DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/056426 application originally filed November 17, 2022.
Amended claims 8-11, filed August 05, 2025, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 1-7 have been canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,530,366. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present application and US Patent No. ‘366 overlap in claiming a method of contacting a subject with a positive allosteric modulator of Formula (I). The present application is obvious over US Patent No. ‘366, due to the present application discloses the genus of Formula (I) which overlaps the species of Formula (I) in US Patent No. ‘366.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 9364409) hereinafter cited under “Li”.
Regarding Claims 8-11
Li discloses in the abstract, personal care compositions having efficient perfume blooms or bursts. The personal care compositions include shampoo and body wash compositions, and comprise perfume materials having high perceived odor intensity at low concentrations of perfume materials.
Li discloses in column 2 lines 38-43, a perfume accord and are suitable for application to the hair or skin. The perfume accords demonstrate a high perceived odor intensity (i.e., a strong scent) when present at low concentrations in the compositions, and thereby are capable of efficiently providing scents to the compositions.
Li discloses in column 3 lines 40-50, a wide variety of chemicals are known for fragrance (i.e., perfume) uses, including materials such as aldehydes, ketones and esters. More commonly, naturally occurring plant and animal oils and exudates comprising complex mixtures of various chemical components are known for use as fragrances. The fragrances herein can be relatively simple in their compositions, comprising a single chemical, or can comprise highly sophisticated complex mixtures of natural and synthetic chemical components, all chosen to provide any desired odor.
Li further discloses in column 3-8, suitable perfume raw materials include, but are not limited to: Bacdanol, Anethol, irisantheme, yara, Keone, cis 3 hexenyl salicylate, methyl nonyl ketone, coumarin, gamma dodecalactone, Applinate, eucalyptol, intreleven aldehyde, heliotropin, indol, Manzanate, ionone, alpha, trans 4 decenal; animal fragrances such as musk oil, civet, castoreum, ambergris; plant fragrances such as nutmeg extract, cardomon extract, ginger extract, cinnamon extract, patchouli oil, geranium oil, orange oil, mandarin oil, orange flower extract, cedarwood, vetyver, lavandin, ylang extract, tuberose extract, sandalwood oil, bergamot oil, rosemary oil, spearmint oil, peppermint oil, lemon oil, lavender oil, citronella oil, chamomille oil, clove oil, sage oil, neroli oil, labdanum oil, eucalyptus oil, verbena oil, mimosa extract, narcissus extract, carrot seed extract, jasmine extract, olibanum extract, rose extract, acetophenone, adoxal, aldehyde C-12, aldehyde C-14, aldehyde C-18, allyl caprylate, allyl heptanoate, ambroxan, dimethylindane derivatives, anethole, anisaldehyde, benzaldehyde, benzyl acetate, cis jasmone, citral, citronnellol and ester derivatives, cumin aldehyde, cyclamen aldehyde, para-iso-propyl alpha-octyl hydrocinnamic aldehyde, hexyl cinnamic aldehyde, hydroxy citronellal, heliotropin, anisaldehyde, citral, dextro limonene, coumarin, ionone gamma methyl, methyl beta naphthyl ketone, gamma undecalactone, eugenol, musk xylol, trichloro methyl phenyl carbinyl acetate, nonane diol-1,3-acetate, methyl dihydro jasmonate, phenoxy ethyl iso butyrate, citronella, citronellal, citrathal, tetrahydromuguol, ethylene brassylate, musk ketone, musk tibetine, phenyl ethyl acetate, oakmoss 25%, hexyl salicylate, eucalyptol, Stemone, Cashmeran, GERANIOL, Citronellyl nitrile, Linalool, Ethyl linalool, Benzyl acetate, Undecavertol, Methyl Phenyl Carbinyl Acetate, 6-Nonen-1-ol, (6Z)-, Benzyl propionate, Iso-E Super, 2,6-Nonadien-1-ol, Ethyl 2-methyl-1,3-dioxolane-2-acetate (Fructone), Bigarade oxide, Allyl cyclohexyl propionate, Tetrahydrolinalool (Tetrahydro Linalool), Trimofix O, Citronellol, Neofolione, Hivernal mixture, Linalyl acetate, Citronellyloxyacetaldehyde, Delta-Muscenone, Romanolide, beta-Pinene, Karanal, Vertenex, o-tert-Butylcyclohexyl acetate (verdox), Nectaryl, gamma-Decalactone, Isoeugenol and mixtures thereof.
The claimed invention is anticipated by the reference because the reference teaches a composition which comprises all of the claimed components. In the alternative, no patentable distinction is seen to exist between the reference and the claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments with respect to claim(s) 8-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771