DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 6-7 recite, “the user interface integrated with the vehicle”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to continue prosecution, this limitation will be interpreted as “a user interface integrated with the vehicle”.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 6 recites, “the presentation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to continue prosecution, this limitation will be interpreted as “a presentation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Examiner recommendation: kindly augment the labeling of the figures to include the corresponding names from the specification, as feasible. For example, in Fig. 2, item 210 could be labelled “Illumination device 210”. This will assist future searchers of the patent data base to quickly grasp the inventive concept of applicant’s disclosure. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penilla et al. US 9579987.
Regarding claim 1, Penilla discloses a system [as shown in Figs. 1-4], comprising:
a data processing system [Fig. 4 (see reproduced), aggregator and processor + cloud services + charge station locator App] comprising one or more processors, coupled to memory [col. 8 line 63 – col. 9 line 23], to:
detect a charge query to charge a vehicle [Fig. 1 (see reproduced), Vehicle;
Col. 3 lines 19-22: In one embodiment, the method also includes receiving a request from a local EV to locate a CU, and an available CU is activated to blink the color to enable visual identification from an area proximate to the CU.
Col. 11 lines 44-49: The method includes receiving data concerning charge providing availability from charge locations, receiving a request from processing logic of an electric vehicle, the request identifying a desire to obtain charge, and determining a current location of the electric vehicle.];
determine a presence of the vehicle in an area having a charging device [Fig. 1, Charging Unit (CU) 10;
Col. 7 lines 10-15: The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available.
Col. 11 lines 43-55: The method includes receiving data concerning charge providing availability from charge locations, receiving a request from processing logic of an electric vehicle, the request identifying a desire to obtain charge, and determining a current location of the electric vehicle. See also Col. 14 lines 49-62];
instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area [see Fig. 4, the vehicle entering a charging/parking station (the area) with individual Charging Units (CU) 10], a component of the charging device [Fig. 1, Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of Charging Unit (CU) 10] to output a first presentation [e.g. lighting/color] indicative of the charge query [
Col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15: 26 A driver of an EV can drive into a parking lot, see the lighting of an available CU (e.g., by color code; green available; red occupied, etc.). The lights can have a blinking function, to signify where CUs are available. The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available.
Col. 7 lines 23-31: In some embodiments, the color indicators can be provided on CUs, when not in parking lots. For example, if particular CUs are located outside of a business, the color indicators can have various color shades. Some colors may indicated availability, in-use, reserved, out-of-service, almost done charging, etc. The color indicators can also be communicated to users via notifications.]; and
instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, a component of the vehicle [e.g. vehicle display screen] to output a second presentation corresponding to the first presentation [
Col. 7 lines 8-18: A driver of an EV can drive into a parking lot, see the lighting of an available CU (e.g., by color code; green available; red occupied, etc.). The lights can have a blinking function, to signify where CUs are available. The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available. The indication of availability can also be transferred to the user's mobile device, to signify which CUs are available at a particular location.
Col. 7 lines 23-31: Some colors may indicated availability, in-use, reserved, out-of-service, almost done charging, etc. The color indicators can also be communicated to users via notifications. The notifications can be to the displays of EVs or portable devices of the user or to third parties.].
Regarding claims 2, 10, 16, Penilla discloses the system of claim 1, comprising the data processing system to: identify [col. 4 lines 5-14], based on the charge query [col. 3 lines 19-22, col. 11 lines 44-49], a first time corresponding to an estimated time of arrival of the vehicle at the area [i.e., estimate when the vehicle will arrive], and a reservation by the vehicle of the charging device at the first time [i.e., make a reservation based on the estimated time]; obtain, based on the presence of the vehicle in the area [col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31], a second time corresponding to an actual time of arrival of the vehicle at the area and a location [i.e., determine actual time of arrival for the reservation at the reserved station]; and instruct, in response to a first determination that the second time satisfies a threshold based on the first time [i.e., the vehicle is on time for its reservation. Col. 6 lines 54-55: Users can remotely reserve an EV, so that the EV is available when the driver arrives. Col. 13 lines 27-51: The charging station slot can be reserved if the user decides to prepay for the charging station, as a convenience. For example, if charging slots at a particular charge Station appear to be heavily used, a user can pre-reserve a charging slots ahead of time, so that when the user arrives at the charging station, the charging slot will be immediately available.], the component of the charging device to output the first presentation indicative of the reservation [col. 4 lines 5-14, col. 7 lines 26-31].
Regarding claim 3, Penilla discloses the system of claim 1, comprising: the data processing system to instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, a light emitting device integrated with the charging device [Fig. 1, Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of Charging Unit (CU) 10] to output the first presentation [e.g. lighting/color] including at least one of a light color and a light pattern [col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15].
Regarding claim 4, Penilla discloses the system of claim 3, comprising: the data processing system to instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area [col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31], a light emitting device integrated with the vehicle [e.g. vehicle display screen] to output the second presentation including at least one of the light color and the light pattern [Col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31].
Regarding claim 5, Penilla discloses the system of claim 4, comprising the data processing system to: instruct, based on the presence of the vehicle in the area, the light emitting device integrated with the vehicle [e.g. vehicle display screen] to modify the light pattern [col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31]; and instruct, based on the presence of the vehicle in the area, the light emitting device integrated with the charging device [Fig. 1, Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of Charging Unit (CU) 10] to modify the light pattern [col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15].
Regarding claim 6, Penilla discloses the system of claim 1, comprising the data processing system to: instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, a user interface integrated with the charging device [col. 4 lines 15-31 user interface] to output the first presentation including at least one of video or audio [col. 6 lines 2-18]; and instruct, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, the user interface integrated with the vehicle [e.g. vehicle display screen] to output the second presentation including at least one of video or audio personalized to an operator of the vehicle [col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31, col. 8 lines 16-42].
Regarding claims 7, 20, Penilla discloses comprising the data processing system to: instruct, in response to a second determination that the first time satisfies a second threshold based on a predetermined time period [i.e. the vehicle has arrived and has started charging], the component of the charging device [Fig. 1, Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of Charging Unit (CU) 10] to output a third presentation indicative of a reservation by the vehicle of the charging device at the first time [col. 7 line 54 – col. 8 line 6 the completion notification indicates that the reservation has been fulfilled and the slot should be vacated for use].
Regarding claim 8, Penilla discloses the system of claim 1, comprising the first presentation comprising a first light color and the second presentation comprising a second light color distinct from the first light color [col. 3 line 66 – col. 4 line 14, col. 5 lines 12-22 in a state where incandescent lighting (which is an older type of lighting) is used on the CU to depict, e.g. yellow, the corresponding yellow color on the vehicle display screen will implicitly be distinct as electric vehicle displays use LEDs or even more advanced visual displays.].
Regarding claim 9, Penilla discloses a vehicle [Fig. 1 (see reproduced), Vehicle] comprising:
a light emitting device [e.g. the display screen of an EV;
Col. 6 lines 56-64: notifications can be sent to the user's mobile device (e.g., smartphone or the like), or the vehicle electronics of the vehicle and associated displays and GUIs. The notifications can be sent with color codes or indicators, that show the level of charge of the CUs for which the user is interested. The color notifications can, in real time, be updated as the charge level status changes at the CUs.
Col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15: The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available.], a non-transitory memory, and one or more processors [Fig. 4 (see reproduced), aggregator and processor + cloud services + charge station locator App; col. 8 line 63 – col. 9 line 23] to:
transmit a charge query to charge the vehicle [Col. 3 lines 19-22: In one embodiment,
the method also includes receiving a request from a local EV to locate a CU, and an
available CU is activated to blink the color to enable visual identification from an area
proximate to the CU.
Col. 11 lines 44-49: The method includes receiving data concerning charge providing availability from charge locations, receiving a request from processing logic of an electric vehicle, the request identifying a desire to obtain charge, and determining a current location of the electric vehicle.];
determine a presence of the vehicle in an area having a charging device [Fig. 1, Charging
Unit (CU) 10; Col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15: 26 A driver of an EV can drive into a parking
lot, see the lighting of an available CU (e.g., by color code; green available; red occupied,
etc.). The lights can have a blinking function, to signify where CUs are available. The
location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen
of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be
available.];
output, by the light emitting device [e.g. the display screen of an EV] in response to presence of the vehicle in the area, a first presentation [e.g. lighting/color] indicative of the request and corresponding to a second presentation output by a component [e.g. Fig. 1, color indicator 10A] of the charging device [Fig. 1, Charging Unit (CU) 10;
Col. 7 lines 8-18: A driver of an EV can drive into a parking lot, see the lighting of an available CU (e.g., by color code; green available; red occupied, etc.). The lights can have a blinking function, to signify where CUs are available. The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available. The indication of availability can also be transferred to the user's mobile device, to signify which CUs are available at a particular location.
Col. 7 lines 23-31: Some colors may indicated availability, in-use, reserved, out-of-service, almost done charging, etc. The color indicators can also be communicated to users via notifications. The notifications can be to the displays of EVs or portable devices of the user or to third parties.].
Regarding claims 11, 17, Penilla discloses: comprising the light emitting device [e.g. the display screen of an EV] to: output, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, the first presentation including at least one of a first light color or a first light pattern that matches at least one of a second light color or a second light pattern comprising the second presentation [col. 7 lines 8-18, col. 7 lines 23-31].
Regarding claims 12, 18, Penilla discloses comprising: the light emitting device [e.g. the display screen of an EV] to modify, based on the presence of the vehicle in the area, the first light pattern [col. 3 line 66 – col. 4 line 14, col. 5 lines 12-22].
Regarding claim 13, Penilla discloses: comprising: output, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, the first presentation including at least one of a first light color or a first light pattern that matches at least one of a second light color or a second light pattern comprising the second presentation [col. 7 lines 8-18, col. 7 lines 23-31]; the light emitting device to modify, based on the presence of the vehicle in the area, the first light pattern; and the second light pattern modified to match the first light pattern [col. 7 lines 8-18, col. 7 lines 23-31].
Regarding claims 14, 19, Penilla discloses comprising a user interface [e.g., display screen of vehicle] to: output, in response to the presence of the vehicle in the area, the first presentation including at least one of video or audio personalized to an operator of the vehicle [col. 7 lines 8-18, lines 23-31, col. 8 lines 16-42].
Regarding claim 15, Penilla discloses a charging device [Fig. 1, Charging Unit (CU) 10], comprising:
a light emitting device [e.g. Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of the Charging Unit (CU) 10], a non-transitory memory, and one or more processors [Fig. 4 (see reproduced), aggregator and processor + cloud services + charge station locator App; col. 8 line 63 – col. 9 line 23] to:
detect a charge query to charge a vehicle [Fig. 1 (see reproduced), Vehicle;
Col. 3 lines 19-22: In one embodiment, the method also includes receiving a request from a local EV to locate a CU, and an available CU is activated to blink the color to enable visual identification from an area proximate to the CU.
Col. 11 lines 44-49: The method includes receiving data concerning charge providing availability from charge locations, receiving a request from processing logic of an electric vehicle, the request identifying a desire to obtain charge, and determining a current location of the electric vehicle.];
determine a presence of the vehicle in an area having the charging device [Fig. 1, Charging Unit (CU) 10;
Col. 7 lines 10-15: The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available.
Col. 11 lines 43-55: The method includes receiving data concerning charge providing availability from charge locations, receiving a request from processing logic of an electric vehicle, the request identifying a desire to obtain charge, and determining a current location of the electric vehicle. See also Col. 14 lines 49-62]; and
output, by the light-emitting device [e.g. Fig. 1, color indicator 10A of the Charging Unit (CU) 10] in response to a determination that a location of the vehicle corresponds to the area, the first presentation [e.g. lighting/color;
Col. 6 line 65 – col. 7 line 15: 26 A driver of an EV can drive into a parking lot, see the lighting of an available CU (e.g., by color code; green available; red occupied, etc.). The lights can have a blinking function, to signify where CUs are available. The location of available CUs can also be populated as displayable data to the display screen of an EV (or mobile device) when the EV gets in proximity to CUs that maybe be available.
Col. 7 lines 23-31: In some embodiments, the color indicators can be provided on CUs, when not in parking lots. For example, if particular CUs are located outside of a business, the color indicators can have various color shades. Some colors may indicated availability, in-use, reserved, out-of-service, almost done charging, etc. The color indicators can also be communicated to users via notifications.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120271723 discloses systems and method provided for providing auxiliary charge to a main battery of an electric vehicle. One system includes an auxiliary battery for holding a plurality of charge units, the auxiliary battery being connectable to the main battery of the electric vehicle, the plurality of charge units being rechargeable and being replaceable from within the auxiliary battery, such that replacing particular ones of the plurality of charge units with charge units with more charge increases a total charge of the auxiliary battery. Kiosks for storing a plurality of charge units. A display in the kiosk for an interface for enabling transactions to provide or receive charge units to customers, and a central processing center that communicates with a plurality of said kiosk over a network and a plurality of vehicles, The plurality of vehicles are provided with access to availability information of charge units at each of said kiosks.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859