DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-16, 18 and 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The amendment filed on 03/12/2026 overcomes the 35 USC 102 rejection in the Office action dated 12/15/2025. However, the combination of FIGs. 1A and FIG. 1B of Komaya sufficiently teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as amended. Accordingly, the coil component as currently claimed is obvious over FIGs. 1A and FIG. 1B. Since the amendment changes the scope of the claim and requires the combination of FIG. 1B to FIG. 1A, it’s proper to make this Office action Final.
The drawings objection made in the Office action dated 12/15/2025 is hereby withdrawn as a result of the explanation made in the reply filed 03/12/2026. However, a new drawings objection is made based on the amended limitations.
Similarly, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection is withdrawn as a result of the explanation made. However, the new 112(a) and 112(b) rejections are based on the newly added limitations.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a convex first spacer portion in contact with the top surface is in first corner regions…the first spacer portion includes two portions dented from a side of the lower main surface along a direction parallel to the axial direction and located at both ends of the top plate in the width direction” as recited in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, the originally filed specification does not disclose “a convex first spacer portion in contact with the top surface is in first corner regions…the first spacer portion includes two portions dented from a side of the lower main surface along a direction parallel to the axial direction and located at both ends of the top plate in the width direction” as recited in the newly added claim.
Claim 23 is rejected as being dependent on claim 21.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, it’s not clear what’s intended by “a convex first spacer portion in contact with the top surface is in first corner regions…the first spacer portion includes two portions dented from a side of the lower main surface along a direction parallel to the axial direction and located at both ends of the top plate in the width direction” as recited in the newly added claim.
As shown in FIG. 4 of the present invention, which is the elected species as stated in the reply dated 10/27/2025, the convex first spacer portion 21 is not in the corner regions 14c1 and 14c2 (annotated FIG. 4 below). There is a T-shaped recessed portion 14r next to the convex spacer portion 21, and the recessed portion extends continuously from corner 14c1 to corner 14c2 of the side surface 24. This T-shaped recessed portion 14c does not appear to be part of the “convex firs spacer portion” as convex by definition is opposite of recessed portion 14c or “dented” two portions as claimed. Therefore, it is not clear what’s intended by “two portions dented” as claimed. As stated above, the originally filed specification does not have any explanation of this newly added limitation.
Claim 23 is rejected as being dependent on claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-16, 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komaya et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0130597 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Komaya et al., hereinafter referred to as “Komaya,” teaches a coil component 1 (FIG. 1A) comprising:
a core 10 including a winding core portion 12 extending in an axial direction (X axis direction), a first flange portion (left or right flange 14a), and a second flange portion (the other of left or right flange 14a), the first flange portion and the second flange portion being at both end portions (end portions in X axis direction) in the axial direction of the winding core portion, and the core including a first magnetic material (“materials” (para. [0060]) (para. [0042]);
a top plate 20 having a lower main surface 20a (annotated FIG. 1A) and an upper main surface 20b that face away from each other, the top plate including a second magnetic material (“materials” para. [0060]) (para. [0047]); and
at least one wire 31 or 32 wound around the winding core portion (para. [0044]),
wherein
each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion has a mounting surface 14a4 facing a mounting board 80 in a mounted state and a top surface 14a3 facing away from the mounting surface (paras. [0048] and [0050]),
the top plate is fixed to the core via an adhesive (the top plate would need to be adhered to the flange to operate, and para. [0097] also discloses the top late “adhered or fixed” to the flange) with the lower main surface facing the top surface of the first flange portion and the top surface of the second flange portion,
a convex first spacer portion 20c in contact with the top surface is in part of a region (central region) of the lower main surface, the region facing the first flange portion (para. [0048]),
a convex second spacer portion (spacer portion similar to spacer portion 20c on opposite side) in contact with the top surface is in part of a region (central region) of the lower main surface, the region facing the second flange portion (para. [0048]),
a convex stage portion (portion around middle of the lower main surface 20a) is in a region (region around middle of the lower main surface 20a) of the lower main surface, the region facing the winding core portion, and the first spacer portion and the second spacer portion are connected to each other via the stage portion (para. [0048]).
Komaya does not expressly teach, in the embodiment of FIG. 1A,
wherein each of the first spacer portion and the second spacer portion is divided into two portions in the width direction to form a gap between the two portions in the width direction.
However, Momaya teaches, in the embodiment of FIG. 1B, a coil component 1,
wherein each of the first spacer portion (spacer 20aa and 20ab of the left side, annotated FIG. 1B) and the second spacer portion (spacer 20aa and 20ab of the right side) is divided into two portions 20aa and 20ab in the width direction (Y axis direction) to form a gap (gap formed by one or both of the two grooves between the spacers) between the two portions in the width direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the two portions of the respective first and second spacer portions as taught by the embodiment of FIG. 1B of Komaya to the coil component of the embodiment of FIG. 1A of Komaya to move the connection between the electrode and the winding wire to the center so that the manufacturing of the flange is simplified (paras. [0084] and [0085]).
With respect to claim 2, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claim 1, wherein
a dimension (width in Y axis direction) in a width direction (Y axis direction) of the stage portion is larger than a dimension (width in Y axis direction) in the width direction of the first spacer portion and a dimension (width in Y axis direction) in the width direction of the second spacer portion, the width direction being a direction in which the lower main surface extends and which is orthogonal to the axial direction (para. [0048]).
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
a dimension (length in X axis direction) in the longitudinal direction of a portion of the stage portion facing the winding core portion is smaller than a dimension (length in X axis direction) in the longitudinal direction of the winding core portion, and the stage portion is away from the first flange portion and the second flange portion, the longitudinal direction being parallel to the axial direction (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 4, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claim 3, wherein
a dimension (height in Z axis direction) in a height direction (Z axis direction) of the stage portion measured from the lower main surface is equal to dimensions in the height direction of the first spacer portion and the second spacer portion that are measured from the lower main surface (para. [0048]).
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively. Komaya does not expressly teach, in the embodiment of FIG. 1A,
the width direction is a direction in which the lower main surface extends and which is orthogonal to the axial direction.
However, Momaya teaches, in the embodiment of FIG. 1B, a coil component 1, wherein
the width direction is a direction in which the lower main surface (lower surface) extends and which is orthogonal to the axial direction (X axis direction) (para. [0084]).
With respect to claims 7 and 16, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
the lower main surface has a side (lower surface of cutout part 21) extending in the longitudinal direction, the longitudinal direction being parallel to the axial direction, and the first spacer portion and the second spacer portion are in contact with the side extending in the longitudinal direction (para. [0048]).
With respect to claims 9 and 18, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively.
Komaya does not expressly teach, in the embodiment of FIG. 1A, both edges in the width direction of the top surface of the first flange portion are present at positions facing intermediate portions in the width direction of the first spacer portion, and both edges in the width direction of the top surface of the second flange portion are present at positions facing intermediate portions in the width direction of the second spacer portion, the width direction being a direction in which the lower main surface extends and which is orthogonal to the axial direction.
However, Momaya teaches, in the embodiment of FIG. 1B, a coil component 1, wherein
both edges (ridges between top surface and side surfaces) in the width direction (Y axis direction) of the top surface (upper surface) of the first flange portion 14a are present at positions facing intermediate portions (portions facing the edges) in the width direction of the first spacer portion, and both edges (ridges between top surface and side surfaces) in the width direction of the top surface (upper surface) of the second flange portion 14a are present at positions facing intermediate portions in the width direction of the second spacer portion, the width direction being a direction in which the lower main surface extends and which is orthogonal to the axial direction (X axis direction) (para. [0084]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the edges facing intermediate portions of the first and second spacer portions as taught by the embodiment of FIG. 1B of Komaya to the coil component of the embodiment of FIG. 1A of Komaya to move the connection between the electrode and the winding wire to the center so that the manufacturing of the flange is simplified (paras. [0084] and [0085]).
With respect to claims 11 and 20, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein
the first spacer portion faces a region (region close to inner wall of the first flange portion) of the top surface of the first flange portion , the region being close to the winding core portion, and the second spacer portion faces a region (region close to inner wall of the second flange portion) of the top surface of the second flange portion, the region being close to the winding core portion (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 12, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claim 1, wherein
rising surfaces (slope surface from cutout part 21 to the lower main surface) of peripheral edges of the first spacer portion, the second spacer portion, and the stage portion from the lower main surface are inclined surfaces (para. [0048]).
With respect to claim 13, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claim 1, further comprising:
a terminal electrode 40 and 50 on the mounting surface, wherein the wire is connected to the terminal electrode on a side (upper side) of the mounting surface (paras. [0046] and [52]).
With respect to claim 21, Komaya teaches a coil component 1 (FIG. 1A) comprising:
a core 10 including a winding core portion 12 extending in an axial direction (X axis direction), a first flange portion (left or right flange 14a), and a second flange portion (the other of left or right flange 14a), the first flange portion and the second flange portion being at both end portions (end portions in X axis direction) in the axial direction of the winding core portion, and the core including a first magnetic material (“magnetic materials” (para. [0062]) (para. [0042]);
a top plate 20 having a lower main surface 20a (annotated FIG. 1A) and an upper main surface 20b that face away from each other, the top plate including a second magnetic material (“magnetic materials” para. [0062]) (para. [0047]); and
at least one wire 31 or 32 wound around the winding core portion (para. [0044]),
wherein
each of the first flange portion and the second flange portion has a mounting surface 14a4 facing a mounting board 80 in a mounted state and a top surface 14a3 facing away from the mounting surface (paras. [0048] and [0050]),
the top plate is fixed to the core via an adhesive (the top plate would need to be adhered to the flange to operate, and para. [0097] also discloses the top plate “adhered or fixed” to the flange) with the lower main surface facing the top surface of the first flange portion and the top surface of the second flange portion,
a convex first spacer portion 20c in contact with the top surface is in a central region of the lower main surface, the first corner regions facing the first flange portion,
a convex second spacer portion (spacer portion similar to spacer portion 20c on opposite side) in contact with the top surface is in part of a region (central region) of the lower main surface, the region facing the second flange portion (para. [0048]),
a convex stage portion (portion around middle of the lower main surface 20a) is in a region (region around middle of the lower main surface 20a) of the lower main surface, the region facing the winding core portion (para. [0048]), and
the first spacer portion and the second spacer portion are connected to each other via the stage portion(para. [0048]).
Komaya does not expressly teach, in the embodiment of FIG. 1A,
wherein a convex first spacer portion in contact with the top surface is in first corner regions, and
wherein the first spacer portion includes two portions dented from a side of the lower main surface along a direction parallel to the axial direction and located at both ends of the top plate in the width direction.
However, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Momaya teaches, in the embodiment of FIG. 1B, a coil component 1,
wherein a convex first spacer portion 20aa and 20ab (annotated FIG. 6) in contact with the top surface is in first corner regions (front and back end regions in Y axis direction on the right side in X axis direction), and
wherein the first spacer portion 20aa and 20ab includes two portions 20aa and 20ab dented from a side (left and right side in X axis direction) of the lower main surface along a direction parallel to the axial direction and located at both ends of the top plate in the width direction (Y axis direction). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the convex first spacer and the dented portions as taught by the embodiment of FIG. 1B of Komaya to the coil component of the embodiment of FIG. 1A of Komaya to move the connection between the electrode and the winding wire to the center so that the manufacturing of the flange is simplified (paras. [0084] and [0085]).
With respect to claims 22 and 23, Komaya teaches the coil component according to Claims 1 and 21, respectively, wherein the lower main surface extends from a first side (front side) of the top plate to a second side (back side) of the top plate along the width direction (para. [0048]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837