DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1, dependent claims 2-8, and added dependent claim 9. The amendment defines the structural relationships of the present disclosure of the charger having integrated memory and communications abilities, as opposed to the prior art of record Bohm which teaches a communications module between the charger and the battery pack.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of co-pending Application No. 18/056131, applicant has amended the claim language to distinguish between the two applications. Particularly the amended language “a plurality of power tools; a plurality of battery packs, each of the plurality of battery packs being configured to be removably coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of power tools via first interface and to a connected charger via a second interface” wherein the emphasized portion differentiates the present application from Application No. 18/056131. Application No. 18/056131 claim 1 contains the limitation “a plurality of battery packs associated with a plurality of different power tools each battery pack configured to receive and gather respective battery pack and power tool operational information; and a connected charger having a housing and configured to removably couple with at least one of the first plurality of battery packs via a first interface, the first interface including electrical power contacts and separate data contacts configured to transfer power”. The present disclosure differentiates itself by indicating a power tool with a removably attachable battery through a first interface, and simultaneously being removably attachable to a charger via a second interface. Examiner withdraws the rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-10 of co-pending Application No. 18/056131.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-2 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/056123, applicant has amended the claim language to distinguish between the two applications. Particularly the amended language “each of the plurality of battery packs being configured to be removably coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of power tools via first interface and to a connected charger via a second interface” wherein the emphasized portion differentiates the present application from Application No. 18/056123. Application No. 18/056123 claim 1 contains the limitation “a connected charger configured to removably couple or recouple with the first battery pack to charge or recharge the first battery pack via a first interface”, indicating a single interface on the battery pack. The present disclosure differentiates itself by indicating a power tool with a removably attachable battery through a first interface, and simultaneously being removably attachable to a charger via a second interface. Examiner withdraws the rejection of claims 1-2 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-15 of co-pending Application No. 18/056123.
Applicant's arguments filed 19 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. New ground(s) of rejection are presented herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funk et al (US 20210376630 A1) modified by Truettner et al (US 20220094207 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Funk teaches a power tool system, comprising: a plurality of power tools;
a plurality of battery packs, (¶0020 “the system 100 could include as few as a single tool 110 or as many as dozens of tools 110”)
each of the plurality of battery packs being configured to be removably coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of power tools via first interface (¶0019 “[FIG 1] The tool 110 may be configured to be powered by and communicate with the rechargeable battery pack 150”, ¶0061 “[FIGs 4-7] the battery pack 150 may detect removal from the tool 110”)
and to a connected charger via a second interface, (¶0019 “FIG. 1, the system 100 may include a battery-powered tool 110. The tool 110 may be configured to be powered by and communicate with the rechargeable battery pack 150. The battery pack 150 may be configured to be recharged by and communicate with the battery charger 180”, ¶0030 “The tool interface 230 may include one or more interface mechanisms for enabling communication with other tools or devices (e.g., tool 110, the battery charger 180, the user device 160, or internal components of the battery pack 150)”,FIG 4 illustrates battery pack 150 as being in simultaneous communication with tool 110 via interfaces 402 and 422 and battery charger 180 via interfaces 432 and 442)
each of the plurality of battery packs comprising a memory (¶0027 “[FIG 2] the processing circuitry 210 may include one or more instances of a processor 212 and memory 214”)
configured to store power tool information received from the corresponding power tool and battery pack information gathered by the battery pack; (¶0025 “[FIG 2] processing circuitry 210 to provide electronic control inputs to one or more functional units of the battery pack 150 and to process data received at or generated by the one or more functional units regarding various indications of tool activity”, ¶0035 “The processing unit 505, the memory 525, the input units 530, and the output units 535, as well as the various modules connected to the battery pack controller 500”)
and the connected charger configured to concurrently and removably couple with the plurality of battery packs via a plurality of charger interfaces, (¶0020 “the system 100 could include as few as a single tool 110 or as many as dozens of tools 110”, ¶0030 “The tool interface 230 may include one or more interface mechanisms for enabling communication with other tools or devices (e.g., tool 110, the battery charger 180, the user device 160, or internal components of the battery pack 150)”,the system 100 in a configuration for a plurality of tools 110 would necessarily have multiple charger interfaces)
and wherein the communications module is configured to transmit, from the memory, information previously received from a first one of the plurality of battery packs to a cloud-based computing system (¶0039 “[FIG 2, battery pack 150] communications manager 232 may determine whether to store the data temporarily or relay the operational parameters to network 170 ”, ¶0043 “[FIG 3] battery pack 150 and the tool 110 and transmit the operational parameters over the network 170 to the network devices…the application server 340 may be configured to receive the data transmitted by the battery pack 150 (via the network 170)”)
during a period of time in which the first one of the plurality of battery packs is disconnected from a corresponding one of the plurality of charger interfaces, (¶0040 “removal of the battery pack 150 from the tool 110 may trigger immediate transmission of operational parameters stored in the memory 214 of the battery pack 150 to the network 170”)
while the connected charger continues to charge and/or receive information from a second one-of the plurality of battery packs that remains removably coupled to a different one of the plurality charger interfaces. (¶0030 “The tool interface 230 may include one or more interface mechanisms for enabling communication with other tools or devices (e.g., tool 110, the battery charger 180, the user device 160, or internal components of the battery pack 150)”, indicating that there is independent communication between battery charger 180 and each tool 110)
Funk does not teach a power tool system, comprising: a connected charger configured to concurrently and removably couple with the plurality of battery packs via a plurality of charger interfaces, the connected charger comprising a housing, a memory disposed within the housing, and a communications module disposed within the housing and operatively coupled to the memory, and wherein the memory of the connected charger is configured to receive and store from each of the plurality of battery packs, the power tool information and the battery pack information stored-in the memory of each of the plurality of battery packs, and to associate the stored information with the corresponding battery pack and power tool.
Truettner teaches a power tool system, comprising: a connected charger configured to concurrently and removably couple with the plurality of battery packs via a plurality of charger interfaces, (¶0020 “ FIG. 1 illustrates an example wireless charger 100… plurality of charging stations 110a-110c are configured to receive a battery pack, such as a power tool battery pack”)
the connected charger comprising a housing, (¶0020 “[FIG 1] wireless charger 100 includes a charger housing 105”)
a memory disposed within the housing, (¶0021 “charger controller 200 for the wireless charger 100 is illustrated in FIG. 2”, FIG 2 memory 225 disposed in controller 200 which is subsequently disposed inside of charger housing 105; similarly ¶0035 “battery pack controller 500 are connected by one or more control and/or data buses (e.g., common bus 540)”)
and a communications module disposed within the housing and operatively coupled to the memory, (¶0021 “charger controller 200 for the wireless charger 100 is illustrated in FIG. 2”, ¶0028 “charger controller 200 may utilize a first communication circuit 255 to communicate with devices external to the wireless charger 100”, ¶0022 “processing unit 205, the memory 225, the input units 230, and the output units 235, as well as the various modules connected to the charger controller 200 are connected by one or more control and/or data buses (e.g., common bus 240)”; similarly ¶0039 “charger controller 200 using the second communication circuit 550”)
and wherein the memory of the connected charger is configured to receive and store from each of the plurality of battery packs, the power tool information and the battery pack information stored-in the memory of each of the plurality of battery packs, (¶0028 “the battery pack 400 may transmit charging parameters to the charger controller 200”, ¶0037 “battery pack sensors 545 transmit signals associated with operational parameters of the battery pack 400 to the battery pack controller 500”; the controllers with memory receive power tool information through the battery packs)
and to associate the stored information with the corresponding battery pack and power tool. (¶0028 “first communication circuit 255 may transmit information associated with the battery pack 400 to a mobile device”)
Funk and Truettner both teach a power tool system comprising a charger with a memory disposed in the charger, which in turn charges multiple power tool batteries. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the power tool system as taught by Funk wherein the memory of the connected charger is configured to receive and store from each of the plurality of battery packs, the power tool information and the battery pack information stored-in the memory of each of the plurality of battery packs, and to associate the stored information with the corresponding battery pack and power tool as taught by Treuttner for the purpose of improved control, monitoring, and/or operation of individual power tools among a plurality of power tools which may be located at a construction site.
Regarding claim 2, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the communications module is a cellular transceiver configured to transmit the stored information via a cellular antenna. (Funk ¶0030 “communications manager 232 may include an antenna and radio equipment for conducting Bluetooth, WiFi, or other short range communication”)
Regarding claim 3, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the power tool information comprises unique identification information related to the corresponding power tool or unique identification information related to the manufacturer, owner, and/or previous owners of the corresponding power tool. (Funk ¶0036 “ BMS 234 may receive or generate identification information that correlates a specific tool 110 to the user of the tool 110”)
Regarding claim 4, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the power tool information comprises historical information related to the operation of the corresponding power tool, (Funk ¶0050 “average run time information may be used as being predictive of a next task of the tool 110”)
[historical information related to the repair and/or theft of the corresponding power tool,]
and/or historical information related to error codes or alerts triggered by the corresponding power. (Funk ¶0056 “battery pack 150 may cause one or more alerts or reports to be displayed on the user device 160 regarding the battery pack charging status”)
Regarding claim 5, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the corresponding power tool information comprises sensor related information gathered from one or more sensors disposed throughout the corresponding power tool, (Funk ¶0066 “receiving battery data from one or more battery sensors 260 at operation 812 and receiving tool data from tool sensors 272 of the tool 110 at operation 814”)
and/or information related to tool components of the corresponding power tool. (Funk ¶0066 “receiving battery data from one or more battery sensors 260 at operation 812 and receiving tool data from tool sensors 272 of the tool 110 at operation 814”)
Regarding claim 6, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the battery pack information includes unique identification information related to the corresponding battery pack, (Funk ¶0036 “ BMS 234 may receive or generate identification information that correlates a specific tool 110 to the user of the tool 110”)
historical information related to the operation of the corresponding battery pack, (Funk ¶0050 “average run time information may be used as being predictive of a next task of the tool 110”)
[and/or cycles of operation, a power level, a state of health (SOH) status, a state of charge (SOC) status, historical information related to error codes, a lockdown status, and/or a unlock status related to the corresponding battery pack.]
Regarding claim 7, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner does not teach a power tool system wherein the plurality of battery packs are each a rechargeable battery pack comprising a series of rechargeable battery cells.
Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the plurality of battery packs are each a rechargeable battery pack comprising a series of rechargeable battery cells. (¶0034 “battery pack controller 500 for the battery pack 400 is illustrated in FIG. 5… one or more battery cell(s) 560”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the power tool system as taught by Funk as modified by Treuttner wherein the plurality of battery packs are each a rechargeable battery pack comprising a series of rechargeable battery cells for the purpose of reducing the load per cell and improving thermal dissipation for maximizing the lifespan of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 8, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the historical information related to the operation of the corresponding power tool comprises information related to runtime. (Funk ¶0050 “average run time information may be used as being predictive of a next task of the tool 110”)
Regarding claim 9, Funk as modified by Treuttner teaches the power tool system of claim 1. Funk as modified by Treuttner further teaches a power tool system wherein the communications module is configured to schedule or delay transmission of stored information based at least in part on one or more of current charging operations of the connected charger, (Funk ¶0018 “battery pack as further described herein may be configured to communicate to the battery charger certain operational data to enable efficient and predictive charging of the battery pack by a battery charger to a predetermined or desired charge level”)
[an amount of information stored in the memory,
availability of wireless communications,
strength of signal for available communications channels,]
and a duration of time since a previous transmission. (Funk ¶0039 “the communications manager 232 may define a separate interval or period at which to communicate the operational parameters to the network 170 for transfer to network devices”)
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to due to an informality in the limitation “a unlock status”, which should read “an unlock status.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859