DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 2-6 are as previously presented.
Claims 7-15 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein the connected charger is further configured to detect a coupling detection signal” and “a memory configured to store the power tool information and/or the first battery pack information until the first battery pack is coupled or recoupled to the connected charger based on detection of the coupling detection signal, wherein the connected charger transmits the power tool information and/or the first battery pack information from the connected charger to the first battery pack when the first battery pack is coupled or recoupled to the connected charger based on detection of the coupling detection signal” (emphasis added). While applicant cites Figs. 3-4 and Par. 29-43, they do not disclose said coupling signal, or performing the functions based on said signal. For example, step 172/192 “yes” are understood to be said decoupling signal, with the following steps being based on receiving said signal, there is however no equivalent for said “coupling signal” as for example steps 162/182 are actions of coupling the battery, the following steps being based on information on the battery rather than the detection of a signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohm et al. (WO 2021110461 A1).
In claim 1, Bohm discloses a system (Fig. 1), comprising: a first battery pack (Fig. 1, 104, Par. 17 “battery pack”); and a connected charger (Fig. 1, 106) configured to removably couple or recouple with the first battery pack to charge or recharge the first battery pack (Par. 16 “removably couple with the battery pack”) via a first interface (Fig. 1, 120 Par. 18), wherein the connected charger is further configured to detect a coupling detection signal and a decoupling detection signal (Par. 41-43 “ If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time”), and wherein the connected charger comprises: a communications module disposed within the housing of the connected charger (Fig. 7, 138, Par. 16), wherein the communications module is configured to receive information (Par. 25-26 “receiving information from one or more battery packs 104, the communications module”) related to a power tool (Fig. 1, 102) and/or information related to the first battery pack from a cloud-based computing system (Fig. 1, 136, Par. 26 “cloudbased computing device 136 may be configured to transmit command signals to the communications module”) during a period of time when the first battery pack is disconnected from the first interface (Par. 29 “one charger module 106 may be utilized to charge, at different times, a plurality of battery packs 104” examiner considered the period of time to be the duration which the battery pack is on the charging module and not connected to the power tool) based on detection of the decoupling detection signal (Par. 16-18, 33-35, 41-43); and a memory (Fig. 1, 124) configured to store the power tool information and/or the first battery pack information until the first battery pack is coupled or recoupled to the connected charger (Par. 43 “store the command signal within the memory 124 until the battery pack 104 is communicatively coupled to the power tool”) based on detection of the coupling detection signal (Par. 43 “store the command signal within the memory 124 until the battery pack 104 is communicatively coupled to the power tool 102”), wherein the connected charger transmits the power tool information and/or the first battery pack information from the connected charger to the first battery pack when the first battery pack is coupled or recoupled to the connected charger (Par. 40, 43, Fig. 5 “the cloud-based computing device 136 may send various command signals to the battery pack 104 via the communications module 108”) based on detection of the coupling detection signal (Par. 43 “store the command signal within the memory 124 until the battery pack 104 is communicatively coupled to the power tool 102”).
In claim 2, Bohm discloses a second battery pack (Fig. 2 see several 104s) configured to removably couple with the connected charger via the first interface (See Fig. 2), wherein the connected charger is configured to transmit power tool information and/or second battery pack information from the connected charger to the second battery pack when the second battery pack is coupled or recoupled to the connected charger (Par. 40, 43, Fig. 5).
In claim 3, Bohm discloses comprising charging the first battery pack via the connected charger while the battery pack is connected to the first interface (Fig. 1, Par. 44 “charger module 106 for charging the battery pack 104”).
In claim 4, Bohm discloses wherein the communications module is a cellular transceiver configured to transmit the received information via a cellular antenna (Par. 44 “cellular transceiver” “cellular antenna”).
In claim 5, Bohm discloses wherein the first battery pack is a rechargeable battery pack comprising a series of rechargeable battery cells (See Claim 10).
In claim 6, Bohm discloses wherein the information related to the power tool and/or information related to the first battery pack comprises a command signal, firmware, configurations, updates, packages, lockdown commands and/or unlock commands for the first battery pack, a block command, a shutdown or a startup command, security certificates, or confirmation parameters (Par. 16 “command signals” Par. 40 “lockdown” “updates”).
In claim 7, Bohm discloses wherein upon detection of the coupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the first battery pack transmits operating information to the connected charger (Par. 41-43 “transferring the command signal to the battery pack 104 (block 224). If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time” “store the command signal within the memory 124 until the battery pack 104 is communicatively coupled to the power tool 102”).
In claim 8, Bohm discloses all of claim 7. Bohm further discloses wherein the connected charger stores the operating information received from the first battery pack upon detection of the coupling detection signal (Par. 41-43 “transferring the command signal to the battery pack 104 (block 224). If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time” “store the command signal within the memory 124 until the battery pack 104 is communicatively coupled to the power tool 102”).
In claim 9, Bohm discloses wherein upon detection of the coupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the connected charger determines if information related to the first battery pack is stored within the memory (Par. 41 “If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time”).
In claim 10, Bohm discloses all of claim 9. Bohm further discloses wherein in response to detecting the coupling detection signal and determining that information for the first battery pack is stored in the memory, the connected charger transmits the stored information to the first battery pack (Par. 41 “If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time”).
In claim 11, Bohm discloses wherein upon detection of the decoupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the connected charger transmits operating information to the cloud-based computing system (Par. 41 “If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time” “a confirmation signal from the battery pack 104 indicating that the command signal was properly received”).
In claim 12, Bohm discloses wherein subsequent to the detection of the decoupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the connected charger receives and stores information from the cloud-based computing system intended for the first battery pack (Par. 41 “If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time”).
In claim 13, Bohm discloses wherein upon detection of the coupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the connected charger initiates charging of the first battery pack (Par. 44-45).
In claim 14, Bohm discloses wherein upon detection of the decoupling detection signal between the first battery pack and the connected charger, the connected charger determines that the first battery pack is decoupled, and in response, transmits operating information to the cloud-based computing system (Par. 44).
In claim 15, Bohm discloses wherein subsequent to the detection of a decoupling detection signal of any battery pack from the connected charger, the connected charger receives and stores information from the cloud-based computing system intended for any battery pack when no battery pack is coupled to the connected charger (Par. 41 “If the battery pack 104 of interest is not coupled to the communications module 108 at the time the communications module 108 receive the command signal, the communications module 108 may be configured to store the command signal until a future transfer time” “a confirmation signal from the battery pack 104 indicating that the command signal was properly received”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amened claim language is taught by the prior art of record as cited above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210117749 A1 SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR RETROFIT WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS IN CORDLESS POWER TOOLS; US 6005489 A Electric Power Tool With Code Receiver.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857