DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-3, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen et al. [US 2021/0074465 A1] in view of Rabjohn [US 4,816,784].
Regarding claims 1-2, Yen et al. discloses an inductor device [figures 2A-2B, comprising:
- a first trace [1100], comprising: at least two sub-traces [1110, 1120], wherein one terminal of the at least two sub-traces is coupled to a first node [N1];
- a second trace [1200], comprising: at least two sub-traces [1210, 1220], wherein one terminal of the at least two sub-traces coupled to a second node [N2]; and
- a capacitor [C], coupled between the first node and the second node.
Yen et al. in other embodiment of figures 5-7, discloses a crossing connection arrangement between traces [1100C, 1200C] of the inductor device in an interlaced manner.
Yen et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a first crossing connection portion, coupled between the at least two sub-traces of the first trace in an interlaced manner.
Rabjohn discloses an inductor [or transformer, figure 2] using first and second crossing connection portions [18] between at least two sub-traces [or patterns] of two coils/conductors [14, 16] in an interlaced manner [figure 2].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the crossing connection portions of Rabjohn Yen et al. for the purpose of improving/enhancing magnetic and/or inductance coupling [abstract].
Regarding claims 3-5, the coil structure of Yen et al. in view of Rabjohn would have the at least two sub-traces of the first trace comprise: a first sub-trace, comprising: a first terminal, coupled to the first node [N1 of Yen et al]; and a second terminal; and a second sub-trace, comprising: a first terminal, coupled to the first terminal of the first sub-trace at the first node [N1 of Yen et al.]; and a second terminal, wherein the first sub-trace comprises: a first half-trace, coupled to the first node; and a second half-trace and the second sub-trace comprises: a third half-trace, coupled to the first half-trace at the first node; and a fourth half-trace [figure 2 of Rabjohn in combination of the traces from Yen et al.]
Regarding claims 6-7, Rabjohn discloses the first crossing connection portion [18] comprises: a first crossing connection element, coupled to the first half-trace and the fourth half-trace; and a second crossing connection element, coupled to the second half-trace and the third half-trace, wherein the first crossing connection element and the second crossing connection element are coupled to each other in an interlaced manner [figure 2], wherein the at least two sub-traces of the second trace comprise: a third sub-trace, comprising: a first terminal, coupled to the second node; and a second terminal; and a fourth sub-trace, comprising: a first terminal, coupled to the first terminal of the third sub-trace at the second node; and a second terminal [Figures 2A-2B of Yen et al. in combination of Figure 2 of Rabjohn].
Regarding claims 8-9, the combination of Yen et al. in view of Rabjohn would have the half trace structure, as claimed [Figures 2A-2B of Yen et al. in view of Figure 2 of Rabjohn].
Regarding claim 10, Rabjohn discloses the second crossing connection portion [18] comprises: a third crossing connection element, coupled to the fifth half-trace and the eighth half-trace; and a fourth crossing connection element, coupled to the sixth half-trace and the seventh half-trace, wherein the third crossing connection element and the fourth crossing connection element are coupled to each other in an interlaced manner.
Regarding claims 11-12, Yen et al. discloses a connection element [1300], wherein the capacitor and the connection element are located at two sides of the inductor device respectively [Figures 2A-2B].
Regarding claim 13, Rabjohn discloses the first crossing connection portion [18] and the second crossing connection portion [18] are located at two sides of the inductor device respectively [figure 2].
Regarding claim 14, Yen et al. discloses the capacitor and the connection element are disposed in a first direction [figures 2A-2B]. Rabjohn discloses the first crossing connection portion and the second crossing connection portion are disposed in a second direction perpendicular to nodes/terminals and other connections [figure 2].
The combination arrangement of Yen et al. with Rabjohn would have the capacitor and the connection element perpendicular with the crossing connection portions.
Regarding claim 15, both Yen et al. and Rabjohn discloses input/output terminals for the inductor device.
The specific arrangement and/or location of the input/output terminals would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving internal/external connections.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/014,063 in view of Rabjohn [US 4,816,784].
Copending Application No. 17/014,063 [or US 2202/0139608 A1] discloses inductor device [figure 1], comprising:
- a first trace [1100], comprising: at least two sub-traces [1110A, 1120A], wherein one terminal of the at least two sub-traces is coupled to a first node [N1];
- a second trace [1200], comprising: at least two sub-traces [1210, 1220], wherein one terminal of the at least two sub-traces is coupled to a second node [N2]; and
- a capacitor [C], coupled between the first node and the second node [figure 1].
Copending Application No. 17/014,063 [or US 2202/0139608 A1] disclose the instant claimed invention except for crossing connection portion(s), coupled between the at least two sub-traces of the first trace in an interlaced manner.
Rabjohn discloses an inductor [or transformer, figure 2] using crossing connection portions [18] between at least two sub-traces [or patterns] of two coils/conductors [14, 16] in an interlaced manner [figure 2].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the crossing connection portions of Rabjohn in Copending Application No. 17/014,063 [or US 2202/0139608 A1] for the purpose of improving/enhancing magnetic and/or inductance coupling [abstract].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837