DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 1-13 and 21-27 are currently pending. Claims 14-20 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/5/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 7, 10, 26, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new ground(s) of rejection are made in view of Zhu et al (US 2022/0223972).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2022/0376347).
Regarding claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 22, Park discloses a battery pack (traction battery pack) comprising: a grouping of battery cells “P”; and a bus bar module arranged to electrically connect the grouping of battery cells, wherein the bus bar module comprises: a first cover resin layer “C1” (base layer) positioned in contact with the grouping of battery cells; a plane “M” (mid-layer) configured to retain a plurality of bus bars “B” along a Z1 axis (X-axis) and a Z2 axis (Y-axis); and a second cover resin layer “C2” (top layer) configured to retain the plurality of bus bars “B” along a Z3 axis (Z-axis); wherein each of the first cover resin layer, plane “M”, and second cover resin layer being a separate layer from the others and secured together to establish a unitary structure of the bus bar module; wherein the first cover resin layer, the plane “M”, and the second cover resin layer are adhered together to form the unitary structure based upon the first and second cover resin layers being applied at different times separated from each other, before and after the arrangement of the bus bars and the first cover resin layer being fused with the second cover resin layer ([0080]);
wherein the plane “M” (mid-layer) is sandwiched between the first cover resin layer and the second cover resin layer;
wherein the plurality of bus bars is isolated from the grouping of battery cells by the first cover resin layer;
wherein the bus bar module includes a third opening “G3” (vent port) arranged over top of and in direct alignment with a vent system “V” of a battery cell of the grouping of battery cells;
wherein a first opening “G2” of the base layer, a second opening of the mid-layer, and a third opening “G3” of the top layer align with one another to establish the vent port;
wherein the bus bar module includes a third opening “G3” (sense lead testing access port) formed through the second cover resin layer “C2” (top layer);
wherein a connection wire “50” (sense lead wire) of the bus bar module is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the mid-layer ([0045],[0047],[0059],[0065], [0069],[0077] and Figs. 1 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0376347) in view of Ing et al (US 2020/0203941). The Park reference is applied to claim 1 for reasons stated above. Park also discloses a first cover resin layer “C1” (base layer) that includes a first opening “G1” that receives the terminals of the battery cells ([0085]).
However, Park does not expressly teach a bus bar module that includes a welding access point formed in the top layer and located at a position that is received over top of and in direct alignment with a bus bar of the plurality of bus bars (claim 5);
wherein the welding access point includes a central access port and a plurality of peripheral access ports arranged to circumscribe the central access port (claim 6).
Ing et al discloses a battery module (traction battery pack) comprising:
openings “304a” & “304b” (welding access point) that includes a central access port “304a” and a plurality of peripheral access ports “304b” arranged to circumscribe the central access port ([0036] and Figs. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Park bus bar module to include a welding access point formed in the top layer and located at a position that is received over top of and in direct alignment with a bus bar of the plurality of bus bars; wherein the welding access point includes a central access port and a plurality of peripheral access ports arranged to circumscribe the central access port in order to facilitate the welding of the bus bars to the battery cell terminals after the assembly of the second cover resin layer ([0041]).
Claims 10 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0376347) in view of Zhu et al (US 2022/0223972). The Park reference is applied to claim 9 for reasons stated above.
However, Park does not expressly teach a third opening that is bifurcated by a strut to form a pair of sub-openings in the top layer (claim 10); wherein each sub-opening of the pair of sub-openings is semicircle shaped (claim 26).
Zhu et al discloses inlet ports “88A” (third opening) that has a symmetric structure and are vertically aligned with the vents “78”, wherein the inlet ports are bifurcated into two symmetrical parts (sub-openings) by central projection “96D” (strut), wherein each sub-opening of the pair of sub-openings is semicircle shaped ([0054] and Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Park bus bar module to include a third opening that is bifurcated by a strut to form a pair of sub-openings in the top layer, wherein each sub-opening of the pair of sub-openings is semicircle shaped in order to provide an indirect route from inlet to outlet such that during a thermal event, as vent gases flow through the vent gas passageway, any debris, particles, or liquid droplets suspended in the vent gas tend to fall out of the gas and collect in the vent gas passageway which prevents the discharge of such debris into the electrified vehicle or surrounding environment ([0055]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0376347) in view of Nakayama et al (US 2018/0138485). The Park reference is applied to claim 1 for reasons stated above.
However, Park does not expressly teach a sense lead wire of the bus bar module that is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the mid-layer (claim 12); wherein the weaving pattern extends in and out of a wire pocket and over a beam of the mid-layer (claim 13).
Nakayama et al discloses detection wires “58” (sense lead wire) of the wiring module “1” (bus bar module) is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the bus bar holding portions “12” (mid-layer), wherein the weaving pattern extends in and out a wire housing groove “30” (wire pocket) and over a wall “13” (beam) of the bus bar holding portions ([0040],[0051] and Figs. 9-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Park bus bar module to include a sense lead wire of the bus bar module that is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the mid-layer, wherein the weaving pattern extends in and out of a wire pocket and over a beam of the mid-layer in order to provide a wiring module that suppresses a power storage element that is adversely influenced, even if a detection terminal is connected to a connection member through welding ([0014]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0376347) in view of Yamamoto (US 2023/0084184). The Park reference is applied to claim 1 for reasons stated above.
However, Park does not expressly teach a mid-layer that includes a plurality of pockets sized to receive the plurality of bus bars (claim 23).
Yamamoto discloses a bus bar frame “17” (mid-layer) that includes a plurality of bus bar opening portions “17a” (pockets) sized to receive a plurality of bus bars “33” ([0060] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Park bus bar module to include a mid-layer that includes a plurality of pockets sized to receive the plurality of bus bars in order to utilize a member that holds the bus bars to provide structural support and can perform restricting of the positions of these members ([0060]).
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0376347) in view of Yamamoto (US 2023/0084184) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al (US 2018/0138485).
However, Park as modified by Yamamoto does not expressly teach mid-layer including a first wire pocket and a second wire pocket arranged between a first section of the mid-layer that includes a first portion of the plurality of pockets and a second section of the mid-layer that includes a second portion of the plurality of pockets, and further wherein the first wire pocket is separated from the second wire pocket by a beam that connects between the first section and the second section (claim 24); and a sense lead wire that extends into the first wire pocket, over the beam, and into the second wire pocket (claim 25).
Nakayama et al discloses detection wires “58” (sense lead wire) of the wiring module “1” (bus bar module) is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the bus bar holding portions “12” (mid-layer), wherein the weaving pattern extends in and out a wire housing groove “30” (wire pocket) and over a wall “13” (beam) of the bus bar holding portions; wherein the bus bar holding portions including a first wire housing groove and a second wire housing groove arranged between a first section of the bus bar holding portions that includes a first portion of the plurality of pockets and a second section of the bus bar holding portions that includes a second portion of the plurality of wire housing grooves, and further wherein the first wire housing groove is separated from the second wire housing groove by a beam that connects between the first section and the second section ([0040],[0051] and Figs. 9-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Park/Yamamoto bus bar module to include mid-layer including a first wire pocket and a second wire pocket arranged between a first section of the mid-layer that includes a first portion of the plurality of pockets and a second section of the mid-layer that includes a second portion of the plurality of pockets, and further wherein the first wire pocket is separated from the second wire pocket by a beam that connects between the first section and the second section; and a sense lead wire that extends into the first wire pocket, over the beam, and into the second wire pocket in order to provide a wiring module that suppresses a power storage element that is adversely influenced, even if a detection terminal is connected to a connection member through welding ([0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is allowed. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Park discloses a battery pack (traction battery pack) comprising: a grouping of battery cells “P”; and a bus bar module arranged to electrically connect the grouping of battery cells, wherein the bus bar module comprises: a first cover resin layer “C1” (base layer) positioned in contact with the grouping of battery cells; a plane “M” (mid-layer) configured to retain a plurality of bus bars “B” along a Z1 axis (X-axis) and a Z2 axis (Y-axis); and a second cover resin layer “C2” (top layer) configured to retain the plurality of bus bars “B” along a Z3 axis (Z-axis); wherein the plane “M” (mid-layer) is sandwiched between the first cover resin layer and the second cover resin layer; wherein the plurality of bus bars is isolated from the grouping of battery cells by the first cover resin layer; wherein the bus bar module includes a third opening “G3” (vent port) arranged over top of and in direct alignment with a vent system “V” of a battery cell of the grouping of battery cells; wherein a first opening “G2” of the base layer, a second opening of the mid-layer, and a third opening “G3” of the top layer align with one another to establish the vent port; wherein the bus bar module includes a third opening “G3” (sense lead testing access port) formed through the second cover resin layer “C2” (top layer); wherein a connection wire “50” (sense lead wire) of the bus bar module is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the mid-layer.
Yamamoto discloses a bus bar frame “17” (mid-layer) that includes a plurality of bus bar opening portions “17a” (pockets) sized to receive a plurality of bus bars “33”.
Ing et al discloses a battery module (traction battery pack) comprising: openings “304a” & “304b” (welding access point) that includes a central access port “304a” and a plurality of peripheral access ports “304b” arranged to circumscribe the central access port.
Nakayama et al discloses detection wires “58” (sense lead wire) of the wiring module “1” (bus bar module) is arranged in a weaving pattern relative to the bus bar holding portions “12” (mid-layer), wherein the weaving pattern extends in and out a wire housing groove “30” (wire pocket) and over a wall “13” (beam) of the bus bar holding portions.
However, none of the prior art references expressly teach a central access port that is formed through a ring of the top layer, and further wherein the ring is connected to a main body of the top layer by a plurality of struts; or a plurality of finger-proof welding access points, each of the plurality of finger-proof welding access points comprising a central access port circumscribed by a plurality of peripheral access ports connected to a main body of the top layer by a plurality of struts. In addition, a central access port that is formed through a ring of the top layer, and further wherein the ring is connected to a main body of the top layer by a plurality of struts; or a plurality of finger-proof welding access points, each of the plurality of finger-proof welding access points comprising a central access port circumscribed by a plurality of peripheral access ports connected to a main body of the top layer by a plurality of struts is not an obvious design choice because the claimed ring-and-strut geometry provides the following distinct functions: (1) the ring maintains structural rigidity around the welding aperture and prevents deformation during high-pressure welding operations, ensuring accurate tool alignment; (2) the struts subdivide the opening into smaller peripheral ports that prevent inadvertent finger contact with high-voltage components while still permitting tool access, thus providing a safety function distinct from mere welding access; and (3) the ring distributes mechanical stress and thermal loads during welding, reducing cracking risk compared to a single large opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “First, Park's specification explicitly and unambiguously characterizes the plane M as a virtual plane. Park states at § [0059]: "the plane M may refer to a virtual plane formed at a specific level in the third direction Z3." A virtual geometric reference plane has no physical existence as a structural component. Claim 1 requires a "mid-layer" that is "a separate layer from the others and
secured together to establish a unitary structure of the bus bar module." That language unambiguously describes a physical structural member. The Examiner's construction requires reading the word "virtual" out of Park's own disclosure, which is a legally impermissible interpretation. A prior art reference that self-describes an element as a virtual geometric plane cannot anticipate a claimed physical structural layer of a bus bar module on any reasonable claim construction.
Second, and independently, Park expressly teaches that its C1 and C2 resin cover layers fuse into a single continuous, inseparable structure. Park at §§ [0080]-[0081] states that C1 and C2 "may not form interfaces discontinuous from each other but may form interfaces continuously connected to each other," and further that "the first and second cover resin layers C1 and C2 are not separated from each other and are continuously connected to each other." This language directly negates the structural requirement of claim 1 that each layer be "a separate layer from the others." Park does not disclose three distinct structural layers assembled together. Rather, it discloses two resin applications that merge into a unitary continuous encapsulation. The claimed
three-layer assembly architecture is structurally and architecturally distinct from Park's continuous resin system.”.
In response, the Office disagrees with the Applicant’s interpretation of the Park reference. Although plane “M” is referred to as a virtual plane, this virtual plane is formed of a plurality of bus bars “B” that can be construed as being a “mid-layer” separate from the first cover resin layer and the second cover resin layer. The Office maintains the contention that the limitation “mid-layer configured to retain a plurality of bus bars along a first axis and a second axis” does not impart any specific structure, other than a plurality of bus bars being retained along a first axis and a second axis. In addition, Park discloses in para. [0080], “According to an example embodiment, the first and second cover resin layers C1 and C2 may be applied at different times separated from each other respectively, before and after the arrangement of the bus bar B”. Therefore, Park specifically teaches first and second cover resin layers C1 and C2 that are separate layers from the layer of bus bar B. The fusing of the first and second cover resin layers C1 and C2 together along with the layer of the bus bar B results in the same “unitary structure of the bus bar module” recited in claim 1.
The Applicant further argues that “claim 23 requires a mid-layer including a plurality of pockets sized to receive the plurality of bus bars. The Examiner proposes modifying Park to incorporate Yamamoto's bus bar frame structure with discrete mechanical pockets. However, Park's entire inventive concept is premised on replacing exactly that type of structure. For example, paragraph [0102] of Park explicitly distinguishes its resin-cover system from "a standardized bus bar holder responsible for
position fixation and insulation of bus bars in a comparative example," and criticizes that approach because bus bar positions "may be shaken depending on assembly spacings" causing vibration-induced damage to electrical connections. Park's resin encapsulation system was specifically designed to eliminate the discrete mechanical bus bar holder that Yamamoto discloses. Yamamoto's frame-with-pockets structure is substantively the "comparative example" that Park identifies as the inferior prior approach. A person of ordinary skill would thus not have combined these references because doing so would reintroduce into Park the very structural deficiency Park's invention was designed to overcome.”.
In response, the Office takes the position that Park does not teach away from any specific structure taught by Yamamoto. The addition of a mid-layer that includes a plurality of pockets sized to receive the plurality of bus bars would necessarily result in a member that holds the bus bars to provide structural support and can perform restricting of the positions of these members during assembly.
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 6/24/2026