DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 11/24/2025. Claim 4 is previously cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-9 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 5-9 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/24/2025 with respect to claims 1, 8 and 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant has amended claim limitations of claim 1, 8 and 9. Wherein the amended claim limitations has changed the scope. Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Cheng (US 2018/0332520 A1) still teaches the amended claim limitations “controller of 1st BS is configured to determine to include, in connection instruction, a random access (RACH) preamble acquired by the 1st BS from 2nd BS, in response to a congestion level of the 2nd BS being higher than a predetermined level, wherein the congestion level comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the 2nd BS and a number of UE connected to the 2nd BS”. See Cheng teaches--- source BS 304 transmits to UE, the received preamble from the target BS 308, to request UE 302 to associate/connect {handover} with the target BS 308, when/based on measurement report of the target BS {the measured RSRP of target BS 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold —[0078]}; wherein the RSRP of the target BS 308 for RRM on configured resource(see [0014]; [0008]; [0078]; [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka (US 2016/0128098 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2018/0332520 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasaka teaches a first base station (eNB 200—Fig. 3) used in a mobile communication system, the first base station (200) comprising:
a wireless communicator (210-Fig. 3) configured to perform wireless ([0001]) communication with user equipment (UE 100-1) ([0117], Fig. 9, eNB 200 notifies UE 100-1 by cellular communication unit 210 of preamble information indicating a RAP to be used for RA procedure when the UE 100-1 establishes a connection with the eNB 200.) (Hence 210 of eNB 200 performs wireless communication with UE.); and
a controller (240—Fig. 3; [0053]- processor 240 configure a controller) configured to control the wireless communicator(210-Fig. 3) ([0117], the processor 240 of the eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-1, by the cellular communication unit 210, of preamble information.) (Hence, obvious controller of the eNB 200 controls the 210.), wherein
the wireless communicator (210-Fig. 3) is configured to transmit, to the user equipment (UE 100-1), a connection instruction of causing the user equipment (UE 100-1) to connect to second base station (AP 300) ( [0117], Fig. 9, the processor 240 of the eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-1, by the cellular communication unit 210, of preamble information. Wherein The preamble information is included in a connection instruction that is transmitted from the eNB 200 and that instructs a connection to the AP 300.) (Hence the 210 of the eNB 200 transmits to the UE, a connection instruction of causing the UE to connect to the AP 300.), and
Nagasaka does not teach the first base station comprising: the controller is configured to determine to include, in the connection instruction, a random access preamble acquired by the first base station from the second base station, in response to a congestion level of the second base station being higher than a predetermined level, wherein the congestion level comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station and a number of user equipment connected to the second base station.
However, in an analogous art, Cheng teaches first base station (source BS 304) comprising:
the controller(processor 826 of BS 800; [0163]) is configured to determine to include, in the connection instruction, a random access (RACH) preamble acquired by the first base station (source BS 304) from the second base station (target BS 308) ([0014]; [0008], providing, by the target base station, a Handover Request ACK message {having preamble—see [0014]} having Handover Command to the source base station and then providing, by the source base station, mobility control information to the UE{ to request UE 302 to associate/connect with target base station 308—[0092]} based on the Handover Command from the target base station.), in response to a congestion level (RSRP) of the second base station (target BS 308) being higher than a predetermined level (threshold) ([0079]; [0014], the source BS 304 transmits to the UE, the received preamble from the target BS 308…[0008], based on measurement report includes specific measurement report of the target base station { the measured RSRP of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold—[0078]). (Hence the source BS determines to include, in the connection instruction (of causing the UE to connect to the target BS), a RACH preamble obtained from the target BS, based on a congestion level of the target BS is higher than a predetermined threshold.),
wherein the congestion level(RSRP) comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station (target BS 308) ([0078], measured RSRP {for RRM/radio resource management—[0076]} of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold; wherein [0107], RS/RSRP configuration for RRM and transmit corresponding RS/RSRP on configured resource.)(Hence it is obvious, the congestion level comprises a use rate of radio resources of the target BS 308.) and a number of user equipment (UE 302) connected to the second base station (target BS 308)(not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Cheng and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka to provide performing beam refinement during a handover procedure {handover of a UE from a source base station to a target base station—[0008]} such that the target base station applies higher data rate and better link quality immediately after a handover procedure to maintain quality of service(Cheng; [0081])
Regarding claim 2, Nagasaka further teaches wherein the connection instruction is an instruction of causing the user equipment (UE) to connect to the second base station (target network node) while maintaining connection between the user equipment and the first base station (serving network node) ([0117], Fig. 9, the processor 240 of the eNB 200 notifies the UE 100-1, by the cellular communication unit 210, of preamble information. Wherein The preamble information is included in a connection instruction that is transmitted from the eNB 200 and that instructs a connection to the AP 300. It is obvious connection instruction is a instruction of causing the UE to connect to the target node, while maintaining connection between the UE and the serving node.).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasaka further teaches wherein a wireless communication scheme(cellular) to which the first base station(eNB) conforms ([0086], UE 100 performs cellular communication with the eNB 200.) is different from a wireless communication scheme (WLAN) to which the second base station (AP) conforms ([0126], UE 100 performs WLAN communication with the AP 300.) (Hence comm scheme is different.).
Regarding claim 8, Nagasaka teaches a control method of a base station (eNB 200) performing communication with another base station (AP 300) and performing communication with user equipment (UE) in a mobile communication system, the control method comprising:
determining whether to include a random access preamble in a connection instruction of causing user equipment (UE 100-1) to connect to the other base station (AP 300) ( [0117], Fig. 9, eNB 200 notifies UE 100-1, preamble information. Wherein The preamble information is included in a connection instruction that is transmitted from the eNB 200 and that instructs a connection to the AP 300.) (Hence eNB 200 determines to include a RAP to the UE, a connection instruction of causing the UE to connect to the AP 300.); and
transmitting the connection instruction to the user equipment (UE) ([0117], Fig. 9, eNB 200 transmits a connection instruction to UE.),
Nagasaka does not teach the control method comprising: determining to include a random access preamble acquired by a first base station from the second base station in a connection instruction of causing user equipment to connect to the second base station, in response to a congestion level of the second base station being higher than a predetermined level, and the congestion level comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station and a number of user equipment connected to the second base station.
However, in an analogous art, Cheng teaches the control method comprising:
determining to include a random access (RACH) preamble acquired by the first base station (source BS 304) from the second base station(target BS 308) in a connection instruction of causing user equipment to connect to the second base station(target BS 308) ([0014]; [0008], providing, by the target base station, a Handover Request ACK message {having preamble—see [0014]} having Handover Command to the source base station and then providing, by the source base station, mobility control information to the UE{ to request UE 302 to associate/connect with target base station 308—[0092]} based on the Handover Command from the target base station.), in response to a congestion level (RSRP) of the second base station (target BS 308) being higher than a predetermined level (threshold) ([0079]; [0014], the source BS 304 transmits to the UE, the received preamble from the target BS 308…[0008], based on measurement report includes specific measurement report of the target base station { the measured RSRP of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold—[0078]). (Hence the source BS determines to include, in the connection instruction (of causing the UE to connect to the target BS), a RACH preamble obtained from the target BS, based on a congestion level of the target BS is higher than a predetermined threshold.),
wherein the congestion level(RSRP) comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station (target BS 308) ([0078], measured RSRP {for RRM/radio resource management—[0076]} of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold; wherein [0107], RS/RSRP configuration for RRM and transmit corresponding RS/RSRP on configured resource.)(Hence it is obvious, the congestion level comprises a use rate of radio resources of the target BS 308.) and a number of user equipment (UE 302) connected to the second base station (target BS 308)(not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Cheng and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka to provide performing beam refinement during a handover procedure {handover of a UE from a source base station to a target base station—[0008]} such that the target base station applies higher data rate and better link quality immediately after a handover procedure to maintain quality of service(Cheng; [0081])
Regarding claim 9, Nagasaka teaches a mobile communication system (Fig. 1; [0040]) comprising:
user equipment (UE 100-1—Fig. 1); and
a first base station (eNB 200-Fig. 1) configured to perform communication with second base station (AP 300-Fig. 1)([0046]; the 200 and the 300 performs comm.) and perform communication with the user equipment (UE 100-1)([0042], the 200 and the UE performs comm.), wherein
the first base station (eNB 200) is configured to include a random access (RACH) preamble in a connection instruction of causing the user equipment (UE) to connect to the second base station (AP 300) ([0117], Fig. 9, eNB 200 notifies UE 100-1, preamble information. Wherein The preamble information is included in a connection instruction that is transmitted from the eNB 200 and that instructs a connection to the AP 300.) (Hence eNB 200 includes a RAP to the UE, a connection instruction of causing the UE to connect to the AP 300.),
when the first base station is configured to transmit, the connection instruction to the user equipment ([0117], Fig. 9, eNB 200 transmits a connection instruction to UE.).
Nagasaka does not teach the first base station is configured to include a random access preamble acquired from the second base station in a connection instruction of causing user equipment to connect to the second base station, in response to a congestion level of the second base station being higher than a predetermined level, and the congestion level comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station and a number of user equipment connected to the second base station.
However, in an analogous art, Cheng teaches the first base station is configured to include a random access (RACH) preamble acquired from the second base station(target BS 308) in a connection instruction of causing user equipment to connect to the second base station, ([0014]; [0008], providing, by the target base station, a Handover Request ACK message {having preamble—see [0014]} having Handover Command to the source base station and then providing, by the source base station, mobility control information to the UE{ to request UE 302 to associate/connect with target base station 308—[0092]} based on the Handover Command from the target base station.), in response to a congestion level(RSRP) of the second base station (target BS 308) being higher than a predetermined level (threshold) ([0079]; [0014], the source BS 304 transmits to the UE, the received preamble from the target BS 308…[0008], based on measurement report includes specific measurement report of the target base station { the measured RSRP of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold—[0078]). (Hence the source BS determines to include, in the connection instruction (of causing the UE to connect to the target BS), a RACH preamble obtained from the target BS, based on a congestion level of the target BS is higher than a predetermined threshold.),
wherein the congestion level(RSRP) comprises at least one of a use rate of radio resources of the second base station (target BS 308) ([0078], measured RSRP {for RRM/radio resource management—[0076]} of target base station 308 becomes higher than a predetermined threshold; wherein [0107], RS/RSRP configuration for RRM and transmit corresponding RS/RSRP on configured resource.)(Hence it is obvious, the congestion level comprises a use rate of radio resources of the target BS 308.) and a number of user equipment (UE 302) connected to the second base station (target BS 308)(not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Cheng and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka to provide performing beam refinement during a handover procedure {handover of a UE from a source base station to a target base station—[0008]} such that the target base station applies higher data rate and better link quality immediately after a handover procedure to maintain quality of service(Cheng; [0081]).
5. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka (US 2016/0128098 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2018/0332520 A1), further in view of Gopala (US 2016/0302233 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nagasaka- Cheng does not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit, to the user equipment, the connection instruction not including the random access preamble, in response to the congestion level of the second base station being below the predetermined level.
However, in an analogous art, Gopala teaches The first base station (BS 14) according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit([0041];), to the user equipment (UE), the connection instruction not including the random access(RACH) preamble, in response to the congestion level of the second base station(BS 16) being below the predetermined level ([0025]; [0018]; [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Gopala and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka- Cheng to suspend transmitting of subsequent random access preamble transmissions for a transmit hold duration in response to determining failure of downlink channel quality measurement to meet downlink channel quality threshold (Gopala; [0010]).
6. Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasaka (US 2016/0128098 A1) in view of Cheng (US 2018/0332520 A1), further in view of Wang (US 2016/0150570 A1).
Regarding claims 6, Nagasaka- Cheng do not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit, to the user equipment, the connection instruction including the random access preamble, according to a fact that a service type used by the user equipment is a delay-tolerable service.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit ([0106]; [0028]), to the user equipment(UE), the connection instruction including the random access(PRACH) preamble, according to a fact that a service type used by the user equipment (UE) is a delay-tolerable service ( [0058], base station broadcast RA configuration information for other UEs that run delay-tolerant MTC services and require coverage enhancement, including PRACH preamble.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka- Cheng to provide a method enables sending and receiving the PRACH configuration parameter for the user equipment so as to raise resource utilization rate of the user equipment supported by a LTE, thus improving spectrum/energy efficiency and reducing conflicts of time/frequency resources between cells (Wang; Abstract).
Regarding claims 7, Nagasaka- Cheng do not teach wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit, to the user equipment, the connection instruction not including the random access preamble, according to a fact that the service type used by the user equipment is not the delay- tolerable service.
However, in an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the wireless communicator to transmit ([0106]; [0028]), to the user equipment (UE), the connection instruction not including the random access (PRACH) preamble, according to a fact that the service type used by the user equipment (UE) is not the delay- tolerable service ([0058], base station broadcast RA configuration information for other UEs that run delay-tolerant MTC services and require coverage enhancement, including PRACH preamble. Hence it is obvious the base station does not transmit RAP according to a not delay-tolerable service of UE.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Wang and apply them on the teaching of Nagasaka- Cheng to provide a method enables sending and receiving the PRACH configuration parameter for the user equipment so as to raise resource utilization rate of the user equipment supported by a LTE, thus improving spectrum/energy efficiency and reducing conflicts of time/frequency resources between cells (Wang; Abstract).
Conclusion
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415