCC rule from the PCF), the ATSSS rule may be transmitted to the UE along with the NAS message. Similarly, the N4 rule may be transmitted to the UPF when a MA PDU session is created or the MA PDU session is updated by the SMF.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414