DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is recites the limitation " guard ring structure " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “the peripheral area is covered” is unclear as to what the peripheral are is covered with. The examiner will interpret the claim to mean “the peripheral area is covered with the shielding structure.”
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a portion” in line 2 is duplicated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 6-9, 14-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 2004/0246187).
In regards to claim 1, Hara et al. teaches a printed circuit board (figure 9B) comprising: a ground plane (1132); a power plane (1135) having a first main surface (bottom surface) and a second main surface (top surface) opposite to the first main surface (see figure 9B), wherein the second main surface faces (top surface) the ground plane (1132); and a shielding structure (1137; made of metal) partially covering the power plane (1135; figure 9B), the shielding structure (1137) comprising: a metal structure (metal part (1137)) covering (placed over) a peripheral area of the first main surface (bottom surface) from a direction facing the first main surface (bottom surface), and a plurality of vias (there are vias holes in each layer of the circuit board in figure 9B, in which the screw sets (1138) are inserted) electrically and mechanically coupling the metal structure (1137) to the ground plane (1132).
In regards to claim 2, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim of 1, wherein the plurality of vias (1138, see figure 9A) are arranged around (nearby) a periphery (toward the edge of) of the power plane (1135).
In regards to claim 3, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 2, wherein the plurality of vias (1138) of the guard ring structure (see vias in a ring shape in figure 1c) extend vertically between the metal structure (1137) and the ground plane (1132).
In regards to claim 4, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 2, wherein the plurality of vias (1138) are evenly spaced apart (symmetrical, figure 9A).
In regards to claim 6, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the power plane (1135) extends substantially parallel to the ground plane (1132) and wherein the ground plane (1132) completely covers the second main surface of the power plane (1135) from a vertical direction facing in a direction towards the ground plane (1132)(figure 9B).
In regards to claim 7, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the metal structure (1137) comprises a metal sheet (see flat folded sheet in figure 9B).
In regards to claim 8, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 7, wherein the metal sheet covers (1137) the peripheral area of the first main surface from a direction facing the first main surface (see figure 9B).
In regards to claim 9, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 7, wherein the metal sheet (1137) extends laterally and parallel to the power plane (1135)(see figure 9B).
In regards to claim 14, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure (1137) is capable to interrupt or at least partially block fringing fields and radiating fields produced by the power plane (1135).
In regards to claim 15, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein only a portion of the first main surface of the power plane (1135) corresponding to the peripheral area is covered with the shielding structure (1137) and wherein a remainder of the first main surface of the power plane (1135) is uncovered, from the direction facing the first main surface of the power plane (1135)(see figure 9B).
In regards to claim 16, Hara et al. teaches a printed circuit board (figure 9B) comprising: a ground plane (1132); a power plane (1135) having a first main surface and a second main surface (top and bottom surface) opposite to the first main surface, wherein the second main surface faces the ground plane (1132); and an shielding structure (1137) that is electrically grounded (via set screws (1138) and configured to partially cover the power plane (1135), the shielding structure (1137) comprising: a metal structure (metal part (1137) covering (positioned over) at least a top corner of the power plane (1135) located at the first main surface (top surface).
In regards to claim 20, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 16, wherein the shielding structure (1137) further comprises: a plurality of vias (1138) electrically and mechanically coupling the metal structure (1137) to the ground plane (1132) so as to electrically ground the shielding structure (1137).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2004/0246187) in view of Martinez et al. (US 2020/0214124).
In regards to claim 5, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 1.
Hara et al. does not explicitly teach one or more dielectric layers, wherein at least one of the one or more dielectric layers is arranged between the power plane and the ground plane.
Martinez et al. teaches one or more dielectric layers (4), wherein at least one of the one or more dielectric layers (4) is arranged between the power plane (3) and the ground plane (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included between the power/ground planes a dielectric layer since it is well known in the art as a fundamental technique for improving performance, ensuring stability, and reducing interference. The insulating layer acts as a spacer that separates the two conductive copper layers to prevent direct short circuits while enabling a controlled, advantageous interaction between them.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara et al. (US 2004/0246187).
In regards to claim 10, Hara et al. teaches the printed circuit board of claim 7.
Hara et al. does not explicitly teach the metal sheet comprises copper.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the shielding structure of a copper material to block electromagnetic interference and radio frequency interference; it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang (US 6,455,910) teaches a guard ring structure. Pinjabi (US 20200196448) teaches an integrated power delivery board for an integrated circuit.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848