Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character ‘1’ has been used to designate both, a Rack and Loading Dock
Reference character ‘3’ has been used to designate both, an Unloading Device and Exit Device
Reference character ‘31’ has been used to designate both, a Lantern Ring and a Collar
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Reference character ‘121’ is missing in said figures 9-17
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
‘51’ in figures 18-25
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 6-7 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 states, ”... distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to move on the face…”
Claim 7 states, ”... distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to pivot on the face…”
Claim 17 states, “… so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable …
Claim 18 states, “… so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable …
Claim 19 states, “… so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable …
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10, 12-13, and 20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of a rejected base claim(s) 6-7 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112478165 B) in view of Arns (WO 2020210904 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a package loading/unloading device for an aircraft comprises: a base (2); a rod (1) connected to the base and having a cable (3) extendable and retrievable through the rod and provided with a loop (31) on a outer periphery of the rod so as to correspond to releasably secure a package;
Zhang fails to disclose at least one arm reciprocally movable on a face of the base such that the package is able to be securely transported when package weight functions onto the cable due to interaction between the cable and the package and released when the package weight no longer functions on the cable.
However, Arns teaches at least one arm (102) reciprocally movable on a face of the base such that the package is able to be securely transported when package weight functions onto the cable due to interaction between the cable and the package and released when the package weight no longer functions on the cable.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce at least on arm reciprocally movable on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to grip and release objects.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further has at least one station formed on the face thereof to respectively accommodate a distal end of the at least one arm to allow the at least one arm to be reciprocal movement on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the base further has at least one station (see figure below) formed on the face thereof to respectively accommodate a distal end of the at least one arm (102) to allow the at least one arm to be reciprocal movement on the face of the base.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce at least on station on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to include arms to grip and release objects.
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further has a hinge formed on the face thereof to accommodate a distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the base further has a hinge formed on the face thereof to accommodate a distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a hinge on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the rod to move freely on the base.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 2.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further has a hinge formed on the face thereof to accommodate a distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the base further has a hinge formed on the face thereof to accommodate a distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a hinge on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the rod to move freely on the base.
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 2.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one arm is able to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one arm is able to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a first rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the arms to rotate freely on the base.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 3.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a first rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the arms to rotate freely on the base.
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 4.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to pivot on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the at least one station has a first rod formed therein to pass into a distal end of the at least one arm so that the at least one two arm is able to pivot on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a first rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the arms to pivot freely on the base.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 3.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to pivot on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to pivot on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a second rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the rod to pivot on the face.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 4.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a second rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the rod to move on the face.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 6.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base.
However, Arns teaches wherein the hinge has a second rod formed therein to pass into the distal end of the rod to allow the rod to move on the face of the base (see figure below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a second rod on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Arns in order to allow the rod to move on the face.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Regarding claim 13, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Regarding claim 16, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10, wherein the rod further comprises a through hole (12) defined inside the rod (1) to allow the cable (3) to pass there through such that one end of the cable is adapted to connect to the aircraft and the other end thereof forms into the loop (31) after passing a bottom end of the rod.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112478165 B) in view of Arns (WO 2020210904 A1), further in view of Witt et al. (US 5,064,177).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 1.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
However, Witt et al. teaches wherein the base (81) further comprises at least one track (82) formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm (57A) has a stop (84) formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Witt et al, in order to limit the travel of the arm.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 10.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
However, Witt et al. teaches wherein the base (81) further comprises at least one track (82) formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm (57A) has a stop (84) formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Witt et al, in order to limit the travel of the arm.
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, Zhang in view of Arns, discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 16.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
However, Witt et al. teaches wherein the base (81) further comprises at least one track (82) formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm (57A) has a stop (84) formed on a bottom face thereof to correspond to the at least one track so that when the at least one two arm is reciprocally movable on the face of the base, the stop is moved within the at least one track.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the base further comprises at least one track formed on the face thereof and the at least one arm has a stop on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Witt et al, in order to limit the travel of the arm.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 112478165 B) in view of Arns (WO 2020210904 A1), further in view of Palmqvist (SE 446081 B).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Arns discloses the package loading/unloading device of claim 19.
Zhang fails to disclose wherein the at least one arm has an L-shaped cross section.
However, Palmqvist teaches wherein the at least one arm has an L-shaped cross section (Para. 0025).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce an arm with an L-shaped cross section on the package loading/unloading device of Zhang as taught by Palmqvist in order to provide extra support to cargo.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651