DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6,8-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kao et al. (US 2015/0059422).
Regarding claim 1, Kao et al. discloses a security apparatus for a portable electronic device, the portable electronic device having an aperture, the security apparatus comprising:
a lock mechanism (100) including a lock cylinder (208, Fig. 1) and a cam member (220), the lock cylinder configured to be rotated by a key ([0074] l.5), the cam member coupled to the lock cylinder (208 cylinder Fig.8A) for rotation with the lock cylinder between an engaged position (Fig.8A) and a disengaged position (Fig.9A) lock disengaged cam retracts lock engagement);
an engagement mechanism including a first finger (152 one of two), a second finger (152), and a plunger (144), the first finger and the second finger configured to be inserted into the aperture (132) of the portable electronic device (104), the plunger positioned between the first finger and the second finger (Fig.2 152,144,152); and
a user input member (176) separate from the lock mechanism and coupled to the plunger, the user input member selectively actuatable from a first position to a second position to move the plunger relative to the first and second fingers, wherein the user input member(176) is biased (by bias member 200) to the first position,
wherein, when the cam member is in the engaged position, the user input member is precluded from moving from the first position to the second position (Fig.8A), and
wherein, when the cam member is in the disengaged position, the user input member is capable of moving from the first position to the second position (Fig.8A, Fig.9A).
Regarding claim 2, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the first finger and the second finger are pivotable relative to each other (Fig.4 and Fig.5).
Regarding claim 3, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the lock cylinder (208) defines a longitudinal axis, and wherein the cam member is rotatable about the longitudinal axis (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 4, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein rotation of the lock mechanism does not move the plunger (Fig.9A, 8A 176 does not move between positions).
Regarding claim 5, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, further comprising: a body (116), wherein the lock cylinder and the cam member are positioned within the body; and a cable (28, 240) secured to the body, wherein the cable is configured to engage an immovable object (Fig.16).
Regarding claim 6, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, further comprising a cable mount (244) supported by the body and positioned between the lock mechanism and the engagement mechanism, wherein the cable mount includes a boss (248) rotatable relative to the body, and wherein an end of the cable is secured to the boss (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 8, Kao et al. discloses a method of operating the security apparatus, the method comprising:
moving the user input member (176) and the plunger (144) from the first position (Fig.4) to the second position (Fig.5);
inserting a portion of the first and second fingers(152) into the aperture in the electronic device (132);
moving the slider such that the plunger returns to the first position (Fig.4) and expands the first and second fingers into engagement (Fig. 5) with the portable electronic device; and
rotating the cam member (220) from the disengaged position (Fig.9A) to the engaged position (Fig.8A) to preclude movement of the plunger from the first position to the second position.
Regarding claim 9, Kao et al. discloses a security apparatus for a portable electronic device (104), the portable electronic device having an aperture (132), the security apparatus comprising:
a lock mechanism including a lock cylinder (208) and a blocking member (212), the lock cylinder configured to be rotated by a key (([0074] l.5)), the blocking member coupled to the lock cylinder for rotation with the lock cylinder (Fig. 8A);
an engagement mechanism (152,144) configured to be inserted into the aperture of the portable electronic device, the engagement mechanism movable between a first position (Fig. 5), in which the engagement mechanism is configured to be secured to the portable electronic device, and a second position (Fig. 6), in which the engagement mechanism is configured to be released from the portable electronic device, wherein the engagement mechanism (152,144) is biased (Fiog.4 and 5bias member 120) to the first position, and
a user input member (176) separate from the lock mechanism configured to move the engagement member from the first position (Fig.6) to the second position (Fig.7) independently of movement of the blocking member by the lock cylinder.
Regarding claim 10, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the engagement mechanism includes a plunger (144), wherein, in the first position, the plunger is extended away from the lock mechanism (Fig.4), and wherein, in the second position, the plunger is retracted toward the lock mechanism (Fig.5).
Regarding claim 11, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the plunger(144) is biased to the first position by a biasing member (148).
Regarding claim 12, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the user input member (176) is coupled to the plunger (144) such that the user input member is biased by the biasing member (148), and wherein the user input member is selectively movable against the bias of the biasing member to move the plunger to the second position( Fig.5).
Regarding claim 13, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the blocking member (212) is movable between a disengaged position (Fig.9A) and an engaged position (Fig.8A), wherein, in the disengaged position, the user input member (176) is movable against the bias of the biasing member (216) to move the engagement mechanism to the second position, and wherein, in the engaged position, the user input member is precluded from moving the engagement mechanism to the second position (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 14, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein, in the disengaged position, the blocking member (212) is offset from the engagement mechanism (144,152) such that the engagement mechanism is movable between the first and second positions (Fig.4 and 5) without engaging the blocking member , and wherein, in the engaged position, the blocking member (212) is aligned with the engagement mechanism such that the blocking member precludes the engagement mechanism from moving to the second position (Fig.8A).
Regarding claim 15, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the user input member includes a slider (204) configured to translate with the engagement mechanism between the first and second positions.
Regarding claim 16, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, wherein the lock cylinder (208) defines a longitudinal axis (definable through center of lock cylinder), and wherein the blocking member (212) is rotatable about the longitudinal axis (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 17, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, further comprising:
a body (180), wherein the lock cylinder (208) and the blocking member (212) are positioned within the body; and
a cable body (240) secured to the body, wherein the cable is configured to engage an immovable object.
Regarding claim 18, Kao et al. discloses the security apparatus, further comprising a cable mount (cable connection Fig. 16) supported by the body and positioned between the lock mechanism and the engagement mechanism, wherein the cable mount includes a boss (248) rotatable relative to the body, and wherein an end of the cable is secured to the boss (Fig.16).
Regarding claim 20, Kao et al. discloses a method of operating the security apparatus, the method comprising:
actuating the user input member (176) to move the engagement mechanism from the first position to the second position;
inserting a portion of the engagement mechanism into the aperture in the portable electronic device (104);
returning the engagement mechanism to the first position while the portion of the engagement mechanism is inserted into the aperture (132) of the portable electronic device; and
rotating the blocking member (212) via the lock cylinder (208) to preclude movement of the engagement mechanism from the first position to the second position Fig. 8A and Fig. 9A)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kao et al.(2015/0059422) in view of Tse et al. (2018/0347237).
Regarding claim 7 and 19, Kao et al. discloses a system comprising:
a portable electronic device (104) having a housing (284), and an aperture (132) formed in the housing; and a screen (288) supported by the housing and the security apparatus (Fig.16).
Kao et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the portable electronic device (processor implied by laptop computer, not explicitly discussed) comprises a processor positioned within the housing.
Tse et al. teaches a processor positioned within a housing (Page 3, [0054]), and for the purpose of providing the intended use of a security apparatus which operates a portable electronic device with value worth securing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Kao et al. wherein the portable electronic device comprises a processor positioned within the housing, a screen supported by the housing as taught by Tse et al. for the expected benefit of providing the intended use of a security apparatus which operates a portable electronic device with value worth securing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on DD MM 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s argument, page 7, line 9; The input member of Kao et al receives the force of a biasing element and is biased to a first position (any first position). As written the bias recitation is anticipated by the reference of Kao et al. The argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s argument, page X, line 13; The input member of Kao et al. becomes blocked by 220A 220B from movement when element 220 is rotationally engaged. The input member of Kao et al. cannot be depressed as evidenced by Fig. 9A, Fig.9B and Fig.10A, Fig.10B. As best understood applicant’s argument misrepresents the function of Kao et al in a locked state. The argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675