DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EVANS (US 20210163303 A1).
Regarding claim 1, EVANS discloses a traction battery pack, comprising:
an enclosure assembly (battery pack per claim 74 wherein the term pack reads on an enclosure assembly of some form);
a first battery array housed within the enclosure assembly (“at least one battery cell” per claim 74);
and a thermal barrier system (“Aerogel-based components and systems for electric vehicle thermal management”, Abstract) including a component (“heat control member” [0015]) arranged to interface with at least one of the enclosure assembly or the first battery array (“the heat control member is disposed on a surface of the at least one battery cell or on a surface of the battery pack” [0074]),
wherein the component includes a foam portion impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system (“impregnating a gel precursor solution into a continuous sheet of OCMF reinforcement material… to produce a sheet-like, OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” [0188] where “the term “OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” refers to a reinforced aerogel composition comprising an open-cell macroporous framework material as a reinforcing phase” [0071]),
and wherein the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive (“the one or more additives can be selected from the group consisting of … titanium oxide, iron titanium oxide, aluminum oxide, zirconium silicate, zirconium oxide, iron (II) oxide, iron (III) oxide, manganese dioxide, iron titanium oxide (ilmenite), chromium oxide, silicon carbide” [0017]; the instant states in [0064] that ‘aerogel additives’ may include “silica or metal oxides” as such the additives of EVANS aerogel system read on aerogel additives), an intumescent additive (“a blowing agent such as a C5 to C7 hydrocarbon” [0181] where a blowing agent reads on being part of on intumescent system, furthermore EVANS discloses the use of “graphite” [0189] as an additive), a melamine powder (“melamine-formaldehyde” [0181], a powder), and an endothermic additive (“endothermic additives” [0127] such as “aluminum silicate clays that in hydrated form has an endothermic effect” [0191]).
Regarding claim 9, EVANS discloses the foam portion includes a polyurethane foam (“Examples include OCMF materials made from polyolefins, polyurethanes” [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO (US 20230087017 A1) in view of EVANS (US 20210163303 A1).
Regarding claim 1, XIAO discloses a traction battery pack (pack 100), comprising:
an enclosure assembly (housing 102);
a first battery array housed within the enclosure assembly (modules 104);
and a thermal barrier system including a component arranged to interface with at least one of the enclosure assembly or the first battery array (thermal barrier component(s) 110),
wherein the component includes a foam portion (“the porous matrix (e.g., polyurethane foam)” [0075]).
XIAO discloses “aerogel layers optionally impregnated with functional materials” [0080], however XIAO does not expressly teach the foam portion is impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system, and wherein the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive, an intumescent additive, a melamine powder, and an endothermic additive.
EVANS is directed to thermal barriers in battery packs, like XIAO. EVANS discloses a “heat control member is disposed on a surface of the at least one battery cell or on a surface of the battery pack” [0074]. EVANS further discloses the component includes a foam portion impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system (“impregnating a gel precursor solution into a continuous sheet of OCMF reinforcement material… to produce a sheet-like, OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” [0188] where “the term “OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” refers to a reinforced aerogel composition comprising an open-cell macroporous framework material as a reinforcing phase” [0071]),
and wherein the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive (“the one or more additives can be selected from the group consisting of … titanium oxide, iron titanium oxide, aluminum oxide, zirconium silicate, zirconium oxide, iron (II) oxide, iron (III) oxide, manganese dioxide, iron titanium oxide (ilmenite), chromium oxide, silicon carbide” [0017]; the instant states in [0064] that ‘aerogel additives’ may include “silica or metal oxides” as such the additives of EVANS aerogel system read on aerogel additives), an intumescent additive (“a blowing agent such as a C5 to C7 hydrocarbon” [0181] where a blowing agent reads on being part of on intumescent system, furthermore EVANS discloses the use of “graphite” [0189] as an additive), a melamine powder (“melamine-formaldehyde” [0181], a powder), and an endothermic additive (“endothermic additives” [0127] such as “aluminum silicate clays that in hydrated form has an endothermic effect” [0191]).
EVANS teaches “resistance to heat propagation and fire propagation need to be achieved while minimizing the thickness and weight of materials used to provide the necessary thermal properties” [0006] as well as “the thermal barriers and aerogel compositions disclosed herein are useful for separating, insulating and protecting battery cells or battery components” [0040] as well as that the reinforcement “provides increased flexibility, resilience, conformability, or structural stability to the aerogel material” [0067].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the impregnated foam of EVANS into the thermal barrier component of XIAO.
The motivation to do so being increased flexibility, resilience, conformability, and structural stability while minimizing thickness and weight.
Therefore, modified XIAO discloses the foam portion is impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system, and wherein the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive, an intumescent additive, a melamine powder, and an endothermic additive (as taught by EVANS).
Regarding claim 6, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the component of the thermal barrier system includes a canopy structure (horizontal thermal barrier component 110 as shown in Fig. 1, reading on canopy as it is “above battery modules 104” [0051]) arranged to cover a sensitive component of the first battery array (the sensitive component of the first battery array may be any of the “conventional components, such as bus bars” [0050], a single battery cell of the array, a battery case, a terminal, or sensitive cell internal components such as an electrolyte, all of which read on a sensitive component), wherein the canopy structure includes a first arm that is arranged to contact a wall of an enclosure tray of the enclosure assembly (referencing the orientation of Fig. 1, the right upper horizontal thermal barrier component 110 reads on first arm) and a second arm that is arranged to contact an upper surface of the first battery array (referencing the orientation of Fig. 1, the left upper horizontal thermal barrier component 110 reads on second arm).
Regarding claim 8, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the component of the thermal barrier system includes a thermal barrier plate (thermal barrier components 110 shown in Fig. 1 which may be between, above, below and to the sides of the arrays per [0051]) arranged between the first battery array and a wire or a coolant line of the traction battery pack (XIAO has a “BMS, and optionally a cooling system” [0050] as well as “conventional components, such as bus bars, circuitry, and portions of terminals for external connection” [0050]; therefore the thermal barrier components 110 must necessarily be between a battery array and at least a wire in some manner).
Regarding claim 9, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and EVANS further discloses the foam portion includes a polyurethane foam (“Examples include OCMF materials made from polyolefins, polyurethanes” [0071]).
Regarding claim 23, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the thermal barrier system further includes a thermal barrier plate (thermal barrier components 110 shown in Fig. 1 which may be between, above, below and to the sides of the arrays per [0051]) arranged between the first battery array and at least one of a wire or a coolant line of the traction battery pack (XIAO has a “BMS, and optionally a cooling system” [0050] as well as “conventional components, such as bus bars, circuitry, and portions of terminals for external connection” [0050]; therefore the thermal barrier components 110 must necessarily be between a battery array and at least any single wire of the battery pack in some manner; the claim arrangement notably does not require any proximity or direct contact between the plate, array, and a wire, merely that the plate be between). Modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and EVANS further discloses wherein the thermal barrier plate comprises the foam portion impregnated with the endothermic aerogel system (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, EVANS discloses impregnated foam with the benefit of increased flexibility, resilience, conformability, and structural stability to the aerogel material).
Claims 2, 4-5, 11-12, 14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO in view of EVANS in view of REINPRECHT (US 20220263151 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the component of the thermal barrier system includes a bifurcation structure (Fig. 1, vertical thermal barrier component 110) that is positioned between the first battery array and a second battery array (Fig. 1, second module 104),
wherein the bifurcation structure includes a mounting pedestal extending between the first battery array and the second battery array (the lower portion of vertical thermal barrier component 110; the instant states in paragraph [0049] that the “the mounting pedestal 52 and the partition 54 may be integrally formed” and Fig. 2 of the instant shows the pedestal and partition as a single component distinguished only by unclaimed mounting flanges 56, recesses, and gaps) and a partition arranged to seal an interface between the first battery array, the second battery array, and a bus bar assembly (the upper portion of vertical thermal barrier component 110).
Regarding the bus bar assembly, XIAO discloses the inclusion of “conventional components, such as bus bars” [0050]. Furthermore, REINPRECHT is directed to a battery module like XIAO and EVANS. REINPRECHT discloses Figs. 1 and 2 showing busbars 18 connecting cells 12 as well as modules 13.
REINPRECHT teaches “Each busbar may connect an electrode terminal of one battery cell to the electrode terminal of another battery cell, such as a neighboring battery cell” [0015] as well as “battery module may be formed by such an interconnection as explained above” [0015]. REINPRECHT further teaches “battery system may include an electrically and thermally insulating cover element covering the electrode terminals and the busbars so that the electrode terminals and busbars are shielded from venting products exiting one or more of the plurality of battery cells into the battery housing during a thermal runaway” [0016] and “the cover element provides mechanical separation between the live parts and the venting products … arcing, short circuits, and pollution of the cells can be reduced or prevented … heat transfer to neighboring cells or modules of the vented cell and, therefore, a chain reaction thermal runaway be prevented” [0016].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that cells and arrays are connected via busbars and that it is beneficial to shield the busbars both electrically and thermally.
Regarding claim 4, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the component of the thermal barrier system includes a canopy structure arranged to cover at least a portion of a bus bar assembly that electrically couples the first battery array to a second battery array (XIAO discloses horizontal thermal barrier component 110 as shown in Fig. 1, reading on canopy as it is “above battery modules 104” [0051]).
Regarding the bus bar assembly, XIAO discloses the inclusion of “conventional components, such as bus bars” [0050]. Furthermore, REINPRECHT is directed to a battery module like XIAO and EVANS. REINPRECHT discloses Figs. 1 and 2 showing busbars 18 connecting cells 12 as well as modules 13.
REINPRECHT teaches “Each busbar may connect an electrode terminal of one battery cell to the electrode terminal of another battery cell, such as a neighboring battery cell” [0015] as well as “battery module may be formed by such an interconnection as explained above” [0015]. REINPRECHT further teaches “battery system may include an electrically and thermally insulating cover element covering the electrode terminals and the busbars so that the electrode terminals and busbars are shielded from venting products exiting one or more of the plurality of battery cells into the battery housing during a thermal runaway” [0016] and “the cover element provides mechanical separation between the live parts and the venting products … arcing, short circuits, and pollution of the cells can be reduced or prevented … heat transfer to neighboring cells or modules of the vented cell and, therefore, a chain reaction thermal runaway be prevented” [0016].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that cells and arrays are connected via busbars and that it is beneficial to shield the busbars both electrically and thermally.
Regarding claim 5, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the canopy structure and a bifurcation structure of the thermal barrier system cooperate to isolate a first portion of an interior of the enclosure assembly where the first battery array resides from a second portion of the interior where the second battery array resides (“thermal barrier component 110 may be configured to slow temperature increase to reduce or prevent TRP, prevent fire, and/or reduce or prevent spread of fire” [0077]; the left and right arrays of Fig. 1 are isolated from each other by cooperation of the vertical and horizontal thermal barrier components; notably “isolate” as used in the instant involves “substantially” isolating per [0055] and per instant [0055] the “thermal barrier system 46 is therefore equipped to limit the array-to-array transfer of heat …”, as such isolate is not being read to be a complete isolation; therefore, XIAO’s terms of “slow … reduce or prevent” in combination with Fig. 1 and conventional design read on isolating the battery arrays).
Regarding claim 11, XIAO discloses a traction battery pack (pack 100), comprising:
an enclosure assembly (housing 102);
a first battery array housed within the enclosure assembly (modules 104);
a second battery array housed within the enclosure assembly (modules 104).
Regarding the bus bar assembly, XIAO discloses the inclusion of “conventional components, such as bus bars” [0050]. Furthermore, REINPRECHT is directed to a battery module like XIAO and EVANS. REINPRECHT discloses Figs. 1 and 2 showing busbars 18 connecting cells 12 as well as modules 13.
REINPRECHT teaches “Each busbar may connect an electrode terminal of one battery cell to the electrode terminal of another battery cell, such as a neighboring battery cell” [0015] as well as “battery module may be formed by such an interconnection as explained above” [0015]. REINPRECHT further teaches “battery system may include an electrically and thermally insulating cover element covering the electrode terminals and the busbars so that the electrode terminals and busbars are shielded from venting products exiting one or more of the plurality of battery cells into the battery housing during a thermal runaway” [0016] and “the cover element provides mechanical separation between the live parts and the venting products … arcing, short circuits, and pollution of the cells can be reduced or prevented … heat transfer to neighboring cells or modules of the vented cell and, therefore, a chain reaction thermal runaway be prevented” [0016].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that cells and arrays are connected via busbars and that it is beneficial to shield the busbars both electrically and thermally.
XIAO discloses a thermal barrier system (thermal barrier components 110) comprising:
a bifurcation structure arranged between the first battery array and the second battery array (Fig. 1, vertical thermal barrier component 110), the bifurcation structure including a mounting pedestal extending between the first battery array and the second battery array (the lower portion of vertical thermal barrier component 110; the instant states in paragraph [0049] that the “the mounting pedestal 52 and the partition 54 may be integrally formed” and Fig. 2 of the instant shows the pedestal and partition as a single component distinguished only by unclaimed mounting flanges 56, recesses, and gaps) and a partition arranged to seal an interface between the first battery array, the second battery array, and the bus bar assembly (the upper portion of vertical thermal barrier component 110), wherein the bifurcation structure includes a foam portion (“the porous matrix (e.g., polyurethane foam)” [0075]).
XIAO discloses “aerogel layers optionally impregnated with functional materials” [0080], however XIAO does not expressly teach the foam portion is impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system.
EVANS is directed to thermal barriers in battery packs, like XIAO. EVANS discloses a “heat control member is disposed on a surface of the at least one battery cell or on a surface of the battery pack” [0074]. EVANS further discloses the component includes a foam portion impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system (“impregnating a gel precursor solution into a continuous sheet of OCMF reinforcement material… to produce a sheet-like, OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” [0188] where “the term “OCMF-reinforced aerogel composition” refers to a reinforced aerogel composition comprising an open-cell macroporous framework material as a reinforcing phase” [0071]).
EVANS teaches “resistance to heat propagation and fire propagation need to be achieved while minimizing the thickness and weight of materials used to provide the necessary thermal properties” [0006] as well as “the thermal barriers and aerogel compositions disclosed herein are useful for separating, insulating and protecting battery cells or battery components” [0040] as well as that the reinforcement “provides increased flexibility, resilience, conformability, or structural stability to the aerogel material” [0067].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the impregnated foam of EVANS into the thermal barrier component of XIAO.
The motivation to do so being increased flexibility, resilience, conformability, and structural stability while minimizing thickness and weight.
Therefore, modified XIAO discloses the foam portion is impregnated with an endothermic aerogel system, and wherein the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive, an intumescent additive, a melamine powder, and an endothermic additive (as taught by EVANS).
XIAO discloses a canopy structure arranged to cover at least a portion of the bus bar assembly (XIAO discloses horizontal thermal barrier component 110 as shown in Fig. 1, reading on canopy as it is “above battery modules 104” [0051]),
wherein the canopy structure and the bifurcation structure cooperate to isolate a first portion of an interior of the enclosure assembly where the first battery array resides from a second portion of the interior where the second battery array resides (“thermal barrier component 110 may be configured to slow temperature increase to reduce or prevent TRP, prevent fire, and/or reduce or prevent spread of fire” [0077]; the left and right arrays of Fig. 1 are isolated from each other by cooperation of the vertical and horizontal thermal barrier components; notably “isolate” as used in the instant involves “substantially” isolating per [0055] and per instant [0055] the “thermal barrier system 46 is therefore equipped to limit the array-to-array transfer of heat …”, as such isolate is not being read to be a complete isolation; therefore, XIAO’s terms of “slow … reduce or prevent” in combination with Fig. 1 and conventional design read on isolating the battery arrays).
Regarding claim 12, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and EVANS further discloses the foam portion includes a polyurethane foam (“Examples include OCMF materials made from polyolefins, polyurethanes” [0071]), and the endothermic aerogel system includes an aerogel additive (“the one or more additives can be selected from the group consisting of … titanium oxide, iron titanium oxide, aluminum oxide, zirconium silicate, zirconium oxide, iron (II) oxide, iron (III) oxide, manganese dioxide, iron titanium oxide (ilmenite), chromium oxide, silicon carbide” [0017]; the instant states in [0064] that ‘aerogel additives’ may include “silica or metal oxides” as such the additives of EVANS aerogel system read on aerogel additives), an intumescent additive (“a blowing agent such as a C5 to C7 hydrocarbon” [0181] where a blowing agent reads on being part of on intumescent system, furthermore EVANS discloses the use of “graphite” [0189] as an additive), a melamine powder (“melamine-formaldehyde” [0181], a powder), and an endothermic additive (“endothermic additives” [0127] such as “aluminum silicate clays that in hydrated form has an endothermic effect” [0191]).
Regarding claim 14, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the canopy structure includes the foam portion impregnated with the endothermic aerogel system (“thermal barrier components 110 may be disposed between adjacent battery modules 104 and/or between battery modules 104 and the housing 102 (e.g., above battery modules 104, as shown, below battery modules 104, and/or along sides of battery modules 104)” [0051] as such the thermal barrier components of XIAO read on canopy structure and the thermal barrier components are modified by EVANS to be impregnated foam as discussed in the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 16, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the thermal barrier system includes a second canopy structure (horizontal thermal barrier component 110 as shown in Fig. 1, reading on canopy as it is “above battery modules 104” [0051]) arranged to cover a sensitive component of the first battery array or the second battery array (the sensitive component of the first battery array may be any of the “conventional components, such as bus bars” [0050], a single battery cell of the array, a battery case, a terminal, or sensitive cell internal components such as an electrolyte, all of which read on a sensitive component), wherein the second canopy structure includes the foam portion impregnated with the endothermic aerogel system (“thermal barrier components 110 may be disposed between adjacent battery modules 104 and/or between battery modules 104 and the housing 102 (e.g., above battery modules 104, as shown, below battery modules 104, and/or along sides of battery modules 104)” [0051] as such the thermal barrier components of XIAO read on canopy structure and the thermal barrier components are modified by EVANS to be impregnated foam as discussed in the rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 18, modified XIAO discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and XIAO further discloses the thermal barrier system includes a thermal barrier plate (thermal barrier components 110 shown in Fig. 1 which may be between, above, below and to the sides of the arrays per [0051]; as such XIAO discloses multiple barrier components) arranged between the first battery array or the second battery array and a wire or a coolant line of the traction battery pack (the battery pack of XIAO has a “BMS, and optionally a cooling system” [0050] as well as “conventional components, such as bus bars, circuitry, and portions of terminals for external connection” [0050]; therefore a thermal barrier component 110 is necessarily between a battery array and at least a wire in some manner; the claim arrangement notably does not require any proximity or direct contact between the plate, array, and a wire, merely that the plate be between), wherein the thermal barrier plate includes the foam portion impregnated with the endothermic aerogel system (the thermal barrier components are modified by EVANS to be impregnated foam as discussed in the rejection of claim 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25-28 are allowed.
Claims 21, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 21 and 25 are similar in terms of canopy structure.
Regarding claim 21, the allowable feature of the claim, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, is:
“… the canopy structure includes a base received at an inner surface of an enclosure cover of the enclosure assembly, a first arm extending from the base and arranged to contact an upper surface of the first battery array at a location outboard of the bus bar assembly, and a second arm extending from the base and arranged to contact an upper surface of the second battery array at a location outboard of the bus bar assembly, such that the base, the first arm, and the second arm cooperate to substantially enclose the bus bar assembly within the canopy structure.”
Regarding claim independent claim 25, the allowable feature of the claim, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, is:
“… the first canopy structure includes a base received at an inner surface of the enclosure cover, a first arm extending away from the base toward the enclosure tray and received in abutting contact with an upper surface of the first battery array, and a second arm extending away from the base toward the enclosure tray and received in abutting contact with an upper surface of the second battery array, wherein the first canopy structure and the bifurcation structure cooperate to isolate a first portion of an interior of the enclosure assembly where the first battery array resides from a second portion of the interior where the second battery array resides.”
The closest prior art is XIAO, EVANS, and REINPRECHT.
The combination of XIAO, EVANS, and REINPRECHT fail to teach a canopy structure with a base and arms configured to isolate the arrays as claimed. Notably the elements reading on canopy of XIAO do not have the required base and arms spanning arrays and in REINPRECHT the elements reading on canopy do not have a base received at an inner surface of the enclosure cover.
Regarding claim 22, the allowable feature of the claim, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, is:
“the first battery array includes a first mounting flange fixedly mounted to a first side of the mounting pedestal and the second battery array includes a second mounting flange fixedly mounted to a second side of the mounting pedestal opposite the first side.”
The closest prior art is XIAO and EVANS.
Neither of XIAO or EVANS teach required elements reading on mounting flanges. Furthermore, the term “fixedly mounted” as used in the instant is a physical connection “e.g., bolted, welded, etc.” per [0051] and therefore not merely wedged in some manner between the components.
Regarding claim 24, the allowable feature of the claim, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, is:
“… the endothermic aerogel system is configured to expand when a temperature within the enclosure assembly exceeds a predefined temperature threshold to absorb heat and withstand high-velocity gas particles generated during a battery thermal event, thereby preserving a structural integrity of the enclosure assembly.”
The closest prior art is XIAO, EVANS, and Xiao et al. (US 20230282924 A1, hereinafter ‘924).
Notably the claim requires the endothermic aerogel system, which is itself impregnated within the foam portion, to expand at a predefined temperature thereby preserving structural integrity. This is in contrast with the thermal barrier system and/or the foam expanding at high temperatures.
XIAO does not teach an element reading on endothermic aerogel system within foam expanding. EVANS teaches the importance of controlling shrinkage of the aerogel which is in foam, see [0199]. However, EVANS does not teach the aerogel expands thereby preserving structural integrity and by teaching control of shrinkage, which is present at a couple of percent per [0199], teaches away from expansion. ‘924 is representative of art wherein a layer of a thermal system expands. In ‘924 IIC material foam 140 where “IIC material foam 140 is configured to expand, for example, to a thickness of from 1.5 mm to 2.0 mm after being exposed to high temperatures” [0059]. However, this expansion is separate of the aerogel components of ‘924. As such, ‘924 does not teach an element reading on endothermic aerogel system within foam expanding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim 11 have been considered but are not persuasive. On page 10 of the remarks applicant states “Xiao's component 110 is a flat thermal barrier mat or sheet, which is a passive planar element positioned between battery modules. It has no mounting pedestal. It has no partition.” As discussed in the rejection of claim 11 it is the position of the examiner that the structure(s) claimed in claim 11 when considering instant Fig. 2 and instant [0049] does not require a distinct and marked difference from pedestal to partition. Any distinction between the two require limitations unclaimed in claim 11.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to the claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims 8 and 18 have been considered but are not persuasive. On page 12 of the remarks applicant states “Xiao' s thermal barrier components 110 are positioned between battery modules and above battery modules, but not between battery arrays and associated wiring or coolant lines.” In response Examiner notes the claim requires the thermal barrier to exist in three-dimensional space between an array (and therefore any cell) and any wire. The claim does not require the barrier be in direct contact with each or that the barrier is the lone structure separating the two, nor does the claim require an protective purpose regarding the location.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims 10 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
FILLERY (US 20240258613 A1) directed to articles formed from high temperature insulative composites. FILLERY discloses “the aerogel particles and the additional particulate components are durably enmeshed within the fibrillated polymer matrix” per claim 1 as well as use in battery packs per [0084].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721