DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 15 of copending Application No. 18/056,123.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 5-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/056,123, hereinafter 123’, in view of WO 2021/0110460 A1.
As to claim 5, 123’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the power tool operational information comprises unique identification information related to the power tool or unique identification information related to the manufacturer, owner, and/or previous owners of the power tool, or a combination thereof.
460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational information comprises unique identification information related to the power tool or unique identification information related to the manufacturer, owner, and/or previous owners of the power tool, or a combination thereof [see ¶0020].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use unique identification number for tool information in 123’s apparatus as taught by 460’ in order to distinguish or uniquely identify each power tool.
As to claim 6, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational information comprises historical information related to an operation of the power tool, historical information related to the repair and/or theft of the power tool, historical information related to error codes or alerts triggered by the power tool, or a combination thereof [historical information disclosed; see ¶0020].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use historical information in 123’s apparatus as taught by 460’ in order to effectively charge the battery pack.
As to claim 7, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational information comprises sensor related information gathered from one or more sensors disposed throughout the power tool, information related to tool components of the power tool, or a combination thereof [see ¶0017].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add sensors in 123’s apparatus as taught by 460’ in order to measure battery or power tool electrical parameters in order to prevent or avoid adverse damages.
As to claim 8, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the battery pack operational information includes unique identification information related to the battery pack, historical information related to the operation of the battery pack, cycles of operation, a power level, a state of health (SOH) status, a state of charge (SOC) status, historical information related to error codes, a lockdown status, a unlock status, or a combination thereof [see ¶022 and Claim 8].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use SOC information in 123’s apparatus as taught by 460’ in order to avoid battery damage due to over charging or undercharging.
As to claim 10, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the historical information related to the operation of the power tool comprises information related to runtime [see ¶0020].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W0 2021/0110460 A1, hereinafter 460’, in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0280502), hereinafter Hsieh.
As to claim 1, 460’ discloses in figure 1, a system, comprising:
a plurality of battery packs [battery pack s(104); see ¶0017 and ¶0023-0024] associated with a plurality of different power tools [, each battery pack configured to receive and gather respective battery pack and power tool operational information [see ¶0005 and ¶0022-0023]; and
a connected charger [charger connectors (126) and (128); and ¶0022-0023] having a housing and configured to removably couple with at least one of the plurality of battery packs to a first interface the first interface including electrical power contacts and separate data contacts configured to transfer power between the connected charger and the coupled battery pack and to transfer the respective battery pack and power tool operational information of the coupled battery pack directly to charger circuitry of the connected charger [noted that the memory (144) stores battery and power information and this memory device can be also stored in the charger; ¶0025-0027; ¶0031-0032 and ¶0045[,
wherein the connected charger [charger (106) module] comprises:
a charger memory [memory (144) can be stored in the charger unit; see ¶0027-31 and figure 7] disposed within the housing of the connected charger and forming part of the charger circuitry, the charger memory [memory 144; the memory 144 is separate from the communication device; see figure 7] configured to receive and store, independently of any memory of any of the plurality of battery packs, the respective battery pack and power tool operational information via the data contacts of the first interface [the battery ack (104) has memory (144) see also ¶0025-0027],
a communications module [communication device (138) is disposed in the charger (106)] disposed within the housing of the connected charger [see figure 7; element 138 and also see ¶00044], and operatively coupled to the charger memory [charger incorporates memory (144); see ¶0025-0024], the communications module comprising a wireless transceiver [cellular (136)] and being configured to access the respective battery pack and power tool operational information [cellular transceiver; see also Claim ] stored in the charger memory and to transmit the accessed information to a cloud-based computing system even during a period of time when the respective battery pack is physically disconnected from the first interface and is not in electrical communication with the connected charger [cloud based computing device (136); see ¶007, ¶0024-28; Abstract ].
a charger controller [processor ( 142) ] operatively coupled to the charger memory [the charger memory can be memory (144)] the charger controller being configured to write respective battery pack and power tool operational information into the charger memory during multiple, consecutive coupling events with the plurality of battery packs and to retain the written operational information in the charge memory after each battery pack is decoupled [noted that the memory stores battery and power tool information during communications with the battery and the power tool, such that the connected charge maintains a multi-session operational history corresponding to the plurality of power tools and the respective battery packs;
wherein the communications module is further configured to access the multi-session operational history from the charger memory and to transmit the accessed history to the cloud-based computing system when wireless communication becomes available, including after period during which wireless communication is unavailable and the multi-session operational history remains stored in the charger memory [the communication module (108) which is deposed in the charger receives information from the battery and store the information when the; see ¶004, ¶0022, ¶0024, ¶0030-0033 and ¶0045]].
460’ does not disclose explicitly, battery is not coupled to the charger; the communication module transmits the signal to the cloud based server in later time the charger.
Hsieh discloses in figure 1, the charger [charging unit (23)] transmits data when the battery is disconnected /uncoupled from the charger [claim 7].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the communication of 460’ and transmits data to the charger when the battery is disconnected from the charger as taught by Hsieh in order to continuously monitor battery status to avoid battery charging and discharging.
As to claim 2, 460’ and Ito disclose, a second battery pack [plurality of battery packs (160,162,164) are disclosed] another battery pack of the plurality of battery packs configured to removably couple with the connected charger via the first interface [460’ discloses the charger 108 connected with the battery packs via the connection terminals 134], wherein the connected charger is configured to charge the another battery pack while transmitting the stored power tool information from the charger memory [see ¶0024-¶0025].
As to claim 3, 460’ discloses in figure 2, the first battery pack [battery packs 160, 162, 164] of the plurality of battery pack via the connected charger [charger 108] while the battery pack is connected to the first interface [¶0025].
As to claim 4, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is a cellular transceiver having a cellular transceiver having a cellular antenna [see Abstract, see ¶0026; Cellular transceiver disclosed by 460’].
As to claim 5, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational comprises unique identification information related to the power tool or unique identification information related to the manufacturer, owner, and/or previous owners of the power tool, or a combination thereof [see ¶0020].
As to claim 6, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational information comprises historical information related to an operation of the power tool, historical information related to the repair and/or theft of the power tool, historical information related to error codes or alerts triggered by the power tool, or a combination thereof [historical information disclosed; see ¶0020].
As to claim 7, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the power tool operational information comprises sensor related information gathered from one or more sensors disposed throughout the power tool, information related to tool components of the power tool, or a combination thereof [see ¶0017].
As to claim 8, 460’ discloses in figure 2, , wherein the battery pack operational information includes unique identification information related to the battery pack, historical information related to the operation of the battery pack, cycles of operation, a power level, a state of health (SOH) status, a state of charge (SOC) status, historical information related to error codes, a lockdown status, a unlock status, or a combination thereof [see ¶0022 and Claim 8].
As to claim 9, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein a first battery pack of the plurality of battery packs is a rechargeable battery pack comprising a series of rechargeable battery cells [claim 9].
As to claim 10, 460’ discloses in figure 2, wherein the historical information related to the operation of the power tool comprises information related to runtime [see ¶0022].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, or moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Neither Böhm nor Ito teaches or suggests a connected charger having a housing that includes a charger memory forming part of charger circuitry and independent of any battery-pack memory, a charger controller configured to write and retain respective battery pack and power tool operational information during multiple, consecutive coupling events with a plurality of battery packs, or maintaining a multi-session operational history corresponding to a plurality of power tools and battery packs for later transmission”
Examiner disagrees with the above applicant’s assertion Boham discloses the communication module (138) disposed in the charger and the memory of the charger stores power tool and battery pack information to transmits to the server [ see ¶0022, ¶0024, ¶0024, ¶0030-0033 and ¶0045]
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859